We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Durham hotels

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Hotel amenities
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Bannatyne Hotel Durham to your Saves list
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Chris L High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    100
    44
    9
    11
See reviews for
53
95
13
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (240)
  • Mar-May only
    (51)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My husband lost his Wedding ring this weekend when we were away in visiting our son in Durham. I phoned the Bannatyne Hotel, where we had stayed for 2 nights, Restaurants that we had used during our stay and unfortunately no luck. Next morning I had a phone call from the hotel to say that a member of staff -... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Chris L, Thank you for sharing your positive review regarding your third visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham in which you found the staff to be "Great". I am happy that we found your husband's wedding ring and that we were able to return it. I will pass on your lovely comments to Julie the House Keeper as I am... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in January for my sons graduation and it made our stay. Durham is a stunning city and during our stay it was cold and windy but we always came back to a warm, welcome smile. Nothing was too much for the staff and their local knowledge was invaluable. They were extremely efficient and professional throughout... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear berenicetaylor, Thank you for providing such wonderful feedback regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am very pleased that you enjoyed "A wonderfully warm welcome". Your special praise for both Patrick and Susan (especially her hot chocolate) has been greatly appreciated and I will pass on these comments. I and the team look forward to your return... More 

Cardiff
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived very late but night porter welcoming. Room had initial problem with the lights but he soon resolved it. Clean warm bedding and very modern and clean shower room Plenty of large bath towels Good value for money for 2

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Geocam146, Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am sorry you found the room to be cold on entry and that you had a problem with the lights. It is pleasing to find that the Night Porter dealt with this for you. All rooms are fitted with a wall mounted heater... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The staff were helpful and informative. They also booked us taxis into the city centre. We also had use of the gym and pool. Towels were provided by the hotel too. We also used the cafe at the gym and pool for lunch when we arrived and breakfast the next day. They also serve alcohol there too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Cecilia M, Thank you for sharing your positive comments regarding your stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. It is always very pleasing to find that guests are rating the Hotel as "very good" and further more that you enjoyed the complimentary use of the Health Clubs facilities. I do hope you choose to stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham again. Kind... More 

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We visited Durham whilst taking our daughter to start her University life in the city. We chose this particular hotel to ensure we would not get caught up in the partying that would be going on among all the new students. The welcome was excellent and the staff very helpful, the room was clean and tidy though lacking tea but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear altay123, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent visit to Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am very happy that you found the Hotel to be in a location that met all of your needs and to be a "Good base to explore Durham ". On your next visit please take the time to enjoy... More 

Scotland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stay in this hotel on our way from Scotland to Surrey. It is quiet and comfortable. The bedrooms are clean and roomy. What I like is that hotel guests are allowed to use the gym and cafe bar facilities throughout their stay. We relaxed in the sauna and steam room after our car journey, had dinner, breakfast and read... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear elizabethtoyota, Thank you for sharing your wonderful comments after another stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. With the Hotel located just off the A1 I often find that regular long travelling customers share your same planning and use the Resorts Facilities for a "Pit Stop". The Health Clubs facilities are often enjoyed by long driving commuters who to the time... More 

Skipton
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here over Christmas for three nights. It was an oasis to return to. The rooms are large, a very comfortable bed, I slept very well, a nice touch is the provision of a sofa. The shower was large, plenty of hot water, and the rooms are well sound proofed. The pictures are exactly what you get. The best... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Ruthiebabes007 Thank you for taking the time to share your favourable review in which you believed the Hotel to have offered an "excellent stay " It is always very pleasing to find that guests have enjoyed their stay and that they have complimented on the Resorts facilities and its staff. I will be happy to pass your comments on... More 

Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2014

Booked a twin room at the last minute, on the basis it was the only hotel available within the price range in the Durham area. The reception staff were very friendly and a credit to the hotel. The room was clean, however it was showing its age, with peeling leatherette headboard and generally a tad worn and rough around the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Toblerone92, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. Your last minute booking is greatly appreciated and I am happy that we were able to match your budget. The Hotel is currently being refreshed on a room by room basis, the majority of all head boards have now been... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2014

Couldn't off asked for a better place to stay rooms very clean bathroom very clean it had a power shower which wasnt dripping like a tap enuff room for two the bed was very very comfortable staff very helpful and friendly and would do anything to help definitely be staying there again

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Claire B, Thank you for sharing your very positive comments regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. It is always very pleasing for the team and I to receive such great feedback. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team. I look forward to your return. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager - Durham... More 

West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2014

Just back from a weekend away in Durham. What a great place. Having looked at quite a few places to stay I decided to book a room at the Bannatyne Hotel I did look at a number of other Hotels in the area but found them quite expensive for a weekend away. Bannatyne Hotel was just what I expected I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Blindfiddler, Thank you for taking the time to share your review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. It is always very pleasing when guests comment on how friendly and helpful the Hotel team are. I am sure they will be happy when I pass your comments to them. I am surprised to find that you found the... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel

17 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay