We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

YHA Beverley Friary

Friar's Lane, Beverley HU17 0DF, England
Hotel amenities
YHA Beverley Friary
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
JoFSaxon Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (18)
  • Mar-May only
    (4)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (8)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (3)
All months
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

A one night stay following a visit to The Deep in nearby Hull. Wonderful market town with gorgorus shops and the stay at this YHA was the icing on the cake. For under £25 we had an en suite room looking out at the Minster. There are many old and original features in the building and pleasant gardens. While I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Firstly Youth Hostels are fabulous value for money, 6 of us in a room with 3 sets of bunk beds for £59 is nothing, there is absolutely no room at all for any negatives at that price. The setting is perfect being an old Friary, some parking,close to the town centre, key code access to the main entrance, friendly host... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2015

Sometimes yha can be a bit starchy, but things have improved. keycode door to allow access out of hours. Comfy mattresses for great nights kip and no endless squeaky springs! This is a great historic restored building, with many period features retained and some rooms dedicated to showcasing its history.... its a building that would be worth visiting even if... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Beverley
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2014

The modern combined with the historical past. Just opposite the minster in Beverley, this is a great hostel to stay in and explore the charming market town of Beverley. So central, you can't go wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the family room and had a great time here. The hosts are genuinely kind and welcoming. The building and nearby minster are beautiful. Such good value and a truly unique place to stay, thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

This is in our opinion a great YHA, with updated rooms and fittings and a great location in the centre of Beverley with easy access to the railway station and shops, ideal for visiting Hull and the surrounding area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Halifax, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

Really fabulous hostel, brilliant staff, wonderful location, lovely ancient building. Don't worry about the bells, we were on that side of the building, and though hearing them they didn't keep us awake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A great YHA hostel. Very good hosts and wardens (Dave & Clare Thompson and daughter Megan). Nice interesting mix of guests. Only minus points, No Wi-Fi and poor mobile reception inside (OK outside). The old building has very thick walls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura A, Manager at YHA Beverley Friary, responded to this review

Hi Gary Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that Dave and Clare made you feel so welcome, we are lucky to have such amazing volunteer wardens at YHA Beverley. With regards to the WiFi this is something that we are looking at investing in for the future and I thank you for your... More 

stamford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great little hostel right next to the Minster and the historic main street. Décor has altered since my last visit and it's now more corporate/gloomy colour scheme/metal bunk beds, but it's still unbeatable value and full of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura A, Manager at YHA Beverley Friary, responded to this review

Hi Lynn P Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor, I'm glad you found it clean, good value and with good service. We have as you stated recently refurbished the Friary to update the beds and facilities and with regards to the decor we have tried to keep it in line with the historic building however we... More 

Bensheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed there and it was quite good. The cloister has a big garden which is nice, because you can sit outside and read a book. Unfortunately they don't offer cooked meals or packed lunches for classes anymore. The cloister is good for cyclists. You can spend the night there and move on. Upstairs they still have very old wallpaintings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

13 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question