We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Haddington hotels

Maitlandfield House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maitlandfield House Hotel to your Saves list
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
64%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haddington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
fergusonWesthill Westhill
  • Overview
  • Reviews (154)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (34)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    40
    22
    24
    12
See reviews for
26
59
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We thought we were going to be staying in a lovely hotel as we entered the driveway, but it was downhill after that. The room was painted in dark colours, was gloomy and needed to be redecorated. The bathroom had a mouldy shower curtain that smelt unpleasant and the skirting boards were dusty. On the positive side the bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Why anyone would want to stay in Haddington will remain a mystery, but we were there for a wedding at this venue. The glory certainly has been faded for some time, I had expected something much better for the price. On arrival we had lunch which was acceptable, but the service was slow - an hour from ordering to finishing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were looking forward to staying at hotel as in pictures it looked amazing we were however horrified when we turned up to find an old run down conservatory and a drab looking house, when at reception hotel staff were not very pleasant, the stair ways and corridors going to the room were very dated and could have been doing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that you did not take the time to draw our attention to your problems while you were with us, or when you called to look for your left watch. We take all reviews and comments seriously and would have done anything in our power to make your... More

Westhill
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a two night break. The double room we had was fairly small but very clean. The en suite was also small but there was plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Luckily for this hotel, there are not many choices for accommodation in and around Haddington, otherwise it might not survive. I can only assume that it's by this same token that the hotel is able to get away with the prices it charges for rooms. Our double room was small with a tiny bathroom. Decor was low quality though this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify your issues while you were in the hotel so you did not feel the need to write a negative review. More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is beautiful as you drive up the driveway and the welcome we received was friendly and helpful. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and immaculate. However the room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, with a tiny en suite. I would suggest it would be more like a small single room. The washbasin was small and low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback we received from our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future. More

england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I have just returned home from Haddington and our stay at the excellent Maitland Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the rooms were clean , high spec and comfortable. My son and his family live nearby and were happy that we had an enjoyable stay in a very interesting small hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I used to go to the Maitlandfield all the time when I was younger so after a trip back to Haddington I thought it would be nice to pop in for lunch one Saturday. I was a bit disappointed. We went for lunch, so nothing too fancy for the middle of the day. When we arrived the member if staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the lunch you had with us. We are sorry that you felt that the food was over priced. Our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared and our lunch menu is priced from £3.95 to £6.95. We do hope that you return to give us a second chance. More

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Stayed here for one nights bed and breakfast. Plenty of parking. Friendly welcome from Receptionist. Our room faced the side and front of the building, kept the windows open all night as it was very very hot and had no problems with any noise! Our room was fine for one night, bathroom a little on the small side and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the heat, which is very rare in Scotland. We hope that you make a return visit to us in the near future. More

Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A very pleasant and friendly welcome on our arrival. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty space and, with bath/shower and plenty towels. Ate in the brasserie one night and the meal was good. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. My main course was not exactly as described on the menu. I was happy with the substitution but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food. Sorry once again for the error with your meal but I am glad you enjoyed this regardless. We hope that you do visit us again in the near future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Maitlandfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maitlandfield House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer