We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wigan
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
melvinb677 Mansfield Nottinghamshire
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    135
    63
    13
    12
See reviews for
31
99
25
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (311)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (70)
All months
Mansfield Nottinghamshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Really nice hotel Close to shopping centres 15 mins walk to nightclubs Staff very very helpful and friendly Great stay highly recommended definitely going back. Could do with a link of paint in places but great place. Went all inclusive £109 each for two nights . Ate and drank more than that lol. Really good

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Melvinb667, Thank you so much for your lovely review of the hotel. I will pass your comments onto the staff who on duty. I am really pleased you had a great stay and hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Nick Jackman General Manager More 

Northampton
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

When I arrived I received a friendly greeting from the receptionist who very efficiently dealt with me booking in. Two staff I passed on the way to my room were also friendly and spoke to me. The room was very clean and provided with the usual courtesy tray and furnishings. The large bed was very comfortable. The bathroom and shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Malcolm, Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel and for your kind comments. I am very glad to hear you found our staff friendly and efficient, we price ourselves on excellent customer service and generally enjoyed your stay. I am very happy you would return to the hotel again and look forward to welcoming... More 

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Had to attend a business meeting in the Wigan area, so needed a suitable place to stay for the night. The usual choices for my budget, premier travel inns, etc. Decided on the Mecure Wigan Oak Hotel. Arrived around 7pm, checked in and went to my room. Now, I have to stay in hotels at least once a week, so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Peter, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am really pleased you found our rooms to be of a good quality, our rooms have been refurbished and we are proud they are of a good standard. I am also pleased to hear you found our staff pleasant as we highly value customer service. I am... More 

Grantham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having stayed at several Mercure Hotels, we were most impressed with the Wigan Oak. Though fairly basic the rooms were comfortable and clean. The food was excellent, some of the best meals we have eaten in this chain. The staff too were polite and attentive and special mention has to be given to our waitress Samantha and the barman Jamie,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Winnibriggshouse, Thank you so much for your kind comments regarding your stay here at the Mecure Wigan Oak Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you found our food to be excellent and I will pass on your comments to our Head Chef. I am pleased you found our staff to be attentive and polite as we do pride... More 

stevenage
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at this Hotel for a conference for 2 nights it was a nice room with a nice modern bathroom and a huge double bed. The Staffon reception were helpful and friendly and the breakfast was ok with quite a lot of choices. The first night I found the room quite cold even though I put the heater on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am really pleased you enjoyed your stay and glad you found you our staff to be friendly and helpful, we pride ourselves on our great customer service. I am sorry to hear that your room was cold on arrival, I have passed your comments onto maintenance team... More 

Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our best hotel experience in England. Well presented, homely & in particular amazing staff. Very close to facilities such as shopping mall & restaurants. The hotel restaurant is very good, offering a wide selection of cuisine. Close to everything but also quiet & homely, I will be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments and was delighted to read that your stay with us was enjoyable. I have issued a copy of your review to all departments and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More 

Newbury
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had to move room due to the busy road but the on duty manager kindly sorted it for us. He seemed very friendly but some of the other staff seemed more interested in getting off duty. The dinner we had was good, the lamb was tasty and cooked beautifully. Breakfast was good too. Shame the service let them down,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was obviously extremely disappointed to read your comments regarding the service that you received during your stay. Let me firstly assure you that this was, in no way, a reflection of our usual standards and can only apologise sincerely for this. I have spoken to my F & B Service Manager regarding this as this is clearly not acceptable.... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A good little hotel, slap bang in the centre of Wigan close to the shopping areas. It's a clean honest little place with friendly staff but very spartan, basic and functional. A few pictures on the walls and a bit of decor would improve the place. Having said that it does represent good value for money without the frills.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I am pleased that your stay with us was enjoyable and comfortable. Your comments regarding the staff were very welcome, however I was disappointed to read that you did not find the décor to your liking, as the public areas and restaurant have recently been refurbished. I do hope that you will choose... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

Stayed here on the 31/1/15. Check in no problem we stayed in room 215 and couldnt fault it at all. Spotless through out! Hats off to the night porter too a very professional man. Overall a great stay. Well done

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your very kind comments, which I have passed on to all departments. We hope to see you again very soon. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

I stayed at the Mercure in Wigan for 2 nights and paid around the £90 mark. The hotel is fairly large and well kept with ample parking and close to the Wigan centre. The staff on the whole were brilliant although we did have to keep asking for a staff member to serve us at the bar as it wasn't... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and I was very pleased to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us. During quieter periods, the bar may be unmanned for short spells and I apologise for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Your kind comments with regards to Breakfast have been passed on to the Head Chef and we... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

32 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question