We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast

Dufton, Appleby-in-Westmorland CA16 6DF, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Appleby-in-Westmorland
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

18 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just stayed the one night. Someone was there to meet us and we were allowed to put out bags in the room early in the day before going on our walk. The room was clean and well presented with all the amenities we required. The view from the room was stunning. The room itself was warm, the bed comfortable... More 

Helpful?
Thank JanPP
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It was nice to meet you and hopefully see you again some day :) More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2015

Arrived after a long days walking to a less than warm welcome, a less than spotless room and left the following morning with a very mediocre packed lunch. Would plump for the Youth Hostel in the Village if staying in this area again

Helpful?
Thank Julian S
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with your room. At no point during your visit did you come to tell me you were not happy, like most people who like to complain about everything they wait till they get home and use trip advisor - which is very unfair on small businesses like ours. As for the "very mediocre... More 

Travelers are raving about these Appleby-in-Westmorland hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2015

I stayed there as a part of a group of six on a coast to coast cycle-although I was driving the bus ! I had a single room. The room was clean and tidy but very small. Ok you don't expect luxury at those prices. There was, however, a nasty reek of oil fumes from the oil fired central heating... More 

Helpful?
Thank leedscruiser
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We did explain that there had been an oil leak in the boiler a while back but this had been fixed and the boiler had been serviced, but it had still left a smell of oil (which is disappearing). The boiler is serviced annually by a qualified plumber and had only been done two weeks... More 

manchester uk
Level Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2015

We were lucky to get the last room available for a Saturday night stay over the Bank Holiday weekend. Really nice comfortable clean B&B with standard but well-cooked breakfast, guest sitting room with TV and lost of magazines a bonus.

Helpful?
Thank Neilmcc
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments - much appreciated. More 

staffs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Celebrating 50 years of the Pennine way my friend and I decided we would stop over after our 5 hour trek in Dufton . Not much choice in Dufton but we have no complaints about this b&b . Basic but clean and decent brekky to send us on our way . Why some of the comments are negative is beyond... More 

Helpful?
Thank Geoff M
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. I do appreciate you saying about the negatives comments. We try our best to provide a good Bed and Breakfast for a reasonable price but it goes to show you can't please everyone every time. I have had many verbal positive comments of the accommodation and the reasonable cost we charge and the majority of... More 

Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2014

Set in beautiful idylic surroundings in the village of Dufton. Excellent accommodation provided by Wendy. Delicious traditional English breakfast served. Other breakfasts are available of course. The views out the back are breath-taking. Scrolling hills. Very quiet and peaceful. I loved the village pub - The Stag Inn We would definitely return here at some point in the future. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank MartinWilton
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back sometime. More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We have been staying at Brow Farm at least once a year since Wendy opened the B&B, and always enjoy our visits. Wendy & Chris make us feel very welcome, & the rooms are very clean, well equipped & comfortable. The views from the farm are stunning too.

Helpful?
Thank Moss727
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments, it is always nice to welcome guests back to Brow Farm More 

Geisenheim, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Nice large room, but not very clean. The bathroom seems not be cleaned after previous guests. Landlady was not very friendly and we did not feel very welcome. Breakfast was average, mushrooms and tomato just warmed up in the microwave. We would not come back again. For us no four star B&B.

Helpful?
Thank Bob2018
Wendy S, Manager at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your response. I am sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodation when you stayed here. I do find that in most cases with the odd exception people who have negative comments to make are the only ones who use such media as Trip Advisor. I have many satisfied guests who are quite happy to return on... More 

Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Spent 2 Nights at Brow Farm B&B a barn conversion property just on the entry to the village of Dufton on the road in from Appleby. Wendy made us very welcome and our en-suite room had a lovely view to the fells to the North. The breakfast was very good with a good variety of cereal and fresh fruit. Would... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian-and-Anne-57-55
Wendy S, Owner at Brow Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you it was very nice to meet you, hope to see you again sometime. More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights in Billy Croft Cottage, a comfortable two-bed barn conversion opposite the B&B. It was extremely spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. Ideal location for walks up to Dufton Pike and High Cup Nick and also right on the Pennine Way. We would definitely go back!

Helpful?
Thank BearyHiker
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

4 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Appleby-in-Westmorland hotels
2.9 mi away
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
Appleby Manor Hotel & Garden Spa
#1 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
3.0 mi away
Tufton Arms Hotel
Tufton Arms Hotel
#2 of 2 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Bongate House
Bongate House
#6 of 15 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Royal Oak Appleby
Royal Oak Appleby
#7 of 15 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 333 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Hollies
The Hollies
#5 of 15 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
5.0 of 5 stars 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
YHA Dufton
YHA Dufton
#1 of 4 in Appleby-in-Westmorland
4.5 of 5 stars 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities