We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 19 Durham hotels

Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% off
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County to your Saves list
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Durham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
susan a scunthorpe
Write a Review

824 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    230
    306
    164
    91
    33
See reviews for
146
329
33
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (824)
  • Mar-May only
    (190)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (250)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (239)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (145)
All months
scunthorpe
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just spent 2 very enjoyable days at Durham Marriott Hotel. Modern reception with friendly obliging staff. As requested, our room was overlooking the river in the modern Riverside block. It was spacious, comfortably furnished, with a huge bed and lovely big bathroom. The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and all nice and hot and frequently replenished. The location of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Penrith, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I met a business colleague here for lunch only, so that is all that this review covers. On arriving I was disappointed to find that the hotel now charges for car parking for hotel users - and not only that, but you have to pay in advance for x hours. When one doesn't know how long one will be, one... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed that the hotel car park is a paid parking area and that the recent refurbishment to our bar, lounge and hotel lobby was not to your taste. It is my expectation that cutlery would always be served with food and I... More

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

All 5's for this Hotel!! An absolute gem of a hotel in perfect romantic city. Room was decorated in reds & golds with lovely hard wood furniture, en suite immaculate & as new standard. Breakfast served to room!! Wow delicious & a great start to the day! Plentiful & hot. Spa & saunas are awesome!! Pool lovely, clean & very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked four rooms for two nights for a family get-together. Because of this they upgraded us to an executive room. I would hate to see the standard room as the executive room was "only adequate" in terms of size and was on the ground floor with a view of the car park. Having said this, the hotel was clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is located in a beautiful place; very close to the tourist attractions Durham is famous for. Breakfast is good but with the same spread it gets boring for guests on an extended stay. People on the reception are quite nice & friendly. Getting to your room is like locating a pin in a haystack. I was put in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that you were disappointed with the location of your room and the range of breakfast options throughout your stay. It was particularly disappointing to read your comments regarding the servicing of your room and bathroom and I am sorry if you felt your concerns were... More

York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Usually stay at the Radisson but decided on this for a change. Have to say that we preferred the Marriott. Better location, staff were very friendly and polite. The hotel is old yes, but that is part of the charm and history of the building. The leisure facilitate were good and the room was a little tired but clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked 4 suites for a special night with old school friends in what was supposed to be an upmarket hotel. The food in the main restaurant was terrible and in my wife's case uneatable. The service in the hotel bars and restaurants is mainly supplied by young people which I have no problem with. I do have a problem when... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read you had a poor experience with dinner and breakfast and you were disappointed with your room. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future so we can demonstrate our commitment to providing excellent customer service. Warm regards Des Caldwell More

Ayr
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I paid extra for a "deluxe" room which was tiny with no view and battered furniture. This must be the smallest double bed I've ever seen and the air conditioning had to be switched-off on a cold night because it was so noisy. Shower (over the bath), was adequate rather than good - surprising since it was first-floor room. One... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DurhamMarriott, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read you felt your guest room was small and you were disturbed by the air conditioning during the night. Thank you for your kind comments about our hosts who I know take great pride in the service they provide to our guests. Warm regards Des Caldwell More

United States
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
39 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

i had a room in the oldest part of the hotel--i think about 400 years old...the floors are slanted and the rooms vary in size --but very well appointed. at several points very loud walkiing that seemed to come from above and my floor halls occurred, I couldnt find anyone that large in the hall...and when i waked in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
County Durham
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked this hotel for our anniversary night away. We live relatively local but love Durham and as I managed to pay for it all with my Reward points it was a great value getaway in a brilliant location. I must admit I was expecting to get a poor room because of paying with the points, but it actually worked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott

151 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (120)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Room/suite (46)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay