We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Windermere Hydro Hotel

3.0 of 5
Helm Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BA, England
Hotel amenities
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Gill R Liverpool, United Kingdom
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    133
    67
    42
    42
See reviews for
52
183
4
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (392)
  • Mar-May only
    (112)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (105)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (102)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (73)
All months
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Came and visited here with my mum for 2 nights. Stayed in a lovely, albeit slightly dated, room with gorgeous views of the lake. For the discounted price we paid, I would highly recommend it as a base to stay in when visiting the lake. Location couldn't be argued with at all, perfect distance to local shops, bars and restaurants!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came here with my mother and sister for one night. We had booked two rooms, one double and one twin. Twin room was ok, clean and relatively comfortable but the double room was gloomy and old fashioned. The bathroom was also really old fashioned, compared to the other in the room just across the hall which was very nice. The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emma Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay. I am sorry that the breakfast was a disappointment and that you found the changing rooms wet. The leisure facilities and changing rooms are checked on a regular basis but when the area is busy it is difficult to keep the floor dry. A full refurbishment is currently... More 

South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The Hydro enjoys a great location in Bowness, with great views above the Lake Windermere, and close to everything. This hotel could be exceptional, but it needs a major refurb (which I believe is planned by current management). In its current state, I wouldn't go back. We had a nice stay but, the hotel is outdated, sort of stuck in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear LB6931 Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed review. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you made use of our leisure facilities. I hope you will return once our planned refurbishment is completed. Best wishes Joe Pattinson More 

Liverpool
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just stayed 2 nights at the Hydro & thought it was great for the £49 per night we paid. We paid for the breakfast on one morning and thought it was good. It is an old Hotel but is in a good location in Bowness all in all I can't complain about anything for the money paid.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jon Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will be see you at The Hydro again very soon. Best wishes Joe Pattinson More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the Hydro Hotel due to it having pool facilities and in a good walking distance to the town. Booked on the day of arriving, due to being last minute plans. Arrived and was promptly told that the pool unfortunately was not running, and would not be during our one night stay, this was not informed to us when we... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Georgina59 I apologise that the pool was not available for use during the time that you intended to stay at The Hydro. As our reception staff explained this was due to a leak, the pool was repaired and available for use again on the 3rd April. I can assure you that the member of staff you spoke to regarding... More 

St. Neots, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

from the moment we arrived very warm welcome from Natasha on reception our room excellent very clean wonderful lake view every member of staff very helpful and friendly especially Conor breakfast excellent plenty of everything to chose from compliments to chef and kitchen staff. enjoyed our stay will definitely return to the hydro in the future when we next visit... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mark A Thank you for posting such a positive review following your stay. I am delighted that you found your stay enjoyable and really hope that you will stay at The Hydro again soon. Best wishes Joe More 

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I Just came back from a lovely trip at the Lake District. The Hydro Hotel is situated in a fantastic location; only a few short minutes away from the dock and several shops and attractions. The staff were very polite and helpful and the rooms were a great size - always warm and inviting to come back... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Daniel L Thank you for posting a review regarding your stay. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, found our staff polite and helpful and that you enjoyed using the leisure facilities. I am sorry that the Wi-Fi was not working properly during your stay, I realise how frustrating it can be when the connection is... More 

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We used the hotel as a base for activities and eating out in the local area, location great, staff were nice, and we would stay again, but only when the refurbishment that is mentioned / planned has actually been completed in full..

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex M Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I agree our location is superb and our staff really do work extremely hard to ensure that all our guests enjoy their stay at The Hydro. I look forward to welcoming you back when our refurbishment programme has been completed. Best wishes Joe More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner and I have just returned from yet another wonderful holiday at the Hydro Hotel Windermere. We have been visiting the hotel since 2009 and are always given a warm welcome on arrival by the staff. The hotel is in an excellent location and has the added bonus of a large car park, swimming pool, sauna, jacuzzi, gym, games... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Veronica W Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed review of your stay, we are always delighted to welcome back previous visitors. I am pleased that we were able to make your stay so enjoyable and that you have recommended Windermere Hydro to other travellers. I look forward to welcoming you and your family back... More 

Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great location and the staff it has to be said were all without doubt lovely, the lounge bar is comfortable and welcoming but further back than that and it's all very tired and a bit shabby. Large damp patches on the stairs, bed lumpy, chilly room, ancient hot water system (took 15mins to warm up!) and the oddest and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Joe P, Hotel Manager at Windermere Hydro Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah R Thank you for taking time to post a review. Thank you for mentioning our hardworking and dedicated staff and the quality of our breakfast offering. I am sorry that the room and bathroom did not meet your expectations and will discuss the lack of hot water with our maintenance team to see if the problem can be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

79 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (79)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from room (10)
Viewed
Room/suite (18)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (27)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question