We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Bay Esplanade Hotel

Hotel website
Sands Road, Paignton TQ4 6EG, England
Special Offer
BREAKS STARTING FROM £105
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Bay Esplanade Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

342 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    85
    140
    63
    39
    15
See reviews for
40
183
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (342)
  • Mar-May only
    (100)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (85)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (80)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (77)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

just back from a shearings holiday staying in a single room. Stayed in room 117 on the first floor. very large for a single room, bigger than one or two doubles have stayed in. lovely comfy bed, constant hot water and good quality towels. plenty choice of food and staff friendly. great place. thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Anthony W, for your short but ‘straight to the point’ 5star review. We hope that you’ll give us another visit as this is always the best compliment you can pay us! Thanks for your great comments about the staff and food, which I will pass on. Don’t forget; as I previously stated in another reply, should you visit... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

overall we were happy with our stay, Staff/food were very good, rooms were good value, and the seating area by the bar was fine for a quick drink, But the down side are the upstairs corridors are very shabby, The towels /sheets should really be changed every other day at least on a weekly stay, But the biggest let down... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

We have had major refurbishment work to our lounge/restaurant areas this year, so you are correct stating ‘better than it was’. Many of our guests comments reflect this and it certainly is a big improvement. We don’t necessarily change the towels/sheets everyday due to the environmental impact that would result from this. However, there should have been a sign in... More 

Midlands UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Much better decor than a few years ago, and the staff are very good especially the breakfast and dinner waiters. Our room was well decorated and the bed was better than expected. The only problems we had was the size of the bathroom, ours was tiny. Sleep quality was poor as our room overlooked the kitchens, this meant noisy extractor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks Mike477 for your review. We have had major refurbishment work to our lounge/restaurant areas this year, so you are correct stating ‘better than it was’. Many of our guests comments reflect this and it certainly is a big improvement. We don’t necessarily change the towels/sheets everyday due to the environmental impact that would result from this. However, there... More 

Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have just returned from my holiday at the Esplanade Hotel in sunny Paignton in the English Riviera. I really enjoyed my stay at this hotel last week, my room was clean and comfy, with a nice comfy bed, the food that I had was enjoyable, especially the Pork that I had on Wednesday served by our very friendly waiter... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachael S Thank you very much for your review. We remember you and your family very well, and it’s always a pleasure to see you back with us at the Esplanade, as I know you’ve been numerous times now, and you travel a long way to get here! Thank you for your comments about the food and our lovely... More 

dorset
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we have just got back from a 4 night stay at The Esplanade hotel. I would first like to list the positives 1 Dee the Manageress at reception was absolutely brilliant. 2 Sully the hotel manager was the best ever, always happy and smiling he was very accommodating. 3 The food was quite nice 4 Lee was a very good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear daisymay08 Many thanks for leaving us a review. Also thank you for listing the positives, as sometimes guests like yourselves that aren’t 100% satisfied with their stay can tend to leave them off. We note that your main grievance was relating to room size. We are in the process of refurbishing the rooms, and, whilst this won’t improve the... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just had five lovely days at the Esplanade Hotel, Paignton, Devon with Shearings,The Hotel,The Staff and the food were brilliant,a special mention for our waitress Lisa a lovely girl always with a smile who would do anything to help you enjoy your meals, Thankyou lisa 10 out of 10, plus Andy the bar Manager who is a smashing bloke who... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel d Thank you for taking the time to review us, and of course a big thanks for giving us 5 stars. We are proud that our team here do go out of their way to try and make an enjoyable holiday for all, as can be seen by your review. I am glad you enjoyed the food and... More 

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very convient, on seafront, about the first hotel where I've felt really comfortable sitting reading in the spacious lounge (also convient for the bar!), an excellent friendly and efficient staff, good food. Would definately recomend!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Haydn15 Many thanks for your 5 star review. I am really pleased to read your review. The problem sometimes with Tripadvisor is some people can focus on the negatives. However, reviews like yours give a fairer balanced view for potential bookers. We hope that you will return in the not-too-distant future. Thank you More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a week on a Shearing coach tour. We wanted a table for two in the dining room so telephoned the hotel, and this is just what we got. Public rooms seemed to have been refurbished but the passageways to the bedrooms needed some TLC. We found the food absolutely fine, we did not dine until 7pm but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Beverly r Many thanks for your review. We are pleased to read that you generally enjoyed your stay, and that you are planning to return. Our en-suites aren’t admittedly the biggest that you’ll probably encounter, but we like to feel that our location and staff make up for these shortcomings, and can only apologies for the size. We have... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

Travelled to this hotel with sh earrings twice before, always enjoyed our stays, hotel comfortable and in process of updating, staff helpful and mostly pleasant, beware restaurant manager!! A very unhelpful man with a very surely manner towards some guests and his staff his attitude is totally out of character to any of the other staff, all in all we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Shelia G for taking the time to post a review. I am very pleased you chose to holiday with us again and thanks for your kind comments about the staff, especially Lisa, however apologies you found our restaurant manager un-helpful, he is usually a very polite and helpful member of staff, who would be upset if he thought... More 

Cannock, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2015

It seems there is a recurring theme with this hotel,if you do not go to the restaurant early you do not get the food as on the menu.you also find you are always kept wait ing for the different courses as the management have given the waiters,waitresses too many tables too swerve.prices for drinks are extortionate.as for the so called... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
greer68, General Manager at Bay Esplanade Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you john Thomas mic... c, for posting a review. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay; we do have small bathrooms in many of the rooms, apologies for this. We do not usually receive complaints about the food or service, certainly not re-occurring complaints. We accommodate 150 guests at each service and we do sometimes sell out... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

118 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (101)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (26)
Viewed
View from room (14)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (17)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Paignton
0.3 mi away
Summerhill Hotel
Summerhill Hotel
#1 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Paignton - Goodrington Sands
0.3 mi away
The Cherwood
The Cherwood
#2 of 20 in Paignton
5.0 of 5 stars 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Redcliffe Hotel
The Redcliffe Hotel
#9 of 20 in Paignton
4.5 of 5 stars 223 reviews
1.0 mi away
Preston Sands Hotel
Preston Sands Hotel
#11 of 20 in Paignton
4.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
2.5 mi away
Bay Torbay Hotel
Bay Torbay Hotel
#56 of 94 in Torquay
3.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay