We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Wigan hotels

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wigan
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
nefertari17 Bridlington, England
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    127
    56
    11
    12
See reviews for
31
93
24
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (291)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Bridlington, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights, the first being all inclusive, cannot fault the room, the food, the service, all excellent, especially a big thanks to Samantha the duty manager, nothing was too much trouble, she went out of her way to help us. The only reason i havnt given it 5 stars was because although the all inclusive drinks finished... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip. Room was comfortable and slept well. Plenty of good parking which was a bonus. Food was 'acceptable' however nothing to write home about given the high price of the meals! However very frendly and attentive staff which really are an asset to this hotel. Ideal for business purpose and would stay... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I was very pleased to read that, overall, you enjoyed your stay with us. Your very kind words regarding the staff were very welcome and I have passed these on to all departments. I have noted your comments with regards to the food prices - we do try to keep these in line with... More

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked a 2 night full board stay through an internet web site. It was at a bargain price and we got more than our moneys worth. We were greated by a very friendly lady on reception, and found all staff just as friendly.Meals were well cooked, hot and very tasty. We found the room to be very clean and comfotable,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and wonderful comments. I am pleased that your stay with us was an enjoyable experience. I have passed on a copy of your comments to my Restaurant Supervisor and Head Chef and hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon. More

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On appearance this hotel offers the same as all the other type of corporate hotels but I think they went that extra mile to ensure we were totally unhappy from the point of entering room 105 on the ground floor. Entered the room and found a number of things - bath was very chipped with mouldy silicone on the glass... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had booked it through Expedia knowing that cancellation meant loss of money...fine, accepted that But had to go back a day early due to partner's injury. Expedia wanted me to pay again to bring the booking a day forward and hotel wouldn't do it either as I had gone through Expedia. Expedia coined a change as a cancellation which is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I must point out that, at no time, does the hotel have the ability to refund bookings made through Expedia and all reservations are bound by their terms and conditions, not the hotel. Therefore I do find your score unfair as this was in no way as a result of the service you received from... More

Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My father and myself stayed at this hotel for 4 nights half board. Although the majority of the staff were very good and friendly, the food was terrible as was the service. Hot meals served on cold plates, when the food was served, the wait for the next portion - veg, was so long winded that the food that was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was saddened and very shocked to read your comments and can only apologise for the problems you had. These are, of course, very concerning and I have held a meeting with all restaurant and kitchen staff regarding your review. This was unacceptable and far from our normal standards of... More

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited the hotel last weekend. Staff help full. Good bedrooms and pleasant breakfast It was a visit linked with a coach party all of whom seemed satisfied with the service. Booking in and out were dealt with promptly.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and kind comments. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and found the service to your satisfaction. I hope that we get the chance to welcome you back soon. More

Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2014

We had a great stay at the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel this year. The room was comfortable and clean. It was fairly quiet (Apart from one drunk trying to get in to a woman's room at 4.00AM). Breakfast was good quality and plenty of variety. We will be booking up again next year.

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I was delighted to know that you stayed with us again and even more so that your stay was thoroughly enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back next year! More

London, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

This wasn't my first time at the Wigan Oak, but it wasn't the best either. On the positive side the reception staff are friendly and helpful. Check-in was easy, they sorted out taxis for me, and found me some toothpaste when I realised I'd forgotten mine. The room was a "superior" room - which was stretching things - and it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Needless to say I was extremely concerned to read your comments regarding Dinner and Breakfast and can only apologise for the unsatisfactory service you received. I have discussed the points you raised with my Restaurant Supervisors and Head Chef as this is totally unacceptable and not in keeping with the usual standards shown to our guests.... More

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

Just returned from a 5 day holiday coach trip.We were quite happy with our room,comfortable bed,plenty of space to move around and for storage.Few supplies of milk and teabags,but you could always get fresh milk on request. Food in the evenings was good and plentiful,not a great choice,but they did offer me an alternative when I could not have what... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for review. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed to read your comments. I will be investigating the points you have raised as this is clearly not to our normal standards. Every customer should receive the same level of service and can only apologise again that this did not happen. More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel United Kingdom

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay