We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Woodlands Windermere

New Rd, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2EE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with LateRooms to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodlands Windermere
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Woodlands Windermere
Add Photo Write a Review

293 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    187
    53
    34
    11
    8
See reviews for
30
195
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (293)
  • Mar-May only
    (76)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (83)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (78)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (56)
All months
Craigavon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We had booked a single night through a booking website, in order to break a long journey, and to allow my partner to experience a taste of the Lake District, as she had never previously visited that part of the country. Due to a change of plan, we decided to extend our stay to three nights, if it were to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Just returned from a perfect staycation in The Lake district.We stayed at the Woodlands hotel.We stayed in the Executive suite.The bed was huge and very comfortable,there were black out blinds so I had the best nights sleep.The room must have been soundproofed because I didn't hear a sound from the other guests.The bathroom was spacious with a bath big enough... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for a long weekend in the suite behind the main hotel. The hotel is very nice and well located. Its a short walk down into Bowness (5 mins) and has its own (slightly tight) on-site car parking. Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was large, though as it was located below the dining room and the floor... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the trouble to review Woodlands, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. I'm sorry you were disturbed in the morning. The dining room above is unoccupied until at least 7.45 and breakfast does not start until 8.30 so am not quite sure where the noise came from but it definitely wasn't footfall at 6 am. Apologies... More 

Carluke, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for 2 nights as a family group (there were 4 couples) and we all thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The guest house is handily located on the main road between Windermere and Bowness but the traffic noise was negligible. The rooms vary in size but all are tastefully furnished and are both thoughtfully and well-equipped; indeed, my wife... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review, it means so much to know you had a great time, we really hope you will use your loyalty card and visit again. Erika was absolutely over the moon that you gave her a special mention, we are proud of our staff, they really do care that you have a good stay... More 

Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We only stayed for one night. It was lovely with the owners so helpful and such nice people. Really enjoyed our chat before we left in the morning. Hope to see you again soon. Thank you. Chris and Sheralee

Was this review helpful? Yes
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks Chris and Sheralee, thanks so much for taking the time to post a lovely review, we really did enjoy chatting with you both and hope we will see you again before too long. Best wishes to you both More 

Bala, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely guest house, staff were lovely and helpful. However was not able to sleep on both nights due to the pillows being so flat, we had 3 each, and still very flat, when asked for more we were given the same quality, which was worthless. Breakfast was wonderful, place very clean. We stayed in room 8. Very hot room, bathroom... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks so much for taking the trouble to review Woodlands, you will be delighted to know we listened to the pillow comments and have now bought new pillows for all rooms. It's so difficult to get the temperature right in hotels, we never ever want anyone to be cold as we always feel it's easier to turn off heat and... More 

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2015 via mobile

Absolutely beautiful guest house! Can not fault a single thing; gorgeous suite, lovely breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. The lady on reception was so welcoming and more than happy to help with any questions we had. It was so much nicer than I expected and felt really homely. And the little village nearby was so nice, just 5 minutes walk... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks Emily for the lovely review, we really do appreciate you taking the time and trouble to write them. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay so much, we really hope you will stay with us again very soon. Giotto's steak is amazing, you have just made me want one!!! More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2015 via mobile

Stayed in room 6 which was recently renovated with a huge comfy bed and a spacious, modern bathroom. It's worth paying that bit extra to get the better rooms. The breakfast was lovely, cooked to perfection and very filling. The lounge was a peaceful area next to the bar and was well decorated. The staff were helpful and always available.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to review Woodlands, it's fantastic to know we are making our guests happy. We will look forward to welcoming you back very soon, always telephone so we can make sure you have the best possible room, and can make sure you get your loyalty discount too. More 

Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2015 via mobile

Nice hotel, breakfast good standard although the bacon & sausage under cooked on both mornings. Toast brought to table before breakfast so was cold by time breakfast arrived. Room comfortable although the pillows were of a very poor standard!

Was this review helpful? Yes
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time and trouble to review Woodlands, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay overall. We find most people quite like their toast before breakfast but are always happy to bring more, indeed if we didn't ask if you wanted more we should have done, and apologise for that. The sausages are grilled and then cooked in... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2015

We got our deal through Secret Escapes with tea and cakes on arrival. It was a lovely welcome to the start of our weekend. The staff were all friendly and had good knowledge of the local restaurants. During our stay we had an evening meal at the guest house one evening, which was beautiful. Breakfast is included and is certainly... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
sassy01, Owner at Woodlands Windermere, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the trouble to review Woodlands, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us, and particularly the food, as I cooked it ;) It's lovely to know you had a great stay. We do have some larger rooms available so always telephone direct so we can make sure you have the very room available. Grasmere Gingerbread... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

66 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (56)
Viewed
Room/suite (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay