We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 14 Bideford hotels

Tantons Hotel

New Road 1, Bideford EX39 2HR, England
Hotel amenities
Tantons Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Travelocity Otel.com
and 1 more site!
51%
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Bideford
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    20
    12
    7
    26
See reviews for
10
25
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Others have called this place Faulty Towers but that's to kind as the manager is far from amusing! Having booked a cheap deal via late rooms we were shown to a room where the door hit the bed and it was impossible to open the wardrobe due to lack of space.The hotel is tired and musty long overdue for a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Gordon's Bay
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

This must be the worst place we have ever stayed in. We ended up in a twin room with one bed wobbly and falling apart and a bathroom with a chipped bath. While we understand that it is costly to replace / re-enamel a bath, the dirty windowsills and mouldy shower curtain was unforgivable. On checking out, the receptionist tried... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

We should have known from the getgo........we were met at reception by an elderly asian man [in jeans and t-shirts including a small sample of his lunch by the looks of it.....] oh did i forget to mention the dog??? Thye seem to keep their pet dog in the reception area for some reason, i later found out from a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
juliesthompson, Front Office Manager at Tantons Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir I am sorry to hear your stay at the Tantons was not a happy one, however on returning to work this morning i did not see any mention of a complaint from you in my shift changeover book. As you may not be aware the Hotel has had to delay major refurbishments due to the essential structural work... More

Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2011

Having arriving at the hotel in the early morning. the night porter 'Deep' greeted me with my keys and wish me good night. Room was of average standard expected from a hotel in the North of #devon, dated but refreshing. Breakfast was average again but was interestign to find fresh cake slices and cranberry juice. Poached eggs could of been... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
juliesthompson, Front Office Manager at Tantons Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we at the Tantons Hotel were pleased to hear that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. Your comments have been passed onto the relevant departments We hope to see you again More

Manchester, England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Having read the earlier reviews I was worried before arriving but the hotel was lovely. Our room was clean and the bed was comfy with crisp linens. Yes, some areas of the hotel are tired and outdated but it was clean. We were room only but paid extra for breakfast because it was convenient to eat at the hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Leeds
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2011

What a fuss! All those bad revews nearly put me off going... It was cheaper than the Youth Hostel, our room was clean , the staff friendly, our bathroom worked fine, the hotel caters for coach parties and the over 60's were all very pleasant. As a base, it was perfectly respectable and saved us loads of money which we... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
juliesthompson, Front Office Manager at Tantons Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the lovely comments, we at the Tantons Hotel are very grateful for the kind words you have added in your review. We look forward to you visiting us again Regards Julie Thompson Reservations Clerk More

consett
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

Mould on the window sill, wall near the window and window handle. Cracked floor tiles in the bathroom. Patches of enamal missing from the bath tub. Bathroom door missing a handle on oneside whilst the other one came off every time you used it. Hotel appeared dark dismal and smelt. Good views of the river but very noisy as windows... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
juliesthompson, Front Office Manager at Tantons Hotel, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay at the Tantons Hotel. The hotel is going through a very lengthy refurbishment at the moment, and this has been delayed due to the Essential Structual Repairs being carried out by Devon County Council. We do offer our apologies for any inconvenience this caused whilst visiting the... More

Eastleigh
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

From mother and child: When I got to the room I was dissapointed that the room looked dirty and was little and awkward hanging storage and that the matresses were very lumpy to sleep on. We could feel every lump and bump in the matteress. Peeling wallpaper, dirty paint and thebathroom was sub-standard. There was a chip and splayed cracks... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Ideal location for touring the area,Hotel staff very friendly and helpful,We found the food excellent ,one of our party being vegetarian had a great choice,Evening entertainment was good for our age group "60s" Will visit again.Thanks to all the staff.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bolton England
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 hotel reviews
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

I travelled with my husband with Just Go holiday company. We stayed for three nights from the 1/04/2011. We checked in after a long journey and were given a menu to choose our evening meal as they wanted to know what to serve that night. We went to our room and it was not nice. We had a room overlooking... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
juliesthompson, Front Office Manager at Tantons Hotel, responded to this review

I am very sorry to hear that your trip with Just Go was not enjoyable for you. Our hotel is going through intricate refurbishments which has been delayed due to the Essential Structaul Repairs being done by the Devon County Council, who have apologised for any inconvenience caused. I have noted your comments made on trip advisor, and was quite... More

Been to Tantons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tantons Hotel

Also Known As:
Tantons Hotel Bideford
Tantons Hotel Bideford, Devon
Address: New Road 1, Bideford EX39 2HR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Bideford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 14 hotels in Bideford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Temporarily closed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Otel and Hotels.com so you can book your Tantons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tantons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Tantons Hotel to your Saves list