We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Belmont

4.0 of 5 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Click for phone number
Hotel website
Announcement
Winter Opening
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Belmont
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Belmont
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    44
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
25
209
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (316)
  • Mar-May only
    (73)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (103)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (45)
All months
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We visited the Belmont to celebrate our anniversary. The hosts, Des and Linda made us feel extremely welcome from the start. We stayed in one of the luxury four poster rooms and it was beautiful, comfortable and the view of the ocean was a joy to wake up to. Breakfast was amazing - best Eggs Royale we ever had. They... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us, again Room 2 has lovely views. See you next time. More

Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great weekend from start to finish, Des and Linda were very friendly and hospitable. Private car park for guests. We were in room 2 at the top of the house, with a four poster bed, dressing room and private bathroom. Bed was really comfortable, room clean and well equipped (tea & coffee facilities and dressing gowns & slippers). There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 2 is one of our luxury rooms and you do get fantastic views from there. Thank you again and hope to see you again. More

iloveyoules
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

May I just say what a fabulous few days we had stayed in room 8 which was superb didn't want for anything .As for the breakfast this was excellent we will return for longer next time Only 10 mins walk from the old town which has loads of pubs and restaurants and is very quaint

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

thank you for your review, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay in room 8 we are very proud of it as it was the room we redid last winter, we think it is lovely. We are hoping to introduce another luxury room this year into our porfolio of rooms. We are glad you have had a good time... More

Burlington, Ontario
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From start to finish, Des and Linda went out of their way to make us feel right at home during our recent stay at the Belmont. Our room #17 was super comfortable with a huge bed, a nice sofa and lots of storage for our clothes. As other reviewers have stated, breakfast is over the top terrific with an amazing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review, we are so glad you have enjoyed your stay with us. We understand how important is is to feel welcome and relaxed when you are on holiday and we thoroughly enjoy being your hosts. Again thank you. More

Leigh,Lancs
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not long since returned from our 4th visit to the Belmont and we will never tire of returning. It just gets better each time. Des and Linda make every effort to ensure that your visit is as enjoyable and relaxing as possible. For me breakfast is a big part of any holiday - it sets you up for the day... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you for the review, we are so glad youve enjoyed your visit again. It is nice to be complimented by returning guest's who can see what we are doing here. Again thank you and see you next time. Linda More

Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Belmont is very much what I expected of a reasonably priced hotel on the IOW. I received a nice welcome and was shown to my room. A decent sized room, the furniture was a bit dated but it was clean and comfortable. Dinner and breakfast times are fairly short windows but I didn't have a problem with that. It... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We acknowledge the comments about the furniture in that particular room, and although it was very upto date at the time it was installed time has moved on, In the next few weeks it is down for replacement although perfectly usable. The reason our... More

Aylesbury, Bucks
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
338 helpful votes 338 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a 3 night stay at the Belmont based on previous reviews, however we were extremely disappointed with what we found. We stayed in room 15 which was a good size and had a sea view but the furnishings and decor are in need of updating. The greatest disappointment was the cleanliness of the room, particularly the bathroom - the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and opinions, we were disappointed and surprised you did not enjoy room 15. The Pictures for room 15 clearly show we have large heavy Pine Furniture in the room. As for the decor, that room was freshly painted during the winter. We are not in a fashion parade and do not intend changing the pine... More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here again in September for my work. I could not believe it but Des and Lyn gave me room number 8. There was a four poster bed just for me. As always the food was very good. The location of this hotel is excellent if you want a nice place to stay. If you are reading this Des/Lyn I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Hi, thank you for the review, we are happy you enjoyed the room we gave you. It was our newly refurbished room during last winter. All our Luxury rooms are special, but i must admit I love the new look of room 8, others are to follow as we are constantly improving and moving forward. See you next time. More

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We couldn't fault the hospitality of Des and Lyn ,they were very warm and friendly always having a smile and a chat. .Our room looked over the gardens and pool which was kept clean and tidy. The Dr Infrared room was a real bonus to unwind in, which my partner did everyday We would definitely go again. Carol and Eamonn... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The Dr Detox is very popular and is an added bonus, as it is complimentry for our guest's. We do take pride in our cleaning and are glad you were happy with our standards. See you again. More

Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Our first visit to The Belmont.We were staying with friends and we all agreed that you couldn't find anywhere better to stay. Des, Linda and Martin are so welcoming and helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are spotless and comfortable. Breakfasts are outstanding....what an amazing choice. A lovely relaxing atmosphere. Although we were only there or three nights... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheBelmontShanklin, Owner at The Belmont, responded to this review

Thank you. We are glad you chose us for your short break and we were able to make you stay enjoyable. See you next time. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Belmont? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Belmont

Address: 8 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Belmont 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Belmont reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Belmont Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/play areas (3)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay