We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Huntly Arms

Charlestown Road, Aboyne AB34 5HS, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Huntly Arms
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Huntly Arms
Add Photo Write a Review

323 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    36
    62
    67
    70
    88
See reviews for
34
117
14
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (323)
  • Mar-May only
    (83)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (107)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (96)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (37)
All months
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stopped here for one night on a business trip. I gave five stars because of the value for money. True it could be more modern at places, but it was spotlessly clean and it came with breakfast which was a welcome surprise. It was plenty and tasty, we tried the Scottish breakfast and was pleased. We asked for a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 1 night and as per previous reviews , you get what you pay for I paid £45 for a single room which was ok nothing fancy , I only real issue I had was that the TV remote control didn't work , not once or twice ,3 times , I asked the chap at reception if he... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly arms hotel. I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated and below the standard you expected and I can assure you there is a continual maintenance plan in place at the hotel for the refurbishment of the rooms. We... More 

Fife, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First off, it's important to note that the price is very low. £50 for 2 B&B is excellent VFM, and my rating is based on both the price AND the experience. The public areas of this hotel are full of character and quirkiness - from the stag heads, the bank safe, the coal fire, the stained glass window, the dining... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Huntly Arms hotel. your stay, hope you had an enjoyable time Also the comments regarding the customer service offered to you your kind words have been passed to the team i which typifies the helpful customer service we always endeavour to offer at the Huntly Arms hotel We look... More 

Scotland
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cheap and cheerful, No! Cheap, Yes! In the bedroom, the bed was comfortable, in the Dining Room the breakfast was very reasonable, Those are the good points of our visit. We paid £55 for B&B for a couple. The room was thrwn together, the carpet was cut to approx room size being 2 inches up the skirting board all round.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you did not like your room but I can assure you that there is a continual maintenance... More 

Travelers are raving about these Aboyne hotels

Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Have visited this hotel several times. It's one of my husband's favourites. Excellent value for money if you can get a good deal. Good atmosphere. It needs a little tlc but room was ok, towels clean and changed every day. Food was very good and the staff were friendly. Wouldn't hesitate arranging another stay. Can't understand why people moan. Maybe... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Huntly Arms hotel. I am glad you had a enjoyable time at the hotel and , also the comments regarding the customer service offered to you your kind words have been passed to all our staff which typifies the helpful customer service we always endeavour to offer at the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Was no worth £45 B&B bedroom was cold as heating not working, lights not working and breakfast poor. Did not get a good nights sleep due to the freezing room and matters that had seen better days. Wi-Fi was only available in the hotel reception. Had to wait around for the attention of staff and the welcome was poor, had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you had an uncomfortable nights sleep but I can assure you that there is a continual maintenance... More 

Maud, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Come on you critics, what do you expect for £75/night including breakfast. A suit at the Hilton. It is great valve for money. The Staff where very pleasant and carried our bags up to our room. Our twin room was clean, all the contraptions in the bathroom worked and there was plenty of hot water.The beds were comfortable and the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for your comment regarding your recent stay at the Huntly Arms hotel. I am glad you had a enjoyable time at the hotel and , also the comments regarding the customer service offered to you your kind words have been passed to all our staff which typifies the helpful customer service we always endeavour to offer at the... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

Booked this hotel for an overnight as it looked like great value, and yes I know that you get what you pay for but too many basic issues. Instead of being traditional everything in the hotel is worn and it needs some serious money spent on it. To start with the room it was the family room, the mattress on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay but I can assure you that there is a continual maintenance... More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We were in Speyside to combine visits to the local distilleries with a bit of cycling. Unfortunately, almost immediately my seat clap broke which meant I wouldn't be able to ride. I trudged back to the hotel and told the receptionist, Doran, what had happened. After telling me where the local bike shops were (this was 4.30 pm on a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly arms hotel I can assure you all of your comments will be investigated, and help with future service to our guests I am glad you had a enjoyable time at the hotel and , also the comments regarding the customer service offered to... More 

Helensburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2015

I stayed one night on a short motorcycle trip round the North of Scotland. The hotel has a down-at-heel feel and has definitely seen better days. My single bedroom was at the end of a corridor at the end of a labyrinth. The room was clean but dilapidated. It could do with a lick of paint and the curtain rail... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Andy W, General Manager at Huntly Arms, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to offer your comments on your recent stay at the Huntly Arms Hotel. I can assure you that all of your comments will be investigated and help with future service to our guests. I am sorry that you feel the hotel is old and dated but I can assure you that there... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

89 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (84)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (20)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay