We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Callander hotels

Dreadnought Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Dreadnought Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Dreadnought Hotel to your Saves list
35%
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Callander
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    87
    78
    71
    97
See reviews for
43
174
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (364)
  • Mar-May only
    (82)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (137)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (94)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (51)
All months
Sunbury on Thames
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We were attracted to this hotel by the offer of a large discount on the standard rate from another website. It transpired this is nonsense as the rate we paid was the standard as displayed in reception. They said they had tried to get the website changed without success (believe that if you will). It is a large victorian hotel.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Batley, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in 1998 and it needed a facelift then. However very little if anything has been done to improve it. The car park was derelict ground and there were very few guests. Location was perfect, bedding clean and room was large. Cobwebs from room to lampshade showed lack of real cleaning. Staff went through the motions and seemed un-interested.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we stayed there first week of September for one night only, and thanks god for that. The hotel itself looks beautiful from the outside and also the bar area, but it is really a tip, shame as it could be the perfect place to spend a vacation. On arrival keys for the rooms were handed over at the reception, for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We booked trough Last minute hotels and had an awful room small and dingy the first night. I talked to staff next day and immediately got a transfer to a beautiful room - quite possibly the best in the hotel had lovely views of lake and town street. Would deffinately stay there again and hope to next year. Staff were... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I am a hotel "snob" LOL and like my comforts and nice clean , modern rooms . Stayed here for the one night . Decided to go for the superior room with breakfast . Room was clean . Newish carpet . Bedding clean and fresh . Pillows were great and bed comfy . Bathroom hadn't been updated but was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

So I picked this hotel for ALL of our family to stay in, this includes our dog of which the hotel accepts dogs, which was great.. However upon arriving and asking about food in the bar area we are told that dogs are not allowed until food is no longer served, this also meant that for breakfast our dog was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Chapelhall, Scotland, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

we went here for lunch- my memories are of a kinda posh hotel years ago - not so now. The bar where we ate has seen better days, and they cater for tourist trade by hosting mainly coach parties - McNabs Bar looks nothing like the pictures on the site - tired and jaded and needing renovated. My portion of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

This hotel is a fabulous old building, this review is an absolute lie! Our Macnabs bar has been fully renovated and is exactly what is in the pictures! It is beyond believe that people can straight out lie like this. Our chefs take great pride in their work and our head chef is the best in this area, we would... More

Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The Dreadnought is in need of a complete renovation and update...or at the very least fix the things that are broken and falling apart! Very shabby and grubby and very slow breakfast service! This is a huge building and has the potential to be an amazing hotel if only they put some money and time in to it! The car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

We are aware of the things needing updated and fix in the hotel and this is a working progress. We take this review on board, we are of this week installing a buffet help yourself breakfast to decrease the wait time for breakfast. We inform guests that the free car park is behind the hotel where there are old buildings,... More

durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We used The Dreadnought as an overnight stop off on our way up to the Highlands, it wasn't too expensive at £65 for the night but by the time we left, it did feel expensive. A strange smell in the corridors, faintly masked by a smell of emulsion and with grubby carpets there too. The room was OK but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

The extractor fan has now been replaced. As of this week we will now have a buffet service for breakfast. Some of the dinning room chairs had some marks on them from a function, all chairs have now been commercially cleaned. More

Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

A friend an I visited recently on our way up to Thurso from West Yorkshire. Having stayed there last year we were aware that it was convenient and that Callander is a great town. Well placed for the routes from Tyndrum up Glencoe to Loch Ness, or west to Oban from Tyndrum. Rooms were clean and comfortable with all usual... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure to have you again. We look forward to your next visit. More

Do you own or manage Dreadnought Hotel?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Near Dreadnought Hotel