We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Durham

#9 of 19 Hotels in Durham
Certificate of Excellence
Station Road Gilesgate, Durham DH1 1LJ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelodge Durham
Management photos View all
Browse nearby
Travelodge Durham
Add Photo Write a Review

118 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    47
    13
    10
    3
See reviews for
35
48
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (118)
  • Mar-May only
    (32)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (29)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (37)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I will star by staying I am a fan of Travelodge as a place for a well priced place to stay when what I need is a comfortable place for the night. This is the 4th Travelodge I have used in the past month. On the plus side my room (a family room) was spacious, and despite some initial concerns... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for one night to break up the journey from London. It is a nice conversion of he old original Durham Station. The family room was very comfortable although the shower didn't work properly, which we only found out the following morning. It was very hot in the hotel but it was very warm outside at the time. There... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed overnight when coming down for the cricket at Chester-le-Street. Standard comfortable Travelodge room, everything OK and good but nothing special. Special mention for the lady on reception who suggested the pub we should go to; I wanted to avoid the student/parent nights out that were on since our visit coincided with graduation. Nice note in the room about... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We have stayed at this hotel every year for the past 5 years. It's location is perfect for access into the city and a good central location for access to the countryside. We have never encountered any issues here.......until this year!! We reserved a family roomwhich was located on the ground floor, this was ideal until we returned to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TravelodgeUK, Amy from the Social Media team at Travelodge Durham, responded to this review

We appreciate the time you have taken to review our Durham hotel. It is great to hear you found the location was perfect, it is important to us that all of our hotels are located in convenient locations. We are truly sorry to learn however that you found the bar next to the hotel disrupted your sleep; we do try... More 

Near London, England
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here one night visiting Durham to take my daughter back home as it is located right next to her college. The building is difficult to see if you approach from the A1 north of Durham as it's tucked away to the left. At the roundabout, take the very first exit and then immediate left again. Don't go on up... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed over here as we were visiting friends the staff were very helpful and the room was clean well kept. The hotel was the best of all the ones we looked at in the area and the rates are very reasonable, the three of us had a great time, Durham is a great place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed overnight for a business trip. Room was very basic but spotless clean. Lady on reception was lovely and very helpful. Durham centre is only a 5/10 minute walk. Plenty of free parking right outside the rooms.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bridgnorth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We needed an oversight stay in Durham (purchase car) . We stayed in the annex which is purpose built fairly new building.Very clean, king size bed, very basic, no phone in room or hair dryer, probably could have got one from reception but didn't ask ( cost £38.00 per night) Parking right outside. Vending machines to buy chocs/crisps and basic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sunderland
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not too expensive, clean, comfortable & in good location for Durham. What more can I say checked in, went to room to change then back to sleep then checked out. Was fine by us and we would stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
456 reviews 456 reviews
90 hotel reviews
297 helpful votes 297 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Let me start by explaining my comment about poor customer service. Along with three friends we had booked and paid for 4 rooms for two nights. On day one, as we couldn't check in early we told the reception staff that we had arrived and that we would be back later that evening. No problem they said. On arrival back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay