We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Riviera Hotel

Bowleaze Cove, Weymouth DT3 6PR, England
Hotel amenities
Riviera Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #16 of 21 Hotels in Weymouth
A recent review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013
Viv11_11 Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    148
    131
    83
    130
See reviews for
81
290
15
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (573)
  • Mar-May only
    (143)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (215)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (139)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (76)
All months
There are newer reviews for Riviera Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Oosterhout, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We arrived in horrible weather and parked the car for a few minutes next to reception to prevent our luggage to be soaked. That was fine..but just! We were told we had a room at first floor and we could not get there from inside the hotel! That is kinda weird I thought but then we were told to use... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your review of your visit to the Riviera Hotel in September of last year. I was shocked to read the way you were treated upon your arrival, I know we cannot help the weather and I hope future guests read your review and take your advice of dropping off passengers and luggage before parking their... More 

worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here with my partner for a few nights during the summer. The hotel is situated high on a cliff just outside the main town. The staff were very polite and friendly whuch created a great atmosphere throughout the hotel. The rooms in fact the whole hotel was spotless. Hada great stay at thus beautiful hotel...hope to return in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear reviewer, Thank you for your kind comments, especially for remembering the time you spent at the Riviera Hotel during last summer. I for one, am looking forward to my first summer at the hotel and to welcoming all our guests and Weddings to this beautiful part of the country. We seem to be in a different climate all together... More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Stayed 7/1/2013. Staff were very welcoming, room good, spacious and clean. Location is very good, not to far from Weymouth and very peaceful. Restaurant is good, dinner and breakfast very nice. Breakfast is served from 7am, so it is handy if you want to go out. Well recommended and will return in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Riviera Hotel, your positive review is welcomed by the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Tony Wilson, General Manager More 

Hayes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just arrived home after staying for new year celebrations , as normal staff were excellent, even though new management team have taken over since last visit in september. stayed in same room both times and both stays have been very enjoyable. room very clean , breakfast excellent The only problem that I had was that the main menu was not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Karen, Thank you for your review and comments for your recent stay with us. We have started our new evening menu and have recieved excellant reports and Chef and his team are to be congratulated. Using only the downstairs restaurant and placing tables in reception area have proved a success also, so guests can enjoy both the view and... More 

lancashire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

when i stayed at the hotel , my room( single )was very nice /clean, i eat in the carvery and that too was very nice and good value .however, i was disapointed that all the art deco has been ripped out shame its such a good looking artdeco building. i was there for an early morning meeting in weymouth and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I can only apologise for the way you were treated when you stayed with us last year. I was shocked to read your review and hope that now we have in place a first class reception team that can deliver the service both required and expected. Having started late last year at this iconic building, I feel the... More 

swindon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We recently stayed in the Riveria hotel we were aware that this used to be a Pontins holiday resort at one time. On the outside it looks dated but this is due to it being a listed property. Inside there has recently been a refurb and I must say the reception and the rooms were nicely decorated. Unfortunately there appears... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, as you pointed out because of the listed building status, the refurbishment has not been able to be as thorough as we would have liked. The Front Door and the windows were not allowed to be upgraded in any way, the rooms to the rear of the hotel were not allowed to be joined by... More 

Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night as a birthday treat . Fabulous place to stay , dramatic location , lovely staff and facilities . We didn't want to go home. There is nowhere else in England I would rather stay. We will be back as many times as possible for the rest of our lives. I know this sounds over the top... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

The team at the Riviera would like to thank you for your kind and positive comments in respect of your recent stay with us. As we only opened officially in Aprl 2012 it really boosts staff morale to have such a wonderful review in such a short space of time. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Riviera... More 

weymouth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

The Hotel has had a lovely refit and has only been open for a few months, Although the rooms are not that large they are more than sutiable. The swimming pool and lesure facilities are very nice. The down side for me was the staffing issue, or lack of! The staff moral is very low and I spoke to a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vampire, Please contact me with the dates you actually stayed at the hotel. I think some" bad blood" has been taken and that you never stayed with us. Tony Wilson More 

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I stayed on business for 4 nights, this hotel is in a stunning location on the coast, fab service from reception, clean modern rooms & bathroom, comfortable bed with plenty of pillows, fridge , tea coffee facility's, and a safe, indoor and outdoor pool, & fitness room, all at a price of £51 per night, I really don't understand why... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, as you have said we are in a prime location close to the main road links in and out of the area, completely refurbished to a high standard and with a young and enthusiastic team now in place - with our free wi-fi, leisure facilities and the launch of a new menu underway -... More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

brilliant position for hotel, our room had a fine view of the sea. wrong room given to us when we checked in staff couldnt have been more helpfull. Room was clean and a good size no shower gel in bathroom. Good choice at breakfast....

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Tony196052, General Manager at Riviera Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and positive review in respect of your recent stay at the Riviera Hotel. Having recently been appointed as General Manager in November 2012 and with the new Owners enthusiasm and passion for ensuring that the Riviera Hotel is one of best in the area, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Further... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

153 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (127)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (7)
Viewed
Room/suite (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (47)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Other (23)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (26)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (8)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question