We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 12 Brockenhurst hotels

Balmer Lawn

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Hotel amenities
Balmer Lawn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Balmer Lawn to your Saves list
78%
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Brockenhurst
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Christopher W London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    196
    74
    55
    40
See reviews for
175
331
13
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (747)
  • Mar-May only
    (182)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (243)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (185)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (137)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I was lucky enough to stay one night at The Balmer Lawn at the tail end of some work I had been doing in the area. Others from my company had been there for about ten days and the reports were all so good I was delighted to get the opportunity to try it out. Booking was straightforward and swift,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Christopher W Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel in such detail. All your very kind comments are greatly appreciated by us all. We were delighted to hear that the re-decoration of the external elevations of the hotel did not cause you any inconvenience or disruption. We hope to be able to welcome you back again... More

essex, uk
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Went for a midweek break with wife for 3 nights in Oct 2014. Cost for B & B £210. Room was old fashioned and very tired and outdated. Broken tile on bathroom floor, badly fitted bath panel with screw jutting out, wonky toilet roll holder which looked as if it had been moved or replaced as there was unfilled screw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ringwood, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I recently was treated to a meal out by my partner in the restaurant at the Balmer Lawn. I must say how wonderful the experience was. The food and service could not be faultered. The Restaurant Manager Randy,& his staff were exceptional as was the whole evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Linsey T Delighted to read your review of your experience in the Restaurant. Our Restaurant Manager Randy is a great asset to the Hotel and he works really hard to make every diners experience a special one. He will be delighted to read your comments - Thank You. We hope that you will return to Beresford's again very soon. More

Dorset
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Had booked a deal (dinner, B&B plus a massage) for my husband's birthday and we had the most fantastic time. We were upgraded to a suite as there had been a bit of a mix up over our booking, so that was an enormous plus as the suite was lovely. The food and service at both dinner and breakfast was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Liketorome Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and more importantly for you very kind words about the hotel itself and the levels and quality of the service and food etc. All the team work extremely hard to make every guest's experience a memorable one, reviews like this make it all worthwhile - Thank You and... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My boyfriend and I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights with a travel zoo deal. we would stay again and will definitely be retuning to the restaurant. The staff (particularly in the restaurant) were very attentive too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Khansai Thank you for this review, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular the service in the restaurant, the team will be pleased to read your comments - Thank You. More

Oxford, UK
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had driven past the Balmer Lawn Hotel many times and once had a very nice lunch in the bar area. We had never stayed overnight so, feeling in need of a bit of TLC, we booked into a superior room for one Saturday night in October. We have a small dog so the room wasn't as nice as expected... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear suegalway We are quite astonished by this review. There are only a very few 4 star hotels that accept dogs in the New Forest area and to have this sort of abuse levelled at us is quite frankly outrageous. All our staff are really good with our doggie visitors – they get a bone shaped treat on arrival with... More

Bagshot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed on the top floor and the wifi didn't work on this floor for the 2 days we were there, despite alerting the staff. There was no phone in the room and the radiator didn't work in the room. Raised it with the staff and they gave us a noisy electric unit. Fortunately it wasn't too cold. Got the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha T, Public Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Brian K I am sorry to read you review of the hotel. Taking your points in order; We did investigate your problem with the Wi-Fi and re-set the wireless LAN covering the area of your room 51, we checked and found wireless coverage after this so we can’t really explain why you could not get access over the two... More

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here mid October, a bit of a last minute decision, but weren't disappointed. Lovely family room, above reception and works going on outside but nothing that disrupted our stay. The lounge was a little cold our first night but warmer 2nd night when fire was active. Lounge was a little open for eating a meal so opted for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Caroline M Thank you for you very kind review of the hotel and your understanding that on some occasions like decorating the outside of the hotel, it does mean some minor disruption but you did not let this affect your enjoyment of your family stay with us. The Saltus Spa has been very busy throughout October and we are... More

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Every year we go on holiday for our wedding anniversary, however this wasn't possible this year as we are lucky enough to have 11wk old twins, so instead we decided to have our first night away as a family in the New Forest. We booked at the last minute through Lucy your receptionist who was very helpful and was able... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Claire R Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review about your stay at the Balmer Lawn Hotel. I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely relaxed time and enjoyed all the Balmer Lawn has to offer. We certainly will take your suggestions on board and see how we can realise... More

Wadhurst, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

35 of us had a 3 night stay at this delightful hotel. Staff were very friendly, rooms were very comfortable and the food was superb. As we were a large party, we had to order our food in advance, but we were not disappointed. The breakfasts were excellent with plenty of choice. I would certainly like to stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
HolmWick, General Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Brenda P Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review on your visit to the Balmer Lawn Hotel. Any size of group is certainly a challenge for every business and I am glad that you think we have met this challenge and succeeded. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our food overall, breakfast... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

174 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (121)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (25)
Viewed
Room/suite (26)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (46)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (54)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (28)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay