We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Esplanade

Certificate of Excellence
141 The Esplanade, Weymouth DT4 7NJ, England
Hotel amenities
The Esplanade
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #62 of 167 Weymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014
RichardHav Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
67
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (145)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (64)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (41)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Very disappointed supposedly a four star hotel, maybe for the breakfasts but definitely not for the room. Shabby and grubby , bathrobe had not been changed from previous occupant, stale make-up on collar. Light fittings covered in dust and cobwebs we did stay on Halloween but we did not expect such authenticity. Breakfast the next day we found we had... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bonjournobob, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review and I am sorry that you did not appear to enjoy your time at The Esplanade as much as many of our other guests. I am also somewhat disappointed by some of your comments. We endeavour to do the simple things well and although we are not perfect, we... More 

Trowbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

I stayed two nights at The Esplanade and found it very comfortable and restful. Rob and his staff were great hosts. The room was small but there was sufficient space and the bathroom obviously refurbished recently. The shower was lovely, but as a small point, a ledge for shampoo/shower gel in the cubicle would have been useful. Breakfast was massive... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bonjournobob, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave me a review; it is much appreciated. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Esplanade and your kind comments with regard to our award winning breakfast are well received. I have also taken on board your comment with regard to signage and I have adjusted the lights... More 

Romsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2014

What an astonishing mixture of the excellent... and the truly terrible! To begin with the good points. Our welcome on arrival was both charming and efficient: the facilities, keys etc. were clearly explained and we were swiftly shown to our room. We slept well that evening. Breakfast next morning proved first class with a surprising range of choices on offer... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bonjournobob, Owner at The Esplanade, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave me a review, I know how much time and effort they take. However without which we would not be able to progress, improve and generally make things better. I am genuinely sorry that your stay at The Esplanade was not as enjoyable as I would have hoped for you, however I wish... More 

2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

We stayed at the esplanade for one night midweek during the October half term. We were welcomed by Rob who is an absolute gent and was informative and laid back. The room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was ultra modern. Beds were big and comfy. Decor in room was a little dated and some of the fixtures were... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Hervey Bay, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014

Hey this was a great place to stay overlooking the Ocean right in the heart of everthing, Management were friendly and I loved the way the information in the B&B gave you the history of the place. Clean comfortable and would have loved to have stayed longer we will definately go back there to stay. Cheers to Rob and team

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
bedfordshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2014

Our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast, we had a lovely time and would certainly stay again, rooms clean and comfortable, with a plentyful breakfast, served by a very polite waitress, we would highly recommend it. Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Sandiacre, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2014

Very happy with our stay at this B&B Rob and his team were very helpful, it was a nice relaxing stay, the first time for a very long time that I have parked up on arrival and not moved the car during our stay. We had a brilliant sea view room which made up for the fact my wife was... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
bury st edmunds suffolk uk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2014

We stayed at this B&B for 4 nights as competed in the Challenge Weymouth triathlon. As we walked up the steps to the front door I noticed it was nicely presented with potted shrubs either side of the top step. We then had to ring the doorbell and wait but it's not a bad thing as once presented with a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

Had a great stay at The Esplanade. Beautiful sea view. Great, freshly cooked breakfast. Host Rob couldn't do enough to see that our stay was spot on. Ask for a low level room, if you don't like too many stairs! Look forward to going back there.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2014

My family and I stayed here over the weekend of the Challenge Weymouth Triathlon series. Rob and his team were so helpful and friendly. He organised a microwave and a fridge for me to be set up for my pre race early morning breakfast (3.00am) Also they added an extra mattress in my room for a late addition to our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

62 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (12)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (50)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question