We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakfold House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Announcement
Great discounts available
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Oakfold House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakfold House
Add Photo

168 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    135
    27
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
30
84
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (168)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (31)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel was ok, but there was few disadvantage, we stayed in the hotel for 4 nights and room wasn't really cleaned. Towels were changed every day and dust bin was emptied. Another drawback was the fact that being on the holiday we were forced to pick what time we want breakfast next day. On top of it arranging breakfast for... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your review of Oakfold House. You are obviously disappointed with the service offered at our Bed and Breakfast, and for this we are very sorry. You have mentioned the cleaning of your room during your stay. We are not sure as to how we would increase the level of cleaning. You mention that we emptied the... More 

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent accomodation, good food, great host, perfect location. Would recommend to all. Ask hosts for dining tips as their recommendations to us were excellent. We would suggest chesters at skelwith bridge for lunch.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hednesford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Marnie & Max made us feel so welcome, and being greeted with a cup of tea is just the ticket when you have had a long journey. Our room was tastefully decorated and very comfortable. We thought the ensuite was smashing, especially the large shower. I'm so glad we choose to stay here and would very much like to visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Well looked after house with good quality fittings and a friendly atmosphere,parking available which is a bonus in this town.Excellent for the price would recommend to anyone after somewhere to stay that wants quality from a friendly couple

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bishopsteignton Teignmouth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely relaxed and very friendly atmosphere. Warm welcome. Ideal location to stay if you want to wander around and to go into town. We all, friends and family had a lovely time. Rooms are cosy and impeccably clean. Breakfast was superb. Definitely recommend to stay there. .If you are 6foot 6 long though don't go for a double bed room:))

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I found the lodging to be situated properly between the towns of Windermere and Bowness. The Windermere Station was not far and the bus stops were right on the corner. I could go to either towns for food or specialty stores for gifts or clothing. The movie theater was two blocks away. The bus route was important to me because... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were attending a wedding and came across oakfold house online. From the minute we booked the communication was great. Upon arrival we were offered refreshments but had to change to get the the wedding venue. Breakfast was pre ordered for the next day and one of our rooms ready early. Taxi had been pre ordered for us which was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Paris
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We enjoyed the clean facilities, charm of the place and quietness of the room. The location is very good, just 5 mins walk from boat departures area on lake Windermere. Breakfast was very good too. Overall good value compared to hotels in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

The Oakfold House was a last minute find online & very pleased with the find. Provided excellent value for money & I was impressed with the service received. Rooms were very clean which is always a welcome, additional The owner made us feel at home immediately offering us refreshments upon arrival with recommendations of ideas on how to spend our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

The first floor room was well accommodated, quite, clean, and welcoming. Proprietors Max and Marnie are very welcoming and, wow, what a breakfast. How do you do those eggs so perfectly Max? Really. Spot on!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay