We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monties Bed and Breakfast

Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX , England
Hotel amenities
Monties Bed and Breakfast
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 weeks ago
Andrea B
Add Photo Write a Review

86 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    12
    34
    20
    9
    11
See reviews for
13
48
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (86)
  • Mar-May only
    (16)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (37)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (20)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (13)
All months
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I booked the superior room for two nights. The room had a lovely bay window that looked out onto the main street. The room had nice fixtures and fittings, the room was just a little tired around the edges and needed trysting up. The bed was comfortable, however the room was not serviced properly between the two... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

the guest house is on the main road with 4 parking spaces at the rear,its a bit tight with the space though, but free parking.Room was clean with own bathroom but not en suite,we had a front room.All restaurants and pubs very close,visited Shahibs indian restaurant which was opposite Monties.Very good breakfast served by polite waitress.will be visiting again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

When we got there they said that they did not have are booking even when we showed them the confirmation. They tried to but us in a room with no en suite even when we paid for it, we said no and they found us the smallest room I have ever seen but it had a very small en suite.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Worst room I have stayed in when at Bowness on Windermere. We were given Room 4 on the Top Floor. Horrible dingy room with marks on carpet, tatty old furniture and seats that were oddly shaped and uncomfortable to sit on. Only thing going for this place was it's location. As per other reviews photos on website make it look... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Firstly, we wish to point out you reserved the last Large Double Room for your chosen dates, this was not allocated by us. We at Monties continue to have a rolling maintenance/refurbishment programme in place each year and Room 4 was redecorated in the early part of 2014 and is due to be upgraded later in 2015, obviously it proves... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

solihull
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015

Last minute booking as were passing through on our way to fort William. We decided to stopover in the lakes. We chose monties for the price/location. We were not disappointed. The location is perfect and we found the accommodation to be spacious. The staff were friendly and the breakfast hit the spot after a night out. Only small downside no... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an honest review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stopover with u and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. With regard to parking, due to central location, the few spaces we have are offered on a first come basis, sorry we were unable to assist... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Was expecting a lot higher standard. Pics and everything looks great on leaflets websites etc. how wrong you could be. Could sleep for noise outside as windows were garbage and also the walls are paper thin!! I'm not sure if the people in the room next door were having sex or killing each other but hey it wasn't good to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Your review does not reflect the accommodation we provide, which is clearly advertised as clean, comfortable and affordable. Our rates are in line with competitors of similar standard accommodation in the area. The noise from neighbouring businesses or rooms is clearly beyond our control and bears no reflection n the service we provide. You may wish to consider a quieter... More 

Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2014

Last minute booking to take my daughter to Lakes for the weekend. Room tiny but clean and modern but no wardrobe, just coat hooks with hangers on wall. We only stayed until 11pm and I realised my daughter was not going to get any sleep due to the room overlooking the beer garden of the pub at the rear of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We are sorry that you were disappointed with the small double you reserved with Booking.com. As you will be aware from the room size, there is not the space for a double wardrobe which is why we provide an open hanging space. Our guesthouse is centrally located in the village and we unfortunately have no control over noise from neighbouring... More 

VA, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014 via mobile

Made last minute decision to visit the Lake District. Nice September weather made for a busy weekend. Monte's had vacancies for a deluxe room #7 which was very large, very comfortable room but fronts the main road which could be a problem for light sleepers. Very convenient for walking around town which worked well for us. Everything was as listed:... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We were glad to be able to accommodate your last minute break in the lakes. Room7 is our superior double which as you say is a large and spacious room. Due to our central location in the village it is inevitable that rooms will overlook the main street and there may be some traffic noise. We are also glad to... More 

Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

There was no personal attention given to the B&B customers. We had booked two deluxe rooms, but got just 1 deluxe room and the other was a very very small one. The location is good and the breakfast is excellent!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We do not advertise deluxe rooms, as we do not provide this facility. Our double rooms are both large and small with en-suite facilities and the price reflects this, accommodation is offered as affordable, clean and comfortable. We are glad to read you enjoyed our breakfasts which have become quite a hit with our guests... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I have given 2 stars due to the lack of service received. There was no personal service and all focus is on the Cafe rather than the B&B. We stayed 4 nights in July and our room was never cleaned and the towels were not changed. Toiletries were not replenished either and we ran out of toilet roll. The shower... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
Lakestay, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

We were very disappointed to read this review and grow incresingly frustrated that guests wait until after they have departed to use these forums to list any problems rather than allowing us the opportunity to attend to them while staying with us. We have not recieved any email from this guest, which explains why they have had no response. There... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

27 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 1,692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#7 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laurel Cottage B&B
Laurel Cottage B&B
#31 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ruskin's
Ruskin's
#52 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Langdale View Guest House
Langdale View Guest House
#1 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 378 reviews
0.2 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#41 of 54 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay