We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

4.0 of 5 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Hotel website
Hotel deals
Hotel packages
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County
Write a Review

847 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    309
    172
    97
    36
See reviews for
152
336
33
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (847)
  • Mar-May only
    (190)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (250)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (240)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (167)
All months
Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Very disappointing. The room was OK but no effort was made to fix one of only two lights in the internal bathroom when asked to do so twice. No hotel amenities were explained or encouraged to visit. The lobby/ bar etc was dead. It was tasteless and extremely drab. We asked for a room with a view and was told... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We found the room eventually but certainly couldn't get lost in it!, the room had a king size bed which meant there was nowhere to put a suitcase, one chair but to get around the bed we had to squeeze past. Certainly not what is expected of a Marriott, at check in we were advised the room was an upgrade... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your stay did not fully meet your expectations in terms of the size of your guestroom and also the challenge you had with controlling the temperature in your room. I assure you that our customers satisfaction is our priority at all times and hope... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a shame. I have stayed at the Marriott in Durham before and it was OK, but after arriving on a freezing cold evening, given a room in the hotel extension with no lift and then a room with no heating, I was moved to a box room where I could just about get around the bed and the air... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review about your stay. I was sorry to read about the issues you had with the room temperature and during breakfast. We would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience further and invite you to contact our Executive Office directly. Warm regards Des Caldwell More 

Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Being loyal to the Marriott brand I may be being biased in my review but this is one of the nicer Marriots in the UK and I have stayed in many. The building maybe be a odd in terms of layout but they have built extensions on the original building so not a lot they could do. The original rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cheshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Three of us had a deluxe room with the sofa bed being used for our 12 year old. Shower pressure in both shower cubicle and over bath shower was poor. Had to use over bath shower as handle on shower cubicle door was broken. No third set of towels left out for 12 year old although bed had been made... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your guest room, particularly the shower, was not in full working order during your stay and that extra towels were not provided. I assure you that our customers satisfaction is our priority at all times and hope that we can desmontrate this to your... More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel was modern, clean & comfortable. Rooms were up-to-date. Personally I liked the additional amenities provided: iron, ironing board, trouser presses, complimentary toiletries. The room had 3 electric radiators which is unusual particularly since they were not working. Looked like an afterthought? The hotel should provide complimentary wi-fi in the rooms. It's common practice for internet service to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was pleased to read that your guest room met your expectations in terms of the amenities provided, however I was sorry to read that the radiators in the room did not seem to work. The hotel provides complimentary Wi-Fi in our hotel lobby, lounge, conservatory, bar and Starbucks store... More 

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Gym tired and in dire need of refurb. Room (we were told we had an upgrade) was tiny with too much furniture which was old fashioned and badly stained. No draft bitter - they had sold out before a Saturday night. Sunday breakfast was over-run with no preparation for groups arriving and wanting to sit together and no planning for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your stay did not fully meet your expectations in terms of your guestroom and the leisure club and I was disappointed to read about your experience in the bar and at breakfast and welcome your feedback to review with our food and beverage team.... More 

England
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have been coming here for many years in fact we had our wedding here, however things have gone downhill over recent months and the service is not what you would expect from what was once one of the best hotels in Durham. To start with they have now installed a charge to park cars in the hotel grounds, this... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read of your experience trying to contact the hotel and that the paid parking and Starbucks store did not meet your expectations from previous visits to the hotel. I give you my assurance that our main goal is our customers satisfaction at all times and I... More 

Sunderland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I was so so angry it was unbelievable. We tried to check in and the girl was like "oh we're fully booked for tonight". Here's me thinking 'yes, and one of those rooms is ours!'. Manager comes over to tell us they over booked. Asked if we had any plans in Durham that night, answer was no but still! what... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read about your experience and that you were unable to stay with us here at the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County. I do hope that you may consider staying with us for any future visits to Durham and we look forward to giving you a warm... More 

Durham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Booked week in advance for a late lunch as a special celebration. On arrival were told no lunch - only tapas or afternoon tea. At no time was I told this when booking. As our visit was prepaid had no alternative but to take the tea which was disappointing to say the least. Boring room, no table cloths, cold and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
DurhamMarriottRoyal, General Manager at Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was sorry to read that your experience here at the Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County did not meet your expectations in terms of the menu and value for money. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the service you received from Steph in trying to resolve your concerns and... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County

Address: Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Marriott, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Durham Marriott Hotel Royal County reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Durham
Durham Marriott
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Durham
#8 Business Hotel in Durham

157 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (56)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (28)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (32)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay