We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Wigan hotels

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wigan
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
NightNurse1957 Cheshire
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    131
    58
    13
    12
See reviews for
31
97
24
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (300)
  • Mar-May only
    (69)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (84)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (81)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (66)
All months
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Faultless from start to finish, Friendly polite staff, checked in within 5 minutes, the whole place including corridors, stairs and the room was spotless, very clean. The bed was huge, only me stayed but could have fit another 3 in it (room 312), bath/shower excellent , very hot, very clean. Complimentary toiletries very good. Complimentary coffee/tea etc very good quality.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your wonderful comments and I am delighted that your stay with us was so enjoyable. I have noted your comment regarding Breakfast - we do offer concessions on the rate if Breakfast is pre-booked and I apologise if you were not made aware of this. Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you soon. More 

Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for three and a half weeks due to a course. The staff are lovely! The place is a little shabby. The odd numbered rooms are on the road and extremely noisy even with silicone ear plugs. Quite often towels were not replaced. The menu is great but it would have been better if it had changed weekly rather... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and your constructive comments. I was especially pleased to read the praise that you gave to our staff, which was very welcome. Being a town centre hotel it is of course, unavoidable to have some background traffic noise and, had you mentioned this, we would have done our utmost to move you to a quieter... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed in this hotel on business for several days. Check in was fast with polite staff. The hotel is located in a very undesirable area and most people would feel uneasy venturing out after dark. The rooms are clean and basic but the ones on the road side are very noisy. The beds are not the most comfortable you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was obviously extremely concerned to read your review and am very sorry that you were disappointed with Breakfast. I have discussed your review with my Head Chef as this is not acceptable and certainly not to our usual high standards. Regarding the hotel's location, I can assure you that none of our guests experience any problems either entering or... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Upon arrival at the hotel we were very pleased, we were checked in very quickly by the polite receptionist who also gave us some advice about a local restaurant and we decided to book breakfast as well within the hotel, the room was very clean and had a big comfy bed and we were very happy with the hotel as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

I was very disappointed to read your reviews and can only apologise that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as expected. The points you raised are totally unacceptable and I have given a copy of your review to my Restaurant Manager. I assure you that immediate action will be taken in regards to this. Please be assured that... More 

Wakefield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight as we had a surprise birthday party to attend and it was fairly close to the venue. The hotel appears to be in good condition, the area around reception is warm and inviting and the room was clean, tidy and a lovely big bed. I do think room service would serve better with more options, more things... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your very constructive review. I am delighted that your stay in our hotel was pleasant and comfortable. I have taken on board the points you have raised and will be discussing these with my department heads. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back, More 

London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Pros: the staff were absolutely lovely, decor and general appearance is very good, extra blanket (duvet) was received in good time after requesting, room was clean and spacious, free wifi very reliable. Cons: room was extremely cold even after turning heater to highest setting (only stayed one night, would otherwise have requested a room change), room service took over 1... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was very disappointed to read your comments regarding the rooms and food. I have asked my maintenance manager to check the heaters in the rooms to ensure that they are operating correctly. I have discussed your comments regarding the food with my Head Chef as clearly it is not our aim for guests to... More 

Ayrshire, Scotland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Though the building was a bit more basic than some Mercure's, the staff were friendly and helpful, the room was comfortable, and the restaurant provided nicely presented and tasty meals from an interesting menu.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Guest comments are always welcome and a vital part of upholding excellent customer care. I am delighted to know that you found the hotel to your liking and your comments regarding the staff were especially welcome. More 

Oakland, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel on line due to its location near the rail station and nearby shopping. While the hotel itself is somewhat dated, the amenities were good and the sleep comfort was also good. The entrance off a side street was a little hard to find, and the outside walkways in the area are dirty. Wigan itself is pretty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. The public areas and bedrooms have recently been completely refurbished so your comments regarding the amenities were a little surprising, I am pleased that overall your stay with us was enjoyable and hope to see you again soon. More 

Bridlington, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here for 2 nights, the first being all inclusive, cannot fault the room, the food, the service, all excellent, especially a big thanks to Samantha the duty manager, nothing was too much trouble, she went out of her way to help us. The only reason i havnt given it 5 stars was because although the all inclusive drinks finished... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your wonderful review and your very kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I was sorry that you felt the bar closed early, however we do provide a 24 service via reception. I hope that we get the opportunity to welcome you back soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel United Kingdom

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay