We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Huntly Arms

Charlestown Road, Aboyne AB34 5HS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Best prices for:1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Huntly Arms
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

367 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a dross of a hotel, the food is appalling, and the staff are Hungarian, and they hardly understan you, the only good thing I suppose was the bed was very comfortable, but that's about it, its run down on the outside, and rundown on the inside, you can only get WiFi in the foyer..never again

Helpful?
Thank sophiebell01
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here midweek in the middle of January whilst working in the area . A nice entrance and warm friendly welcome from reception . Hotel is dated but very clean throughout. I had a twin room to myself so was very spacious . Bath and shower available but only used shower which was very good and very hot. Had dinner... More 

Helpful?
Thank EdinburghBoab
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2016

We booked in for a wedding which took place in the village hall opposite and were pleased with everything about the hotel. It was warm, clean comfy bed, clean en suite. The staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfast was well cooked and plentiful. Our party occupied 7 rooms and no one had any complaints. The rates were extremely... More 

Helpful?
Thank Morag R
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2015

Our stay here was pretty much as we expected it to be. We are familiar with the hotel, as we visit Aboyne a lot as we have family here, but are no longer able to stay with them. We had a room at the front at the hotel with a view over the green. There was a fan heater to... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarinersTours
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2015 via mobile

Stay here regularly, can't fault anything really with our recent stay. Hotel is warm and accommodation is good. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Food very good. Breakfast is lovely. Ideal location, definitely will be coming back. Recommend for families and couples.

Helpful?
Thank ChristineG1918
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2015

Nice pleasent staff, good food, good adjoining pub, but the place is in MAJOR need of an upgrade, the room was very clean, but was dated and run down to say the least. It was very windy the night we were there and we had to put paper wedges in the window frames to stop them rattling!!!!! The draught coming... More 

Helpful?
Thank Carol G
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2015 via mobile

Didn't honestly believe places like this could survive. Pride of place in the middle of Aboyne, shabby, uncared for and an embarrassment to the town and area. Room akin to a cell, 1 channel on tv, no wi fi anywhere in hotel that could be established, shower unit which was positively dangerous, collapsing bench seat in bar, ripped and torn... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Graham F

Travelers are raving about these Aboyne hotels

Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015 via mobile

Do not stay here!! Holes in bathroom walls, king sized mattress places on a double bed base & the smell of damp all made for a horrible stay. The wait for a table at breakfast was ridiculous & when we did sit at a table it was surrounded by the previous diners empty plates & cutlery. Despite being told that... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Shakers1
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

thank youTfor your review, however we do no have any record of you staying at the Huntly Arms Hotel Aboyne this maybe one of 2 reasons you have mixed us up with a hotel in Huntly with the same name, or you booked under another name if you like to contact me personally via email i will investigate your comments... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2015

Cant believe this place is actually still open for business. I wouldn't live it that sort of conditions at my house (DAMP WALLS AND ROTEN BLACK WINDOW SILLS) And i really dont think its acceptable to stay in such. Two rooms later both of which were sub standard. I packed my bags and left !!! Only to pass a family... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank amanda76Aberdeen
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

We had a GROUPON VOUCHER for a one night stay B&B and a 1 course evening meal with a glass of wine. £49.The hotel is old but charming. We were shown to a large room with a Four poster bed very comfortable. It was overlooking the Green in Aboyne. The manager was telling us all about the lovely glass window... More 

Helpful?
Thank 186487Rosser
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, i am to hear that you enjoyed your stay here at the Huntly Arms. With i have passed your kind comments onto the team, and we hope to welcome you back to aboyne in the future. Once again I thank you for your comments More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

103 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aboyne
4.3 mi away
Loch Kinord Hotel
Loch Kinord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dinnet
4.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
10.0 mi away
The Deeside Inn
The Deeside Inn
#4 of 4 in Ballater
3.5 of 5 stars 447 reviews
12.0 mi away
Kildrummy Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Raemoir House Hotel
Raemoir House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
10.1 mi away
Tor-na-Coille
Tor-na-Coille
#2 of 5 in Banchory
4.5 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Boat Inn
The Boat Inn
#4 of 6 in Aboyne
4.5 of 5 stars 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay