We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Stags Head to your Saves list
Stags Head
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
Christophe M Liverpool, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (186)
  • Photos (25)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (58)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

186 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
See reviews for
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Stags Head recently for a couple of nights - we will not repeat that mistake. The only plus point about the room was the shower - not the dirty stained cubicle that it sat in but just the shower itself - nice hot water! Not sure which hotel the photographs were taken at but it certainly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed in family room which had a horrible damp foisty smell there were stains on the carpet and I refused to use the shower as I would feel dirty because of the state of it. Breakfast wasn't the best only part I felt was worth my money was the use of another hotels leisure facilities. The pub seemed nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

It would be easier for me to list the best think about this place but I can't think of one. What's wrong with it. Dirty rooms stained carpets, dusty , unfriendly, no reception, poor breakfast no choice, 2 cereals and 2 fruit juices (not fresh) to choose from, chipped crockery. This would make a good project for the hotel inspector.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Quite simply the worst pub in Bowness. Food is poor, staff are rude and incredibly miserable and the ale is overpriced. If you are looking for a good experience, you wont find it here. My tip, look elsewhere!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A wonderful Victorian Hotel with a good location that's lost its soul. With no individual interaction with any staff, (note management responses to Trip Addvisor comments) It could have had a vending machine for your room key. At £90 per room its cheap for its location, the car park is pay and display and for 12 hours its another £7.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here at the wkd with a group of eleven friends. Hotel itself was fairly tidy but rather dated in its decor. Sunday breakfast was served 8 to half 9. !0 o clock would have been more suitable. When one of our party asked for breakfast at 9:32am he was quite rudley turned away by a member of staff who... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

All I can say that people who are putting good reviews up about this hotel are obviously getting paid to say it or are friends and family, Bathroom was filthy, rooms were very dated, and disgusting, For the £90 we paid we were ripped off, don't be fooled by the lovely pictures on their website, it's not like this at... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Ok, so it's not luxury five star accommodation but it doesn't propose to be be. The entrance hall and stairs really quite dusty, which initially made me nervous. We stayed in room 16.... A fairly large room, airy ( the window did open but needed wedging). It was a bit noisy due to overlooking the street but only with the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

We booked three rooms for Friday 25 July 2014; my boyfriend and I stayed in the Windrmere Suite which I really liked - good size, nice four poster bed, clean (shower a bit drizzly, however!). The other two rooms were unfortunately not so nice - one was not even made up and upon entering, discovered a shirt in the wardrobe,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Stayed here on a Friday night, great central location, room was okay, nice bathroom, not overly noisy, good breakfast the next morning, stayed before & we would stay again. Staff are really nice. Price was about right.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Stags Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Stags Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stags Head

Address: Church Street, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3DG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stags Head 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Stags Head reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stags Head Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Stags Head Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

All traveler photos (26)
Hotel & grounds (6)
Pool/beach area (1)
Room/suite (7)
View from room (1)
Family/play areas (1)
Dining (2)
Bathroom (4)
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere with
any amenities


Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Class
Number of rooms

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Stags Head staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer