We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Clifton

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Clifton
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Clifton
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    56
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
141
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (213)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (42)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

No free wifi as advertised! (Very important for us to Skype family in Oz) We did complain to staff but the matter remained unresolved during our 4 night stay. Other than that we had a very nice stay at the Clifton, great location! Lovely breakfast. Warm & friendly staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Katie. We appreciate the problem with having no available Wi-Fi in this day and age, as was explained during your stay the company providing our Wi-Fi has been having difficulties with their connectivity on the Island. I am sure it will be resolved before your next visit!! Good to hear that the rest of your stay was enjoyable. Kind... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

booked this hotel for a couple of nights stay and it was very enjoyable. check in was very fast it is a very clean hotel with friendly staff. breakfast was lovely will definitely return if on the island again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Rodney. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Hope you return to our Island soon. Kind Regards, David More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2015

My boyfriend and I spent Valentine's night at the Clifton as it was near a family party we were attending that day. We booked a room with a sea view which was fabulous in the morning to wake up to. The hosts were very friendly and we thought the Valentine's dinner was delicious and excellent value for money. I would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Olivia. I have passed your opinion of the dinner on to our chef, she loves to hear that guests have enjoyed her food. I must say that the lovely picture of the view from your room seems very early in the morning! Hope you visit us again when you are next visiting your family. Best Regards, David. More 

Tornby, Denmark
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2014

We had the pleasure of spending a couple of nights at The Clifton on our first visit to Isle of Wight. We really enjoyed it - both the hotel and the Island. We booked directly with the hotel and the booking was taken care of swiftly and serviceoriented. They informed us, that they also could take care of our ferrybooking,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings, and thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. Glad to hear you had fun going round the Island, but as you intimate there is an awful lot to see and do - and one short visit is never enough time. We hope to welcome you back to The Clifto again. Best Regards,... More 

Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2014

I booked this hotel for our anniversary because I had stayed here before on a business trip and thought it excellent. Unfortunately I was disappointed, from the room, to the size of the bathroom it just wasn't up to the standard of my previous visit and my partner was disappointed too. Will not be going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Sarah. Very sorry to hear that you felt your room wasn't as good as on your previous visit. However I note that, as you commented on in your earlier review, we had been able to give you an Upgrade to our Balcony Bay View room on that occasion. Hopefully you will change your mind about returning when you have... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

After deciding that the cost of train travel to London was becoming prohibitive for a short break we decided to look for a stay somewhere we had not yet visited. The Isle of Wight ticked the necessary boxes, and after researching TripAdvisor and Booking.com decided upon The Clifton. We contacted the hotel directly to check some of the room details,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello to you both. Thank you so much for your super review, I was really pleased to hear that you enjoyed the service we offer when you were booking, we try hard to make the process as easy and painless as we can for our guests. And a lot of our guests seem to agree that dining in The Clifton... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a very pleasant couple of nights at the Clifton Hotel. The staff were all very pleasant and the sea views from the dining room are fantastic! The staff were most helpful with my gluten and lactose free diet and were able to supply gluten free bread for breakfast and soya milk. My only slight complaint... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
TheClifton, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Lucy. Glad that we could help with your diet, we do have plenty of experience catering for food intolerances - my other half, Carys, who is the chef, also has to deal with leaving out some foods from her diet. I am a bit surprised by your comment on our beds as all our mattresses have been recently purchased,... More 

kent
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

efficient telephoned reservation, emailed confirmation, book-in, all spot on. Service very good, not in your face but... friendly, positive, pleased that you are there, it makes such a difference. Room very acceptable (we singles aren't top of any pile, anywhere !) and good value, and the food and drink likewise, Difficult to downmark ! thanks.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheClifton, Guest Relations Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings, Thank you for a great review of The Clifton, I'm very pleased that you found our service at the Clifton to be of a high standard, those are all the aspects of customer service we strive for. I will pass on your regards to the team. Kind Regards, Olivia. More 

LONDON
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2014

The hotel is in a great position right on cliff edge, with nice little garden/lawn area and unimpeded views of sea. It is literally 5 mins walk to seafront or Shanklin town centre. I found the hotel easily enough with my sat nav and parking was fine at the hotel. The reception area is neat and tidy. The breakfast/dining area... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
TheClifton, Guest Relations Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Walklim, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Clifton, we really are in a great position on the cliff and this does make for stunning views when dining in our restaurant at meal times. I will pass on your kind words to the team here at the Clifton, we all pride ourselves on being... More 

Haywards Heath
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is our second visit to the Clifton and it really does tick all the boxes for us. The location is just about as good as it gets, and the sea facing rooms (recommended) really do have fantastic views of Shanklin Bay and the sea beyond. Binoculars are thoughtfully provided in these rooms, and there is plenty to look at!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
TheClifton, Guest Relations Manager at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Howard D, Thank you for your brilliant review of the Clifton! Glad to hear that this is your second visit to us, were finding that we have a lot of returning guests which reassures us that were getting things right, Also very glad to hear that you will be choosing us again when you do return. We look forward... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (40)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question