We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Castle View Guest House

4 Crossgate | DH1 4PS, Durham Durham Cit, England
Castle View Guest House
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    36
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
21
68
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (154)
  • Mar-May only
    (43)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (43)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (40)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (28)
All months
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We spent two very comfortable nights at this upscale B&B located just across the river from Durham Castle and cathedral. The room was beautifully appointed with a large comfortable bed, top quality linens and a large modern bathroom that included a heated towel rack and an excellent shower. The full English breakfast was substantial and tasty. We loved walking along... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your kind review. - we showed it to our new breakfast cook who was a little nervous and she was very pleased. Anne More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I always stayed at Castle View whenever I came to Durham. Owners and staff are always very helpful, service is very good, and the place is very comfortable and well kept. Its location close to both city center and train station is also one of the place's major assets.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you George you will always be welcome here Anne More 

Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed one night at Castle View Guest House. It was a perfect visit! The rooms were huge and very comfortable. You couldn't ask for a better location to the sites in Durham. The breakfast was incredible! Would definitely recommend this establishment to others.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for the review Lou. I was very pleased that you pointed out that our guest house is in a great position as regards the the city centre. Out of the first twenty or so establishments listed only two are actually in Durham itself. The rest are in small towns near to Durham but which share the same postcode. You... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2015 via mobile

We recently stayed three nights here, and had an excellent time. The room on the top floor had lovely decor, and a wonderful walk-in shower. The curtains were good and thick (unlike most which don't block out enough light for me) and with a privacy blind too. The cooked breakfasts were among the best we've had in a B&B. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Well - 3 night stay and only good things to say. Can't thank you enough. Anne More 

Palm Harbor, Florida
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015

The B&B is only a short walk to the city center, and there are neighborhood restaurants and pubs nearby. It is also close to the railway station. There are lots of stairs, so if you don't like climbing, make sure you request a room at ground level.

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Any one who lives in a standard house ( ground and 1st floor ) has at least one set of stairs. We are ground 1st and 2nd - hardly unusual any where in world. Our stairs are particularly easy to negotiate as both sets have half landings. Your remark makes it seem that our house is all stairs. Thankyou for... More 

Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

My first impression of Castle View was wow! This immaculate Georgian house sits adjacent to a lovely medieval church. My room was bright and very welcoming. The bed was extremely comfortable with extra pillows supplied. The bathroom was super with an excellent shower , fluffy towels, little extras like cotton buds and shower cap. I have long hair and often... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Thanks for your review More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2015

This B&B is very central, atop a steep hill within 5 minutes walk of the town centre, located in a beautiful old house with a view of the castle and cathedral. We had a large, very well appointed twin room on the ground floor with a lovely brand new bathroom with huge walk in shower. Everything you would be likely... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Sarah - what more can I say - your views are so important to us and you have done us proud. Please come again when we will be delighted to welcome you again. Anne and the girls. More 

Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

I wrote a glowing review for this upscale guesthouse a few months back. A further visit has conformed my first impression. It is excellent in every way. How this cannot be number one is beyond me because I simply cannot see how it could be bettered. I was careful to check that this guesthouse was actually in the City because... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much Dencul for your repeat visits. I know how difficult it is to sit down and write a review. I was pleased that you pointed out that many guesthouses with a Durham address are not in fact in the city itself but in the outlying suburbs and some can be six or seven miles from town and... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2014

I booked this B&B for two nights (19 and 20 of November 2014). The room was beautiful and the bathoom and shower were amazing. Everything was furnished to very high standards. While this is a university town, the B&B itself was very quiet and the windows blocked out any noise. The room was very clean and I appreciated having my... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this great review. It makes all the hard work put in by our staff well worth while. Please let us welcome you again. Anne More 

Manchester UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2014

Mr wife and I spent two nights there 5 and 6 November. Not easy to find, because of the one way system, but after that everything was perfect: the house is immaculately restored and tastefully decorated throughout; the bedroom and toilet/shower were lovely; breakfast was fine; staff were friendly and helpful; and the location and view - is ideal.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
MJ_Williams864444, Owner at Castle View Guest House, responded to this review

Your wife and yourself were the perfect guests. So glad you wrote to highlight our central position in our lovely city. ( we are the closest GH to the centre ) We agree that our one way street system is sometimes a little difficult but hey it comes with the turf and we do manage to park all of our... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question