We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakfold House

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Oakfold House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

236 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pictures of the rooms are extremely deceptive... the rooms are tiny and hardly any place to move, let alone put your luggage. The room with the bunk beds was absurd...they have converted what should have been a closet in to an area with two bunk beds...the entrance to which is a door frame! The owner was quite rude and... More 

Helpful?
Thank sp271284
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hi, We are sorry you were disappointed with your stay at Oakfold House. You have mentioned that the rooms are small, Oakfold House is an Victorian Lakeland Stone property. We are unable to make the rooms any larger than what was originally built, and by B&B standards they are a good size. Your group booked three rooms, two of which... More 

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We've visited the Lakes lots of times and we always enjoy coming back. We booked Oakfold House with a great deal on booking.com. The drive down was quite concerning as it was the weekend after the floods, and heavy snow was forecast. We struggled to get into the Lakes with many roads closed, however we rang OakFold house and they... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Jennie B
Kelsterbach, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2015

Max and Marnie were very friendly hosts. They gave us valuable information about activities in Windermere and good restaurants. The interior of the house is very beautiful with light colors and thick carpets. Our room was comfortable, very clean and the English breakfast was generous. We would like to come again in summer time.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina790
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2015

Unfortunately we couldn't give top marks as cleanliness left a lot to be desired. We were in the Superior Room 2 and after pointing out to the hosts that there was thick dust on and at the sides of a picture, plus cobwebs hanging from the ceiling, this was not addressed. The blinds had mould on them and the kettle... More 

Helpful?
Thank woodseaves
Oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Hello, Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that the room did not live up to expectations. You raised an issue with us at breakfast advising that the there was dust behind the picture frame, cobwebs on the ceiling and the shower head was dropping too low. You did not mention the other cleaning issues that you have now... More 

Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2015

Stayed here for a couple of nights on a business trip this month, couldn't have asked for a nicer place! The owners were very friendly and genuine people, the place is well looked after and the décor is to a high standard all over. The breakfast options are varied and brilliantly cooked! Particularly enjoyed the full English breakfast! I would... More 

Helpful?
Thank chantelle s
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015

Lovely relaxing stay.. Very clean room and comfortable bed. The hosts were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was great and lots of selection.. We will definetly return here again very soon.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank katk772
Sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for my partners birthday for two nights. It is brilliant! We were welcomed by the owners who gave us loads of advice about what we can do where we can eat etc. The rooms were superb. Very clean and tidy, very comfortable beds and great en suite facilities. The breakfasts were superb too! Thanks for the stay!

Helpful?
Thank Joe L
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015

We stayed here for two nights in November, we were greeted with a very friendly arrival, our room was relaxing, spacious and very clean. We preordered our breakfast which was lovely, would definitley recommend people to stay here.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank charls700
Cumbria, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015

Enjoyed my stay there very much. Well located friendly place to stay. Breakfast good. The couple who ran the place were very helpful. I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a well based bed and breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank carolhall2015
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015 via mobile

Very friendly staff who will do anything to help. Rooms are very high standard very clean very warm and relaxing. Breakfast very very nice. Located in a small walk into Bowness very local and handy for everything. I would jump at staying here again, go on try you will not be disappointed x

Helpful?
Thank Scrop33
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

69 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Other (14)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 2,061 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 712 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel
BEST WESTERN Burnside Hotel
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 stars 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
Craigholme Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 102 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#13 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay