We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Russell Hotel

135 - 138 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NG , England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Russell Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    92
    77
    31
    26
See reviews for
36
121
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (271)
  • Mar-May only
    (62)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (86)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (66)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (57)
All months
Porthmadog
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I can't begin to say how bad this hotel is. Simply unless you are on a coach holiday and over 70 and don't mind putting up with 1970/1980's fixtures and fittings and entertainment. I booked in there for 4 nights but left after the second, the rattling windows and seagulls ensure you can't sleep. When I complained to reception they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
swindon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a lovely 4 day break at this hotel. All the staff are extremely friendly, from the Manager who welcomed us on arrival to the lovely lady who kept our room spotlessly clean. Our room on the top floor was bright and adequate with comfortable beds and well stocked hospitality tray. Food was good with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hertfordshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Bit old fashioned rooms ok but nothing special beds not comfy bit like an old boarding house. Needs updating with flexible meal times and more varied menu. Location brilliant but no swimming pool or leisure facilities !!!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback, but we are sorry to hear that you were not happy with your findings. We offer great value for money holidays, many of our beds have brand new mattresses, so we welcome guests to advise us if they are not comfortable, we can then look to replace the mattress with one hold in stock for... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

lovely friendly atmosphere which led to relaxing break.meals were well presented and more than adequate for most people.we especially liked the choice of breakfast although there did seem to be a shortage of bowls and glasses.waiter was helpful and friendly

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, we look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a good position on the sea front with bus stops close by though it is a short walk to the center and no distance at all to the station parking is at a premium in this area and limited at the hotel where you will be asked to leave your keys the rooms are clean and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry though - we would never want any of our guests to feel that their food is not piping hot or serviced in a leaisurely enjoyable fashion, we apologise if this was as it appears and therefore we will continue to review the resturant arrangements. Guests often ask, at the time of booking... More 

Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Self-Drive to spend Monday to Friday at the hotel. Although we were a couple, we stayed in a family sized room, 332, that had plenty of space and was clean, tidy and appeared to have been partly refurbished, There was a clean bath but no shower in the bathroom - probably due to room being on the top floor and... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write this full review, I am sure that this will be a great help to make of our future visitors. We are always improving the service and facility but at the same time we must be mindful that we need to continue to keep the prices down as we are all about great... More 

Weston-super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

not customer friendly, left my phone charger in room, after emailing on numerous occasions, finally got a negative phone call to say it wasn't there after 6 weeks of asking. the food was awful school dinner type.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment - but we are sorry to hear of this issue, we are usually able to quickly return items that have been left behind, I apologise if there was a miscommunication on this matter and do hope that you have been able to quickly source a replacement. Often items reappear at a later date, so do... More 

Travelers are raving about these Weymouth hotels

Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have stayed in Daish hotels many times, never had cause to complain. Always find the staff very pleasant and friendly. The Russell is situated on the sea front short walk to shops, bus and railway stations. Plenty of places to visit round and about. The evening entertainment was excellent singers, instrumentalists. music for dancing,bingo if you wanted to join... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comment, we are so pleased that you are throughly enjoying your holidays with us, and long may that continue! We very much look forward to welcoming you back. More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I have just returned from the Russell Hotel in Weymouth. I'm so glad the comments from other travellers did not put me off. The room (with sea view ) was excellent. The water pressure was also excellent. The food and quantity were brilliant. I found the entertainment to be very good. It was very relaxing to hear the sea lapping... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your positive comment, we are so pleased to hear that all elements of the holiday were throughly enjoyed, the team will be delighted with your comments, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back. More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed at the Russell on a 5 day break with Daish's last week and I can only speak well of the place. The room was a good size with a massive bed and was serviced every day. The meals were varied choice good food and plenty of it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Julie B, General Manager at Russell Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we are so pleased to hear that you felt the holiday was great value for money and we look forward to welcoming you back. With the improvements we have planned we are positive that you will enjoy it even more next time! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (5)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Weymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Rembrandt
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth Seafront
1.2 mi away
Premier Inn Weymouth
Premier Inn Weymouth
#3 of 22 in Weymouth
4.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rex
Hotel Rex
#7 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
3.4 mi away
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
Moonfleet Manor Hotel
#6 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 402 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crown Hotel
Crown Hotel
#9 of 22 in Weymouth
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities