We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Queensmead Hotel

#11 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
Certificate of Excellence
12 Queens Rd., Shanklin P037 6AN, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Queensmead Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Queensmead Hotel
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    9
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
23
31
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (83)
  • Mar-May only
    (24)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (22)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (4)
All months
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from a week on the beautiful I.O.W and enjoyed some great weather. Queensmead is a family run hotel and is extremely comfortable. Great service throughout and the food is generous and well cooked. Thank you Chris for all your attention. Having visited the Island frequently this hotel meets every expectancy. Can't wait to return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have travelled with Parrys International (as we prefer them to any other) Excellent travel, superb weather good excursions. Many thanks to Nigel and Parrys. The Queeensmead is wonderful, warm comfy welcoming, and miuites from the sea. The food is exquisite (although there is often too much of it!) We recommend both the hotel and Parrys to anyone looking for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

We had a recent trip away to the island (which has prompted us to move there!) and stayed in the queensmead hotel. Very impressed with the grand period features and helpful hotel manager. The room was comfortable and well appointed and the breakfast was lovely. We ate out whilst exploring yet we're always welcomed back in even when we arrived... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Just returned from a mid week break at the Queensmead Hotel with Parry's international. What a great time we had. The hotel is very clean even though its decor is a little dated. Food was the best. As a person who only eats chicken which usually causes problems i have to say Barry and Chris could not do enough for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Burntwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

Shower rose jets blocked by dirt and limescale, not been cleaned for months. Wash hand basin in bedroom not in bathroom, next to the drinks tray. not very hygienic. Breakfasts okay but evening meals concentrated on quantity and not quality very poor, large of amount of food returned and wasted. A drink at the bar was £3-00 for a 75p... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Queenmead_Hotel, Manager at Queensmead Hotel, responded to this review

Dear John B, We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay at the Queensmead. As for the lime scale on the shower head it was minimal as the shower in question was brand new and installed on the 28/01/2015. But we removed and cleaned straight away as you requested also you were offered to be moved... More 

Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

Just returned from a turkey and Tinsel at the Queensmead Hotel Shanklin with Parry's international. Barry and his team were excellent as usual, good food, hotel decorated for Christmas as you would expect. Entertainment at night was very good. I will be returning again for Christmas. The Queensmead has won the top trip advisor award for 2014. I have been... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Westerham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

Had a two day stay in the hotel with a male Choir group, despite the weather we had a great time. The hotel is very much in the traditional style with rather dated decor but very clean and efficiently run. I shared a room with a Choir colleague this was a reasonable size and adequately furnished but the bathroom was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Queensmead hotel is at 5 minutes walk from the beautiful Shanklin Old town and 5 minutes walk to the sea. The rooms are big, quiet and nice with a choice of tea and coffee. The meal: from starter to the gorgeous sweets....everything is delicious. The staff is very nice...they look after you as if you where at home !!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

What a wonderful hotel! From the moment you arrive you are made to feel like a long lost friend. Nothing is too much trouble for the team at The Queenmead. The rooms are clean & airy and well maintained. Fresh towels everyday was a real bonus. Breakfast is more than ample for even the heartiest of appetites. If you are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

I have just returned from a family break at the Queensmeade, I have been holidaying on the Isle of Wight and staying at the Queansmeade for many years, chosen for simple reasons. Firstly, the Isle of Wight as a holiday destination speaks for itself! and secondly, the Queensmeade excells at ticking ALL the boxes that anyone could want from a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question