We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 41 Durham B&Bs / inns

Kingslodge Hotel

Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Kingslodge Hotel to your Saves list
Kingslodge Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
80%
Ranked #15 of 41 Durham B&B and Inns
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed today
Stevie6467 Norfolk, England
  • Overview
  • Reviews (120)
  • Photos (21)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (28)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    63
    20
    5
    0
See reviews for
18
63
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We had an overnight stop here on the way to Scotland. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel was close enough to Durham that once we had parked at the hotel (which was a little tricky initially because the restaurant was filling up), we were able to walk easily into Durham. It's also handy for the train... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent this weekend in durham was lovely . Would recommend this hotel to friends 10 minutes walk and you are in the city centre and car parked for free in hotel car park whole time. Had our evening meal in finnbarr s was very busy staff very friendly and helpful food delicious. Breakfast was good no problems there again staff... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
london
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First the positives, the location is excellent, the staff are nice and friendly and there is a really nice atmosphere. The bar is great and Finbarr's restaurant is very good (that's the main reason we booked in here), one of the best we have found in Durham city. The negatives, the hotel is tired and needs investment, the beds need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just outside the town centre, a non concrete box type of hotel with some character that we like. Well fitted out in all areas and clean. The staff are all very polite, smiling, chatty and welcoming. Bedrooms comfortable and well kitted and clean. Nice bar area. Great breakfast. Would return if staying in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Very good location to walk into durham city for castle and cathedral and close to railway station.plus car parking space which comes at a premium in a place like durham. Rooms are comfortable and restaurant and bar good,Also very quiet

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Hotel is situated right next to the beautiful Flass Vale, brilliant for that early morning walk before breakfast. You will probably be getting up early as the hotel lounge which is the hub of any hotel where you can chat with other guests and have the odd brandy closes at 7pm. So what do we do, we tried the bar... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

We do have a residents lounge which serves free tea, coffee and biscuits. This is open from 7.00am until reception closes. The lounge was closed at 9.30 pm on the night in question. The lounge is closed for security purposes. The bar closed early that evening for refurbishment and all guests were told to expect this. However, it did not... More

Brussels
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This could be a charming place, but the rooms really need refurbishing (tired, stained armchairs, old carpeting). Worst of all, the windows are sealed shut, with only a small fan provided. This is quite claustrophobic and uncomfortable when the weather is warm outside. We only tried the continental breakfast, which was decent and came with 2 soft boiled eggs. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

The hotel is furnished in an old country house style which is in keeping with the building and its surroundings. We do not do minimalistic and chrome fittings. The windows do open, but being sash windows you have to pull the top window down to the level of the bottom window. Each room also has a fan to help cool... More

London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was the second time I had stayed here, this time with my husband and daughter. I really like the atmosphere of a smaller hotel and this is in a stress free location for Durham, being far enough away to have spacious free parking but only 10 minutes walk to the very centre. Our room was spacious and the beds... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review. We are a small hotel and are able to give the personal touch which makes your stay warm and welcoming. There is a nature reserve at the rear of the hotel which give the setting of the hotel a country feel. Finbarr's restaurant, where breakfast is served, is one of the finest quality restaurants... More

London, England
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

I stayed overnight after visiting the University. Room 1 was strictly a double, which would have been a bit of a squash, but fine for one. It had the usual facilities, including tea-making, and a fan, which came in handy; comfortable without being deluxe I'd say; but then it's half the price of the Marriott! Being across from the railway... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Thank you More

Sharon, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The Kings Lodge had a large parking lot. The hotel was hidden on a street just outside the ring road in Durham. It had a public path going through its parking lot. As you came up the stairs to the hotel , there was a beautiful terrace and garden. The room was much larger than we had had the two... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
kingslodgereviews, Manager at Kingslodge Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Although we are only minutes away from the centre of Durham (the castle and the cathedral included) we have a nature reserve as a backdrop to the hotel. This reserve is cared for by the council and several dedicated volunteers and this does give the hotel a country feel. We are pleased that you enjoyed... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Kingslodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Kingslodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingslodge Hotel

Address: Waddington Street | Flass Vale, Durham DH1 4BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kingslodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Durham with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Kingslodge Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer