We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Balmer Lawn

4.0 of 5 Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Balmer Lawn
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Balmer Lawn
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    224
    79
    59
    41
See reviews for
191
371
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (837)
  • Mar-May only
    (180)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (242)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (207)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (208)
All months
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars NEW

Well, we finally made it to this hotel. Alas it did not live up to expectations. The bedroom was cold, tiny radiator didn't work, crack in the window and wood missing from the balcony door frame. New door needed? Service in the restaurant was SLOW. Portion of soup was about four spoon fulls and could have been warmer. Chicken breast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Kathleen W I was so sorry to read this review and the fact that we did not live up to your expectations on this occasion. Taking your points in order - the radiator is more than adequate for the size of the room, either the heating was not on at the time or the radiator was turned off, either... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This place was perfect for a nice Chillaxing weekend. There were some maintenance work going on but that didn't bother us. The staff are very helpful and very friendly. The food at the restaurant was 5 star!

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Phuong75 Delighted to read that you loved your recent stay with us. Our team of Chef's will be particularly pleased to read your comments on the quality of our restaurant food - Thank You. More 

Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just spent the weekend at this fabulous hotel. Lovely spacious room, excellent food and great service, nothing is too much trouble. We must have stayed over 20 times in the last 15 years and we've never been disappointed. It's so relaxing, with a good sized indoor pool, jacuzzi and sauna. It's a pity we had to go home, but we'll... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Lynne L What can I say - Thank you for an absolutely fantastic review, we look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here for five nights during February half term week having previously visited a few times. Our experience was very mixed but overall impression was of a hotel struggling to live up to its past. To start with the downsides - our first room (a superior double) had a lavatory gushing continuously into its bowl like a waterfall so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Colin h It was disappointing to read your review and clearly there were a number of issues that could and should have been avoided or at the very least handled differently. The first room you were allocated was Room 24 this is a superior room with modern decorations and a lovely bathroom. You are right that we should have... More 

Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I came here with my boyfriend for a weekend break and thought it was beautiful. It rained mostly but we did catch some Sun and managed to grab a coffee on the patio after following around the wild ponys on the hotel grounds. Note they're cute but they kick if you get behind them. The pool/sauna area is really nice... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Michelle M Thank you for taking the time to post this review, we take a great deal of interest in our clients comments and understand that the pool does get heavily used, particularly during half-term, in the summer it is not so bad as the outdoor pool is in operation. Delighted to hear that you were out and about... More 

Malmesbury, England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having stayed at the hotel previously we thought we knew what to expect. Unfortunately no one had informed us that there would be maintenance work taking place near the reception & lounge area's. Not conducive to relaxation. Our room, No 49 was on the small size & the soundproofing could do with upgrading. Breakfast is a bit chaotic, as you... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear MyCues We are really sorry that the refurbishments disturbed you, the new look lounge is getting so many positive comments and sadly our time schedule slipped due to some problems we encountered with the plumbing. The location of the Breakfast Buffet during busy periods is a problem - if we place it in the Restaurant, then it means there... More 

Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at the Balmer Lawn Hotel over Valentines and really felt I needed to go online to share my positive experience. We had not been before and must say it was a super relaxing stay that we thoroughly enjoyed. Valentines dinner was very good, service very attententive and professional. Breakfast was busy as of course all other guests decided to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan K Thank you very much for your very kind and positive comments about your Valentines break. We are working really hard to make Beresfords one of the best restaurants in the area and your comments would indicate that we are moving in the right direction. We have one of the best locations of any New Forest Hotel in... More 

southcoast
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at Balmer Lawn for a Sunday night special, which was fantastic value. The food in the restaurant was excellent and beautifully presented. Hotel is traditional and comfortable and situated in a lovely area. Staff very friendly and all eager to please, nothing was too much trouble. Small indoor pool, disappointing changing facilities. Lights were out and no privacy but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear sezayi52 Thank you for your lovely review about the hotel, I am sorry that we had a few problems with the lights in the changing rooms and this has now been rectified. More 

Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just had a few days at the Bulmer Lawn, we wish to give our thanks to all the staff at the hotel for the good food, good service, lovely comfy beds and best of all a visit to the Saltus Spa for a fabulous treatment.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha T, Guest Relations Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear e2c What a great review and all your thanks will be greatly appreciated by all the teams working at the hotel. More 

Northend, Warwickshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely to spend three days in the New Forest and the Balmer Lawn was well beyond my expectations. Off to a good start as we were upgraded on booking in, so that went down well. The food in both the Restaurant and Lounge was excellent, service was oustanding. The room with it's four poster bed and spacious sitiing areas had... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Samantha T, Front Office Manager at Balmer Lawn, responded to this review

Dear Beveren22 Thank you so much for your review of the hotel, your comments are greatly appreciated. I am sorry that the attitude some less than understanding guest caused some upset. We are working really hard to improve the hotel and sadly sometimes this does mean some minor disruption. The main public area are nearly complete so this will not... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Balmer Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balmer Lawn

Address: Lyndhurst Rd, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7ZB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Balmer Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Balmer Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balmer Lawn Hotel Brockenhurst
Balmer Lawn Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Brockenhurst
#3 Luxury Hotel in Brockenhurst
#6 Family Hotel in Brockenhurst
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brockenhurst

206 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (125)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (32)
Viewed
Room/suite (39)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from room (5)
Viewed
Family/play areas (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (3)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (81)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (37)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay