We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gadds Town House

5.0 of 5 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gadds Town House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Gadds Town House
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    88
    42
    22
    20
See reviews for
27
236
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (355)
  • Mar-May only
    (94)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (95)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (93)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for two nights on a weekend away with my partner - who had cleverly remembered I had wanted to stay here one day. We arrived and were lucky to find parking which is street only and metered (free after 3pm). We checked in to the Rouge Room which was the smallest yet loveliest room I have stayed in...... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had the pleasure of staying here in December. We stayed in the Amethyst room which was not a disappointment. The room is very tastefully decorated. A couple of points to pay attention to. The roll top bath has no fixings so you have to be careful not to put too much weight on one side or the bath topples. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gadds T, General Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and have taken the time to pass on your comments. We are always looking to improve both our facilities and service! We apologise, particularly for the mis spelling on the key fob. This has now been replaced as it was a temporary measure as the previous key had been misplaced.... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We loved our stay in the Jardin room. The girl serving us called Jade was fantastic and after the first young girl ignored us she made more than amends. We travelled a long way to come to Durham and we would return just for the hotel. Thanks again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gadds T, General Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review your stay, I sincerely apologise if a member of staff ignored you this will be addressed but I am overwhelmed that Jade made up for this. We strive on our customer service and we do everything to make your stay a one to remember I am very please... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've waited until after my second visit to review this hotel. The reason being that it's so 'different' it needs due consideration. I've stayed in rooms amethyst and ruby which are identical in size but with slightly different layouts. The decor is certainly somewhat quirky and both rooms are a bit dark (could do with a bit more light for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Gadds T, General Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

With reference to your recent review on Tripadvisor, I am very happy to hear of your pleasant stay with us. Myself and the staff here at The Townhouse are constantly striving to ensure that all of our guests have the best possible experience whether it be dining in the restaurant and/or staying overnight. I can confirm that your comments concerning... More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

stayed in the the ruby room at the front of the hotel for my birthday 8th jan 2015 have to say it is a small room and the drapes are very dark needs a make over to bring it up to standard no soap in room no face cloths just one glass in the bathroom and to my surprise no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Gadds T, General Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

With regards to your recent Trip advisor review, I would like to begin by offering my apologies for your experience in the Ruby room. It is a great concern of mine that you felt the room was insufficiently supplied with toiletries but can assure you we have taken your comments on board and we now supply face cloths and shower... More 

Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Had a fantastic stay exceptional food only complaint the hot tub needs a awning or some kind of roof erecting over it as heavy rain spoiled the experience we had the sharing menu in the restaurant very good value for money and exceptional quality

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gadds T, Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your feedback I am very pleased that you had a very enjoyable stay with us and I will take your comments on board about the hot tub shelter and apologise for any inconvenience caused. I hope to welcome you back in the near future Thanks again for taking the time Nikki and Staff More 

County Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed in Le Jardin room with an outdoor hot tub. This is a very luxurious room with a fabulous bathroom nd large shower. Excellent food and service in restaurant. It's a short walk into the city centre. Highly recommended. Will definitely stay again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gadds T, Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay I am delighted you had an enjoyable experience, good comments encourage the staff and we are very grateful of these. We look forward to seeing you in the future Thank you for your great feedback Nikki and Staff More 

Redcar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
75 hotel reviews
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Lovely little boutique hotel only a few minutes walk from the centre of Durham. We stayed in the Edwardian Express room, which was quite spacious and had a lovely bathroom with complimentary Molton Brown products. The bar area was lovely. My only complaint would be breakfast, it was very unorganised. People were served breakfasts they hadn't ordered, there was no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gadds T, General Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed and have taken the time to compliment the facilities the townhouse has to offer. We cannot apologise enough however for the poor and unprofessional service you received at breakfast. We pride ourselves in the quaility of our staff and we must assure you that the issues you witnessed that particular morning have not only... More 

Ashburton, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2014

We had the opportunity to stay at Gadds Townhouse on a recent holiday to the UK and it was fantastic. Beautiful and luxurious rooms to stay in and a superb evening meal followed by a lovely English breakfast in the morning would defiantly stay again and would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gadds T, Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments and for taking the time to review The Management and staff here at The Townhouse are very pleased you enjoyed your stay We look forward to welcoming you back in the future Thanks again Nikki and Staff More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2014

We stayed for one night at the Town House, Durham in December. It is in a good location and short walking distance to the shops and town centre. Its a total step back in time. Olde World in its décor. Chandeliers, copies of old masterpieces on the walls. Small, bijou hotel but the staff were very friendly and helpful. We... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gadds T, Manager at Gadds Town House, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am very pleased that the overall service given to you by our staff was recognised as been good and friendly. We take customer satisfaction very seriously. We hope to see you in the near future More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Gadds Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gadds Town House

Address: 34 Old Elvet, Durham DH1 3HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Durham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gadds Town House 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gadds Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gadds Town House Hotel Durham

87 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Room/suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay