We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Wigan hotels

Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
73%
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Wigan
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Olivia P
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    118
    52
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
82
22
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel September 2014 travelled by coach I took Ill the night porter was very attentive and got me a ambulance To hospital I appreciate it very much the hotel very clean meals good all staff very good to us would go back again to this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was extremely sorry to learn of your illness during your stay but was very pleased to read that our staff help make your stay as comfortable as possible. I hope that you have made a full recovery now and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. More

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

On arrival reception staff were busy waited a few minutes to be acknowledged and checked in but friendly enough. Room was spacious and clean distinct signs of a leak in the ceiling corner probably from the roof as we were top floor but it was old. Was happy enough to pay current prices for room and overall staff performance but... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your stay. I have brought your comments to the attention of both the Head Chef and Breakfast Chef as it is totally unacceptable for any guest to be disappointed with either the food or the service they received. I can assure you... More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed overnight on our way back from Wales to Scotland as part of a coach tour. The room was very well equipped and very clean, hence the 3 atars. But The food service was dreadful. Dinner was served away from 'real guests' . The serving staff didn't know what they were doing, took 2 hours to serve us ,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was very sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay, please let me assure you that all guests that stay at the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel are of the utmost importance to us. The Douglas Suite is allocated for coach parties or large group, as we can ensure everyone can dine... More

newcastle
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

booked this with great little breaks £198 2 adults, 2 nights over the bank holiday, breakfast had good choice of hot food but did appear larger parties had to wait a while to be seated, 2 course evening meal with also good choice, included was room upgrade on 5th floor bed was huge and very comfortable, as much tea/coffee anytime... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and was very pleased to read that your stay with us was enjoyable. I hope that you will choose the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel when you are next visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you soon. More

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My company booked a two night stay for myself and 7 others while on a training course, from the moment we arrived we had nothing but poor service and bad manners. We all ordered our meals at the same time yet they come out 30 minutes apart. We had to ask were our desert was as staff was leaving. On... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

After reading your review, I was shocked and appalled to learn of your dissatisfaction with the service you received and can only offer my sincere apologies for this. I would like the opportunity of discussing this with you further and would be extremely grateful if you could contact me, as it is certainly not acceptable and far from our normal... More

sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is quite hard to find, when you phone up to reception for help you don't expect to get a guy telling you. I don't no I don't live round here, well I suggest you get clued up as I am sure plenty of people have asked the same question, eventually we arrived no thanks to him, bags in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my apologies for the problems that you encountered, this was certainly not to our usual high standard of customer care. I am very concerned that this happened and have spoken to both my Head Receptionist and Restaurant Manager regarding this. It is very unfortunate that you were left with the wrong impression of our hotel and I do... More

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

They say that first impressions count, if that is the case then the management of the hotel can easily avoid giving the wrong signals to guests arriving at the entrance. It is extremely easy to have someone empty the overflowing bin of empty Stella cans and the open black bin bag lying under the bin full of similar cans, and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that your stay with us was not as enjoyable as you expected. There is no excuse as to why the car park bins were not emptied, this is certainly not acceptable and will not be repeated in the future. Thank you for your comments and I do hope that this has not deterred you from... More

Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

checked in. receptionists were brilliant then things went don hill.Free view television with 300 channels and due to the apparent atmospheric pressure I can get approximately 6. that's a new excuse on me to be honest... waitress in the mornings was about as happy as having a dose of piles and when I asked for fried eggs I was told... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Needless to say I was extremely disappointed to read your comments and can only offer my sincere apologies. The points that you raised are completely unacceptable and I will be speaking to the people concerned regarding this. All guests at the Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel should receive the best service possible and I am sorry... More

Leeds
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Used this hotel for base for Ironman UK, Bolton. Rooms adequate and staff were not concerned when we took all triathlon kit up to the room including the bike. The location is good-Wigan town centre is only a 5 minute walk and there's a great shopping centre. The restaurant and bar facilities are a bit rubbish. After Ironman we wanted... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
WiganOak, General Manager at Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I was a concerned to read your comments with regards to the bar and restaurant facilities. We do offer drinks to guests, after 11.00pm, however it seems that you were not aware of this and for that I apologise. We will be ensuring, in future, that all guests are aware of this. I do hope... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel

Address: Orchard Street, Wigan WN1 3SS, England (Formerly The Wigan Oak Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Wigan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigan Quality Hotel
Mercure Wigan Oak Hotel United Kingdom

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Wigan with
any amenities