We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Monties Bed and Breakfast

Crag Brow, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3BX , England
Hotel amenities
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Monties Bed and Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2015 via mobile

I read the reviews here before booking and even considered some quite negative reviews. However, we opted for it for our Dad's 70th and took up 4 of the rooms. To be fair, some of the reviews are harsh and no pleasing some. This is value for money and a good place that suited our needs at a reasonable price.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry D
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such an honest and refreshing review. I will of course be sure to pass on your kind comments to our Monties team. We are delighted that our "new look" café was such a hit with you and your family as we put a lot of thought into the feel we... More 

Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights in July 2015. The room was fairly modern but there were quite a few knocks and tears on the wallpaper and furniture. It suited us as a young couple there for a short walking break but would have preferred a bigger bed and bigger bathroom. Location and breakfast were good.

Helpful?
Thank Jade E
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us and thank you for the feedback. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again. More 

Billinge
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2015 via mobile

Ok. So we stayed in room 6 (top floor) tiny room with a tiny bathroom! The carpet was disgusting and in need of a good clean. There is nowhere to hang your clothes and the bed was way too small for two ppl! The pub directly across from this room (the old Albert) stays open until 1:30 am at the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Dee D
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review. We are sorry you were disappointed with your room and can only apologise for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. Thank you for bringing them to our attention. However, as you can appreciate, we have no control over neighbouring businesses and their opening hours. More 

Travelers are raving about these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2015 via mobile

My self and my boyfriend visited for his birthday, room was ok but could have done with a sink and a larger double bed for a family room, Iam 5ft3 my boyfriend is 6ft2 was ok for me but not for him. No health and safety guide lines in the bedroom, who do we contact if there is an emergency?... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emily W
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we were sorry to read that you were disappointed in the room you chose to reserve. We do however, clearly advertise this room as having a private separate bathroom and there is a window with blind that can be opened in there. It is our only room that is not ensuite and is popular... More 

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night between 16-17th August 2015. The B&B is located in the centre of Bowness on the Main Street. The B&B is located above the Monties Cafe and this is where you get brekky the following day. The location is excellent and once inside you don't hear the traffic or busy flocks of tourists . The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank hobbit79
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. as previously mentioned in other reviews, we do clearly state on all advertising and confirmations that due to our central location, parking is limited and offered on a first come basis. As far as knowledge on where to park locally, the staff were correct in directing you to the pay... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2015

My husband and I booked the superior room for two nights. The room had a lovely bay window that looked out onto the main street. The room had nice fixtures and fittings, the room was just a little tired around the edges and needed trysting up. The bed was comfortable, however the room was not serviced properly between the two... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We do always aim to keep on top of decoration/maintenance issues in our rooms but this does prove near impossible in busy periods. Our café downstairs has received a new look this year! More 

Whitehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2015

the guest house is on the main road with 4 parking spaces at the rear,its a bit tight with the space though, but free parking.Room was clean with own bathroom but not en suite,we had a front room.All restaurants and pubs very close,visited Shahibs indian restaurant which was opposite Monties.Very good breakfast served by polite waitress.will be visiting again.

Helpful?
2 Thank 93Kathea
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Yes, you are correct in that we offer clean, affordable accommodation in the centre of Bowness village. We hope to welcome you back again. More 

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

When we got there they said that they did not have are booking even when we showed them the confirmation. They tried to but us in a room with no en suite even when we paid for it, we said no and they found us the smallest room I have ever seen but it had a very small en suite.... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank elwood2015
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

As we had no record of your reservation with us, we felt it only fair to offer you what rooms were left available. The room you chose had actually been refurbished at end of 2014. We do not offer a facility to reserve parking as we clearly state on all advertising and confirmations that parking is offered on a first... More 

Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2015

Worst room I have stayed in when at Bowness on Windermere. We were given Room 4 on the Top Floor. Horrible dingy room with marks on carpet, tatty old furniture and seats that were oddly shaped and uncomfortable to sit on. Only thing going for this place was it's location. As per other reviews photos on website make it look... More 

Helpful?
8 Thank Linda M
Deborah C, Owner at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Firstly, we wish to point out you reserved the last Large Double Room for your chosen dates, this was not allocated by us. We at Monties continue to have a rolling maintenance/refurbishment programme in place each year and Room 4 was redecorated in the early part of 2014 and is due to be upgraded later in 2015, obviously it proves... More 

solihull
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2015 via mobile

Last minute booking as were passing through on our way to fort William. We decided to stopover in the lakes. We chose monties for the price/location. We were not disappointed. The location is perfect and we found the accommodation to be spacious. The staff were friendly and the breakfast hit the spot after a night out. Only small downside no... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank TIGERW00D_Z
Deborah C, Manager at Monties Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such an honest review. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stopover with u and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again. With regard to parking, due to central location, the few spaces we have are offered on a first come basis, sorry we were unable to assist... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

33 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#12 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3.5 of 5 stars 555 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 2,080 reviews
0.2 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 stars 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 460 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#36 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 stars 403 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 stars 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay