We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fairway Hotel

Hawthwaite Lane, Barrow-in-Furness LA14 4QH, England
Hotel amenities
Fairway Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Barrow-in-Furness
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
lufc0511 Colne, United Kingdom
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    23
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
14
6
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (56)
  • Mar-May only
    (15)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (14)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (16)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (11)
All months
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

We visited this hotel for a 1 night break and had read the reviews, we had a great day out in south lakes safari. On return we went in the restaurant and ordered a £16 pork and a £20 8oz steak! The pork could be cut into and the steak was incinerated, we therefore complained and the "head waiter" marched... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
36 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I had issues, but they we're dealt with when raised, firstly on the outskirts of Barrow In Furness, A little difficult to find if using a Sat Nav, the road has been cut in two by a newer road and the sat nav might take you to the wrong half I would say it was romantic at that hotel, but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your review, I am pleased you found the hotel rooms good and that side of your stay was enjoyable. I was aware you had issues with regards to the projector, unfortunately these things are unforeseeable, the projector was working fine the week before for another conference we held so we had no reason to suspect it would stop... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2015

I don't want this review to be negative as the hotel overall is close to being really good, it's just lacking in a few areas. Pros The staff were friendly and helpful the rooms are of reasonable quality and the food is great. Gods free wifi- no messing with codes etc just straight on. Location is quiet and peaceful Clean... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lee Thank-you for your review and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. After reading your review I went and had a look at the pillows in all the rooms and you have a very valid point and this is something I am going to rectify immediately. I do hope it wouldn't stop you from returning to the Fairway... More 

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2015

Hotel was nice in middle of no where not much to do around had to drive to places if we went out, big rooms can't fault the room at all maybe an extra pillow would do as I got a bad neck off sleeping on one, place was clean and big, the food was bad and cost too much for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Helen Thank-you for your review, just to let you know there are two spare pillows in each wardrobe, if you needed any more then we would have happily brought you extra you just needed to call down to reception and these would have been brought straight to you. I am sorry the food wasn't to your liking, the majority... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We chose to have our wedding at the fairway after having a meal in their resteraunt not only was the food out of this world but the staff were so friendly. We booked our wedding with suzie the wedding planner, she couldnt do more for us, we could just turn up whenever we wanted which we did with our children... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Good Morning Chrissie Thank-you so much for the lovely review of your wedding, all the staff at the Fairway feel very privileged you allowed us to be part of your special day. We are so pleased that we gave you the perfect day you wanted and I want to thank-you again for choosing the Fairway Hotel. Please don't forget to... More 

Kendal, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Came through for a christmas works do with some colleagues from Kendal, after eventually finding the hotel it quickly became apparent there was no heating ( they had a power cut earlier that day) we went into the main function room and it was baltic as were the toilets with no heating at all, literally winter temperatures indoors made much... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul Thank-you for your review and obviously after reading your comments I was horrified to think the hotel had failed on so many levels whilst you were attending one of our functions. After investigating your complaint I am going to have to ask you to contact the hotel directly as I cannot seem to find your hotel reservation on... More 

Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

I have been lucky to eat at this restaurant on a few occasions and cannot fault the food at all. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much trouble , the owners have become good friends of my family. My mum and aunt stayed on new years eve for a silly price of £110(thats for both of them )... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your kind review, we are trying to improve the hotel all the time and are pleased are efforts are paying off. Kind regards Suzanne Bennett More 

Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014 via mobile

In a nice quiet location if you want some were out the way , the food was very good there was plenty of parking space and very relaxing there is not much in this area but I would stay here again if working in the area , the rooms are very spacious with everything that is needed

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you for your lovely review and we do hope we can welcome you back to the Fairway Hotel again soon. Kind regards Suzanne Bennett More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

It took a while to find the hotel as its in the middle of nowhere but i guess i rely on the satnav too much :) Check in: After finding it we could not wait to check in. This is where things go wrong for this hotel. We arrived at the 2pm check in time but alas no one at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mike Firstly I want to apologise for not writing back to you sooner, we have had a few changes within the hotel and I am now responding to all reviews. I would like to apologise that upon check-in there wasn't anybody on reception to greet you. You are absolutely correct there should have been somebody to greet you with... More 

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and polite. The hotel was very clean warm and in a superb setting, our room was beautiful ,the breakfast was superb, would definitely stay again an excellent hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
fairway01, Manager at Fairway Hotel, responded to this review

Thank-you so much for your kind review and we hope to welcome you back to the Fairway Hotel again soon. Kind regards Suzanne Bennett More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities