We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Town House Durham

5.0 of 5 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
The Town House Durham
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Town House Durham
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
  • Mar-May only
  • Jun-Aug only
  • Sep-Nov only
  • Dec-Feb only
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars NEW

Great room, Amethyst, and with real style. This hotel delivers a different experience and beats the regular hotel chains hands-down. Food was excellent, with top notch steak a speciality as advised by my guest. It did not disappoint. Slight issues caused by service levels as the two staff were caught out by a number of walk-in's. This meant a longer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I honestly don't understand how anyone can complain about this amazing hotel, we stayed in the Ruby and couldn't fault it one bit. We arrived on the Sunday tea time, parking wasn't a problem as it was right outside the door on the street. The decor and everything from the furniture to the lighting is gorgeous! The room itself was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I am not going to go into detail but having reserved a meal and having to cancel due to personal reasons I was refused a refund of my deposit. The cancellation request was mad in good time and at the point of reservation under no circumstances was it said that my deposit was non refundable. If I knew this I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gadds T, General Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

Apologies you feel this way As you can see by our previous reviews we pride ourselves on good customer service and being such a small establishent on an extremely busy night, a non refundable deposit is taken to cover us. Kindest Regards Nikki More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed here recently for one night with my fiancé in the Garden Lodge with hot tub. Easy parking available outside hotel £1.00 an hour free after 6pm but up early in the morning before 8.00 am to feed the meter again as charges kick in again at 8.00 am. We were both looking forward to spending sometime in hot tub... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was treated to a nights stay at Gadds Town House by my boyfriend - A small gem with charming quirky rooms and added luxury. We Stayed in the rouge room - Loved the dramatic decor of the room and the fact that each room is individualized with its own style. The rouge room had a huge comfortable bed with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So my husband and I decided to go for dinner as we had stayed in august on our wedding night. The food was amazing and it was just fantastic to see vegetarian food priced reasonably as I get so fed up being over priced for al a carte veggie stuff. My husband loved his meal of scallops and trip of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Came on a Saturday afternoon for lunch. Warm welcome when we arrived. We ordered sandwiches - club sandwiches were lovely, big portions with nice ham and eggs. Soup was also great. Service great throughout

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I stayed in the Amethyst room (a special birthday getaway treat) and were delighted to discover the hotel was a luxurious little Georgian boutique. The staff were friendly and accommodating and the room was sumptuous. Little details such as the Molten Brown toiletries and chocolates added to the feeling of being spoiled and the rich purple decor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2015

Stayed here for two nights on a weekend away with my partner - who had cleverly remembered I had wanted to stay here one day. We arrived and were lucky to find parking which is street only and metered (free after 3pm). We checked in to the Rouge Room which was the smallest yet loveliest room I have stayed in...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2015 via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here in December. We stayed in the Amethyst room which was not a disappointment. The room is very tastefully decorated. A couple of points to pay attention to. The roll top bath has no fixings so you have to be careful not to put too much weight on one side or the bath topples. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gadds T, General Manager at The Town House Durham, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to pass on your comments. We are always looking to improve both our facilities and service! We apologise, particularly for the mis spelling on the key fob. This has now been replaced as it was a temporary measure as the previous key had been misplaced.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Town House Durham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Town House Durham

Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England (Formerly Gadds Town House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Town House Durham 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Town House Durham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (83)
Room/suite (29)
Bathroom (12)
Dining (5)
View from room (5)
Hotel & grounds (7)
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All management photos (8)
Hotel & grounds (2)
Room/suite (1)
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay