We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Newton Abbot accommodations

Dornafield Camping Site

Save Saved
You added Dornafield Camping Site to your Saves list
Two Mile Oak | Ipplepen, Newton Abbot, England
Hotel amenities
Dornafield Camping Site
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Abbot
Check In Check Out
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (43)
  • Mar-May only
    (3)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (26)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

After spending 9 months enjoying our caravan experience we ended the season at Dornafield. What a find!! Just outside Newton Abbott and close to all the South Devon places we wanted to visit. We negotiated the narrow entrance to find a top quality site. Truly 5 star with fabulous clean facilities, a warm welcome by the family who own the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am writing this review having read the review entitled 'not sure what the fuss is about'. I am one of the site's customers who has recently put my van in storage there and has no tow hitch on my car. Why? Having spent approximately 15 years towing a caravan or driving a motor caravan all over the UK and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our third visit to Dornafield and we really enjoyed our time there. We are always given a warm welcome and nothing is ever too much trouble. This site attracts return visitors and we met several couples that had been there when we previously visited the site. The toilets and showers are warm, modern and spotless. The super pitches... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Diane V Thanks for taking the time to leave a review its really nice when people make the effort to say something good as opposed to just complaining. As you noticed we have a lot of repeat customers who make several visits a season, and you have already booked for next season its music to my ears. If there... More

Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The camping field is not great. It feels a bit of an add on to the more organised caravan fields. The pitches are uneven and there are no paths and no lights. The facilities are large and clean though. We happened to stay when a large party was also camping and they were very loud until the early hours of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Amanda C I am distressed that you found Dornafield and the area not to your liking. On the weekend that you visited it coincided with a local food and drink festival Abbfest which runs from the Friday to the Sunday and has become very popular over the years. It is very unfortunate and unusual that you experienced any disturbance... More

Warwickshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We are new to caravanning holidays but the standard of this site was way above expectations. On arrival we were given a warm welcome. The camp site is beautifully kept and the toilet and shower facilities are modern ,immaculately clean and warm. The location of the site is great and allows good access to Newton Abbott , Totnes, Dartmoor and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear clare g Many thanks for you review and so glad we made the right impression on your first visit, and as you found out there is a lot around the area to see and do. I hope to be able to welcome you back in the future. Regards Simon More

Llandovery, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just come back from a 3 day stay here, this site is one of the cleanest sites I have stayed in.. The staff were lovely, washing up area was brill.. We will defo use again.. I do have two gripes though.. The mobile signal was terrible.. And when we tried the wifi it was none existent :0( ..luckily... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Ctina3515 pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Dornafield and will be returning, as for mobile O2 works very well in this area but some other service providers don't seam to cover Devon nearly as well. The WIFI system here was new for the 2014 season and covers the whole site in fact you can even pick... More

North Yorkshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

This was our first visit to Dornafield and chosen for our 10 day holiday because it was not too large a site and looked to be well laid out and ideally located for our favourite South Devon haunts - What a find!! After a horridly stressful journey from North Yorkshire we were given a warm welcome by the owner and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Judeward Thank so much for finding the time to leave a review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your holiday here at Dornafield. All the staff here work very hard to maintain our very high standards and reviews like your make all the effort worth while. I hope that I will have the opportunity to welcome you... More

United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

We have just returned from our seventh stay at this great campsite. We like the way that the Orchard area is arranged for tents with a simple boundary of slightly longer grass clearly defining the individual pitches - wish that other campsites would do this - and that the owners have made the decision not to cram in masses of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Jazzy1869 Thank so much for taking the time to leave a review, but I do wish you had let me know about the lights as there should always be night lights on and the emergency lights are only for power failure. I will get all the sensors checked today to make sure there are no problems. If in future... More

Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

I'd like to echo the very positive reviews of this lovely campsite. Staff were exceptionally friendly, the whole site was immaculate, the shower blocks are clean, warm and spacious with hot water at any time of day or night, no charges for freezing ice blocks (having left ours at home by accident we were even loaned some for the duration... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear divabanana Thank you so much for all your kind comments about Dornafield. The whole team works really hard to try and make the whole experience of visiting very special. I look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Regards Simon More

Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just returned from Dornafield - fantastic site, beautifully kept - the only downside was that my partner thought the chip van opened Monday to Friday when in fact it is open Monday and Friday - so no take away for us. The site is immaculate and toilet block the cleanest we have ever used - the only slight niggle was... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Jules A Your partner is not the only one to think that I think its the font used on the signage I will have the signs for the Quarry Kitchen made clearer so that you don't go hungry on your next visit. Really pleased that you found all the facilities clean and tidy at all times its always been... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Dornafield Camping Site? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dornafield Camping Site

Address: Two Mile Oak | Ipplepen, Newton Abbot, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Newton Abbot
Also Known As:
Dornafield Camping Site Newton Abbot, Devon

36 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (30)
Viewed
Other (30)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay