We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 1 Aboyne hotels

Huntly Arms

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Charlestown Road, Aboyne AB34 5HS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Huntly Arms to your Saves list
Huntly Arms
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
31%
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Aboyne
  • Overview
  • Reviews (273)
  • Photos (73)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (58)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    50
    59
    57
    77
See reviews for
32
102
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (273)
  • Mar-May only
    (71)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (73)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (31)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for one night , the hotel its old but clean . The receptionist why checked us in was friendly like all staff . The bar and restaurant was clean .Food was good , we relaxing in lounge bar.We back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

we went here for our 1st anniversary just looking for somewhere clean and tidy as we were planning on going walking and relaxing for a couple of days. This hotel has ruined our anniversary! it was smelly. in great need of updating (worn out carpets, paper coming off walls, dampmness). The light in our room did not work. only 2... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Up Top
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A basic hotel, well placed right in the heart of Aboyne. There’s a bar downstairs which serves standard pub fare and all in all it’s an ok place to stay if you’re on a budget. My room had a duff remote control which I notified reception about right away. Although it was never fixed or replaced, I did get money... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as we do try to accommodate all of our guests requirements at all times. i am sorry you had problems with your TV remote, we are in the process of renewing all... More

County Donegal, Ireland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

arrived tonight with coach tour edinburgh tomorrow the hotel is steeped in history fantastic stained glass window in bar just finished our dinner very nice the bedrooms are a old but comfortable and we have a beautiful view of the gardens i must give mention to the staff from the moment we arrived they have worked hard to make our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your review and your kind comment, I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the surrounding areas I hope you had a safe Journey home i have passed your kind words onto the whole team, and we hope to welcome you back to the Huntly Arm Hotel in the near future More

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

So we arrive having looked on website n thinking it would be ok, booked in and went to our room (206), a rubbish portable TV with one channel!! After a few games of pool in tavern bar we retired to bed. Day 2 we came back from work and went to the Chinese in deeside, upon getting back decided on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Dear ROOM 206 I would normally thank you for your comments but on this occasion i feel this would not be appropriate, i have investigated your claim with other guests in the bar, and your review a total fabrication of what happend that evening in the bar to cover up for the deplorable behaviour of yourself from drinking your own... More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here for our friend's wedding and I am thankful that their wonderful day and the time we had distracted us. I would be severely upset if I'd booked a holiday here. The hotel is extremely tired and repair works to various things have been done badly. The skylight outside our room had no Windows and was covered in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dunkeld, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed one night.on arrival waited twenty minutes in reception whilst the receptionist was on the phone.Evening meal was diabolical-frozen fish reheated chips.Breakfast consisted of one egg one rasher of bacon and a sausage.All this for £75. Would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

dear guest thank you for your feedback however i am a little supprised at your comments regarding breakfast the full menu consists of sausgae,bacon,eggs,(3 types)potato scones,beans,tomato,haggis,black pudding and as the order is taken at the table if you required more than 1 sausage we are happy to oblige I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated... More

Stafford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here 6 years ago and it was lovely. Sorry to say that our return visit was awful. The food was disgusting. Seasonal veg turned out to be frozen mixed veg floating in water. My beef and mushroom pudding had no beef in it and I couldn't get my knife through the pastry. My husband"s pork was cold and stringy.... More

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed for 1 night on a groupon deal DBB with a bottle of wine for £49 with my wife. We do regular weekend breaks so are very used to varying standards. May I first comment on the staff, my complements to the management as their professionalism was excellent. The hotel is listed as a two star and this is reflected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated but I can assure you that there is a... More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Glad I got an itson deal as only paid £49. Hotel is so outdated. One of the worst I have stayed in. Food at night was very poor. Frozen fish from packet!!! Frozen veg!! Nothing was fresh. Service was generally poor also. At breakfast two members if staff stood in the room doing nothing and I had to get my... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, however i suspect you have already posted a comment on this site and have taken to opportunity to post another negative comment via your mobile phone. if yu feel my comment is unjust, i would like the opportunioty to speak to your personally if you woul;d like to contact me at the hotel, i will... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Huntly Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Huntly Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntly Arms

Address: Charlestown Road, Aboyne AB34 5HS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aboyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntly Arms 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Huntly Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Huntly Arms Aboyne, Scotland
Huntly Arms Hotel Aboyne

73 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (69)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Aboyne with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Probably the oldest coaching inn to be found in Scotland, the Huntly Arms Hotel was first built in 1432 and has played host to Jacobite leaders and even later, Queen Victoria. Located in the heart of Royal Deeside the hotel has retained much of its traditional charm and character and is just the thing for a relaxing and memorable Scottish break. Leisure seekers will enjoy the local area as many golf courses are within a 50-mile drive of the hotel, with country pursuits, gliding, water-skiing and cycling all available nearby. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
50

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Huntly Arms staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer