We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dornafield Camping Site

Two Mile Oak | Ipplepen, Newton Abbot TQ12 6DD, England
Dornafield Camping Site
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
22
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (46)
  • Mar-May only
    (6)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Devon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for the weekend in our motorhome. Really peaceful site, just birds singing and sheep bleeting. Very good toilet and shower block. Good pub just a short walk up the road. Fish and chips on site on the Friday all very good. Would visit again. The owner booked me in and at 84 years young done a great job.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

So delighted you enjoyed your stay at Dornafield, we always aim to please everyone and it gives me enormous pleasure to receive such kind and honest review. P.S. i am only 83 !! regards Peter Dewhirst More 

Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A lovely, family friendly site. We stayed in Orchard Field which was a great choice as we pretty much had the field to ourselves. Everyone else had gone for the hardstanding pitches on Butter meadow or Black rock copse. That was more 'carpark like' in our opinion. We had electric and the grass was cut short, it wasnt wet. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear sdclarke Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review and so please you enjoyed your visit to us. It was lovely weather during your stay but if it rains the demand for all weather goes through the roof hence Dornafield has now mostly all weather and fully serviced pitches. Best Wishes Simon More 

Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

First just to say that this is the first time I have put a review about any site but feel I must after reading some of the reviews posted. My wife and I have been visiting Dornafield for 25 years plus first with our own children and now with our grandchildren and can say that this is one off the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear SwanseaExplorer WOW thank you so much for all your kind comments!! You have obviously stayed with us a few times to know Dornafield and all the family and staff so well. I am delighted that we make your leisure time on holiday so pleasurable and long may it continue. Many Thanks Simon More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

After spending 9 months enjoying our caravan experience we ended the season at Dornafield. What a find!! Just outside Newton Abbott and close to all the South Devon places we wanted to visit. We negotiated the narrow entrance to find a top quality site. Truly 5 star with fabulous clean facilities, a warm welcome by the family who own the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Travelboyz07 Thank you very much for taking the time of leaving a review for Dornafield. My family together with our great team have been working on the park since 1972 and it really gives us a boost when we receive reviews like yours. In reality since the Buttermeadow pitches and facilities were all bought up to date there is... More 

2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2014

I am writing this review having read the review entitled 'not sure what the fuss is about'. I am one of the site's customers who has recently put my van in storage there and has no tow hitch on my car. Why? Having spent approximately 15 years towing a caravan or driving a motor caravan all over the UK and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Jenny A I am sorry its taken me some time to reply but we have been away for our anniversary. Thank you so much for the review and for addressing all the items you did, you certainly have caravanned extensively and over a number of years hence your in depth knowledge. My team and myself work very hard to... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

This was our third visit to Dornafield and we really enjoyed our time there. We are always given a warm welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble. This site attracts return visitors and we met several couples that had been there when we previously visited the site. The toilets and showers are warm, modern and spotless. The super pitches... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Diane V Thanks for taking the time to leave a review its really nice when people make the effort to say something good as opposed to just complaining. As you noticed we have a lot of repeat customers who make several visits a season, and you have already booked for next season its music to my ears. If there... More 

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

The camping field is not great. It feels a bit of an add on to the more organised caravan fields. The pitches are uneven and there are no paths and no lights. The facilities are large and clean though. We happened to stay when a large party was also camping and they were very loud until the early hours of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Amanda C I am distressed that you found Dornafield and the area not to your liking. On the weekend that you visited it coincided with a local food and drink festival Abbfest which runs from the Friday to the Sunday and has become very popular over the years. It is very unfortunate and unusual that you experienced any disturbance... More 

Warwickshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2014

We are new to caravanning holidays but the standard of this site was way above expectations. On arrival we were given a warm welcome. The camp site is beautifully kept and the toilet and shower facilities are modern ,immaculately clean and warm. The location of the site is great and allows good access to Newton Abbott , Totnes, Dartmoor and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear clare g Many thanks for you review and so glad we made the right impression on your first visit, and as you found out there is a lot around the area to see and do. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Regards Simon More 

Llandovery, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

We have just come back from a 3 day stay here, this site is one of the cleanest sites I have stayed in.. The staff were lovely, washing up area was brill.. We will defo use again.. I do have two gripes though.. The mobile signal was terrible.. And when we tried the wifi it was none existent :0( ..luckily... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Ctina3515 pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dornafield and will be returning, as for mobile O2 works very well in this area but some other service providers don't seam to cover Devon nearly as well. The WIFI system here was new for the 2014 season and covers the whole site in fact you can even pick... More 

North Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This was our first visit to Dornafield and chosen for our 10 day holiday because it was not too large a site and looked to be well laid out and ideally located for our favourite South Devon haunts - What a find!! After a horridly stressful journey from North Yorkshire we were given a warm welcome by the owner and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Judeward Thank so much for finding the time to leave a review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here at Dornafield. All the staff here work very hard to maintain our very high standards and reviews like your make all the effort worth while. I hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

37 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question