We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 6 Callander hotels

Dreadnought Hotel

2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Dreadnought Hotel to your Saves list
Dreadnought Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
35%
Ranked #6 of 6 hotels in Callander
  • Overview
  • Reviews (357)
  • Photos (101)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (87)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    85
    77
    67
    97
See reviews for
40
171
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundee, Scotland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Dreadnought is in need of a complete renovation and update...or at the very least fix the things that are broken and falling apart! Very shabby and grubby and very slow breakfast service! This is a huge building and has the potential to be an amazing hotel if only they put some money and time in to it! The car... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

We are aware of the things needing updated and fix in the hotel and this is a working progress. We take this review on board, we are of this week installing a buffet help yourself breakfast to decrease the wait time for breakfast. We inform guests that the free car park is behind the hotel where there are old buildings,... More

durham
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We used The Dreadnought as an overnight stop off on our way up to the Highlands, it wasn't too expensive at £65 for the night but by the time we left, it did feel expensive. A strange smell in the corridors, faintly masked by a smell of emulsion and with grubby carpets there too. The room was OK but I... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

The extractor fan has now been replaced. As of this week we will now have a buffet service for breakfast. Some of the dinning room chairs had some marks on them from a function, all chairs have now been commercially cleaned. More

Liversedge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A friend an I visited recently on our way up to Thurso from West Yorkshire. Having stayed there last year we were aware that it was convenient and that Callander is a great town. Well placed for the routes from Tyndrum up Glencoe to Loch Ness, or west to Oban from Tyndrum. Rooms were clean and comfortable with all usual... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, It was a pleasure to have you again. We look forward to your next visit. More

stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as part of a trip to the Edinburgh Tattoo from the 10/8-14/8 this year. The hotel is undergoing a major refurbishment so expect to see dust sheets and decorator's although this did not detract from our stay. The room was a reasonable size although the en-suite was fairly small (I am average size and just managed) and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure having you here and we hope to see you again. More

Glasgow
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I would not have thought it was possible to pay just £40 for a hotel stay and come away feeling short changed, but the dreadful Dreadnought manages to deliver just that! The public areas have an aroma reminiscent of a down at heel care home - stale urine and boiled cabbage. The room was shoddy in every respect. There was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Brian G, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

The guest did not stay at the Dreadnought because we do not have a cupboard containing a toilet, shower and wash hand basin. Our linen comes from Fishers which is the same company that supplies The Gleneagles Hotel . this guest is economical with the truth and not to be believed. More

Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have stayed at the dreadnought several times and are never disappointed, the rooms are cheap around £50 for a double room, they aren’t thoroughly modern and are a bit dated but are always clean, the breakfast in the morning has never disappointed , and the staff in Mcnabs bar are always brilliant as well as the food being well... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit. More

Bedfordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If this hotel could get sorted out it would be fine. Plus points I loved the square sausage and porridge and some of the other food was nice. Some of the meat was however tough. Staff were friendly .Bed was comfy and it was quiet at night It is an old character hotel in a lovely location, needs work to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

We have noted your comments and we are in the process of making things better. This hotel will be closed in January, February and reopens in the middle of March 2015, during this time we will be carrying out refurbishments. More

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My partner & myself had booked a room in the Dreadnought Hotel for 4 nights from Monday 11 August. We arrived there around 2,15pm to be told that check in was at 3pm, which was fair enough. After a quick visit to Doune, we arrived back at the hotel at 3.20pm to be told our room was still not ready.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Manager877, Manager at Dreadnought Hotel, responded to this review

It was unfortunate that the day this guest checked in we were a team member down so there was a wait for their room which we apologised for and done our best to compensate for. We take some of the comments on board here, we have since had the carpet in this guests room commercially cleaned and have also replaced... More

Haydock, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This isn't a review I take any pleasure in giving as I usually like to see the positives in anywhere I've stayed but sadly, I can't say there were any. A truly mediocre hotel, and on the lowest side of mediocre. We'd booked 8 nights here on a bed and breakfast basis whilst we attended the Commonwealth Games, we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed for three nights in this hotel and found it to be really quite awful.We had no bathroom window and no fan working in there to compensate for this:- and also the bedroom window would not open either. The managements' response to this was to prop it up with a stick. Staff in the breakfast area were polite ad... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Dreadnought Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Dreadnought Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreadnought Hotel

Address: Leny Road, Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8AN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Callander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dreadnought Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Dreadnought Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreadnought Hotel Callander, Scotland

101 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (66)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/suite (17)
Viewed
View from room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Callander with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Originally built in the 17th Century by the Chieftain of the clan McNab as a hostelry for his fellow clasnmen travelling to the north, the Dreadnought has remained an important landmark as well as retaining a distinctive character of its own. From the wood panelled lounge bar to the architecturally listed stained glass windows, the Dreadnought has a very unique atmosphere. Centrally situated in the popular town of Callander, the 17th Century Dreadnought Hotel successfully combines the attractions of history with modern day comfort. Callander is the gateway to the Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, making it an ideal destination for a Scottish break. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
60

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Dreadnought Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer