We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Hotel amenities
Rose and Crown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rose and Crown to your Saves list
Ranked #17 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Lori-Henderson Tokyo, Japan
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    46
    21
    17
    22
See reviews for
34
88
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (175)
  • Mar-May only
    (39)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (33)
All months
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Rose & Crown, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a traditional countryside experience. The rooms, housed in converted stable blocks, are comfy, super clean, and offer more space than your average B&B. Many of the ingredients on the restaurant menu are locally-sourced, producing tasty and generous portions for breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the business and we appreciate your kind words. We are very happy you all enjoyed your time with us and do hope in the future you will visit us again. More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2014

Fabulous w/e stay in the New Forest. Room was spacious and spotless and with loads of amenities! Staff were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious. The owners were welcoming and charming ensuring that our every need was fulfilled to the highested standard. We ate in the restaurant on Saturday and the experience lived up to expectations with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our business and we are glad you had a fabulous time in the New Forest and we hope you will visit us again when you are in the area. More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2014

We had dinner here, on a Saturday night. The restaurant was busy, but not packed. Service was indeed good, but a little uncomfortable (trying too hard). Our starter, baked camembert was delicious. But our mains, one of us had lamb and the other had venison weren't so good - the venison was served like a stew, and was tough. And... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and we are sorry you were disappointed with the Venison as its one our best sellers from our local butcher, I think you were expecting a Venison Steak, however the board says Venison in Red Wine, shallots, wild mushrooms served with truffle oil mashed potato and greens. We appreciate your valuable feedback and together with... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

We booked and paid for two nights but only stayed one! Our courtyard room was large, dark and very tired with a leaking shower and a large stain on the carpet. The bathroom smelled badly of damp. The sheets were clean and the beds comfortable. The food was of a very poor standard and when I asked for some cheese... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our business and sincerely apologise for the experience you had, however on the morning you checked out you were told that the cancellation policy was 24 hours and said you understand and was happy to pay. In regard to the stain on the floor the guests previous burnt a candle and spilt... More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2014

Stay a night in a trip through the new forest, lovely village and the lodge room at the rose and crown was ideal for visiting the forest, can come and go as you want through the court yard. Includes a perfectly good breakfast. The village has 3 very good pubs .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and we do hope we can welcome you again in the near future. More 

Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

My husband and i stayed for one night in one if the courtyard rooms, i must admit the room was very tired and quite dusty and the bathroom door didnt shut but we both had a comfortable nights sleep and we were extremely impressed with our food. We found the staff extremely helpful and very polite.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review and we are glad you had a great night sleep, enjoyed your food and as we strive for excellence will take on board all your comments. More 

Ascot, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2014

Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable and relaxing. The room was lovely and the service throughout our stay was perfect. We enjoyed all our meals - lunch, dinner and breakfast. Unfortunately we only stayed on Saturday but we will be keeping you in mind for when we are next in the area.

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing our business and for the lovely words and we do wish to welcome you again soon. More 

Exmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2014

This is a B & B and a good one. The moment we arrived we were welcomed warmly and shown to our room. The room was very nice, above average for a Bed and Breakfast with the bar only five paces from our front door. But here were no problems with noise at all , not from the road or... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for the kind words about our business and we would like to apologise for the heating issue we now have our open fire going and the heating is now on. We are glad you enjoyed our food and the service you received. We look forward to your next visit. More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2014

We were not disappointed! Beautiful Country feel to the establishment, great menu and hot imaginative food at a realistic price, log fires and atmosphere aplenty. Our server was Sandra, a very pleasant and efficient lady, who made our lunchtime experience today, extra special. It is a bit early for Christmas, but it is coming and we do need to plan,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Worthing, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014

We have stayed here at least 4 or 5 times over the last few years. This place never disappoints. Love the courtyard rooms. Only negative is room lighting very dull & dark. A special thank you to Mike that helped me getting best rate when I called to book at last minute.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Rose and Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose and Crown

Address: Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > New Forest National Park > Brockenhurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rose and Crown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel Brockenhurst
Rose And Crown Brockenhurst, New Forest National Park

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay