We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose and Crown

Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Hotel amenities
Rose and Crown
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #18 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Laynne London, United Kingdom
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    51
    23
    17
    23
See reviews for
36
94
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (186)
  • Mar-May only
    (49)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (40)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have now eaten at the Rose and Crown two days running.We ate there yesterday and had the Sunday Carvery...scrumptious and we both left well and truly stuffed! Tonight we ate there again and the food was very high standard pub grub, beautifully presented , value for money and very very tasty!. The staff are all friendly and welcoming but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here last night, as two couples, we had two rooms in the stable block out the back, one a family suite and the other a four poster! The rooms weren't a disappointment, clean bedding, fresh towels, plenty of tea and coffee etc, although our friends room apparently didn't have any mugs to drink with!!! Lovely pub garden, and plenty... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and give us your valuable feedback on the business, we train all our staff to deliver high standards of customers service and we take great joy in your feed back and reward the staff for a job well done. Thank you for the comments about our beautiful garden... More 

London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at the Rose and Crown for three nights. We (and our two dogs) stayed in one of the dog friendly rooms in the converted stables. The room was very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was also spotless (if a little tired) and perfectly functional. We enjoyed an evening meal in the restaurant, and a nightcap in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of the business and we are very happy you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

By far the worst hotel I have stayed in this is not a hotel to bring a family! We were made to feel very unwelcome by what seemed to be locals! We were with 2 other families and the kid were kids and we're made to stop walking round! It's the easter holidays!

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and we do apologise that you felt this way as we strive to deliver family friendly service to everybody, I must say that our staff get commented on daily for their efficiency and friendliness and your comments shock me as to how you preceved their service. If your children were asked to sit in the... More 

Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we had a pub lunch which was typically "pubby" in quality but okay - they have a good range of drinks, service was very fast, but the service was good. Mind you, you have to order at the bar, which for a group was disappointing and they couldn't give us separate receipts. Generally about 7/10

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments and glad you enjoyed the food as you will be aware you were given the choice of service either we did full waitress service or you come to the bar as you all wanted to pay separately and wanted separate receipts to which you would need to come to pay seperate and issue a single... More 

Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

I was on a bike ride through the New Forest with my friend and by the time we reached Brockenhurst we were ravenous. We saw this pub open and the menu outside so we chained up our bikes in the convenient garden round the side and then found a lovely spot by the radiator to dry off from the constant... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the business and we are glad you found us on your cycle journey through the Forest and enjoyed your food we would love to welcome you back when next in the area. More 

Cardiff
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Ideally located for touring the New Forest this hotel has super friendly and efficient staff - just as well as I'd mixed up my dates and arrived a day early! The problem was quickly sorted for us and we had one of their nice rooms located in a quiet courtyard at the rear of the pub. A good range of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write such a beautiful review about the rooms, food, staff and service and we are glad you enjoyed it all, we pride ourselves in delivering excellent customer service and work very hard with our team on a daily basis on the importance of the complete package been delivered every time to every customer... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

We stayed for one night in one of the rooms in the converted stables - the room was very spacious, clean and comfortable with a good size bathroom. Breakfast was very good with a decent choice - all staff that we came in contact were extremely helpful and pleasant making the stay comfortable. As we visit Brockenhurst about once a... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind works in your review and we are very please that you will visit us again when you visit your friends. We very much look forward to welcomining to the Rose and Crown. More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2015 via mobile

After wanting to get away for my birthday, I saw The Rose and crown and their four poster bed room and I was hooked . Upon arrival I was delighted to realise that the hotel was actually to the rear of the building in a separate private courtyard with doors to each room. The room itself was lovely and I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a lovely review just wished you had mentioned about the duvet when you were here we would have happily rectified the problem, we do hope to welcome you back again soon. More 

Caterham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2015 via mobile

Booked last minute with a friend as a base for visiting the New Forest. We had a twin room in the courtyard which was spacious and clean with a nice en suite bathroom. It was really warm and quiet so perfect after a day's walking in the rain! The girl who booked us in was very friendly and helpful, as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and we do hope we can welcome you back when you next visit the area. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question