We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dornafield Camping Site

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
Two Mile Oak | Ipplepen, Newton Abbot TQ12 6DD, England
Special Offer
Super Seven Saver
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newton Abbot
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Dornafield Camping Site
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

58 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Rate and write a review
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    45
    11
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
29
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (58)
  • Mar-May only
    (9)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (35)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (13)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (1)
All months
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Just had a weekend in our Motorhome, First time we have been. Arrived after 6pm, not a problem, details left for us. Loveley pitch, hard standing, water, waste, not far from Shower/Toilet block. Quite site after 10.30pm, even though it was busy. Bonus was the excellent Dog Walk. Lovely, countryside site, close to Torquay, Brixham, Totnes, Newton Abbott, and M5.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear nickp191 Thanks for finding the time to leave a review and so pleased that you enjoyed Dornafield and it sounds like you explored our seven acres of doggy areas. Dornafield is very central in south Devon and we don't suffer from all the traffic problems which hamper the outskirts of the local towns. I am delighted that you plan... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2015

Lovely landscaped site convenient for Torquay and surrounding areas. We had a fully serviced, hard standing pitch which was immaculate and the staff were welcoming and hardworking. What can I say about the toilet blocks that hasn't already been said? The best I've been to in 30 years of camping/caravanning, keep up the good work! The only downside was the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Ahardyweed thank you very much for finding the time to leave a review. My team here at Dornafield really take pride in providing a clean and friendly environment for our customers and its always great to receive such lovely comments. As for the torrential rain we are currently trying to fix that but its going to be a long... More 

Hermitage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

The site is in an excellent area of Devon and is extremely clean and well looked after - the family that run it are brilliant - the toilets deserve their 2015 award. The only thing for me was the showers don't get me wrong they are clean, warm, never had to queue but because of the fixed head being at... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Tracy C Many thanks for leaving a review on Dornafield, i am very please you enjoyed your recent stay with us and of course your dog enjoyed the off lead dog areas. We are very conscious of our facility blocks and find that a constant round of cleaning and maintenance keeps the facilities up to our standards which our... More 

Braintree Essex
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2015

We have just returned from a fantastic two weeks staying here in our caravan, the site is beautiful, the pitches are hard standing and all are fully serviced, you can go super if you wish. The staff working exceedingly hard to keep the site in its excellent condition and the facilities in top form. The welcome we received on arriving... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear radleygirl43 So sorry i missed your review it has only just poped up on my screen! Thank you for leaving such a great review and i am so pleased you enjoyed Dornafield. You are right the whole team has a passion for the park and they all work tirelessly to provide an environment that they would like to find... More 

Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2015

We arrived two weeks ago and the staff at reception were as friendly as we remember from our last visit two years ago. What we like is the ability to book a specific pitch in advance and if you are late to arrive it does not matter. Your information pack is left in the information area after 5.00pm. The sites... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Andrew H Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review on Dornafield and really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. My family and staff are always striving to create something special for our customers and we will always continue to do so. Now your bugbear the WIFI ! this over the last few years has... More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2015

We stayed here for one night only but we could have stayed for lots more ! Very clean shower block , private and spacious plots , beautiful picturesque setting. We will definitely return. Very pet friendly site All plots have there own drinking water and waste water supply which is very helpful. Beautiful site

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Brainyjo Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and so pleased that you enjoyed your brief stay with us. If when you decide to return please phone and you can reserve any pitch you like. Our team are constantly checking the facilities so they should always be in top notch condition. Best Wishes Simon More 

Gibraltar
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2015

Carlsberg don't do camping but if they did Dornafield would surely be it. It's a beautiful camp site. Lovely plots, flat and generously sized. The people are a delight to deal with and the faciliites are fantastic. Everything is clean, works well and the place was delightfully serene and quiet. It's the best campsite i have stayed at which speaks... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Woo that's a real accolade for us here, i am so delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Dornafield in the future. Best wishes Simon More 

bolton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2015

We have just stayed here and cannot fault anything about this site or the staff who run it. Everything is spotless and well tended. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at Dornafield. Well Done and keep up the good work we will see you again in the future.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear BoltonWoodside Well what can i say apart from thank you for such praise for all the staff here at Dornafield! It makes me very proud. Well the sun is out and the swallows are here so summer has arrived so hurry back for another holiday and we will be delighted to see you. Many Thanks Simon More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2015

We have just camped in a tent at Dornafield for 2 nights and would not hesitate to return. We had a grass pitch with no electric and the pitches are individually marked and are ample size for the tent and car. The staff here are very friendly and the campsite beautiful. The site is kept impeccably clean and tidy, the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear Lozza82_30 Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review on Dornafield. Its not often that campers leave reviews so its great to get your opinion. Sorry about WIFI charge but as a rural site we had to make a serious investment to provide a usable system and new legislation on the monitoring of web sites visited means we... More 

Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2015

I am always a little wary when a site gets wonderful reviews in case it is not as good as the hype. After our first visit I now know that Dornafield really DOES deserve the praise that former reviewers have given. There’s nothing new I can say except to add my opinion that this is an exceptionally clean and well... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Simon D, Owner at Dornafield Camping Site, responded to this review

Dear christineb Many thanks for leaving the review and i am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Dornafield. We have always endeavored to maintain the park to the highest possible standards hence the facility blocks are visited more than three times of the day to ensure the standards are upheld. The Quarry Kitchen is a service which most... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

40 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (33)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newton Abbot
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newton Abbot
Premier Inn Newton Abbot
#2 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.0 of 5 stars 344 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
Sampsons Farm Country Hotel
#1 of 5 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
3.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Passage House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bulleigh Barton Manor
Bulleigh Barton Manor
#1 of 2 in Ipplepen
5.0 of 5 stars 147 reviews
24.5 mi away
Oakdown Holiday Caravan Park
1.7 mi away
The Bickley Mill
The Bickley Mill
#2 of 22 in Newton Abbot
4.5 of 5 stars 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities