We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Weymouth hotels

Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

90 - 91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CLICK FOR GREAT DEALS
  • Overview
  • Reviews (210)
  • Photos (98)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (103)
  • Location
  • More
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Weymouth
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Weymouth
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

210 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    50
    67
    53
    23
    17
See reviews for
30
105
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have recently had a marvellous holiday at The Bay Royal hotel! We have stayed at a number of Shearing hotels and this is one of the best!! The location is superb, just cross the road and you are straight onto the beautiful, sandy beach. My mum's room was a slightly more old-fashioned decor but extremely comfortable and clean. She... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi smaceno3. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Our number one priority is ensuring that our guests have the best holiday possible. So I am thrilled that this has been achieved. I have passed your lovely comments onto the Staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the... More

Cheam, Surrey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The perfect location, right on the seafront and if you're lucky you can park right outside, the staff will give you a notice to pop on the windshield to park free. A nice, large hotel with some nice modern décor added which mixes old and new. Fairly average dinner - 3 courses - but the dining room overlooks the sea... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Andrea B. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay us and for your lovely comments. I completely agree that we are in a perfect location. We are lucky enough to be right on the seafront and yet near to the transport links and town centre. I'm thrilled that enjoyed your stay with us and I look... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for a weekend with my wife in April and it did not disappoint, we had a great sized seafront room with a quaint balcony providing a stunning view over the esplanade and bay. The room was quiet and very clean, with a really comfortable bed allowing us to have great night sleep, en-suite bathroom was clean and bright.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Aaron H. Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us and for your comments. I'm thrilled that you like so many of our guests found the location to be perfectly situated. We are lucky enough to be on the seafront and yet close to so many transport links and the town centre. Our Staff are... More

London
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a weekend in May. Started off in a tiny single room with a very small on suite. Clean and tidy but bed was very narrow and uncomfortable. Upgraded for a very reasonable fee to ensuite double room that was very very good other than the balcony doors which had a half inch gap from top to bottom and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Monument. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your comments. I'm pleased that you found the rooms to be clean and tidy. I have taken your other comments on board and look forward to welcoming you back should you return. More

Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

As you drive along the sea front, you eye is immediately caught by the impressive Royal. Built in 1897, with the foundation brick laid by Queen Victoria. It took two years to build,opening in 1899. George 111 visited it. During the war Glen Miller is said to entertain troops here. It's a splendid example of Victorian architecture. On entering the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Brett N. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay here with us and for your comments. I'm thrilled that you like so many of our guests enjoyed the view and convenient location. I can only sincerely apologise about your experience in the restaurant. All of our staff are extremely friendly and helpful, so I am shocked to... More

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Our five day break for three couples including relations from Texas starting the 19th May was all that we had hoped for. Our rooms all had good views over the bay, were very comfortable and were serviced to a very high standard. The food quality was excellent throughout our stay with a good selection of choices on a daily basis.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

hI john h. Thank you for taking the tie to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. Im thrilled that enjoyed you enjoyed your holiday with us. I have passed your comments onto all the stay Carly and Cintia included. I look forward to welcoming you back when you do decide to return. More

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We booked a five day stay on 19th May with Shearings whose associate company is BAY HOTELS including the Bay Royal and on booking I asked for a Sea View room.That is what I got.The view from our room on the third floor was magnificent all across the bay,beach and across the the harbour. The hotel is rather dated as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Richard C, I would like to start by thanking you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am most pleased with your comments about my staff and I shall pass on your comments to them. With regards to your comments about the hotel being dated, all public areas had been refurbished... More

Peterstow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

We booked a holiday through Shearings Coach from Croydon and stayed at The Royal from Monday 12th to Friday 16th May. Our experience was not a good one. We had a twin room which was ok except for the fact that the windows wouldn't open and the television wouldn't work. We reported the problem with the TV on the first... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dustierose, Thank you for taking the time to post a review regarding your recent stay with us. I will agree that we did have an issue with the TV aerial during your stay however this was rectified as an engineer was called out the next day and fixed the issue as soon as possible. The windows in your bedroom... More

Lancashire England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

The Royal is in a great position on the promenade in Weymouth very close to the ferry and the town.The general atmosphere of the hotel is good but there are a few problems. The single rooms compared with some hotels are not a bad size but could not hold a double bed ,so why a single supplement? The windows were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
RoyalManager, General Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paris027, Thank you for your review, I am sorry to hear that your recent stay with us didn't meet all your expectations. I would like to address a couple of issues raised in your review. Firstly single supplements are charged due to service costs being no different for single rooms or double/twin rooms although the revenue generated is considerably... More

Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

What a lovely hotel got a last minute booking and had a premier room it was very nice we arrived from Yorkshire at 9pm the staff saved us a huge salad which was so kind and very appreciated after 6 hours on the road all the staff were very nice always smiling and willing to help we only went because... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
RoyalManager, Manager at Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Theresa p. Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and for your lovely comments. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here with us. The staff do work hard to ensure that guests fully enjoy their stay, so I'm pleased that this was achieved. I look forward to welcoming you back should you return. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel

Address: 90 - 91 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7AX, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Weymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Royal Hotel Weymouth
Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel Dorset

98 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (85)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (27)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
View from room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (1)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal is an impressive building of intricate architecture built in the ‘Free Renaissance’ style and boasting fantastic views over the beach and bay. Only a short stroll to the shops, seaside attractions and the famously beautiful harbour and marina, the location could not be better for exploring all that Weymouth has to offer. Despite its imposing structure, the Royal is enjoyed for its warm and friendly atmosphere. The hotel benefits from a games room and comfortable lounges in which to enjoy the entertainment. During the day you also have the option to relax in the public bar whilst you admire the views overlooking the bay. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
21

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer

    Bookmark for later
    Save Saved
    You added Bay Royal Weymouth Hotel to your Saves list