We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Shanklin hotels

Shanklin Beach Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35- 38 The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Shanklin Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
54%
Ranked #37 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Max H Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    79
    61
    28
    33
See reviews for
35
112
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Yes its that time of year again when we visit the IOW ! Stayed at the Shanklin Beach (2 years in a row) we had occasion this time to question our hotel room (twin beds back of hotel no shower cracked sink no rubbish bin, leaky toilet flush etc obviously an overflow room cos the hotel was packed) but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments It is nice to hear you had a good holiday here with us and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Last week returned from a National Holiday trip . Coach was OK , Driver OK . Excursions OK . entertainment ; only listened to one night and that OK...Bar and Entertainment/Ballroom had a "gloomy" atmosphere . Rooms very basic?....... Now for the food ...very very poor , My wife who is a vegetarian could not eat some of it, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst we strive to offer the highest standards to each and every guest, we fully understand that sometimes we do miss the mark. We had planned a full hotel refurbishment at the start of 2014 to address the comments that you have made, however, as you would have been advised at check-in, during the winter... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from 4 nights at Shanklin beach hotel,On arrival the hotel doesn't look impressive from the outside but inside I was pleasantly surprised. I had booked 2rooms next to each other for myself, daughter and elderly mother, this was what we we had and our rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and overlooked the seafront,, we were very pleased. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I am pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and that you mother had an enjoyable time. My apologies for any delays with your confirmation at time of booking, we had, at the time taken on a new booking system, for which we have now worked out the kinks. We look forward to welcoming... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

just arrived home from our 5 day holiday with national holidays, the coach & trips out with dave our driver were great, dave is a very knowledgeable man he made the trips out very interesting (now for the hotel ) realy outdated lounge bar seets were all worn, the brochure stated 4 nights entertainment ,thurs & sat the artist did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst we strive to offer the highest standards to each and every guest, we fully understand that sometimes we do miss the mark. We had planned a full hotel refurbishment at the start of 2014 to address the comments that you have made, however, as you would have been advised at check-in, during the winter... More

Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in this hotel. Very clean, pleasant staff but in need of training for dining room. Good ingredients cooked without any imagination which is a shame! Very plain meals. Breakfast OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst we strive to offer the highest standards to each and every guest, we fully understand that sometimes we do miss the mark. I do hope that you give us a try again so that we can have an opportunity of meeting your expectations. Once again, thank you. More

Barnsley, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here a couple of weeks ago with National Holidays - whom we could not fault - driver David was brilliant - a true gentleman and very knowledgeable. The room was what you would expect basic but clean and the meals were lovely , good choice , something to suit everyone we thought - we found the service good too.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. More

Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Just had a week at this Hotel as part of a package with National coach holidays, but I would like to separate the two. Firstly we paid a very good price, i.e. not expensive, and as a package there is no room for complaint at all. However, I would like to review the hotel only though, as some of you... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst we strive to offer the highest standards to each and every guest, we fully understand that sometimes we do miss the mark. We have since taken on more staff to cover peak periods and bread rolls are offered to all guests at meal times. The refurbishment of the hotel that was delayed at the... More

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed at this hotel with my Grandson for 7 days and had a fabulous time. Hotel although in the process of being upgraded was spotless and the home cooked food was amazing. Had a room with a sea view and a balcony to sit out on. Staff were very pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. I would definately recommend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments I am pleased to hear that you had a lovely time and your Grandson enjoyed himself. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Once again thank you for taking the time to leave us your feedback More

Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The hotel is in a lovely position on the sea front and in spite of what I am going to say here I would go back there but only with a sea view and balcony. The reception area is fine as is the dining room, we went during a heatwave and were seated next to the open door each meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

just got back from four days on coach trip, had nice room at front on the second floor the room was spotless but no mirror near a plug so you can do your hair or makeup or no hooks for anything. the décor in bar not very inviting and drinks very expensive. The breakfast was ok but the rest of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Shanklin Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Shanklin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Address: 35- 38 The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Shanklin with
any amenities