We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Shanklin hotels

The Clifton

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Save Saved
You added The Clifton to your Saves list
The Clifton
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
94%
Ranked #6 of 55 hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Bev168 Ryde, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (202)
  • Photos (65)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (59)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    50
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
21
135
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ryde, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Recently stayed at the Clifton the staff were amazing and nothing was too much trouble and they made us feel very welcome, the rooms were beautiful and could not fault the food or the choices that were on offer, the location of the hotel is in a perfect setting and the views were stunning will definitely be returning for another... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Bev, lovely to hear that you will be returning soon for another dose of The Clifton magic. We seem to be accumulating quite a few returning guests, which reassures us that we seem to be getting a lot right - but we are still intent on improving even more. Best regards until next time. David. More

Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

My wife and I recently stayed at the 'Clifton Shanklin' in the ''Balcony Bay View Room' on a 'Half Board' basis between 08/08/2014 - 15/08/2014. We could not fault the Hotel in any way whatsoever !! The Seafront location is second to none & near to both the Beach & Shanklin Old Town, with its numerous Pubs & Restaurants. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Andrew and Deb, brilliant that you enjoyed your first stay here so much. Carys thoroughly enjoyed reading your eulogies about her cooking! We will look forward to your next visit. Be good till then. David. More

Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We were very disappointed with the hotel. The man, I think he was called David did SO not want to be there, I am guessing he might be the owner? He was very reserved and at times abrupt, not great attributes for a hotelier! Perhaps he was just tired? I found the carpet in our room was not hoovered and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings. Such a shame that your view of The Clifton seems to have been clouded by a small mistake by one of our housekeepers - quickly rectified by Olivia who then assured me that all was now well. I can only suggest that readers of this review switch to the positive reviews from all our other guests. With regards to... More

London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the Clifton about three days before we went. My darling wife found it on late rooms, but I phoned them direct and got a better rate and cheaper ferry travel. It is much nicer to speak to a human rather than click and buy. Beautifully straightforward email confirmation and ferry ticket delivery. Arrived at the hotel and had a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Thank you Paul for such a fabulous and thorough review. Glad you had a wonderful time on our Island, and we certainly concur with your reasoning in holidaying in the UK. Hopefully in the near future the Island will have a broadband network to match the mainland - well we can but hope! Best Regards. David. More

Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Clifton Hotel is in a wonderful setting, looking out over the sea. A short walk provides the beach in one direction and Shanklin old town in the other. The hotel itself was comfortable clean and the rooms were stocked with tea coffee and biscuits on a daily bases. Staff were very friendly and helpful and when asked were keen... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, as you point out we really are very fortunate to be in a such a perfect setting. It is always good to hear positive comments about all our staff, they all work hard to keep The Clifton clean and welcoming for our guests. We hope to welcome you back in... More

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It took me a while to find a hotel that didn't look like it was going to be full of older more retired folks. I came across the Clifton and the reviews and photos looked great. We stopped for a weekend in July and it was brilliant. The hotel was clean, the food was excellent and eating your breakfast looking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings - and thank you for a fabulous review. We do worry a little about our cosy doubles, but as you intimate they are fine for a short break when you have the incredible views from our public areas to make the most of. Please give us a call when you are planning to return in order to ensure a... More

Newhaven, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good food, good service, lovely room, friendly staff, pretty garden and great views ... you could not ask for more. The weather was very hot during our stay so we were glad to have a room with a balcony and the electric fan provided was a lovely touch so typical of this hotel. Breakfast and dinner were good with plenty... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Wendy. How wonderful that you found everything here to your liking, our staff here do all work hard to create a 'home from home' for our guests so I love it when I can show them a review which inspires them even more. Thank You. David. More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We chose this hotel based on good reviews in Tripadvisor and were not disappointed. Very clean throughout the hotel. Food very good. Very friendly. We had bay window and the views out to sea were good. HMS Ocean anchored directly opposite hotel. Queen Mary II and other cruise liners passing by.

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hello Alex. Thank you very much for your review. Wasn't it a brilliant experience training the binoculars on HMS Ocean! Hope we are able to welcome you to The Clifton again sometime. Regards. David. More

Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Superb location, with views right across Sandown Bay. We stayed for 9 nights. The Premier Suite is pricey, but good value if you want the view - and the space. The proprietors and staff are all very friendly, with a general "family" atmosphere. We can definitely recommend the food, too, with regularly changing "specials". I would not complain about paying... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Hi, glad we were able to supply you with the Great Holiday you were looking for, the Premier Suite does seem to be very popular for exactly the reasons you have pointed out. The wi-fi was upgraded last winter so that it complies with the latest security guidelines now being recommended, this does make logging on a little more laborious... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for three nights in a "standard double". The room was a reasonable size and spotlessly clean with a bathroom also in very good order. The Clifton is located on the cliff tops at the southern end of Keats Green and is well placed for anyone wanting to walk up into old Shanklin for the restaurants in the High... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
David B, Owner at The Clifton, responded to this review

Greetings, and thank you for taking the time to write a review. Nice to read that you would be happy to stay here again, it is important to us that our guests feel comfortable here. The Wi-Fi is normally enough for the usual e-mail and internet searches, it is only when the device is being used for streaming films etc... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The Clifton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The Clifton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Clifton

Address: 1 Queens Road, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Clifton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Clifton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Clifton Hotel Shanklin
Clifton Hotel Shanklin
The Clifton Shanklin, Isle Of Wight

65 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (28)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (22)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Shanklin with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style
#2 Romantic Hotel in Shanklin #3 Luxury Hotel in Shanklin #4 On the Beach Hotel in Shanklin #11 Family Hotel in Shanklin
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clifton’s privileged location on the cliff top offers an amazing sea view and makes it an ideal retreat for those in search of tranquility. The Conservatory Bistro offers a stunning view of the bay which can also be enjoyed from the lovely garden offering the perfect visual tonic to relax and revitalise, perhaps with a good book and an English Cream Tea, or refreshments from the licensed bar. Local is Best……with prime farming land all around us and a host of specialist growers and producers making the most of it, we usually have access to plenty of fresh seasonal fruit and vegetables, as well as quality fish and meat. The garden opens out to Keats Green and the lovely walk between Shanklin and Sandown (part of the Isle of Wight Coastal Path) with fantastic views across Sandown Bay. This also leads to the famous Shanklin Chine with a pathway down to the sandy beaches. Within easy reach by foot are the picturesque Shanklin Old Village with its thatched roofs, and the beautiful Rylstone Gardens. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
16

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Clifton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer