We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Oakbank House to your Saves list
Oakbank House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
75%
Certificate of Excellence 2013
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Mary K Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    37
    25
    7
    8
See reviews for
6
102
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked this hotel for its 5* rating and the fact that it boasted a sauna, gym and swimming pool .At £110 per night we expected top of the range but we were rather disappointed. The listed facilities are not on site as we assumed, but rather 50 yds up the road. The shower was of poor performance throughout our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. May I first say I am staggered by your comments. You are aware that we spoke for ten minutes on your departure where you said what a wonderful stay you had had and that everything was fine. It appears on reflection you have drastically changed your mind. I am sorry to hear that. Your comment... More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

paid extra for superior rooms , the room size was good , comfy bed and nice and quiet ,view over the town and with lake views so good location for the town . .Only one hand towel and only one each of complimentary shampoo and shower gel. plastic drinking cups and a very slow kettle.and just adequate shower, minor tweeks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying at Oakbank House and for completing your bewildering review. When I personally spent ten minutes chatting to you on departure you advised me that you had had a lovely time and everything had been great. Having had time to reflect on this you have clearly now changed your mind. I am pleased you liked your room... More

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

A nice hotel, with lovely views of the lake from our room (room 9), but the shower never worked properly during the three nights we stayed - we mentioned this twice, but weren't offered a reduction in price at all. There's only one iron in the hotel, in a very dimly lit corridor, where you can't see what you're doing... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and providing some feedback. I am pleased you rated our cleanliness, sleep quality, breakfast and location so highly. I am sorry your shower did not work at 100% efficiency on the second and third days of your stay. You will no doubt recall I attempted to repair it but was unable to and apologised... More

Bristol
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We booked up for half term at short notice and took advantage of the "3 nights for the price of 2" offer. The view from our windows overlooking the lake were stunning (room 6). The food was top drawer for quality and quantity with a wide choice of hot meals as well as fresh fruit, juice and cereals etc. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We booked a Saturday night here at the last minute, and we were delighted with the guesthouse. Our room was beautiful,with a stunning view over the lake. The decoration was modern and inviting. The bed sheets were beautiful,smooth Egyptian cotton with lovely pillows. The bathroom was small,but immaculately clean with nice products. Tea and coffee were provided in the room,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed my stay here at oakbank house the room (no 3) was very clean and the bed was so comfy. The B&B itself was very quiet and sometimes felt like we was the only people there. However it was right by all the shops and we would recommend the Albert if you're looking for somewhere to drink with a good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in oakbank house in the october half term for 3 nights. Our room was lovely on the ground floor, lovely decor and very clean. Even though we were next to the breakfast area and main entrance we heard little noise from other customers. The view from our window overlooked the lake and we were on the doorstep of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have stayed at this hotel before, and we were planning to come back to bowness with some friends so wanted to stay here, as the location is fantastic and the views from the rooms are lovely. We managed to book in about a week in advance as it is the quiet season now, On arriving to the hotel we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great location ideal access to bowness shops and ferries; rooms comfy; good breakfast and service. can't really fault anything - parking is tight to get around the back of the guest house ensure you're reversing skills are up to scratch!

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed in a beautiful traditional room with the most amazing views across the lake. The location was perfect and only a 2 minute walk to all the shops and restaurants. The breakfast was tasty and we liked the toffees in the lounge as we always stopped to have a coffee before going o our room. The room was nice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District
Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakbank House 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an AA 5 Star accredited Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking the lake. 11 of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities near by with a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and mini-gym. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakbank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.