We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Shanklin Beach Hotel

35- 38 The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 guest
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Shanklin Beach Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

355 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    84
    101
    84
    43
    43
See reviews for
55
151
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (114)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (152)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Where to start? The location is beautiful. Unfortunately the hotel is NOT. Reception staff not only rude but also miserable. Very uninterested and unhelpful. The bar was quite nice but the entertainment was aweful. The room we were in was very outdated and the green bathroom suite was some 40 years out of date. I really don't where the good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Frome, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed recently and found the hotel appearing tired.we were dissapointed not to have a shower or hair drier .our room was at the rear overlooking the car park approximately three feet below ground level.whilst the restaurant staff were friendly and helpful food was enjoyable however we will not be staying here again

Was this review helpful? Yes

Travelers are raving about these Shanklin hotels

Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Again travelled via national Holidays 22nd to 26th August...Good food , great service-Shocking weather but not the hotels fault. plenty of variety on the menu and couldnt fault one item. Service wise we had attentive and quick waiting staff . Our radiator wasnt working (it wasnt cold but we needed to dry our clothes as it was a mini monsoon... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sutton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Booked two rooms for a family of four via late rooms. Two days before my son gets very sick so we had to rush him to A+E. Where he was admitted. Called hotel to tell them we will have to cancel due to emergency, and is there a possibility that they could refund. Got a big fat NO. Called up... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon, We are a little confused at your review as we have had no phone call from anyone, including Laterooms with a situation such as yours? Nor have we had any notifications from Laterooms to any cancellations. Do you have the correct Hotel as we are often confused with a hotel of a similar name? More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Room was spacious with a single and a double bed, mattresses were really comfortable and sheets / bed linen were lovely and clean and fresh. Plenty of tea and coffee and more available if required.Powerful electric shower. Plenty of parking at the rear of hotel. Excellent WIFI ! All in all good value stay for the money we paid. Would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Pete and Louise, We are pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay here with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The staff we met here were friendly and we didn't eat so cannot comment on that. Also, the hotel location is great. However, the room was as follows; broken bathroom tiles, thread bare carpet, peeling wallpaper, mould, fixtures and fittings either missing, hanging off or not fitted correctly, ageing interior figments with missing fixtures, wafer thin walls, chipped and cracked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel right opposite the beach , rooms small but clean. We only paid £79 for 2 nights so obviously were not expecting luxury but were pleased with the location and cleanliness. You get what you pay for and we were more than happy. Staff helpful-put sky sports on so my husband coukd watch the rugby. Cheap and cheerful, does just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 2,nights room only . We paid for a superior room with sea view and view was amazing , rooms do need up dating but are clean . Great entertainment on both nights we stayed . Only. Criticism is bar staff I do feel they rush you out as they seem to be in a hurry to,close . It... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have just returned (16th Aug) from a very enjoyable 5 day break, staying at The Shanklin Beach Hotel. On arrival we were told that our baggage would be 'portered' to our room shortly, and it arrived very quickly. The Hotel is made up of two hotels joined together, and there is a maze of carpeted corridors, and on the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

stayed here for 5 days with my family, hotel good for the price we paid, food was nice, waiter Rob couldnt do enough he even bought my grandkids sweets for the journey home, my grandaughter is autistic, they provided different meals for her, which werent on the menu, staff very friendly and helpful, had a lovely holiday, thank you x... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

109 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
View from room (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shanklin
2.0 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#15 of 32 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 stars 164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shanklin Hotel
Shanklin Hotel
#34 of 55 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#7 of 55 in Shanklin
4.5 of 5 stars 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Wight Montrene Hotel
Wight Montrene Hotel
#7 of 32 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
The Harrow Lodge Hotel
#20 of 55 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.3 mi away
Langham Court
Langham Court
#43 of 55 in Shanklin
3.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay