We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Callander hotels

Dreadnought Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dreadnought Hotel to your Saves list
Dreadnought Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
35%
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    78
    68
    97
See reviews for
42
173
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We booked trough Last minute hotels and had an awful room small and dingy the first night. I talked to staff next day and immediately got a transfer to a beautiful room - quite possibly the best in the hotel had lovely views of lake and town street. Would deffinately stay there again and hope to next year. Staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I am a hotel "snob" LOL and like my comforts and nice clean , modern rooms . Stayed here for the one night . Decided to go for the superior room with breakfast . Room was clean . Newish carpet . Bedding clean and fresh . Pillows were great and bed comfy . Bathroom hadn't been updated but was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So I picked this hotel for ALL of our family to stay in, this includes our dog of which the hotel accepts dogs, which was great.. However upon arriving and asking about food in the bar area we are told that dogs are not allowed until food is no longer served, this also meant that for breakfast our dog was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chapelhall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

we went here for lunch- my memories are of a kinda posh hotel years ago - not so now. The bar where we ate has seen better days, and they cater for tourist trade by hosting mainly coach parties - McNabs Bar looks nothing like the pictures on the site - tired and jaded and needing renovated. My portion of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

This hotel is a fabulous old building, this review is an absolute lie! Our Macnabs bar has been fully renovated and is exactly what is in the pictures! It is beyond believe that people can straight out lie like this. Our chefs take great pride in their work and our head chef is the best in this area, we would... More

Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Dreadnought is in need of a complete renovation and update...or at the very least fix the things that are broken and falling apart! Very shabby and grubby and very slow breakfast service! This is a huge building and has the potential to be an amazing hotel if only they put some money and time in to it! The car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

We are aware of the things needing updated and fix in the hotel and this is a working progress. We take this review on board, we are of this week installing a buffet help yourself breakfast to decrease the wait time for breakfast. We inform guests that the free car park is behind the hotel where there are old buildings,... More

durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used The Dreadnought as an overnight stop off on our way up to the Highlands, it wasn't too expensive at £65 for the night but by the time we left, it did feel expensive. A strange smell in the corridors, faintly masked by a smell of emulsion and with grubby carpets there too. The room was OK but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

The extractor fan has now been replaced. As of this week we will now have a buffet service for breakfast. Some of the dinning room chairs had some marks on them from a function, all chairs have now been commercially cleaned. More

Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

A friend an I visited recently on our way up to Thurso from West Yorkshire. Having stayed there last year we were aware that it was convenient and that Callander is a great town. Well placed for the routes from Tyndrum up Glencoe to Loch Ness, or west to Oban from Tyndrum. Rooms were clean and comfortable with all usual... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure to have you again. We look forward to your next visit. More

stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here as part of a trip to the Edinburgh Tattoo from the 10/8-14/8 this year. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment so expect to see dust sheets and decorator's although this did not detract from our stay. The room was a reasonable size although the en-suite was fairly small (I am average size and just managed) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again. More

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I would not have thought it was possible to pay just £40 for a hotel stay and come away feeling short changed, but the dreadful Dreadnought manages to deliver just that! The public areas have an aroma reminiscent of a down at heel care home - stale urine and boiled cabbage. The room was shoddy in every respect. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Brian G, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

The guest did not stay at the Dreadnought because we do not have a cupboard containing a toilet, shower and wash hand basin. Our linen comes from Fishers which is the same company that supplies The Gleneagles Hotel . this guest is economical with the truth and not to be believed. More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have stayed at the dreadnought several times and are never disappointed, the rooms are cheap around £50 for a double room, they aren’t thoroughly modern and are a bit dated but are always clean, the breakfast in the morning has never disappointed , and the staff in Mcnabs bar are always brilliant as well as the food being well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dreadnought Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Callander with
any amenities