We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakfold House

4.0 of 5 Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Hotel website
Click for phone number
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oakfold House
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Oakfold House
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    34
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
33
120
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (216)
  • Mar-May only
    (58)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (74)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (64)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Morecambe
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very comfortable, clean, 6-7 minutes' walk from the lake. A warm welcome on a wet and windy afternoon with a pot of coffee. And a large umbrella to borrow, courtesy of the house. Excellent breakfast, home-made bread.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Oakfold House is a really comfortable and welcoming place to stay. Marnie and Max are really friendly. We stayed in room 5 which is a small double but had everything you could ever need in a room and was really bright and airy. We usually stay self-catering when in the Lakes on longer breaks (we're frequent visitors) but for a... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Wigan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Only spent one night in this guest house, and it was an experience to behold. On arrival, our room wasn't ready, but the owner told us to leave our bag in the lounge and he would get it to our room when it was ready. Plus point. When we eventually saw our room later that evening, what a surprise. Beautiful.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Crewe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Oakfold guesthouse is in the ideal location between Bowness and Windermere. Max warmly greeted us carried our luggage to our room which was perfect. Marnie served our amazing breakfast which had plenty of choice and excellent quality. Would definitely recommend and would return again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My wife and I stayed here on our trip through the Lake District. On arrival we were personally greeted by Marnie who offered us tea and showed us to our room. Marnie was also extremely helpful in advising us of local attractions and dinner venues. The shops and restaurants are a short walk down the hill from Oakfold House and... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Me and the other half stayed on a Tuesday night, as a last minute get away. The hotel was in a perfect location- literally 5 minutes walk to the shops, resteraunts and bars of Windermere and 10 minute walk to the lake. On arrival we were personally greeted by the owners, had a play with their new puppy and had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tasmania, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have two children so we had the family room. It was very clean, quiet and well appointed. No complaints at all. Breckfast also wonderful...great hosts, free wifi....just all round nice...the car park could be a little tricky but not a major issue.

Was this review helpful? Yes
China
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I check the hotel reviews on the internet ,there was high score. Then ,I booked it. When i arrived this hotel ,i have to say this is the worst hotelwhich I ever lived. Firstly ,I think the hotel cleaning is very important . The hotel room is not clean,and there is still the others clothes & underwear left in the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
oakfold, Owner at Oakfold House, responded to this review

Dear Lina, Thank you for your review. All feedback is gladly received. We are obviously disappointed that you were not happy with your booking at Oakfold House. Unfortunately the room that you booked was not suitable for you. We advised you on arrival that you had booked the family room through Booking.com. On Booking.com we state that the family room... More

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Away for my husbands 60th birthday couldn't have found a nicer place to stay, very welcoming hosst, thanks Max and Marnie. My husband is a fussy eater when it comes to a full English so it's high praise that his plate was cleared each morning. Oakfold is in a situation easy walk down to lake and just a stroll up... More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely recommended! Lovely stay. Worth value. Great location and service. Very lovely B&B. Great for family. There is family room which can accommodate a family with 2 children. The staff is very friendly and provided great service. The location is very convenient. You can walk to the lake within 10 mins.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Oakfold House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakfold House

Address: Beresford Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Oakfold House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Oakfold House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakfold House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Oakfold House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

64 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (29)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay