We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Oakbank House to your Saves list
Oakbank House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
74%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Bristolslaver1973 Lytham
  • Overview
  • Reviews (159)
  • Photos (40)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (23)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

159 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    38
    26
    10
    8
See reviews for
7
108
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lytham
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

This was my first visit to the Lakes even though I live in Lytham, an hour away from Windermere and what an introduction to the Lakes. Oakbank House is simply amazing and the highest praise has to go to the fantastic staff who can not do enough to ensure you savour the Lakes Experience ~ the breakfast is first class... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My partner and I spent a couple of days at this hotel. It's fair to say we were very disappointed. This hotel is advertised as 5 stars but we think it would struggle to earn 3 stars. The room in General was alright however virtually no place to store your clothes. The big let down was the shower room which... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had high hopes of this hotel, the reviews and first impressions are good but beware. We specifically chose the Hotel as it had fitness facilities and felt there was a premium on the price as a result. I agree with others who highlight it as not five star, it was OK but not as good as the billing hence... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

So glad I didnt read some of these reviews before my visit! I was more than happy with my stay.perfect poached eggs! Comfy bed! Pleasant team,smiley and polite.relaxed atmosphere.no problem at all with WiFi( even so,who the hell goes away on a mini break to spend time in the room on their fones!!! We certainly didnt!) cant wait to revisit...thankyou... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I were lucky to get a lovely double room in this busy guesthouse, and it's busy for all the right reasons! Great location and our room (room number 5) had a nice view over looking the lake. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was perfect too. I can't wait till be back there again. I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at this B&B on 7th June for 3 nights and stayed in room 8. It was a very dated room - nothing like the rooms advertised on the website, with water stains high up where the wall meets the ceiling, suggestive of a leaking roof. The bathroom had a very old olive green suite, cracked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Great setting, lake view, in town but not, well decorated but I think they have been too careful with the pennies. No bedside lamps- spot lights in the ceiling tiny breakfast tiny rooms friendly staff. At around £100 BB a night for a couple- more than a mushroom in tiny pieces and a table spoon of beans wouldn't go a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Bucks, UK
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My wife and I were absolutely delighted with our 4 night stay at Oakbank House. Location was perfect, just a short walk from the lake and many excellent restaurants. Lovely large room with a big comfortable bed and views over the roof tops to the two arms of Windermere Lake. The bathroom was admittedly very small but adequate. Good choice... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Kinross
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

I have had an excellent stay. On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was extremely friendly and lovely, we were shown to our room and he informed us of everything we needed to know. The room was beautifully decorated, very modern and bright. The room was extremely clean and I couldn't find anything that wasn't cleaned to a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We booked this hotel for its 5* rating and the fact that it boasted a sauna, gym and swimming pool .At £110 per night we expected top of the range but we were rather disappointed. The listed facilities are not on site as we assumed, but rather 50 yds up the road. The shower was of poor performance throughout our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
OakbankHouse, Owner at Oakbank House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. May I first say I am staggered by your comments. You are aware that we spoke for ten minutes on your departure where you said what a wonderful stay you had had and that everything was fine. It appears on reflection you have drastically changed your mind. I am sorry to hear that. Your comment... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Oakbank House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Oakbank House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakbank House

Address: Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Oakbank House 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Oakbank House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakbank Hotel Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank Bowness On Windermere
Oakbank House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (16)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (12)

Amenities

Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are an AA 5 Star accredited Guest House in the centre of Bowness on Windermere overlooking the lake. 11 of our rooms are en-suite. All have showers and some have a bath and shower. We provide free leisure facilities near by with a swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi and mini-gym. Prices include breakfast for two. We have free on site parking with free WiFi. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
12

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer