We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakbank House

Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Hotel amenities
Oakbank House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
melissasmummy northampton
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    52
    33
    12
    8
See reviews for
8
134
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (196)
  • Mar-May only
    (56)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
northampton
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed for three nights in May 2015. We booked a double room with Lakeview which was room 2 on the ground floor next to the dining room and lounge. We thought due to the location of our room that it would be noisy but it certainly wasn't and we had three unbroken comfortable nights sleep. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We had stayed here a couple of years ago and decided to use Oakbank again for a short stay in the Lakes. Booked up for 2 nights to relax. The room was perfect with amazing views. We enjoyed the breakfasts and the very warm welcome. We would not hesitate to book again..

Was this review helpful? Yes
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My partner and l stayed at Oakbank for one night, last minute booking. We received a warm welcome from Danny and were shown to our room which was on the first floor at the rear of the building. The room was clean and spacious, so was the ensuite bathroom. Danny is extremely knowledgeable about the area and he gave us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had a great stay at this hotel! My boyfriend proposed to me the day before in Keswick so we were already having a brilliant weekend and Oakbank was the icing on the cake. We got a room at the front of the hotel with a beautiful view stretching all the way down to the lake and beyond. The window was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The first thing we noticed was how helpful the team here were on our arrival. We were offered coffee in the lounge and then given room 11 which involved a lot of stair climbing, but was worth it. Would have loved a lift! The situation of the guest house was ideal for walking into Bowness were there are lots of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Ignore the silly reviews. ..Danny and his team looked after us as a party of 8...help when we had a restaurant booking issue and tried his best to make our stay enjoyable Will be going again Prices are reasonable with reasonable facilities and a great variety of options on the breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a lovely guest house in a great location, but I didn't feel it was five star. We had room 11, and the room itself is lovely with great views over the lake. The bathroom is however very small, and very average. I think it lacks the little touches that make somewhere five star- plastic glasses in the bathroom,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

We stayed here for one night and was a bit apprehensive with the reviews on here.However we were not disapointed apon arrival we sat in thelounge area looking out across Windermere with coffee facilities available in the lounge as we were early. The room was lovely with two big windows and views were fantastic looking out over Windermere and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

It really annoys me that people would write such rubbish reviews! 'They brought my eggs while I was eating cereal'...life must be perfect if that is a major disappointment. The manager is lovely, the breakfast is lovely, the rooms are lovely and you do get a parking space even if it's a little tight. We come here on our wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015 via mobile

If you are easily pleased and have a sense of humour like ours then I would definitely recommend room number 10 (+ bathroom number 11) During our trip away we experienced: An iPad sized tv with a remote that didn't work (binoculars needed) A not-so-ensuite-ensuite/ fire escape The same towels for our 3 night stay Plenty of low and sloping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased much of your stay was enjoyable. Although you think you are being rather witty I feel you are actually making yourself look rather foolish as I explained on the other social media forum you have posted to. I will briefly respond as before. You booked a non en-suite double room... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay