We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Huntly Arms

Charlestown Road, Aboyne AB34 5HS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Huntly Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Huntly Arms
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    59
    63
    65
    86
See reviews for
34
111
12
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (306)
  • Mar-May only
    (75)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (98)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel has had a fair share of criticism from recent reviewers recently, however balanced view is in my view required. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are clean, the breakfast is as good as most other hotels. The location of the hotel, is right in the centre of the village, overlooking the Village Green. The photo was taken... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Kelso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

On arrival receptionist was very pleasant but this is where the positives stopped, room way very tired in terms of the decor. Main room lights did not work and one was missing altogether, just a hole where it should have been. Curtains could not be closed properly, Beds awful not comfortable at all. The shower was taped up on such... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Meals very poor, Bus parties of the basic type stay in the hotel, Carpets on stairs taped to render a repair, No action on any fault found, Meal times only at the discretion of staff not to suit the guests, Breakfast only good thing.

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is a little tired and in need of TLC. The facilities are good, the room we had was well-stocked and comfortable (after being moved rooms due to a dysfunctional TV). The room did, however, have a pipe in the corner which had water noisily running through it, sounding like a waterfall for 1/2 an hr, and there was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

Stayed in room 208 , window frames black with mould, carpet not hoovered properly and stained, tv control thick with dirt,noisy pipes with the sound of water running all night, no hot water to shower!, plus side ,friendly staff and lovely breakfast!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for your review and happy to know you enjoyed your stay. we take pride in taking good care of all our guests and I have past your kind words onto all the team i am a little disapointed with regards to the less positive areas of your stay my housekeeper and maimntence... More 

1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2015

We stayed here at the weekend,so glad didt listen to reviews,room was huge,cozy,and clean,staff were excellent,especially the two ladies who were on Friday and Saturday,food fantastic, we liked it so much we stayed an extra night,will definatly be going back very soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for your review and happy to know you enjoyed your stay. we take pride in taking good care of all our guests and I have past your kind words onto all the team we look forward to welcoming you back to the huntly arms very soon More 

Stornoway, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2015

Very tired hotel. Room was reasonably clean but impossible to properly clean when the wallpaper/paint is coming off the walls. The phone in the room didn't work; the tv was stuck on itv; the bath chain was broken and 2 had just been tied together; no phone reception and no wireless in the rooms. Reasonable food and friendly staff but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your Comments on your review I was very concerned to have received your comments and would like to offer my genuine apologies to you for such a disappointing stay. Please be assured we do take all guest feedback seriously and ensure that appropriate action is taken where possible in order to improve the facilities we offer. .We... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2015

I'm currently staying at the Huntly Arms whilst awaiting long term accommodation being arranged by my company in Aberdeen. The hotel is priced favourably in comparison with others in nearby Banchory and is warm with a comfortable bed. Service in the bar is friendly and prices are very reasonable for someone coming from Southern England!!! There is a wide choice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest I would like to thank you for your kind words I am glad you had a comfortable stay and the room was to your satisfaction unfortunately due to being in the centre of the village it can become a little noisy but I hope this did not disturb to much of your stay I have passed your comments... More 

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2015

Just returned from staying here with my partner over the Hogmanay / New Year break... Was slightly worried having read some of the reviews beforehand...Sure, It's a bit dated so if that's what'll spoil a break for you best to avoid!!... I read a lot of rubbish about food and rooms ...We were in 126 , Totally fine!! So...Yes!..We liked... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Huntly Arms hotel. I am glad you had a enjoyable time at the hotel and , also the comments regarding the customer service offered to you your kind words have been passed to all our staff which typifies the helpful customer service we always endeavour to offer at the... More 

Fife, Scotland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2014

Stayed here with extended family and dogs. Good value. Very dog friendly. Staff very nice and helpful. One of our rooms had a bad smell, and we were immediately offered an alternative - much nicer, bigger room. No hesitation in helping us. Ate in bar - food was fine, reasonable price, hot and tasty. Sat in residents bar later on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments the huntly hotel strives to satisfy all our guests both 2 leg and 4 legs i am happy we could re-accomodate you in another room after the first one was not satisfactory. i have passed your kind comments onto all the staff and we hope to welcome you all back to the Huntly arms... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

86 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (81)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question