We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Bideford hotels

Hartland Quay Hotel

Hartland, Bideford EX39 6DU, England
Hotel amenities
Hartland Quay Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Hartland Quay Hotel to your Saves list
79%
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Bideford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
BRUCE P LLANDRINIO
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    76
    24
    13
    4
See reviews for
30
83
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (38)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (71)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (51)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (15)
All months
LLANDRINIO
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stay here at least once a year and never disappointed.The Hotel can wet away with many things because the views are spectacular from every vantage point. Must be one of the most awesome, brutal, breathtaking outlooks anywhere in the UK. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable and staff friendly. Menu,good pub grub and good choice of local real ales.Was surprised this... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Following a dismal stay at the New Inn Clovelly this revived my enthusiasm for small British hotels. i The rooms are bright, modern and very clean. The bath water was hot which is what every walker needs! The staff are cheery and clearly enjoy their work. The bar is excellent. The menu is diverse and we had good steaks and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Could'nt fault it. Nice room, good views, lovely walks, Cornish Rattler & Healeys ciders, food was good value and overall it was quiet and civilised. Nothing more to say, if you need to moan about this place you certainly need to get out a bit more!! Oh, also, Bristol Rovers won that weekend, lol, UTG

Was this review helpful? Yes
EDINBURGH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Poor / lack of signage of A39 led to several u turns before finding the hotel. Breath Taking views , fortunately , road was quiet and the onsite car park was free and had spaces ( I would imagine it would be a nightmare in the height of summer) The room we took was above the bar ( no noise)... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dartmoor National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
970 reviews 970 reviews
91 hotel reviews
3,757 helpful votes 3,757 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A standard pub meal here, but a little pricey in my opinion. That said there was very little local competition. The fish and chips were fine, a decent piece of fish well cooked, but the chips were mass catering quality. The interior was a little dated but OK. Drinks were fine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Pattaya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Historic hotel right on the magnificent North Devon coast. Rooms are a bit old fashioned and our room had no shower, just a bath. Excellent food in the bar. Very helpful and friendly staff. Plenty of walks around the area, including Speke's mill waterfall. Overall a bit pricey for two sharing because they charge per person rather than by the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Here we have a Hotel that clearly has a captive audience & rests on it's laurels. It is overpriced. The food is awful! The service, indifferent. The decor, outdated. BUT, worst of all, it smells really horrible. When you walk in, the first thing that hits you is the stench of weeks old frying fat from the kitchen. They need... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
HQuay, Manager at Hartland Quay Hotel, responded to this review

We are so sorry that you did not enjoy your visit to Hartland Quay and we're devastated by your comments. You say that we're overpriced, but we charge £40 + vat per night. Most B&B's in the area charge £30-£35 per night and then you're in someone else's house rather than a hotel with lovely sea views. With the food... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Whilst on our holiday in Hartland we found this pub on the quay.. What fantastic views and wonderful walks. We ate here quite a few nights as the food was very good and the service was excellent. We usually booked as they were very busy and the pub filled up quite quickly. The pub was a bit out dated with... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Budleigh Salterton UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night whilst cliff path walking. The hotel is in a fantastic location and the sunset can be stunning on a sunny day. The room was fine, and the bathroom was spacious with plenty of hot water, we were lucky enough to have some views of the sea. The food was fine, we had the curry,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
UK and Worldwide
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
133 hotel reviews
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

I've passed the Hartland Quay Hotel on three occasions, without spending a night there, but I've always thought it would be a great place to stay. Having finally stayed there, I'd recommend it to anyone wanting to experience a remote hotel on a rugged coast. I always imagined that the weather would wreak havoc with the building, and that it... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Do you own or manage Hartland Quay Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hartland Quay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hartland Quay Hotel

Address: Hartland, Bideford EX39 6DU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hartland Quay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hartland Quay
Hartland Quay Hotel Bideford, Devon

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (38)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (13)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (3)
Viewed
Other (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Hartland Quay Hotel