We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 21 Paignton hotels

The Palace

Save Saved
You added The Palace to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Hotel amenities
The Palace
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Paignton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paignton
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    193
    53
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
63
130
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (279)
  • Mar-May only
    (60)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (102)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 4 nights, it was good value for money, the weather was great and we really enjoyed it. The service and food were very good, easy parking and a short stroll to the sea front and pier. Our room (73) was on the second floor at the back of the hotel, so no sea view, but it was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Use of swimming pool(towel included) and gym facilities. Includes £8.00 allowance towards lunch - free tea/coffee and biscuits on arrival. The pool is really nice, bright and clean. Didn't try the gym. Lunch salmon (good) and veg the carrots where under cooked(tinned) and rubbery. The sea bream tasty but the dish over swamped with butter. If you don't like butter... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Owner at The Palace, responded to this review

Dear Readers, Although we are pleased that this person has said that they will return and they have described the facilities well, we are suprised about the comment's on food and i can assure you that we do not use tinned carrots in this hotel, all our veg is delivered daily from our local supplier and prepared fresh every day.... More

Warwickshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having organised holidays for a group that I belong to,we have just spent 5 days at the Palace Hotel Paignton. The hotel is well furnished and the reception staff are excellant,and the servicee in the restaurent is first class as is the food. The staff are well trained ,friendly and very efficient in what they do. During our visit the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good evening, thank you so much for your feed back it was lovely to see you last week, we are delighted that you had a great stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back really soon. Kind Regards Sarah Taylor More

Burbage
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My husband chose this holiday as there was a special 6 day offer and he was not disappointed. Our room was small but comfortable and had everything we expected. The Staff were welcoming and very helpful. Breakfast and dinner in the dinning room were always excellent and served on very hot plates which the waiter never failed to warn us... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good evening, thank you for your review it is always nice to here great comments on the hotel and our staff, we all work hard to make sure the guest gets the best experience while on holiday with us. We look forward to seeing you in the near future. Kind Regards Sarah Taylor More

Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here on a weekend break in September, we could not fault the hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The staff were exceptional in their attitude and efficiency and we felt we were staying in a hotel above it's star rating. The room was fine (12) except we had a small issue with the shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your kind words in this review we are so pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you found our staff very efficient, also that you thought we are above our star rating. We do hope that we will see you again in the not so distant future. Kind Regards Sarah Taylor More

NEWQUAY
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The first impression of this Hotel was incredible and had a great view and a friendly greeting from the staff in reception. We had a double room overlooking the sea which was spacious with separate chairs new TV, The room was clean a little dated BUT no bottled water or tissue in the room for this price we would expect... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Dear Readers, The bed in the room the guest stayed in was a new bed costing £1300 which was only 4 weeks old it is a pocket sprung, we do put bottled water in the executive rooms but it maybe was forgotton so we apologise for this, however we dont put tissues in the rooms. The bathroom is one of... More

Luton
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here many times over the years but have never reviewed it. Room 63 smells. Couldn't work out from where...it was a musty, damp, toilet-type smell. Not really what you would expect from a sea view "club" room. Staff, as always, are cheerful and helpfull, although you shouldn't have to keep going and chasing for someone to serve you in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Dear Readers, We don't know what happened on this persons stay we have never had a smell before or even after this persons visit, this room is a lovely room and is well requested by regulars but it is on the list for a new bathroom. The bar is manned over lunch and all evening from 4pm so it is... More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had a great time at the palace the room bright and had a lovely sea view, the service was excellent as was the food all the staff were helpful and friendly . we have nothing negative to say at all and will definitely return soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good afternoon, Thank you for your great review we are so pleased you could not fault your visit at all, We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards Sarah Taylor More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The title is only me being selfish as we could not book another night at this excellent hotel as it was full.My wife booked a special deal to stay on Saturday 30th August to Monday 1st.September for bed and breakfast and a six course dinner. On arrival we checked into their standard double room (room 10) which was clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good evening, thank you for the great review you have left for The Palace we are delighted that you found everything to a good standard and the food and waiting staff were very good too. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Sarah Taylor More

St Albans
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What a fantastic hotel and great staff. Good value and great food . The bed was to soft and the steam room was not working but these where small maters . All the treatments where fully booked so book in advance . Recomended .Handy for the steam trains to Datmouth.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
General M, General Manager at The Palace, responded to this review

Good evening, thank you for the review you left, I am delighted that you had a great time at The Palace Hotel, I'm sorry to here that the bed was too soft for you on this occasion, we do have others in store rooms so when booking with us again please let us know and we will do our best... More

Do you own or manage The Palace?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace

Address: Esplanade Road, Paignton TQ4 6BJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Paignton
The Palace Paignton, Devon

78 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (63)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near The Palace