We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Durham hotels

Bannatyne Hotel Durham

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bannatyne Hotel Durham to your Saves list
Bannatyne Hotel Durham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
76%
Ranked #9 of 19 hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
Nadine C Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

189 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    76
    31
    9
    10
See reviews for
46
72
12
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Don't expect the Ritz! The hotel is clean and the rooms are reasonably spacious. The bed is huge and there is free wifi. Having access to the gym and pool is a bonus. No bar and a taxi ride into Durham. However, a good location to drive up to newcastle, Northumbria and visit the Metro as we did.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Alicante Province, Spain
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Whilst visiting the lovely city of Durham, we decided to stay at Bannatynes Hotel Durham. It was our first visit to this hotel and it served us well. Our room was clean and tidy. Breakfast in the cafe bar was cheap and cheerful. I had fruit salad and my husband had a cooked breakfast which he thoroughly enjoyed. I can... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Lesley Y, Thank you for providing such a wonderful review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. It is really pleasing that you had “ an enjoyable stay “ and that both you and your husband enjoyed breakfast in the Health Clubs Café Bar. I hope you choose to stay with us again when visiting the lovely city... More

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed recently at this hotel and found it to be excellent value for money. The room allocated to me was clean, spacious and the bed was very comfy . The staff were friendly and very helpful. I found the food served in the Cafe Bar was very tasty and reasonably priced. I also took advantage of the health club... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear EddyK, Thank you for taking the time to post a super review regarding your stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am always pleased to hear when guests have found the facilities to be great value for money. I will pass on your comments to the rest of the team as your found our employees friendly and helpful. It is... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed recently at this hotel & really enjoyed Durham City. The room itself was very clean & the bed comfy. Shower was amazing & breakfast at the health club was great saw me through my morning sightseeing without having to stop & grab something. Great value prices too oh & the staff were fantastic too!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear FI042014, Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham. I am pleased that you were very happy with so many aspects of your stay including a comfy bed, very clean room and the shower being amazing. I agree with you, that the Hotel offers great value prices for accommodation. I hope you choose... More

Skipton
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel on a Tuesday night. It is good value for the money paid, the room was bright and clean, and served its purpose. The staff were lovely. Free use of the health club and the pool was an added bonus.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Ruthiebabes 007, Thank you for the wonderful review further to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham and use of the Health Club. I will advise the team of your praise and we look forward to you visiting again soon. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager – Durham Resort. More

Bromley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed for one night and while the staff were very welcoming and friendly, we were glad to get out of there. The room was clean and the bed was OK (unlike the toilet seat which bizarrely was quite uncomfortable) but the traffic noise was constant from the moment we arrived and as such we did not have a restful... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear popsy2014, Thank you for your review regarding your recent 1 night stay at Bannatyne Hotel, Durham. It is great that you found the staff to be very welcoming and the room clean with a comfy bed. However it is disappointing that other areas of the Hotel were not to your liking. We do have a high number of regular... More

Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Room smelt.looked tired bed was really lumpy and it was very noisey..I don't recommend this place at all..the gym was good but it's not joined to hotel you have to walk across the carpark with your towel..look else where there are lots if other places with places to eat and drink closer

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear v66bry, Thank you for taking the time to post a comment on our site. It is disappointing that you did not enjoy your visit. I have personally checked the room that you stayed in and could not trace any unpleasant smell at all. I have also checked the bed that you stayed in and have found no lumps or... More

Tebay, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Good facilities, but need to sort out noise from other guests. Corridors are very noisy.we were moved from our original room due to a couple who was being loud . The following night 3 rooms opposite us were booked by a group who went for a night out in Durham..when they returned they were knocking on each others doors. Waking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Jackdog2014, Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel Durham and I am pleased that your felt the facility was good. I am sorry that noise from some guests disturbed your stay but I was pleased that we managed to move you to another room. The Hotel does have a noise policy in place... More

Stockton On Tees
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night and was so lovely brilliant service from the friendly staff and room and clean and tidy. Fantastic comfy bed to sleep in and food in cafe was very tasty and nice. Would recommend to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear KatieG, Thank you for writing such a positive review regarding your recent stay, and for the recommendation. It is great that you found the service to be brilliant, your bed comfy and the food served in the Café Bar to be very tasty. I look forward to you visiting again. Kind Regards Matthew Emery Resort Manager – Durham Resort More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed here on a Saturday night. Upon arrival, was most disappointed to find that check in is not possible until 3pm, which is later than most hotels. If spending a day and night at a historic city like Durham, it's natural to want to make the most of time there, which means not having to hang around until 3 to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
ManagementResponse02, General Manager at Bannatyne Hotel Durham, responded to this review

Dear Dan K, Thank you for your comments in relation to your recent stay at Bannatyne Hotel, Durham. I am sorry to read you were disappointed about the 3pm check-in. However as we offer a check-out time of 12 noon we need this time to turn around 50 bedrooms to a high standard. Usually if the room you are allocated... More

Been to Bannatyne Hotel Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bannatyne Hotel Durham

Also Known As:
Durham Bannatyne Hotel
Address: Eden Terrace | Belmont, Durham DH1 2HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bannatyne Hotel Durham 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bannatyne Hotel Durham provides quality accommodation at great value prices. If you need to stay in the North East of England on business or for pleasure the Bannatyne Hotel Durham will provide you with the facilities you need. FREE parking, FREE wireless broadband internet and FREE access to the Health Club ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Bannatyne Hotel Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bannatyne Hotel Durham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.