We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakfold House

4.0 of 5 Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakfold House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakfold House
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    33
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
117
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (212)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (60)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through the Lake District. On arrival we were personally greeted by Marnie who offered us tea and showed us to our room. Marnie was also extremely helpful in advising us of local attractions and dinner venues. The shops and restaurants are a short walk down the hill from Oakfold House and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Me and the other half stayed on a Tuesday night, as a last minute get away. The hotel was in a perfect location- literally 5 minutes walk to the shops, resteraunts and bars of Windermere and 10 minute walk to the lake. On arrival we were personally greeted by the owners, had a play with their new puppy and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have two children so we had the family room. It was very clean, quiet and well appointed. No complaints at all. Breckfast also wonderful...great hosts, free wifi....just all round nice...the car park could be a little tricky but not a major issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
China
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I check the hotel reviews on the internet ,there was high score. Then ,I booked it. When i arrived this hotel ,i have to say this is the worst hotelwhich I ever lived. Firstly ,I think the hotel cleaning is very important . The hotel room is not clean,and there is still the others clothes & underwear left in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Dear Lina, Thank you for your review. All feedback is gladly received. We are obviously disappointed that you were not happy with your booking at Oakfold House. Unfortunately the room that you booked was not suitable for you. We advised you on arrival that you had booked the family room through Booking.com. On Booking.com we state that the family room... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Away for my husbands 60th birthday couldn't have found a nicer place to stay, very welcoming hosst, thanks Max and Marnie. My husband is a fussy eater when it comes to a full English so it's high praise that his plate was cleared each morning. Oakfold is in a situation easy walk down to lake and just a stroll up... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Absolutely recommended! Lovely stay. Worth value. Great location and service. Very lovely B&B. Great for family. There is family room which can accommodate a family with 2 children. The staff is very friendly and provided great service. The location is very convenient. You can walk to the lake within 10 mins.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked a superior double and found the room more then acceptable . It was a good sized room , with lovely furniture . Bathroom also good size and spotless . Walk into lake took 5 mins . Breakfast was really good to . Would highly recommend anyone to stay there

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We were there at oakfold house at windermere for 2 days 23rd &24th sept. 2014 and had a lovely time .Max and Marnie our host were very hospitable kind and extremely helpful with a smile on their faces.The room provided to us was very comfortable and clean.Also, the breakfast served was upto the mark and no complaints whatsoever.Plus point is... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was excellent. Host was kind and very lovely. All three rooms were cute and well designed. Car park and Full breakfast was nicely provided. Location was convenient if you have personal car. Just a few minutes drive to both city centre and the lake. Definitely go back again :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on Saturday 27th Sept 2014 and was welcome by a very charming woman, who showed my wife and i to a room on the ground floor. The room was lovely and comfortable, facilities excellent, the breakfast was very nice, my wife and i will defiantly be stopping at Oakfold house and would recommend the Oakfold house is the... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Do you own or manage Oakfold House?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oakfold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Address: Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay