We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Hotel website
Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £105
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Add Photo

334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    82
    136
    62
    39
    15
See reviews for
38
179
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (334)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (77)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Travelled to this hotel with sh earrings twice before, always enjoyed our stays, hotel comfortable and in process of updating, staff helpful and mostly pleasant, beware restaurant manager!! A very unhelpful man with a very surely manner towards some guests and his staff his attitude is totally out of character to any of the other staff, all in all we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Shelia G for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased you chose to holiday with us again and thanks for your kind comments about the staff, especially Lisa, however apologies you found our restaurant manager un-helpful, he is usually a very polite and helpful member of staff, who would be upset if he thought... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

It seems there is a recurring theme with this hotel,if you do not go to the restaurant early you do not get the food as on the menu.you also find you are always kept wait ing for the different courses as the management have given the waiters,waitresses too many tables too swerve.prices for drinks are extortionate.as for the so called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you john Thomas mic... c, for posting a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay; we do have small bathrooms in many of the rooms, apologies for this. We do not usually receive complaints about the food or service, certainly not re-occurring complaints. We accommodate 150 guests at each service and we do sometimes sell out... More 

Travelers are raving about these Paignton hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed for 4 days room was very small bathroom small and smelly Breakfast adequate for small appetites. Car parking fees extortionate considering how much the holiday cost .good location for sightseeing but would not stay there again it is very much a place for elderly people on coach trips

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Janet E Thanks for your review. It is always unfortunate to receive a review that is left by someone not happy with their stay. We will look into your comments. I am sorry you was not happy with the breakfast or car park prices., we usually receive praise about our food, and we don’t feel that our car-parking fee... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

we had a seaview room which was very comfortable and clean. In the evening after a lovely meal we had bingo and a quiz before the main entertainment which changed every evening but was always of a high standard. This hotel caters for older clients looking for a relaxing but entertaining break. A snooker table and pool table are also... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear leslie h Thanks for your kind review. We do have entertainment most nights, which we try and make as varied as possible for all ages/tastes to enjoy so glad that it hit the mark for you. Hopefully you’ll give us a return visit and see some different acts that you’ll enjoy just as much! I will pass on your... More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

An old water leak had been papered over obviously before the leak was sorted; all mouldy and the paper hanging down. I had plenty of time to study it as I couldn't sleep fpr the noise. Firstly everytime I turned over my bed springs did the tango and secondly due to very noisy people above me. At 1 30 am... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 370Lorraine Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are have an on-going refurbishment program which hopefully will eradicate the short-comings that you pointed out in your review.I will take a look at the issues that you raised regarding the bedroom, I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. Also It was unfortunate... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Had a long weekend stay. Went there for our anniversary, the weather was nice and sunny and warm with a cool breeze at times. We found the staff very helpful and very friendly. "Pam" who looked after our room always left it spotless, tea, coffee and plenty of milk on the tray. We never got to see her but did... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Angiesteve160 Thank you for your kind review. Very pleased to read you enjoyed your anniversary here. Always pleased to read of someone wishing to rebook; the best recommendation that we can receive. With any luck, on your next visit you’ll be able to see some of the English Riviera that you couldn’t fit in on this occasion. We have... More 

Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2015

I stayed here for the weekend with shearings holidays. I found this hotel and location perfect for exploring the English Riviera. The staff work hard and are friendly and helpful. The décor was relaxing and comfortable. An enjoyable stay so much so I will return again soon. A thank you to our driver Martin who went the extra mile to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Claire S for your complimentary review. As you stated we are ideally situated to explore the English Riviera, right on the seafront, across from the harbour. Our lounge décor is new this year, glad that you liked it. I’ll pass your comments on to the staff, including Martin whom hopefully will be your driver again on your return... More 

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Stayed at this hotel Easter weekend, great location and good parking. Staff very friendly and helpful and public areas really well maintained and clean. We paid extra for a sea view room, the view was great but the room was rather small and very strange layout. The bed was comfortable, plenty of towels and extra blankets if needed but no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you leslieandclive for taking the time to post a review. again I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your holiday with us. I will pass on your comments and hope you may return again in the future. just a note - we do not have any family of triple rooms here unfortunately and many of the rooms are... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2015

Stayed on a 5 day holiday here 20th-24th April with Shearings. The holiday was worth every penny( £129). We had a luxurious coach ride from Warrington interchange(left our car there for £4 day) much better than going in the feeder coaches you save so much time. Left around 10.15 got there around 5 ish. Hotel in a lovely position right... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you sunsetgirl59 for posting a review of your recent holiday with us. I do remember talking to you about the shower hose in your bath and am very pleased to read your great review. The weather was fantastic during your stay and I am pleased you got to see some of the lovely cliff walks to Goodrington and around... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2015 via mobile

We stayed here 24/4/15 the staff were pleasant friendly,our bathroom wasn't clean had black mould growing in the shower the shower was terrible,the sink was dirty there was hair in the plug hole!the sheets on our bed had marks sorry they didn't look like they had been changed.Our evening meal was very rushed no sooner had we finished our starter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you custardsoup32 for posting a review. I am very sorry you were dissatisfied with your holiday. As you will see from other reviews, we have undergone a major refurbishment of public area's and many of the bedrooms. I am surprised to read you found problems with your room, as I did not receive any complaints during the weekend of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

115 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay