We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
STAY EXTRA NIGHT FOR £10
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    124
    59
    37
    14
See reviews for
32
168
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (310)
  • Mar-May only
    (78)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (75)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Had a recent 5 day break with Shearings, one of several we've been on. This hotel was pretty much on the same level as previous holiday.s. An old building with renovations going on, strong smell of gloss paint, builders scattered throughout. The lobby looked recently decorated and was warm and welcoming. Our bedroom was located amongst a labyrinth of small... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This was our 2nd time at the esplanade.this was booked through shearings as a party weekend and there is usualy about 20 of us ....we were met with hostility and we felt bullied by the managment ... our group were constantly told off for talking in the lounge and being happy ....most of the staff are very good but with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Burnley
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
31 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Loved how she came out onto the coach and discussed slight faults that was excellent,something others in the group should take on board.What a great place, staff excellent, food good what more can you ask for along with above average entertainment at night.These hotels are kept going by groups like Shearings who keep our wonderful old buildings alive.Yes there are... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your PhillipKBurnley, for taking the time to post a great 5 star review. I am so pleased to read all your excellent comments and thank you for your special mention. I am very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday and hope you will return again in the not too distant future. Thank you. More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was the second Shearings coach holiday that we have been on and was an excellent 5 day (4 night) break. Staff and restaurant staff all very polite, helpful and kind. Very nice hotel. Our room was spotless (brilliant cleaners). Ideal position about 25 metres from the sandy beach and not too far away from town. The food was delicious... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Tom w, for your 5 star review. Pleased that you found all to your liking and thanks for your comments about the friendly and helpful staff. As you stated, we are in an excellent location close to all the local amenities. We hope to welcome you back again so we can strive to give you another excellent break. More 

Yate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took a four day mid week break with Shearings self drive. Good parking for the car right in front of the Hotel. Common areas of the hotel including bar area, restaurant, reception area and lounge area clean and tidy. Food in restaurant was very good and service excellent. Bedrooms were of adequate size and comfortable. One slightly negative comment... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Robert w, for taking the time to post a review. Glad you had a good break. We have just had extensive refurbishment which your comments kindly reflect. Pleased to read that you’d stay with us again. More 

rotherham
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good hotel staff friendly rooms clean small bath room can get washed why on toilet food very nice staff in restaurant special Rebecca could do another for you .entetment great Monday to Wednesday Thursdays not bad bit boring

Was this review helpful? Yes
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks timmyrotherham, for taking the time to leave us a review. We get many positive mentions regarding our staff, and appreciate you adding to them! I will pass on your great comments about Rebecca. Hope to see you again here soon. More 

greater manchester
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2015

4 night stay at the esplanade.went in late november with shearings.good single room and good food.cannot comment on the day trips as having been to devon many times decided to do my own trips would go again to this h0tel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you forestwood for your review regarding your stay with us here at the Esplanade. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us; Devon is a great place to visit as you rightly mentioned. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future. More 

Gloucester
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2015

We booked a late Xmas break at the Esplanade Hotel, and managed to get the last sea view room on the second floor. The room had a great view, and was warm, and comfortable, the only let down was the double mattress had seen better days, and the bathroom a bit cramped. Otherwise we had a great break, location excellent,... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank your Phfred for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased to read how you enjoyed your Christmas break with us and thank you for your comments about the food, entertainment, staff and service and great to read that you found your experience to be of a high standards, we aim to please. I do hope... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

Had a four day break with shearings at this hotel for new year the room I was in 117 on the first floor was awful it was grubby bathroom was very small floor covering was grubby there was a piece of tissue paper by shower stuffed in a crack to cover a gap. The room needed decorating badly as it... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sandra p for taking the time to post a review. I am sorry that you did not find the room to your liking and can only apologies, We do have a number of rooms refurbished each year and sorry you did not stay in one of these. I am pleased to read you found the staff and service... More 

Weymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2015

had a great time met some lovely people food was very good and so was the entainment we were there for 3 nights for new year the staff were helpful and friendly the onsuite was a bit small but ok would go again

Was this review helpful? Yes
esplanade123, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Maggie h for taking the time to post a review of your New Years break with us. I am again very happy to read how much you enjoyed all aspects of your holiday, food entertainment and your great comments about the staff, and very glad you would holiday again with us, thank you. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Esplanade Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Esplanade Hotel

Address: Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > English Riviera > Paignton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Esplanade Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esplanade Hotel Paignton
Bay Esplanade Hotel Paignton, Devon

111 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (97)
Viewed
View from room (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay