We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Curraghmore Hotel

22 Hope Rd., Shanklin P037 6EA, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Curraghmore Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Curraghmore Hotel
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    8
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
16
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (40)
  • Mar-May only
    (5)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (28)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014

Just back from an excellent holiday in Shanklin, staying at this splendid and rather idiosyncratic hotel which has great views of the sea and is a five minute walk from the beach. Bernie and Lesley, the hoteliers welcomed us and made us feel very much at home. The family room was large and had everything we needed and if the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Simon & family Thank you for your review ,it was great to hear you had a good time with us. As you say we are not a Premier Inn we are a small seaside hotel which hopes to make our guests feel at home.We understand the children didnt want to leave but as we say to people you have... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Just back from a three night stay but wish we could have stayed longer. It may only have a 2* rating but the service is 5*. We had a lovely spacious twin room with sea views and a bench outside the french windows from which to enjoy them in the evening. Our friends family room was equally lovely. Our hosts... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear George Thanks for your review as you say we are only 2 star but do try and make all feel welcome and comfortable . We are in an enviable position overlooking the bay so it is nice to know you could appreciate the view.We feel that if the children are enjoying themselves it makes the parents happy but we... More 

Reading, Berkshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a weeks stay here. Bernie and Leslie are the perfect hosts always happy and eager to make your stay a good one. Location fantastic, just a few minutes walk to a long dog friendly beach, town centre, railway and bus station. Hotel is only a 2 star which is reflected in the slightly dated ensuites and some... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paula Thanks for your review We are both glad you enjoyed your stay with us.The room you stayed in had just been refurbished and literally finished on the day of your arrival, we were unable to finish the en suite so that just had a coat of paint,the new tiles and shower will be fitted in the winter so... More 

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

Well as you can see back again cannot fault food excellent service next to none .Caters for every diet if nothing you fancy on the menu will accommodate you to your liking .dog friendly and child friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Liz Thanks for your review it was great to see you and Ted again dont the years disappear quickly it will be lovely to see you next year Regards Lesley & Bernie More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

It was first time of us in Isle of Wight and was wondering to have something good and where we can relax. Well we came across this hotel and found it was just in front of sea cost and about 10 min walk from shaklin station. Well the staff who own business are very friendly and alow us to check-in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vijay It was great to meet you and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us ,we look forward to seeing you again . More 

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were so pleased to find this lovely dog-friendly hotel! Although the decor of the hotel was a little 'tired' the whole was exceptionally clean, which was great given that we weren't the only guests with four-legged family in tow! Bernie & Lesley were SO friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was substantial - always a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review It is always great to hear guests have had a good holiday with us at the Curraghmore ,as you say some parts of the hotel are a little dated but as you saw in the main ares we are working to up date all the decor and have completed 15 of the 20 bedrooms the... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We were looking for a hotel in Shanklin with a good location, and came across this one with great reviews and pictures. However, even though the host was exceptionally friendly and polite, I can only suggest he stops asking friends and family to continue writing these reviews. Because this was the worst hotel we have ever stayed in. The hotel... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Bernard L, Owner at Curraghmore Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We are dissapointed that your stay with us was such a poor experience , however may I comment on one or two items, we do not ask friends and family to put reviews on tripadviser and as you can see we have a mixed bag of good, bad and indiferrent , your comment that the... More 

Birmingham
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Stayed here while attending the Isle of Wight Festival. The owners are incredibly friendly and nothing is too much trouble for them. Breakfast was lovely and served in good time. Our room was clean and comfortable. Just lacks in plug sockets but I think that is more the age of the building. It was good value and I would stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay this weekend with my 3yr old son. Bernie is an exceptional host, very welcoming and becomes your friend pretty much as soon as you walk through the door! Our room was clean and spacious, freshly decorated and with a nice sea view. The location of the hotel is fantastic and only a couple... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Well back again always welcomed hit ever time of year we arrive ,always accomandte ground floor room as husband has problems with legs ,even though there is a stair lift which he refuses to use Fab food always caters s I'm the fussy eater nothing too much trouble .Plenty of food , Room clean

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question