We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Shanklin hotels

Marlborough Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Queens Road | Isle of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Hotel amenities
Marlborough Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com Travelocity
and 5 more sites!
65%
Ranked #42 of 55 hotels in Shanklin
A recent review
Write a Review

62 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    20
    17
    6
    4
See reviews for
8
18
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Have just had a two night break at the Marlborough Hotel in Shanklin Isle of Wight. It is not the most sophisticated hotel but clean, very friendly with good service. Close to beach and local amenities. Made to feel welcome by management and staff. Would recommend to old and young alike. Unable to comment on meals in the evenings as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
257 reviews 257 reviews
52 hotel reviews
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding that was being held on the island at a venue with only 12 rooms. As we weren't going to be around much we went for the cheaper end of the scale. First impressions were pretty good and it looks like some work has been done on the communal areas recently. All fairly basic, but still... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duras, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Good value for money, with friendly welcome. The rooms were warm when we arrived and although the restaurant was not open we were given advice on where to choose where to go. The breakfast could not be better , superb choice all fresh ,wonderful service and included in the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The staff are friendly and welcoming. In regards to the rooms, they need to be updated a little, decent size but the bathroom was on the small side. The breakfast was good. I found it hard to get a internet connection in the room I was staying in, when I did it was slow for me. It was a nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
lymington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed here on saturday the 12th and sunday of october....the hotel is so clean ,our room was lovely and warm ant the breakfast was amazing....everything you could possable want....The owners were so nice and made us feel very welcome...We will certainly be coming here again...Great value for money....

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

My sister and I have just spent 4 nights at the Marlborough Hotel with a coach party.The food was excellent as was th entertainment in the evenings,(particularly the quiz)Manager and staff ,all very pleasant and hard working,We had room 22 which needs some readjustment re.the bathroom,which was totally inadequate,too small and badly designed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
derbyshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

i said last time i would come back again so this is our second visit to the marlborough hotel . there has been improvements since last year and work is ongoing . our room was very good , clean with balcony and small view of the sea and overlooking the nice garden . the food was good and lots of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
South Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
59 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed in July 13 at this hotel and upon arrival the 1st problem was the cases. They insisted taking these to the rooms but took around 40 minutes for ours to arrive leaving little time to get changed and freshen up before dinner on the 1st night, The room had a terrible view overlooking some old backyard and other... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

On arriving at the Marlborough the garden area was tidy and presentable, but the building itself was very shabby looking, inside doors were half painted and the stairs to the first floor were painted white and dangerous for people with poor mobility and not wearing appropriate footwear. The shower.... haha what a laugh!! Took 25 mins to have a shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
22audi22, Public Relations Manager at Marlborough Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for your comments , and we are sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion , however given the fact that your stay was part of a coach party and half price was charged for your children and your partner as the coach driver didn't even paid there shouldn't be a reason for your silly comments ,... More

london
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The hotel is obviously going through a bit of a refurbishment confirmed by the workman puttying the outside windows on a bright Saturday morning. The entrance hallway floorboards have been stripped back to basic flooring, the stairs have just been painted white and the doors appeared to have been primed white but not finished. The room was averagely decorated, a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Marlborough Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Hotel

Also Known As:
Marlborough Hotel Shanklin
Marlborough Hotel Shanklin, Isle Of Wight
Address: 16 Queens Road | Isle of Wight, Shanklin PO37 6AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 55 hotels in Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Marlborough Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Hotel is a cosy hotel located just a few minutes walk from the beach, Old Village and main shopping area offering friendly service, excellent comfort and good value for money. The fully licensed bar & restaurant serves a variety of home made cooking and local beers and wines with regular live evening entertainment. Large car & coach parking onsite, there is also a pleasant garden where you can relax and soak up the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Marlborough Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlborough Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Marlborough Hotel to your Saves list