We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rose and Crown

Lyndhurst Road, New Forest National Park, Brockenhurst SO42 7RH, England
Hotel amenities
Rose and Crown
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ranked #19 of 34 Brockenhurst B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
Ed G
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    76
    55
    28
    17
    26
See reviews for
39
101
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (202)
  • Mar-May only
    (53)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (52)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (63)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (34)
All months
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stopped by this venue for lunch on a beautiful summers day. We spent the afternoon in the beer garden which is well laid out and well kept. The food here is fantastic, of particular note was the breaded Brie starter. Well portioned and cooked perfectly, we plan to head back to the new forest to get this alone! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romsey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a great lunch here after a walk in the New Forest. We had our dog with us and there is plenty of seating in the garden under cover if the the weather is inclement or you could eat in the bar if you have a dog. We had the carvery and the meat and vegetables were extremely tasty,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the business and for the lovely words and we would like to say we pride ourselves in our Sunday Carvery and are so glad you enjoyed it. Yes our garden is a hidden treasure and it's great that you enjoyed the sunshine in our beautiful garden. We look forward to welcoming you... More 

Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Cant fault the room - big, very clean. Slightly over-priced though. But the breakfast was poor. Probably cooked 2 hours before as bacon was rock hard and poach egg was tiny and solid. Was charged £129 which included the room but breakfast was one egg one sausage one rasher of bacon. very small portions. if wanted more you had to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for writing a review for us glad you enjoyed your stay unfortunately for your group you booked on the website and booked 3 family rooms which are £129.95 however you choose to just have 1 person in each room which of course makes it pricy. We don't take the view because we are in the New Forest to... More 

2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Lovely friendly place to stay. Room was spacious and clean. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Food was delicious, breakfast and main meals. Good location not far from New Forest Park and about 30 mins from Bournemouth. Great place to stay and would definitely go back again

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

We would like to thank you for writing a beautiful review and we are so please you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the food. It's great when you take the time to give us feedback as we use your feed back to train the staff to continue to deliver great service and food. We would love... More 

Georgetown, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

For what it is worth, we last stayed at the Rose and Crown in 1957. We were then newly married, no car, and thoroughly enjoyed the peace of the forest. The food in those days was top rate. It was used extensively for business entertainment at lunch time, and occasionally for dinner. The dessert trolly was too good to be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and we are so glad you came to visit again, we love the fact that you had a great time and do hope you can visit us again. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My family went here for lunch on Fathers day 10 people 3 Dad's, and were extreamly let down, the carvery lunch was auful possibly the worst I have ever eaten at this pub. The spuds were hard, the meat was tough as old boots and the gravey was as thin as water. We gave that pub over £100 between us... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and our sincere apologies for your poor experience of our carvery on this occasion, as you said you have been here before and had written a review and had enjoyed your previous experience and on this occasion we have let you down. If you could please contact me direct to discuss this experience as we... More 

London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We paid £136 to stay here for one night. Whilst the location is perfect to set out in the Brockenhurst area, and the rooms aren't too bad (although a bit expensive for what they are), the service and food are NOT to be recommended. Whilst checking in, the lady stopped our check in process and checked in another couple as... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and may we say we are sad to see you felt this way about our service and food as you will see from our other reviews we get great comments about our food and service and clearly on this occasion we did not meet your expectations to which we are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brockenhurst hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Rose and Crown was a mixed bag for us. We stayed for one night as attending a wedding nearby. The location was great, staff very friendly and helpful, and our cottage style accommodation very pretty from the outside. So far so good... However, there were quite a few not so good points for us and we probably wouldn't stay... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review we would like to apologise to you for the finding that you were not satisfied with and from your review we shall use your comments to rectify each issue and we do hope we can invite you back to show you we act on comments that will improve our business... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Been twice in May during various visits to Brockenhurst. On both occasions the food was good pub grub! Really tasty and good value. The staff were all lovely with the exception of a young new lass with glasses on the second visit who was quite arrogant and had a bit of an attitude problem. Other than her all the staff... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review, yes we strive to deliver as you said good pub grub as we are a traditional British pub sourcing food from local suppliers where possible. My we apologise about our new member of the team we would like to think it may have been over confident and a... More 

Milnthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A beautiful looking building plastered with A-boards advertising food. Arrived at 3.30 after a 7 hour journey (very tired) asked for a sandwich with my expensive lager.and was told no food until 5 o'clock. Bear in mind this hotel/pub is festooned with food adverts. At six after showering etc. I asked for a sandwich & was told no sandwiches they... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
AnnMaher, General Manager at Rose and Crown, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the business, firstly our apologies to not been able to eat at your choose time however as you would have seen we had a table of 46 in that afternoon and they were having a 3 course meal so during this time we were not taking order but preparing... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

16 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay