We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Aboyne hotels

Huntly Arms

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlestown Road, Aboyne AB34 5HS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Huntly Arms to your Saves list
Huntly Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
31%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Aboyne
  • Overview
  • Reviews (269)
  • Photos (73)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (57)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

269 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    48
    58
    57
    76
See reviews for
32
99
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

So we arrive having looked on website n thinking it would be ok, booked in and went to our room (206), a rubbish portable TV with one channel!! After a few games of pool in tavern bar we retired to bed. Day 2 we came back from work and went to the Chinese in deeside, upon getting back decided on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here for our friend's wedding and I am thankful that their wonderful day and the time we had distracted us. I would be severely upset if I'd booked a holiday here. The hotel is extremely tired and repair works to various things have been done badly. The skylight outside our room had no Windows and was covered in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunkeld, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed one night.on arrival waited twenty minutes in reception whilst the receptionist was on the phone.Evening meal was diabolical-frozen fish reheated chips.Breakfast consisted of one egg one rasher of bacon and a sausage.All this for £75. Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

dear guest thank you for your feedback however i am a little supprised at your comments regarding breakfast the full menu consists of sausgae,bacon,eggs,(3 types)potato scones,beans,tomato,haggis,black pudding and as the order is taken at the table if you required more than 1 sausage we are happy to oblige I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated... More

Stafford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here 6 years ago and it was lovely. Sorry to say that our return visit was awful. The food was disgusting. Seasonal veg turned out to be frozen mixed veg floating in water. My beef and mushroom pudding had no beef in it and I couldn't get my knife through the pastry. My husband"s pork was cold and stringy.... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for 1 night on a groupon deal DBB with a bottle of wine for £49 with my wife. We do regular weekend breaks so are very used to varying standards. May I first comment on the staff, my complements to the management as their professionalism was excellent. The hotel is listed as a two star and this is reflected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated but I can assure you that there is a... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Glad I got an itson deal as only paid £49. Hotel is so outdated. One of the worst I have stayed in. Food at night was very poor. Frozen fish from packet!!! Frozen veg!! Nothing was fresh. Service was generally poor also. At breakfast two members if staff stood in the room doing nothing and I had to get my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, however i suspect you have already posted a comment on this site and have taken to opportunity to post another negative comment via your mobile phone. if yu feel my comment is unjust, i would like the opportunioty to speak to your personally if you woul;d like to contact me at the hotel, i will... More

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Visited here in July 2014 and being honest the hotel is well past it's best the decor inside the rooms are in dire need of redecorating as the hotel is now getting to a run down stage. The way the hotel is so run down is a shame as The Huntley Arms has the potential to be a cracking hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated but I can assure you that there... More

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night using the itison voucher for £49 which included dinner, bed and breakfast. Like most of the other reviewers here, we too did not have an enjoyable experience. So first the good; lovely location in the small village of Abyone. The history of the place is very interesting and there was ample free... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you had an uncomfortable nights sleep but I can assure you that there is a continual maintenance... More

Alloa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is an old place. Each step on stairs from reception is threadbare. Windows are in a terrible ugly state and need immediate attention. Our room was small -it was a single room with a double bed in it-only 15 or 16 inches either side of the bed. The staff were very helpful. Standard of food for our evening meal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you had an uncomfortable nights sleep but I can assure you that there is a continual maintenance... More

Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Went on deal which seemed good for £49. We would have been better in a caravan. Room 114 was rubbish . Double bed was single plus two inches. Found out receptionist was on our floor. Were we in staff quarters? Deal paid should be half of full value Not half value. Are there better rooms? We feel like we were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly arms hotel. I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated and below the standard you expected and I can assure you there is a continual maintenance plan in place at the hotel for the refurbishment of the rooms. although... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Huntly Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Huntly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntly Arms

Address: Charlestown Road, Aboyne AB34 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntly Arms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Huntly Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Arms Aboyne, Scotland
Huntly Arms Hotel Aboyne

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aboyne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Probably the oldest coaching inn to be found in Scotland, the Huntly Arms Hotel was first built in 1432 and has played host to Jacobite leaders and even later, Queen Victoria. Located in the heart of Royal Deeside the hotel has retained much of its traditional charm and character and is just the thing for a relaxing and memorable Scottish break. Leisure seekers will enjoy the local area as many golf courses are within a 50-mile drive of the hotel, with country pursuits, gliding, water-skiing and cycling all available nearby. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huntly Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer