We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Linthwaite House Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Super October Midweek
Linthwaite House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Linthwaite House Hotel to your Saves list
92%
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    830
    128
    33
    19
    17
See reviews for
100
692
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1027)
  • Mar-May only
    (267)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (273)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (241)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (246)
All months
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed a 2 night stay at this hotel. Our room was small and very warm, too warm. We mentioned this to the receptionist who was most apologetic and had us moved to a larger cooler room at no additional cost with no fuss. The grounds are stunning, along with view of the lake The food was delicious, we ate... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Our family stayed at Linthwaite back in October 2013 for my Dads intimate wedding. It was an amazing experience to stay in a wonderful hotel in a beautiful scenic setting. James, the duty manager looked after us during our stay and nothing was too much trouble. The food was perfect, yummy pancakes for breakfast and the evening meals were excellent... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Fantastic! We do quite a few intimate and exclusive use weddings. We really appreciate your review, thanks very much for taking the trouble to write it. Very best wishes Mike Bevans More

Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think the title says everything here! Several weekends spent in this hotel and everything is always brilliant! Lovely views from the rooms and a nice quiet relaxed atmosphere in the bar and restaurant-this has to be one of my favourite places, thank you for the hospitality!

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

And thank you for the great review and your continued support; it's much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, best wishes Mike Bevans More

blackpool
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I been working loads this year, felt sorry for our little sports car gathering dust in the garage for good few months, Friday late afternoon, weather was great, so last minute decision to drive up to the lakes and hoping to find a nice restaurant with view. Thanks to TA and google, we found Linthwaite. Managed to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Ah sorry about the dessert, we would love to have you as our regulars! Thanks for the review. Best wishes from all of us at Linthwaite Mike Bevans More

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
8 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location and the views are fabulous. However, you will probably need a car as the village is a good 15min walk away ... but taxis are cheap (about £5.) The reason I've only rates this hotel as 'average' is value for money. We booked via Expedia and paid considerably less than the rack-rate, which seems rather excessive compared to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Ah well you only gave us three whatevers but you dod give us four out of five for the rooms service and cleanliness. We have a mixed clientele age and wealth wise. But they all seem to like a good thing and of course I'd say have impeccable taste! Come back again and try a lake view room, but best... More

Chester, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Dined here again for Lunch mid September 2014, lovely food well presented in a beautiful hotel. 3 courses still only £19.95 at that price we're almost embarrassed to go (almost).They even serve Sancerre by the glass. See pics of the food

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Ah, only £19.95 for three courses; it's practically a give away isn't it? thanks for bring ing that up; we just need lots more lunchtime guests to enjoy the food service a great value. We hope to be able to welcome you back yet again, Sincerely Mike Bevans More

Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Never having been to the Lake District before we booked the hotel at short notice, with little knowledge of what to expect. It was a very happy choice. The Linthwaite is well situated for a visit to any part of the wonderful Lake District and we had an extremely comfortable stay. The staff from the manager downwards could not have... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Fantastic. I think that says it all; to book for a few days and then book a few days more, must mean the hotel's doing something right. We hope to be able to welcome you back again one day and thank you very much for the great review, Kind regards Mike Bevans More

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited Linthwaite House Hotel recently for a few days walking in The Lakes. We knew the countryside would be fab but the hotel matched it. So what's so special about it? Well the hotel is lovely, the rooms very nice and tastefully finished but others can provide this I'm sure. Their edge is the dining experience - the food... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed the hotel service and especially dinner. It is nice to be able to enjoy the Lakes and come back and enjoy a good hotel. Regarding the comments about the interior design, we've had the old luggage for 24 years since we bought the hotel. We love it and so... More

Wigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having stayed at this hotel some time ago and been disappointed with the box like room overlooking the kitchens that we were given, although we had paid for a superior room, we decided to call in for tea and scones after a day's walking to give it another chance.Disappointment again!We could not order tea and scones, only full afternoon tea.We... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review us. It's puzzling because we do serve tea and scones without the sandwiches, cakes etc. We also serve tea and biscuits! We are very flexible. I wonder whether the hotel is mixed up with another one? Anyway, I'm sorry you had a disappointing experience and if it was us I'd be very surprised.... More

Messingham
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were greeted as soon as we arrived & offered a table either on the terrace or in the conservatory. We chose the terrace as the weather was so nice & the views quite spectacular. We had a visiting friendly Robin & a small rabbit grazing not more than 5mtrs away. We were offered all types of tea and chose... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
mikebevans, Owner at Linthwaite House Hotel, responded to this review

Well as I wrote in a review before it's great to be able to go al fresco and enjoy your Linthwaite experience on the terrace. Thanks for reviewing us and come back soon, Best wishes Mike Bevans More

Do you own or manage Linthwaite House Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Linthwaite House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linthwaite House Hotel

Address: Crook Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Linthwaite House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Linthwaite House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Linthwaite Hotel Windermere
Linthwaite House Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

312 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (286)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (97)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (50)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
View from room (22)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (8)
Viewed
Other (77)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (27)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Linthwaite House Hotel