We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Swiss Cottage Shanklin

Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
4.0 of 5
Hotel website
10 St Georges Road, Shanklin PO37 6BA, England
Announcement
NOW OPEN FOR 2015 BOOKING
The Swiss Cottage Shanklin
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    16
    2
    2
    5
See reviews for
64
93
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (217)
  • Mar-May only
    (29)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (96)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (68)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
hythe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed at this place last july, we found the owners not nice at all felt though we shouldent be there, it was rush rush rush, food horrable one night my lettice was black,dont think those people should be in that buisness,so rude so please take notice of my review DONT GO THERE.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2015

The owners made us feel very unwelcome and we felt as though we were a great inconvenience to their lives. I've never seen so many rules at a B&B and the fact that breakfast was only available between 8.30 and 9.00am was hardly relaxing. It was a shame as the location was excellent and the room was okay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Thank you for your rather late review for your 2 nights stay with us in September. If your stay with us was a bad as you claim, I personally would have brought this to the owner’s attention immediately, failing that I would have reviewed the said establishment on my return not wait 4 months as an afterthought to try to... More 

Birmngham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2014

I have to say this is the worst place i have ever stayed in- in terms of the attitude of the hosts. We were meant to feel a complete nuisance , there are far too many rules and regulations to follow that meant that you cannot relax and enjoy your stay. We were made to feel like we were in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 20
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Thank you for your review on us at The Swiss Cottage. Your heading is very dramatic and damming to catch people’s attention but who are you? Unfortunately we have tried to email you via Trip Advisor Owners Section to try to identify who you are but you have failed to respond. We have spoken to Trip Advisor who cannot give... More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This was our 3rd stay at the Swiss Cottage and as always we were made to feel very welcome by Keith and Christine. The rooms were spotless, comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect and more. As always Keith and Christine go out of their way to make you feel at home. We stayed on a bed, breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

To Claire & Wayne Yes third time now becoming regulars with us! With any Music Festival goers we are happy to have them stay with us, as long as they remember the three simple rules politness, friendleness and common decency. If they have them we clearly have no problem with them staying. This couple have it in abundance (unlike some)... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

Three of us enjoyed a late-Autumn three night cycling holiday, exploring the east of the island, and stayed in Swiss Cottage, which suited us perfectly. Very friendly, well managed, excellent value, and therefore highly recommended in this regard.

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

To our intrepid Cyclists Great to receive a review from you and glad you feel that as Cyclists you can make our Home your base and then go out on our lovely cycle paths to explore the Island and then come back and enjoy our warmth, hospitality and great food every day! See you again for the next Cycling Festival... More 

Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We are sisters who spent a wonderful week at The Swiss Cottage. We were amazed at the quality of the accommodation and all that was provided in the room. The warmth and friendliness of Christine and Keith radiated out to all the guests and this, together with excellent food and freedom to use the lounge facilities at any time of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Thanks Ladies for being one of our last great & best reviews for this year. See you again next year when we will continue to be your No 1 Choice! Happy Xmas XX More 

Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Swiss Cottage. The location was perfect, near the beach and the Old Village. Keith and Christine were lovely hosts who really made you feel at home, and the service was excellent. The room was very nice, clean and environmentally friendly. We were served a great breakfast that made you go for the whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Hi Suzanne Thank you for your taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us in September. So pleased that we were able to accommodate all of your needs and that you enjoyed our breakfasts and evening meals. We look forward to your return visit to us in the near future More 

Hailsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2014

What another wonderful week I have just experienced at Swiss Cottage! After my first exceptional visit in June, I couldn't wait to go back for more. Keith and Chris are the most friendly, courteous and helpful hosts. Once again the room was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the food at breakfast and dinner was excellently cooked and scrumptious, and the rapport... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

To Dear Pat You are starting to feel like one of the family the amount of time you spend with us! Obviously its just perfect for you and pleased to have you stay. See you in June for another few fun packed weeks. Happy Xmas in advance! Luv Keith & Chris More 

Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

My sister Dorothy and I spent a really enjoyable week at Swiss Cottage during July. Our hosts Christine and Keith, not forgetting Tansy, were very friendly, yet most professional, and made us feel most welcome. The accommodation could not be faulted, with many extras not expected. The food was excellent - well cooked with plenty of choice. Would certainly recommend... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Thanks Madeline & Dorothy for writing a lovely review on us. We are pleased to see that you feel we are the Best place to stay in Shanklin, we believe we are so do the other 200 guests agree with you. Take care and hope to see you again Kind Regards Keith & Chris More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

We had a lovely weeks stay in July. Our first time back in the IOW for 19 years. Keith and Christine were excellent hosts providing superb, friendly service. The room was comfortable and spotlessly clean and the attention to detail would be hard to find in larger hotels. The large breakfasts set us up for the day. We found it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
KeithBeckett, Owner at The Swiss Cottage Shanklin, responded to this review

Morning Peter & Glenys Like everything, you like taking your time in writing this lovely review and waiting to come to the Island after 19 years! Dont wait to come back to see us that long next time! Much appreciated comments, great guests, great company and a joy to have stay. Kind Regards Keith & Christine xx More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
2:28
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question