We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Special Price
10% off room rate
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Clifton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clifton
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    60
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
169
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (245)
  • Mar-May only
    (107)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A lovely hotel, perfect cliff top location & neat to the beach, old town & shops no nothing too far. Fabulous breakfast outside on the sun deck - could have been abroad. Staff very welcoming & great room - thank you 😃

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Clifton's location couldn't be better. At the end of Queen's Road, literally a two minute meander from the Chine and five minutes from the old village. But the key thing is the quality of service. It is up there with some of the best hotels I've stayed in; ask and ye shall receive. This goes right across the board,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you very much for such a brilliant review - a bit more special coming from a Tripadvisor 'Top Contributor'. I have nothing to add apart from the bathroom already being on our radar. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton later in the year. Best Regards. David. More 

Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
103 hotel reviews
159 helpful votes 159 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We managed to book a first floor balcony room with verandah overlooking the ocean and the busy sea lanes with constant shipping a few miles out. The room is cleverly supplied with binoculars. Unfortunately for him, because of a disability I have, the proprietor had to double as porter which he did with good grace. There is no lift, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello John. Thank you for your wonderful review, such a shame that the local wine was not to your taste. I note your comment about payment - it would be nice to return to the old ways, I would like to point out that we only take the first night stay as a deposit, and have found that this system... More 

Lymington, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a 3 day leisure break on the IOW. Hotel has been refurbished by the new owners over the past 3 years and was excellent in all respects. Staff and proprietors were all very friendly . We eat in 2 evenings to save going out again after full sightseeing days and the food was very good and not expensive.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings, thank you for your thoughts on our refurbishments - sometimes we thought it would never end, but it has all been worthwhile if our guests feel comfortable and relaxed. We are very lucky with our location, in a quiet corner of Shanklin and yet close to everything that the town has to offer. Best Regards. David. More 

cambs
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean and comfortable. Ideal location on the coastal path with great views. Had room 16 with lovely views of the sea. Breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Also ate here for 2 nights and food and service good. Nice bar and cosy areas to sit and relax? The Staff very helpful and friendly especially Joanna. Would definitely recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings and thank you for the review, room 16 certainly seems to be very popular with our guests - both new and returning. Hope you become the latter. Kind Regards.David. More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at the Clifton Hotel. We were greeted by Olivia who was very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a sea facing 2nd floor room which was lovely. We had a beautiful view of the sea and found the binoculars really interesting to get a close up view of the shipping. Joanna was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Dave. Glad you enjoyed room 16, the Bay View rooms certainly have a stunning panorama - like an ever changing oil painting. Hope you return to soak up some more tranquillity. Regards. David. More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for three nights and it was the best hotel we have stayed in for a long time. On arrival Joanna very helpfully upgraded us to a seaview room which, although small, was well worth the extra. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and all the facilities were first class. Breakfast choice was exceptional and beautifully presented. All the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings - I will pass on your thoughts to our team, they always enjoy learning that their hard work is appreciated by our guests. It was a shame that a larger sea view room wasn't available for you, hopefully we will welcome you back to The Clifton in a Bay View room. Kind Regards. David. More 

Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

From start to finish, this was a wonderful experience. Even at the time of booking, John offered to organise our ferry crossing ( and save us some money! ). On arrival we were met with warmth and genuine enthusiasm and a fabulous cup of tea with home made cake from the Bistro. Our room wasn't at the front unfortunately, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Jan. Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, glad you enjoyed all the little extras we offer to make your stay with us so special. We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Clifton when you are next in need of a nice rest. Regards, David. More 

Dawlish, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My husband and I recently spent a week at The Clifton Hotel. It has an idyllic situation facing the sea. The Bistro afforded great views of the sea as you dined on the excellent food which we always enjoyed. We stayed in a Bay View double room. This was comfortable and well serviced. There were several public areas where you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Heather. You are absolutely correct of course, this is indeed the perfect place for a relaxing and peaceful break, and with the sun shining the garden is a great place to do virtually nothing. Marvellous. I look forward to welcoming you both on your return. David. More 

Croydon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel staff were very hospitable and went out the way to ensure I had a variety of meal options as I am vegan. The facilities were well maintained with a complimentary breakfast. The Hotel was by the sea front.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Nii. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are always happy to cater for guests with special diets - it keeps our chef on her toes! Kind Regards. David. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (43)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay