We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monties Bed and Breakfast

Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX , England
Hotel amenities
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015
TIGERW00D_Z solihull
Add Photo Write a Review

84 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    12
    32
    19
    9
    12
See reviews for
13
45
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (84)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (34)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (14)
All months
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Worst room I have stayed in when at Bowness on Windermere. We were given Room 4 on the Top Floor. Horrible dingy room with marks on carpet, tatty old furniture and seats that were oddly shaped and uncomfortable to sit on. Only thing going for this place was it's location. As per other reviews photos on website make it look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Firstly, we wish to point out you reserved the last Large Double Room for your chosen dates, this was not allocated by us. We at Monties continue to have a rolling maintenance/refurbishment programme in place each year and Room 4 was redecorated in the early part of 2014 and is due to be upgraded later in 2015, obviously it proves... More 

solihull
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Last minute booking as were passing through on our way to fort William. We decided to stopover in the lakes. We chose monties for the price/location. We were not disappointed. The location is perfect and we found the accommodation to be spacious. The staff were friendly and the breakfast hit the spot after a night out. Only small downside no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an honest review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stopover with u and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. With regard to parking, due to central location, the few spaces we have are offered on a first come basis, sorry we were unable to assist... More 

Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

I would like to make potential visitors of this establishment aware of the disgraceful customer service I received today as a potential customer myself. I entered the cafe needing the loo and asked the man behind the desk if i could use the toilet to which he said yes. On leaving the toilet i was then aggressively confronted by the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

The café facilities at Monties Café are for the sole use of Monties patrons and not passers by or potential customers. Public toilets are located in nearby carparks on Rayrigg Road and Lake Road. More 

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Was expecting a lot higher standard. Pics and everything looks great on leaflets websites etc. how wrong you could be. Could sleep for noise outside as windows were garbage and also the walls are paper thin!! I'm not sure if the people in the room next door were having sex or killing each other but hey it wasn't good to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Your review does not reflect the accommodation we provide, which is clearly advertised as clean, comfortable and affordable. Our rates are in line with competitors of similar standard accommodation in the area. The noise from neighbouring businesses or rooms is clearly beyond our control and bears no reflection n the service we provide. You may wish to consider a quieter... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Last minute booking to take my daughter to Lakes for the weekend. Room tiny but clean and modern but no wardrobe, just coat hooks with hangers on wall. We only stayed until 11pm and I realised my daughter was not going to get any sleep due to the room overlooking the beer garden of the pub at the rear of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the small double you reserved with Booking.com. As you will be aware from the room size, there is not the space for a double wardrobe which is why we provide an open hanging space. Our guesthouse is centrally located in the village and we unfortunately have no control over noise from neighbouring... More 

VA, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Made last minute decision to visit the Lake District. Nice September weather made for a busy weekend. Monte's had vacancies for a deluxe room #7 which was very large, very comfortable room but fronts the main road which could be a problem for light sleepers. Very convenient for walking around town which worked well for us. Everything was as listed:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We were glad to be able to accommodate your last minute break in the lakes. Room7 is our superior double which as you say is a large and spacious room. Due to our central location in the village it is inevitable that rooms will overlook the main street and there may be some traffic noise. We are also glad to... More 

Pune, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

There was no personal attention given to the B&B customers. We had booked two deluxe rooms, but got just 1 deluxe room and the other was a very very small one. The location is good and the breakfast is excellent!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do not advertise deluxe rooms, as we do not provide this facility. Our double rooms are both large and small with en-suite facilities and the price reflects this, accommodation is offered as affordable, clean and comfortable. We are glad to read you enjoyed our breakfasts which have become quite a hit with our guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have given 2 stars due to the lack of service received. There was no personal service and all focus is on the Cafe rather than the B&B. We stayed 4 nights in July and our room was never cleaned and the towels were not changed. Toiletries were not replenished either and we ran out of toilet roll. The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read this review and grow incresingly frustrated that guests wait until after they have departed to use these forums to list any problems rather than allowing us the opportunity to attend to them while staying with us. We have not recieved any email from this guest, which explains why they have had no response. There... More 

Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

On the main Road in Bowness Village, perfect location right in the middle of all the shops and restaraunts and just a 5 2 minute stroll to the lake. Only downside to this being the road noise on a night, but we thought that the price was right for the accomodation. Rooms need some updating but they were lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind review and yes we pride ourselves on offering clean and affordable accommodation. We started our refurbishment of rooms earlier in 2014 and will be continuing through the winter when the rooms are not so heavily reserved. More 

Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We actually never got to stay here as my husband had broken his leg and was in hospital. When we tried to change the name on the booking so someone else could go in our place we got no response. I then got an almost abusive message from them when I gave them the opportunity to explain why they had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

This is the last correspondence we had with this customer - informative and certainly not abusive! As per our email of 30th July, we clearly laid out where your stood with regard to your reservation with us, as per terms & conditions. As your reservation was made through Booking.com and not ourselves, any cancellation or modification of booking needed to... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

21 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay