We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dreadnought Hotel

Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dreadnought Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Dreadnought Hotel
Dreadnought Hotel
Dreadnought Hotel
Add Your Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    90
    79
    77
    100
See reviews for
44
181
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (378)
  • Mar-May only
    (84)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (103)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (54)
All months
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The roast beef dinner was to die for. Stunning value at £5.99 and wonderfully tasty. If ever in Callander, give the roast here a chance - you won't regret it. The staff were helpful and not in your face.

Was this review helpful? Yes
scotland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Returned to Drednought hotel after more than a year since our last visit.we were hopeful that there may have been some improvments.little sign of any. In fact we were allocated the same room and on the last occasion there was a cracked pane of glass, a year later it was still cracked?! The room was warm and bedding clean BUT... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2015

I have stayed at this hotel several times over several years, and after my last visit over the festive period, I will NEVER go back. The family who run it are completely rude to guests, and appear to have no interest in the comfort of the guests during their stay. The whole place was so cold, the STAFF were serving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 11
Paisley, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2014

the room was adequate and clean but very minimal no drawers, appeared to be something similar to a computer desk type structure, insufficient heating. had to wear extra clothes to keep warm "in bed" staff were excellent and very helpful, food was "basic" pub grub but was cold due to the lack of adequate heating, Bathroom was very cold so... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
Alexandria,U.K.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2014

We have just returned from staying at this Hotel and will not be back.Apart from the reception and bar area the whole hotel was freezing.We had to ask for an extra heater for our room.No spare blankets in wardrobe, the thermostat in the shower did not work either.At breakfast food was hot at the buffet counter but plates were cold.I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

We gave this guest an extra heater, the room became so hot they left the window open during their stay with the heaters still on. These people have "4 star" aspirations and we are not a 4 star hotel. We offer brilliant value for money at £89 per couple dinner, bed and breakfast. Our breakfast service is an all you... More 

M
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

I was a resident of callander . I used the dreadnought hotel while I was waiting to receive my keys to my new flat....I stayed here for 1 night. I had intended on staying another night so the gentleman manager do e his up most to accommodate us. This involved moving rooms so we did. Once we had obtained our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how you felt about your stay here but there are a good few points you have missed out! This guest was thrown out of nearly every hotel in Callander and we know exactly why. There was not tea split on the bed at all, the bed had been urinated on.... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed here for one night in July after a scamble up Ben A'an. I wasn't expecting much given the price and, after eventually getting checked in, I was relieved to find the bed was comfy & seemed clean as did the towels but that's the best bit. Re the checkin process; we attempted to check in 20mins early but... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

Nice hotel, tad dated but its to be expected. The room was lovely, high ceilings, nice view onto the river and park. Staff were lovely and breakfast was faultless. The bar area was also lovely and i could imagine it being a buzzin wee area in the summer when the coach parties are in the local musicians are playing away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2014

We drove to Callander following a long drive to Glen Coe and needed a place to stay we got a room in this Hotel although the staff were friendly the hotel itself was in an urgent need of renovation and was cold and damp . Our room although big was comfortable but the shower didn't work. If I was to... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2014

just back from another weekend in this hotel with friends the staff were all very good and very pally the meal menu was very good fish was great roast inner choice the same our rooms were very clean and big we have been to this hotel 5 times this year and always enjoyed ourselves the Danish band had a dance... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (72)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question