We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Weymouth hotels

Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Save Saved
You added Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel to your Saves list
90 - 91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
BREAKS FROM JUST £129
  • Overview
  • Reviews (216)
  • Photos (98)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (106)
  • Location
  • More
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Weymouth
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

216 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    69
    55
    25
    17
See reviews for
32
106
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

After a beautiful wedding in St John's church we walked to the Royal for the reception in the downstairs function room. The room looked beautiful, layed out in the lovely colours chosen for the wedding, the waiting staff (not the bar men) were very good but Oh the prices in the little bar were completely inconsistent and ridiculously high, depending... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Kidderminster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Went on this holiday with great expectations. All went well until we reached our room (401). The mattress on the bed so bad you could feel the springs. When we complained a blanket was placed over the mattress.. Could not shower due to there being a lack or water pressure, the same problem with the sink taps that it took... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Vincent T. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay here with us. I am very disappointed to hear that your stay fell short of our usual high standards. Unfortunately due to the Hotel being at full capacity for the Carnival we could not move you into a room that you may have felt more comfortable in.... More

Easingwold, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a good week, a very good view of the sea front. The room was nice. Food was okay can do with a bit more salad with 1st course. Services not to bad had to wait 15 minutes to order meal one night nice friendly staff excellent drivers Geoff and Steve not much entertainment on a night.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi backy113. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your week with us and enjoyed your lovely view of the beach and surrounding area. I have passed your comments onto the Staff and Steve and Geoff. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return. More

Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After reading previous reviews on the royal hotel weymouth, we decided to book the hotel for our yearly holiday. On arrival there was no welcome, when we eventually entered our room it was like walking into a sauna, the window only opened 3 inches and there were no fans available till the next day. The food was good but not... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David S, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to hear that your recent stay did not meet all your expectations. However I would like to comment that our windows are restricted to ensure guest safety as the building is very tall and some windows are very large. We did... More

Blackwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went on a self drive weekend stay ay the Bay Royal Hotel. Very nice hotel, rooms clean, bed comfortable. We had half board and the food was very good for what we paid for the weekend. Waitress service and a good choice of meals. Had a sea facing room lovely view can be a bit noisy but you are right... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at The Royal Hotel. We are always pleased to hear such positive comments I shall pass these on to the rest of the team. We do hope to see you again in the near future. More

Den Bosch, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Admittedly we were not guests at the hotel, but given there wasn't a decent restaurant in sight on the front in Weymouth this seemed like a good place to eat. The food was frankly below average...the chicken caesar salad was greenish white as all it contained was shredded iceberg lettuce & chicken slices & piles of dressing, the ploughman's...shameful. No... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our bar menu, with regards to some of your comments our chicken Caesar salad consists of shredded iceberg lettuce, sliced chicken breast, crispy bacon strips, croutons, Caesar dressing and parmesan cheese. Our Ploughman's Lunch is a... More

essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We have recently had a marvellous holiday at The Bay Royal hotel! We have stayed at a number of Shearing hotels and this is one of the best!! The location is superb, just cross the road and you are straight onto the beautiful, sandy beach. My mum's room was a slightly more old-fashioned decor but extremely comfortable and clean. She... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi smaceno3. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Our number one priority is ensuring that our guests have the best holiday possible. So I am thrilled that this has been achieved. I have passed your lovely comments onto the Staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the... More

Cheam, Surrey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The perfect location, right on the seafront and if you're lucky you can park right outside, the staff will give you a notice to pop on the windshield to park free. A nice, large hotel with some nice modern décor added which mixes old and new. Fairly average dinner - 3 courses - but the dining room overlooks the sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andrea B. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay us and for your lovely comments. I completely agree that we are in a perfect location. We are lucky enough to be right on the seafront and yet near to the transport links and town centre. I'm thrilled that enjoyed your stay with us and I look... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife in April and it did not disappoint, we had a great sized seafront room with a quaint balcony providing a stunning view over the esplanade and bay. The room was quiet and very clean, with a really comfortable bed allowing us to have great night sleep, en-suite bathroom was clean and bright.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aaron H. Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us and for your comments. I'm thrilled that you like so many of our guests found the location to be perfectly situated. We are lucky enough to be on the seafront and yet close to so many transport links and the town centre. Our Staff are... More

London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in May. Started off in a tiny single room with a very small on suite. Clean and tidy but bed was very narrow and uncomfortable. Upgraded for a very reasonable fee to ensuite double room that was very very good other than the balcony doors which had a half inch gap from top to bottom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Monument. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. I'm pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and tidy. I have taken your other comments on board and look forward to welcoming you back should you return. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90 - 91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Weymouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer