We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Shanklin hotels

The Clifton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% off room rate
Save Saved
You added The Clifton to your Saves list
The Clifton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
93%
Ranked #5 of 55 hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
drdelboy Crawley, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (194)
  • Photos (65)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (57)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    131
    50
    10
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
129
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Superb location, with views right across Sandown Bay. We stayed for 9 nights. The Premier Suite is pricey, but good value if you want the view - and the space. The proprietors and staff are all very friendly, with a general "family" atmosphere. We can definitely recommend the food, too, with regularly changing "specials". I would not complain about paying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for three nights in a "standard double". The room was a reasonable size and spotlessly clean with a bathroom also in very good order. The Clifton is located on the cliff tops at the southern end of Keats Green and is well placed for anyone wanting to walk up into old Shanklin for the restaurants in the High... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed from 9th july for 2 nights. Really good value and great service. Breakfast very good and selection impressive. Amazing views across the bay both from our room and restraunt/gardens. Overall excellent. Many thanks the Cooks from Swindon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello the Cooks, so glad you were particularly impressed with our Breakfast offering - we are great believers in all our guests having a proper choice for the first meal of the day as it puts a smile on everyone's face. Hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Clifton in the future. Best regards. David. More

uk
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

well appointed small hotel in beautiful location. staff very friendly . Good food in dining room with super sea views. Good location. Wifi a disappointment as many hotels have unlimied easy access. would definitly stay again and recommend to friends

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hi Susie. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, we are extremely pleased that you are happy to recommend us to your friends. The wi-fi has been upgraded over the winter so that it complies with the latest security guidelines now being brought into law, this does make logging on a little more laborious but it does... More

Crawley Down, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a two night break at the beginning of June and we picked The Clifton because of the fantastic reviews on tripadvisor. We were not disappointed; the accommodation, food, staff & views were excellent. We will definitely stay at The Clifton again and would just like to say thank you for our lovely break :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Tarin. It is good to be reassured that our reviews on Tripadvisor are painting a true picture of The Clifton. Thank you. Best Regards. David. More

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for a week from 11th June 2014. We hadn't stayed there before, and with so many hotels to choose from, we took a chance. We think we hit the jackpot. It was perfect!! The room, the staff, the food, the location for the view, and the town centre couldn't be beaten. If we were to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings - and thank you very much for your super review, never been called a 'jackpot' before. I like it! We find we enjoy our work so much more when we have a hotel full of happy customers, so a little effort from all our team means we have fun too. Hope you decide to revisit this fabulous Island in... More

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We organised a surprise getaway for my Mum & Dad to revisit the hotel they stayed at 50 years ago on their honeymoon - The Clifton, Shanklin. We would like to thank David and his team for making our parents feel so welcome and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The room with its sea view was lovely,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hi Lesley. So glad your parents enjoyed their special break back here where they honeymooned, they seemed to enjoy the 'new' Clifton immensely. We hope to be able to welcome yourself to The Clifton in the future. Best Regards. David. More

Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
53 hotel reviews
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Spent a short break here in June and found the hotel excellent. We booked a cosy room as we were only staying a couple of nights and found it had all that we needed. The room was spotlessly clean as was the on suite shower room. Everything was obviously new or recently decorated; the bed was very comfy too and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello GTS, the whole team here really enjoyed reading your review, it makes it all worth the effort when everything is appreciated so much, and especially from a Top Tripadvisor Contributor like yourself. Thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton on your next visit to our wonderful Island. Warm regards. David. More

Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Fantastic location on the top of the cliff. presentation and cleanliness was spot on. All the staff were very nice and helpfull. Could not fault the breakfast and the evening meals were well cooked and interesting. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Janis. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, it is much appreciated, we are all glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your break here at The Clifton. Best Regards. David. More

Newcastle upon Tyne, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Stayed here recently in the ( expensive ) premier suite which had a rather small bedroom and a tiny bathroom which could do with some updating. Nevertheless, the location is striking overlooking the garden and benefiting from sweeping sea views. David is an attentive and professional front of house host and Carys is an excellent chef - a winning combination.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings. Wonderful to hear that you found our location both striking and relaxing, and our food enjoyable - all descriptions we strive to achieve. The bathroom does indeed need updating, to keep it in line with the rest of the refurbishments we have been undertaking since we took over The Clifton. It is scheduled for this coming winter break. Hopefully... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clifton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style
#2 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin #2 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin #4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin #13 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton’s privileged location on the cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The Conservatory Bistro offers a stunning view of the bay which can also be enjoyed from the lovely garden offering the perfect visual tonic to relax and revitalise, perhaps with a good book and an English Cream Tea, or refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

See which rooms travelers prefer