We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Haddington hotels

Maitlandfield House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Maitlandfield House Hotel to your Saves list
Maitlandfield House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Haddington
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Joanne M Dundee, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (149)
  • Photos (13)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (33)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    22
    21
    11
See reviews for
24
57
5
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is beautiful as you drive up the driveway and the welcome we received was friendly and helpful. Everywhere was beautifully decorated and immaculate. However the room was the smallest room I have ever stayed in, with a tiny en suite. I would suggest it would be more like a small single room. The washbasin was small and low... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
england
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I have just returned home from Haddington and our stay at the excellent Maitland Hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, the food was good and the rooms were clean , high spec and comfortable. My son and his family live nearby and were happy that we had an enjoyable stay in a very interesting small hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are all delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future. More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I used to go to the Maitlandfield all the time when I was younger so after a trip back to Haddington I thought it would be nice to pop in for lunch one Saturday. I was a bit disappointed. We went for lunch, so nothing too fancy for the middle of the day. When we arrived the member if staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review the lunch you had with us. We are sorry that you felt that the food was over priced. Our food is locally sourced and freshly prepared and our lunch menu is priced from £3.95 to £6.95. We do hope that you return to give us a second chance. More

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for one nights bed and breakfast. Plenty of parking. Friendly welcome from Receptionist. Our room faced the side and front of the building, kept the windows open all night as it was very very hot and had no problems with any noise! Our room was fine for one night, bathroom a little on the small side and the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the heat, which is very rare in Scotland. We hope that you make a return visit to us in the near future. More

Ellon, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

A very pleasant and friendly welcome on our arrival. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty space and, with bath/shower and plenty towels. Ate in the brasserie one night and the meal was good. The staff were very pleasant and attentive. My main course was not exactly as described on the menu. I was happy with the substitution but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and the food. Sorry once again for the error with your meal but I am glad you enjoyed this regardless. We hope that you do visit us again in the near future. More

Shawbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

I stayed at the Maitlandfield for four nights on business and was extremely disappointed for the money I paid (£98 per night). The hotel has no lift as far as I'm aware as I was left to find my room with large rucksack and suitcase....! Upon reaching my initial room I was surprised (to say the least) to find a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are sorry for the mistake on check in. This was a dreadful error and one that we will not repeat. I appreciate that you must have been embarrassed and I can not apologise enough. I must also that you for the positive comments you left. Much appreciated. More

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Stayed here one night on business and the hotel is reasonable for what I paid but I would avoid room 7 which is the room I was allocated. The room is at the back of the hotel, dark and small. As I was there on my own it was OK but if you were staying as a couple and for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that we did not live up to your expectations. We have various rooms in the hotel, from classic right up to our honeymoon suite. I hope that you do come back and give the hotel another chance some time soon. More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed there with `cycling friends last night, and although the hotel rooms and staff were fine the quality and value for money of the food was very poor. My wife and I opted for the chargrilled Caesar salad priced at £12.95. This consisted of 6 pieces of chicken breast, that were not chargrilled. At best the chicken had been pointed... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are sorry that you were not impressed with your stay and meal with us. I feel a little disappointed that you failed to bring your grievances to our attention while you were with us. This would have given us the chance to rectify the situation instantly. Just a note,... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Having just returned from a very quick break to Haddington [which I must say is a delight] we stayed at the Maitlandfield House Hotel. The room was completely without any view at all only views of the conservatory roof on both sides - making if feel extremely dark and dingy. The bar,reception,kitchen and it seemed everything else was run by... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate all comments be they good or bad. It is feedback that helps us improve our service so is extremely valuable. I do hope that you come back to the hotel. More

Batley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stayed here recently whilst on business, having never stayed here before. The reception and greeting were polite and on that note all the staff we encountered at the bar and reception were excellent. Waiters on an evening the same. The room was average to small size I would say, but had everything you needed for a stay. The shower was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reception46, Manager at Maitlandfield House Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am not going to insult you apologies. This is not our usual standard and I will look into what exactly went wrong while you were with us. I really appreciate the kind comments you also made. I do hope that you do come and visit us again. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Maitlandfield House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Maitlandfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maitlandfield House Hotel

Address: 24 Sidegate, Haddington EH41 4BZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > East Lothian > Haddington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Maitlandfield House Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Maitlandfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Haddington
Maitlandfield Hotel Haddington
Maitlandfield House Hotel Haddington, Scotland

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Amenities

Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
25

See which rooms travelers prefer