We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Haddington hotels

Maitlandfield House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maitlandfield House Hotel to your Saves list
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
63%
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Haddington
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Netscot Hermanus, South Africa
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    23
    24
    12
See reviews for
26
62
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hermanus, South Africa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On Aug 23rd 2014 My fiancé and I were married at the Maitlandfiled House hotel In Haddington Scotland. The Staff could not have been more helpful and courteous. Adding little unrequested favors and treats while attending to service of all our guests. The food was outstanding with Salmon as a starter paired with a suitable Champagne followed with roast Lothian... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Duns, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had our wedding dance at the Maitlandfield recently and couldn't fault anything. The owners, Pauline and Nico were very helpful and always greeted us warmly as did their staff. They put on an excellent spread of food for our reception, compliments to the chef ! We had the honeymoon suite and found it clean and a chilled bottle of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are all so pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us. May we wish you all the very best for the future. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room given was charged as a double but was in our opinion definately only a single, small room 3/4 sized bed small dark bathroom & poor view didn't really cut it. from the ouside and previous visists for afternnon tea we'd expected much more - staff werepolite & helpfull & the hotel was very busy so perhaps bad luck... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We have rooms of varying standards and sizes within the hotel and all are priced accordingly. We very much appreciate your positive comments also. We hope to see you again in the future. More

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We thought we were going to be staying in a lovely hotel as we entered the driveway, but it was downhill after that. The room was painted in dark colours, was gloomy and needed to be redecorated. The bathroom had a mouldy shower curtain that smelt unpleasant and the skirting boards were dusty. On the positive side the bed was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am equally sorry that you did not brink your grievances to our attention while you were with us. We would have done our best to ensure you had a more pleasant stay. All of your issues... More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
81 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Why anyone would want to stay in Haddington will remain a mystery, but we were there for a wedding at this venue. The glory certainly has been faded for some time, I had expected something much better for the price. On arrival we had lunch which was acceptable, but the service was slow - an hour from ordering to finishing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate your honest and thorough comments. The hotel is an historic building with various bedroom sizes and standards. The rooms have all modern facilities. The lounge area of the hotel is in keeping with the historic nature of the building. The hotel is lucky enough to be in the... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We were looking forward to staying at hotel as in pictures it looked amazing we were however horrified when we turned up to find an old run down conservatory and a drab looking house, when at reception hotel staff were not very pleasant, the stair ways and corridors going to the room were very dated and could have been doing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that you did not take the time to draw our attention to your problems while you were with us, or when you called to look for your left watch. We take all reviews and comments seriously and would have done anything in our power to make your... More

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stayed here for a two night break. The double room we had was fairly small but very clean. The en suite was also small but there was plenty of hot water. The staff were all very friendly and we had a nice breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you had such a lovely stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon. More

London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Luckily for this hotel, there are not many choices for accommodation in and around Haddington, otherwise it might not survive. I can only assume that it's by this same token that the hotel is able to get away with the prices it charges for rooms. Our double room was small with a tiny bathroom. Decor was low quality though this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We would have loved to have been given the opportunity to rectify your issues while you were in the hotel so you did not feel the need to write a negative review. More

Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

The hotel is beautiful as you drive up the driveway and the welcome we received was friendly and helpful. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and immaculate. However the room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, with a tiny en suite. I would suggest it would be more like a small single room. The washbasin was small and low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We appreciate all feedback we received from our guests. Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again in the future. More

england
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My wife and I have just returned home from Haddington and our stay at the excellent Maitland Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the rooms were clean , high spec and comfortable. My son and his family live nearby and were happy that we had an enjoyable stay in a very interesting small hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Maitlandfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (15)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Haddington with
any amenities

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
25

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Maitlandfield House Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer