We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 55 Shanklin hotels

Shanklin Beach Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35- 38 The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ , England
Hotel amenities
Shanklin Beach Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added Shanklin Beach Hotel to your Saves list
54%
Ranked #36 of 55 Hotels in Shanklin
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Scott S Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    79
    63
    29
    33
See reviews for
35
115
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (268)
  • Mar-May only
    (93)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (99)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (67)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (9)
All months
Waterlooville, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel has the perfect location overlooking the beautiful sandy beach. It is also a slow 15 minute walk into the town centre. The hotel itself is very dated and could do with A little modernisation. The rooms are clean but the shower facility is pretty poor. Overall this hotel is a good one night rest stop. Cannot any comment... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed a week in September with National Holidays. Paid for sea view room, fortunately, as lovely view. Room clean and beds spotless. Shower just a curtain and tray, very small. Wallpaper peeling off bathroom walls. Breakfasts good but evening meals left a lot to be desired. Starters and puds ok but mains very poor dependant on choice. Staff excellent, very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Right on the seafront... I never stayed at the hotel but the bar they have is fantastic. Designed like a surf bar with comfy lounges and a few surf boards.. The barmaid was very helpful and took time to chitchat which made me feel welcome. I would always come back again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Hebburn
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My wife. And I are regular travellers with National Holidays and have just returned from the Shanklin Beach Hotel. The hotel is located in a prime position overlooking the Channel. We were made most welcome and were given room 118 on the first floor. The hotel is like a maze and whilst our room was satisfactory the bathroom area was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Isle of Wight tours coach was good and Neil, our driver, was first class. We do not appreciate staying in a hotel with a cracked, chipped wash basin in the bedroom and the shower and loo facilities were so small that there was nowhere to put shampoo, soap etc. etc. The appalling grease stains from people resting their heads... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Yes its that time of year again when we visit the IOW ! Stayed at the Shanklin Beach (2 years in a row) we had occasion this time to question our hotel room (twin beds back of hotel no shower cracked sink no rubbish bin, leaky toilet flush etc obviously an overflow room cos the hotel was packed) but they... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments It is nice to hear you had a good holiday here with us and enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. More

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Last week returned from a National Holiday trip . Coach was OK , Driver OK . Excursions OK . entertainment ; only listened to one night and that OK...Bar and Entertainment/Ballroom had a "gloomy" atmosphere . Rooms very basic?....... Now for the food ...very very poor , My wife who is a vegetarian could not eat some of it, so... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst we strive to offer the highest standards to each and every guest, we fully understand that sometimes we do miss the mark. We had planned a full hotel refurbishment at the start of 2014 to address the comments that you have made, however, as you would have been advised at check-in, during the winter... More

Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Just returned from 4 nights at Shanklin beach hotel,On arrival the hotel doesn't look impressive from the outside but inside I was pleasantly surprised. I had booked 2rooms next to each other for myself, daughter and elderly mother, this was what we we had and our rooms were spacious, spotlessly clean and overlooked the seafront,, we were very pleased. We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments I am pleased to hear you had a lovely stay and that you mother had an enjoyable time. My apologies for any delays with your confirmation at time of booking, we had, at the time taken on a new booking system, for which we have now worked out the kinks. We look forward to welcoming... More

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just arrived home from our 5 day holiday with national holidays, the coach & trips out with dave our driver were great, dave is a very knowledgeable man he made the trips out very interesting (now for the hotel ) realy outdated lounge bar seets were all worn, the brochure stated 4 nights entertainment ,thurs & sat the artist did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst we strive to offer the highest standards to each and every guest, we fully understand that sometimes we do miss the mark. We had planned a full hotel refurbishment at the start of 2014 to address the comments that you have made, however, as you would have been advised at check-in, during the winter... More

Istanbul
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a weekend in this hotel. Very clean, pleasant staff but in need of training for dining room. Good ingredients cooked without any imagination which is a shame! Very plain meals. Breakfast OK.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Martin H, General Manager at Shanklin Beach Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. Whilst we strive to offer the highest standards to each and every guest, we fully understand that sometimes we do miss the mark. I do hope that you give us a try again so that we can have an opportunity of meeting your expectations. Once again, thank you. More

Do you own or manage Shanklin Beach Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Shanklin Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shanklin Beach Hotel

Address: 35- 38 The Esplanade, Shanklin PO37 6BJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Shanklin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Shanklin Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Shanklin Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shanklin Beach Hotel Isle Of Wight

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (65)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay