We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Shanklin Guest House

Certificate of Excellence
20 Grange Road, Shanklin PO37 6NN, England
Hotel amenities
Old Shanklin Guest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #2 of 52 Shanklin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Annette B Andover, United Kingdom
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
166
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (231)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (72)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (84)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (22)
All months
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The Old Shanklin Guest House is just off the old village main road. It's easy to find and easy to stumble to after a night enjoying the wares of the many excellent bars and restaurants. The entrance to the car park makes you suck in your tummy or perhaps that should be wing mirrors, but once in its fine. Sarah... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Greater London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely modern bed and breakfast. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Well travelled young couple turned b&b owners doing bed and breakfast the right way ! Would have loved to sty longer but were only down for a weekend. Breakfast was brilliant. Thank you Sarah and Gareth.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We recently stayed at OSGH for 2 nights when travelling the South coast in a VW camper van. Sarah and Gareth made us very welcome and upgraded us to the Bonchurch Suite as the room adjacent to Godshill was being upgraded. The guest house was very clean, breakfasts were excellent with sensible portions and the weather could not have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from 3 nights in the Bonchurch Room. From the moment we arrived, Sarah and Gareth made us very welcome and breakfast each morning was top notch; lots of local ingredients - look out for the specials board! The house itself has been decorated to a superb standard and is kept very clean and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Halesowen
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

The room was wonderful and breakfast scrumptious. Originally we were in one of the small rooms but as my husband is over 6ft we had to upgrade, however we were so glad we did as we loved the Jacuzzi bath and shower. We couldn't fault anything and would 100% recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you, Tina, for your review. The Captain's Room is restrictive for people over 6' and certainly wouldn't have been suitable for your husband. We do try to make this as clear as possible on the 3rd party agency websites, but they limit us somewhat for reasons only known to them! We always recommend that wherever you stay it's a... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

Just got back from a 3 night stay with my family , This is the best B&B that we have ever stayed in , The breakfast is all local ingredients and is cooked to perfection. Rooms are very spacious and clean , There was nothing i could really fault

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you very much Paul. I just hope you didn't get too much of all the donkeys! More 

London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We arrived later than planned, but this was no problem and were welcomed warmly. As our room had been double booked online we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. The huge bed was comfy, bathroom enormous and the room had everything you could think of in. We were impressed! We were given a choice of what time we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Naomi. I must say that is the first time we've had a double booking, they literally both came in at the same time from different sources, so we're glad we could accommodate you and very glad you enjoyed your stay. We'd love to have you back. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed in the old shanklin guest house for an Easter break, Sarah and Gareth were very welcoming and even have a yummy cake awaiting our arrival! Very tasty breakfasts and a lovely room. Lots of recommendations for places to eat and things to do which was very helpful as we had no idea! We would defiantly stay again... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Emma, thank you for your review. You certainly made the most of your time here with your tandeming (if that's a word) and getting around the Island. More 

Aveley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2015

We have stayed at the Old Shanklin Guest House several times, in fact We are beginning to loose count! We really love the Isle of Wight and are so glad that we found this guesthouse. We certainly would not want to stay anywhere else! The owners, Gareth and Sarah are very welcoming without being intrusive and always have recommendations for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

We certainly hope you'll be back. It's always really nice to see you both. The year wouldn't be the same without you. More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2015

Me and my partner decided to take a trip away after I returned from Afghan and after looking on old faithful trip advisor we found this guesthouse. Welcome back to Blighty lovely welcoming hosts, tea, coffee and scrummy home bake cookies on arrival. St Helens suite is a lovely room and spotlessly clean. Wonderfully comfortable bed and plenty of helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sarah J, Owner at Old Shanklin Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Gary. We're glad you enjoyed your well deserved rest. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (23)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities