We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 52 Bowness-on-Windermere B&Bs / inns

Monties Bed and Breakfast

Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX , England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Monties Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
56%
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
GeorgieGirl23 Leeds, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (78)
  • Photos (20)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (18)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    31
    18
    8
    9
See reviews for
12
43
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

There was no personal attention given to the B&B customers. We had booked two deluxe rooms, but got just 1 deluxe room and the other was a very very small one. The location is good and the breakfast is excellent!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have given 2 stars due to the lack of service received. There was no personal service and all focus is on the Cafe rather than the B&B. We stayed 4 nights in July and our room was never cleaned and the towels were not changed. Toiletries were not replenished either and we ran out of toilet roll. The shower... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read this review and grow incresingly frustrated that guests wait until after they have departed to use these forums to list any problems rather than allowing us the opportunity to attend to them while staying with us. We have not recieved any email from this guest, which explains why they have had no response. There... More

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

On the main Road in Bowness Village, perfect location right in the middle of all the shops and restaraunts and just a 5 2 minute stroll to the lake. Only downside to this being the road noise on a night, but we thought that the price was right for the accomodation. Rooms need some updating but they were lovely and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and yes we pride ourselves on offering clean and affordable accommodation. We started our refurbishment of rooms earlier in 2014 and will be continuing through the winter when the rooms are not so heavily reserved. More

Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We actually never got to stay here as my husband had broken his leg and was in hospital. When we tried to change the name on the booking so someone else could go in our place we got no response. I then got an almost abusive message from them when I gave them the opportunity to explain why they had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

This is the last correspondence we had with this customer - informative and certainly not abusive! As per our email of 30th July, we clearly laid out where your stood with regard to your reservation with us, as per terms & conditions. As your reservation was made through Booking.com and not ourselves, any cancellation or modification of booking needed to... More

Quezon City, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Staed here for a night. The girl who checked us in was very nice but she seemed quite busy as she was also serving the restaurant of the b&b. Room was quite hot and couldn't open the windows and no fans. Bfast was fine, nothing special. Was served by the same girl who checked us in and eventually checked as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review following your one night stay. All our staff are employed as general assistants so that the have a full working knowledge of all aspects of our Guesthouse and Cafe and can assist any guest queries. We are sorry you had difficulties with the windows in your room and had you asked for... More

Copacabana, Colombia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

My Wife and I stayed one night, the bed was clean and comfortable, tea and coffee making facilities are provided, there was a new wardrobe in the room, but no hangers, the carpet was badly stained, there was no hot water in the shower room. WiFi is advertised, and although we could log in, the signal was so weak it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and for making us aware of the problems you experienced prior to departure, all of which could have been dealt with at the time had we been made aware then. We clearly state on all our correspondence regarding the parking restrictions due to our central location. More

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Montis two nights. The room was very nicely decorated, big bed with fresh and clean bedlinen. That is the best decoration that I have never seen in any hotel/b&b. Beautiful furniture, very rustic but in good confition. But I think there are a few things that must be considered: Very nice touch the coffee... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and for your kind comments regarding Monties. We apologise if you found any aspect of our cleaning standards amiss and had you made us aware at the time, would have been more than happy to rectify this. More

Walsall, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This B&B is a pretty average one at best. We had a one night stay in the superior room - which I think only went by this name due to the size. First impressions are that the decor is nice and the room is very spacious. On closer inspection, things really weren't not practical. The desk with the tea &... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy review. However a number of the issues raised could have been dealt with had you spoken with myself or a member of staff at the time. Your reservation for our Superior Room was at a reduced rate and has always been very popular with our guests. I can only... More

Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
14 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

i booked monties last minute for my wife's birthday on New Year's Eve, we both love bowness and I was looking for something close to the centre and reasonably priced and in monties that is what we found. We managed to park the car in the free parking area around the back which was handy, but please note it is... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review. We appreciate your honesty with regard to parking, rooms and service and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again and again. More

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Me & my husband had a really nice stay here, the rooms were really clean, breakfast was lovely & the location was fantastic. We couldnt believe how cheap it was for a New Years eve, all the hotels & b&bs normally charge you double, but not Monties, it was so reasonable, we will be definitely staying again, thank you. Teresa... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us and we are delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay. We continue to strive to keep our prices competitive in an every increasing competitive market. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Monties Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Monties Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monties Bed and Breakfast

Address: Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Monties Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monties b&b
Monties Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Monties Bed And Breakfast Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Bowness-on-Windermere with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Monties Bed and Breakfast is situated in the heart of Bowness village and is less than a five minute walk from Lake Windermere and Bowness Bay with its host of water activities. Bowness is a bustling village and has a real holiday feel in the evenings; there is a wide range of places to eat from fine restaurants, gastro pubs, various international restaurants as well as the more traditional pubs serving local ales - you really will be spoilt for choice. At Monties we offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation for couples and families, together with a fantastic breakfast. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
7

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Monties Bed and Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer