We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shanklin Beach Hotel

35- 38 The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Shanklin Beach Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

376 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

Had a wonderful stay at The Waterfront. As usual we were made to feel really welcome. We shared the hotel with Rupert's family who were all really lovely people. Christmas Dinner was absolutely gorgeous. Best Christmas Pud we have ever tasted in our life. Thanks to all the staff and friends we made there for making us so welcome. Happy... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2015

For £29 per room, I didn't have high expectations and actually for the money the hotel was OK. The only minor gripe we had was that there were not hair dryers in the rooms contrary to the info on the website. The major issue was the heat. The radiator was off and we had the window open all night, no... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank wheelag
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Shanklin Beach Hotel. With regard to hairdryers, these are not normally kept in the rooms but are available upon request at Reception. We are sorry to learn that you found your room to be too hot. It may have been possible for us to... More 

Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015 via mobile

My friend and I went to the Shanklin Beach Hotel for a 5 night 4 day tinsel and Turkey . The hotel looks very tired an in need of some TLC, we had a problem with the heating and they did their best to sort it. The food was good and all the staff very helpful and they made our... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Christine M
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at the Shanklin Beach Hotel. We agree that the Hotel is tired in places and it is currently undergoing a program of maintenance throughout the winter months to rectify any general issues. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food and that you found the staff pleasant... More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2015

Staff need more training on customer service and customer care, Terrible attitude to the disabled no help what so ever. cleaner removed my personal property and had to go looking for it found in the kitchen. I asked for ground floor room and got 2nd floor

Helpful?
5 Thank Jackie W
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we apologise that you feel we did not meet your standards. I remember you staying here, so firstly let me clarify for others reading that we do have ground floor rooms available for people that have walking difficulties. You did not request this with us and we even showed you... More 

Travelers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

stayed at the shanklin beach hotel for 4days, the room was very clean with lovely white bedding and fluffy white towels, the food was lovely, breakfast was good choice of cereals, full english and plenty of tea and toast, evening meal you had a choice of starters, main meal and dessert all of which was very nice and the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth m
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your break here with us. We hope to welcome you back one day in the future. More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015 via mobile

This was a great place to stay altho I read lots of bad reviews b4 I went I had to see it 4 myself ...I didn't find anything bad .The room was great well kept and clean everything worked we had lots of hot water everything thst we needed .food was great and great service too. Lots to see and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lydia H
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay here and that you saw some of what this beautiful Island has to offer. Your group were a nice crowd and we would be delighted to welcome you all back some day. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2015

A group of members from Staines Con Club left on Friday morning for a long weekend to the Shanklin Beach Hotel, we travelled on a superb coach owned by Paul S Winson coaches,having to collect another small group from a club near Woking we then cut across to the M3 for the journey to Portsmouth where we sailed on one... More 

Helpful?
Thank colin B
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are glad you had such a nice stay and got to see some of the many things the island has to offer. It was nice to meet you all and from us to all the members at Staines Con Club we would love to welcome you all back again... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2015 via mobile

Stayed at Shanklin Hotel over weekend and was wowed with room. Paid extra for a sea view superior room and had balcony on second floor room looking right across sea front. Couldn't ask for a better room. Comfortable and very clean. I would recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie S
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased to hear you had such a nice stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

Buxton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2015

stayed here on a National Holidays 5 day trip. read the reviews prior to travel and was pleasantly surprised. the room was spacious, clean and had been refurbished. There was no shower just a bath with hand held shower attachment. This may have bothered some people but not us. having been on Nationals Scottish trips where you get either bath... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank JulieSimon11
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We apologise that there was an issue with your food, we wish we could of been given the opportunity to rectify this for you when you were here. We do put order sheets out for people to pre select their evening... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a Saturday night away, always enjoy our visits to the Isle of Wight, receptionists very welcoming and polite, our room was on the first floor with a super balcony and view out to sea. The room was very spacious with a large bed, the bathroom was big enough, but no walk in shower, which was a... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Nick P
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your stay at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

117 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (87)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#13 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#31 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#8 of 54 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean View Hotel
Ocean View Hotel
#29 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 616 reviews
0.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay