We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Durham B&Bs / inns

Kingslodge Hotel

Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kingslodge Hotel to your Saves list
Kingslodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com AMOMA.com Priceline.com
81%
Ranked #15 of 41 Durham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed today
waldy1 leeds
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    57
    16
    5
    0
See reviews for
15
55
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

On arrival at a very pleasant looking hotel we were met with courtesy and warmth, the building work next door was no major problem to us as we were there Easter weekend. Our room was small but clean and acceptable but the mattress was poor and needed replacing. Breakfast on day one however was less than satisfactory being undercooked and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Pickering, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
22 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What appeared to be a hotel set in an oasis in the centre of Durham turned out to be a very average hotel set next to a vast building site nestling beside a railway viaduct. Our en-suite room was tired and needed a really good clean and a tv large enough to see from the bed. The chance of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I must poiint out that yes, we are next to a building site, but no noise emanates from this site. In the hotel we do not experience any noise from the site as all the heavy work has been completed and only bricklaying etc is ongoing at the moment. The site is closed every evening... More

Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed at the Kingslodge hotel previously, coincidentally in the same room (3). We were aware that the bus depot was next door, this is no more, it is now a building site. This may have explained the dust webs on the ceiling of the room and the dust on the bedside lights. Kingslodge is tucked away up a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit this time round. I was unaware that your room was not to your satisfaction but we could have moved you had you asked. Not having any night staff on the premises is more common than you think. We have had all our safety measures passed by the local... More

Liverpool
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Apart from the fact that the bed in our room was perhaps a bit past its "best-before" date, we couldn't find anything to fault here, (I'm ignoring the fact that my wife thought there should be a proper bar of soap as well as the perfectly adequate liquid soap provided). At present there's a bit of a downside from the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Annan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Very good clean accommodation. Only 10 minutes walk from town centre .Cannot fault staff, extremely helpful. Excellent breakfast, didn't try restaurant. Would have been nice if the residents lounge was open after 9pm. However would still come back again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Annan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff for who nothing was to much trouble .Good breakfast and spotless accommodation .When we complained about TV reception in our room we were immediately up graded to a more supererior room for no extra cost.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night en route to Edinburgh-thank goodness it was not for a longer stay.Very tired room-bed was more like a camp bed and woke up with backache.Has not seen a lick of paint for several years and very depressing décor.Also couldn't get parked when we arrived as packed with cars belonging to restaurant customers.Only redeeming feature... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

Had you voiced your complaints during your stay, we would have moved you to another room. Everyone has a preference for soft or firm beds. The beds in question are modern metal framed beds with good mattresses and we have had no complaints about them in the past. The decor is cream - not partiulcarly drab - and was last... More

Glasgow
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

Not far from the station and a 10 minute amble to centre; in a Culdesac so quiet, although looked like there was building works next to it though these weren't in operation at the weekend. Check in/out straightforward and there was a discount paying with cash at this time if year. The single room was clean and comfortable and fairly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wandsworth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Good location, quite close to the centre of town. Slightly spoilt by the building work going on next to the hotel. We had a lovely walk in the woods adjacent to Kingslodge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was comfortable if a bit tired looking. The highlight for me was the breakfast, cooked to order and included... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

friendly and professional welcome. Comfortable, clean room - complete with all amenities in room. Staff excellent at breakfast with lots of knowlege of gluten free products - would recommend to family and friends. Will definitely stay here next year for cricket matches.

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We look forward to seeing you again. More

Been to Kingslodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslodge Hotel

Address: Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Kingslodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingslodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.