We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oakbank House

5.0 of 5
Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Hotel amenities
Oakbank House
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Emmelia1
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    48
    32
    12
    8
See reviews for
8
128
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (188)
  • Mar-May only
    (48)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (62)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (54)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (24)
All months
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It really annoys me that people would write such rubbish reviews! 'They brought my eggs while I was eating cereal'...life must be perfect if that is a major disappointment. The manager is lovely, the breakfast is lovely, the rooms are lovely and you do get a parking space even if it's a little tight. We come here on our wedding... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you are easily pleased and have a sense of humour like ours then I would definitely recommend room number 10 (+ bathroom number 11) During our trip away we experienced: An iPad sized tv with a remote that didn't work (binoculars needed) A not-so-ensuite-ensuite/ fire escape The same towels for our 3 night stay Plenty of low and sloping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us and I am pleased much of your stay was enjoyable. Although you think you are being rather witty I feel you are actually making yourself look rather foolish as I explained on the other social media forum you have posted to. I will briefly respond as before. You booked a non en-suite double room... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed in pretty much every hotel and guesthouse in the area over the last ten years or so. We checked the reviews on TripAdvisor and were a bit put off a first. We nearly did not book at all but when the new Laura Ashley hotel cancelled our booking at the last second we thought we would give... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I paid extra for a view of the lake and for a nicer room, they told me they would put me in the honeymoon room! I was really looking forward to stopping there for my birthday weekend! When I arrived I was made to feel very welcome and it was a lovely place in a good central location. We were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for staying with us six months ago and I am sorry that the external decorating work detracted from your stay. I feel it is only fair that I point out you were contacted before your booking date and advised we were decorating the outside of the building and you were offered the opportunity to cancel your booking if... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good points Central Location Very clean Comfy bed One friendly waitress Not so good points Emailed prior to arrival to ask if possibility of upgrade as we were celebrating our engagement. Hotel full so unable to ... Fair enough. BUT our room was a classic DOUBLE bedroom. Who for? If u are under 3 foot?! In the eaves, sloping ceilings..... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Dear Madam, we remember you well. I am sorry you were disappointed with your stay. I feel I must reply to some of your comments and offer a level of balance. When you booked you pointed out you were getting engaged and requested we do something special. You were offered a number of extras and advised of the prices, however... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

We have spent the last 2 nights in room 11 whic has great views of the lake . The room itself is bright & airy with a double bed and plenty of floor space. Bathroom is small but perfectly formed & suitable for what we needed it for. There is a free car park which is tight but perfectly manageable... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We are regular visitor's to Bowness this being our 9th visit in 12 months. In my opinion Oakbank House is not a 5 star guests house, compared to other 5 stars we have had the privilege to stay in. You are definitely paying for location here. Parking extremely tight, welcoming and friendly on arrival, room ok but more a 3... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 9
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were so disappointed with your stay with us. All our rooms can be viewed on our web site and I cannot accept your comment that your room, Room 6, is tatty. In fact it is one of our most frequently requested rooms. I am sorry that you did not like the way we present our poached... More 

Swinton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2015

Booked this hotel last minute for an overnight stay with friends. Great location, fantastic views, parking a little tight. We were given a room on the top floor of the hotel in the loft space. Good size, large bathroom, well equipped. Our only gripe was it was very windy and the windows continously banged through the night although this didnt... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Jeddah
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Great location and very friendly. Warm and with atmosphere. We have a lovely room even though we booked last minute. Welcome was friendly Breakfast was great Parking a little tight but that is a minor issue Great night away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Positive - Situated in a fantastic location with parking (very tight) and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was very tasty. The staff in the dining room were very friendly and helpful. The free use of the spa facilities was a positive experience and highly recommended. Negative - our bedroom was freezing with badly fitted windows. (The wind outside blew my hair... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (31)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question