We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 5 Beverley accommodations

YHA Beverley Friary

4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Friar's Lane, Beverley HU17 0DF, England
Hotel amenities
YHA Beverley Friary
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added YHA Beverley Friary to your Saves list
100%
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 weeks ago
JohnSandChristine Halifax, United Kingdom
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
4
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (12)
  • Mar-May only
    (1)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (3)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (6)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (2)
All months
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Really fabulous hostel, brilliant staff, wonderful location, lovely ancient building. Don't worry about the bells, we were on that side of the building, and though hearing them they didn't keep us awake.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

A great YHA hostel. Very good hosts and wardens (Dave & Clare Thompson and daughter Megan). Nice interesting mix of guests. Only minus points, No Wi-Fi and poor mobile reception inside (OK outside). The old building has very thick walls.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Laura A, Manager at YHA Beverley Friary, responded to this review

Hi Gary Thank you so much for your wonderful review. I am pleased to hear that Dave and Clare made you feel so welcome, we are lucky to have such amazing volunteer wardens at YHA Beverley. With regards to the WiFi this is something that we are looking at investing in for the future and I thank you for your... More

stamford
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great little hostel right next to the Minster and the historic main street. Décor has altered since my last visit and it's now more corporate/gloomy colour scheme/metal bunk beds, but it's still unbeatable value and full of character.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Laura A, Manager at YHA Beverley Friary, responded to this review

Hi Lynn P Thank you so much for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor, I'm glad you found it clean, good value and with good service. We have as you stated recently refurbished the Friary to update the beds and facilities and with regards to the decor we have tried to keep it in line with the historic building however we... More

Bensheim, Germany
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed there and it was quite good. The cloister has a big garden which is nice, because you can sit outside and read a book. Unfortunately they don't offer cooked meals or packed lunches for classes anymore. The cloister is good for cyclists. You can spend the night there and move on. Upstairs they still have very old wallpaintings... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

1st wow - The building - simply fantastic. Really good facilities, ensuite rooms, brilliant kitchen/dining area, amazing quirky historic features. 2nd wow - YHA. Can't believe how much YHA has changed. Had not stayed in a YHA for years but my family and I will be back!! 3rd wow Beverley - such a lovely market town. A bit of a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

What a really nice YHA. Really helpful vounteers, good facilties and very comfortable. We had a 3 bedroom, ensuite with a view of the Minister. Well equipped kitchen. What more could anyone want. The town is really nice - lots of independent shops and some good eateries.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lincolnshire UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Wow, I stayed here with friends one weekend in September and was totally amazed at the buildings history and the restoration. We had a ground floor en suite room with space for 3 bunk beds. Lots of beautiful & quirky around the building from recently discovered wall paintings to beams, to ovens hidden by bunk beds and fire places. There... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

It's been many years since staying in a YHA so surprised to see how far they have come. En-suite..really ? The only room available was a 6 person bunk room, so paid over the odds for me and two kids. The facilities are great, everything you need in the kitchen. The great hall upstairs is comfortable and has a huge... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ormskirk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Beverley YHA is a restored friary 40 yards from Beverley Minster. The hostel teems with history with friezes from the 17th century lovingly preserved. The common room is very comfortable and is in the old Great Hall. The gardens are excellent for relaxing in and Beverley itself is a town that is buzzing. Love the whole place.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Two nights for £26 in the female dorm 6 beds Roomy comfy warm good nights sleep Beautiful building if a little draft in places Clean functional bathrooms Ok kitchen facilities spoilt by being near the reception door so can get the occasional blast of cold air Fantastic location next to Minster

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to YHA Beverley Friary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Beverley Friary

Address: Friar's Lane, Beverley HU17 0DF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > East Riding of Yorkshire > Beverley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — YHA Beverley Friary 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Beverley Friary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Beverley Friary Yorkshire

12 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (13)
Viewed
Other (13)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay