We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
10 St Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    196
    16
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
66
95
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (222)
  • Mar-May only
    (31)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights as we got last minute tickets to the IOW Festival. From the initial enquiry Keith and Christine were very helpful and extremely informative. They helped and booked the car in for the ferry journey over to the Isle of Wight. The room was clean, tidy, spacious and the small touches like... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
channel isles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at The Swiss Cottage for 5 nights at the beginning of last August . I meant to post a review on Tripadvisor at the time But I 'm afraid I didn't get round to it . I had a lovely room on the ground floor .Both the room & the bathroom were spacious ,comfortable & clean .I thought... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2015

Just had a week at this hotel and it was a very nice stay,breakfast was excellent,and very nice hosts,rooms were clean and spotless,and would recommened this hotel to anyone who wanted to stay in Shanklin.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sturminster Newton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

This is the second time of staying here and the hosts could not be more welcoming. It was a pleasure to see Keith and Christine again. Breakfast each morning was excellent with great choices. Hope to see you again soon Jones family

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Epsom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2015

I had decided not to write a review of this property as I had seen the sort of response you get from the owners. I did not want to get into a slanging match. After our friends who we were travelling with decided they would review I received an e-mail direct from Keith asking me to respond privately. I am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Thank you for your ‘review’ of your short break with us during last year. Although you comment very briefly on the accommodation and breakfasts your overall comments are quite personal and directed at myself. Firstly, I was unaware that Keith had emailed you for your opinions and comments on your friends but with all good customer care it is common... More 

hythe
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

We stayed at this place last july, we found the owners not nice at all felt though we shouldent be there, it was rush rush rush, food horrable one night my lettice was black,dont think those people should be in that buisness,so rude so please take notice of my review DONT GO THERE.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The owners made us feel very unwelcome and we felt as though we were a great inconvenience to their lives. I've never seen so many rules at a B&B and the fact that breakfast was only available between 8.30 and 9.00am was hardly relaxing. It was a shame as the location was excellent and the room was okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Thank you for your rather late review for your 2 nights stay with us in September. If your stay with us was a bad as you claim, I personally would have brought this to the owner’s attention immediately, failing that I would have reviewed the said establishment on my return not wait 4 months as an afterthought to try to... More 

Birmngham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I have to say this is the worst place i have ever stayed in- in terms of the attitude of the hosts. We were meant to feel a complete nuisance , there are far too many rules and regulations to follow that meant that you cannot relax and enjoy your stay. We were made to feel like we were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 26
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on us at The Swiss Cottage. Your heading is very dramatic and damming to catch people’s attention but who are you? Unfortunately we have tried to email you via Trip Advisor Owners Section to try to identify who you are but you have failed to respond. We have spoken to Trip Advisor who cannot give... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Swiss Cottage and as always we were made to feel very welcome by Keith and Christine. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect and more. As always Keith and Christine go out of their way to make you feel at home. We stayed on a bed, breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

To Claire & Wayne Yes third time now becoming regulars with us! With any Music Festival goers we are happy to have them stay with us, as long as they remember the three simple rules politness, friendleness and common decency. If they have them we clearly have no problem with them staying. This couple have it in abundance (unlike some)... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Three of us enjoyed a late-Autumn three night cycling holiday, exploring the east of the island, and stayed in Swiss Cottage, which suited us perfectly. Very friendly, well managed, excellent value, and therefore highly recommended in this regard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

To our intrepid Cyclists Great to receive a review from you and glad you feel that as Cyclists you can make our Home your base and then go out on our lovely cycle paths to explore the Island and then come back and enjoy our warmth, hospitality and great food every day! See you again for the next Cycling Festival... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities