We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Captain's Club Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Wick Lane | Wick Ferry, Christchurch BH23 1HU, England
Hotel amenities
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Captain's Club Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The Captain's Club Hotel
Add Photo Write a Review

423 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    283
    81
    28
    20
    11
See reviews for
81
210
4
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (423)
  • Mar-May only
    (108)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (128)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (106)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (81)
All months
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This is a small modern hotel right by the river in Christchurch. All rooms look out over the river which leads out to the sea. The rooms are clean and bright. When it rains, there is quite a racket from the metal sunshields above the windows. This is a minor criticism when one has such a lovely view of the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Bramhall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good position on the river with great views. Rooms were adequate if not a little over priced. Should have stayed 2 nights however checked out early due to disagreement regarding hotel policy on pets. Hotel need to ensure that the information offered to guests on booking is accurate and reflected by senior staff on duty. Public areas nice and comfortable.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A hotel frequented often, this is a favourite as is Christchurch. Staff are very knowledgable and friendly and rooms overlooking the river are a little small for the price however perfectly formed. Large windows that can open fully are a nice touch. Ensure the head chef is in when eating in the restaurant as the price you pay for the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We were staying in Christchurch for a few days and heard good reviews about Splinters. Unfortunately, and strangely to me, they don't open on Mondays and Tuesdays. However, they recommended the Captains Club and on the strength of this we booked a table for dinner on Sunday. We were having a walk along the river in the afternoon and decided... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here last weekend attending a friends wedding anniversary party. They suggested this place so we were looking forward to staying. The service , staff, ect was good but the room was poor , dirty carpet -stains ! very uncomfortable bed awful pillows gave me neck ache😁. The dressing gowns provided were really poor , one of our was... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at The Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to feedback following your weekend stay at the hotel. I have contacted you privately in the hope that we will be able to correspond further regarding the issues and look forward to hearing from you. In the meantime please accept my apologies for the shortfall in standards you have experienced. More 

London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Dropped in for cocktails on Saturday as we did a couple of years ago. On the last occasion, we found that service was very slow and the staff were a bit rude, but put it down to a busy day. This time around the service was again chronically slow, but the staff appear to have taken arrogance to a whole... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
TimothyLloyd, Hotel Director at The Captain's Club Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback with regards to the "cocktails with attitude" experience you encountered at the hotel. As a privately owned hotel with a strong reputation for serving cocktails it is most unusual to receive such feedback but please be assured we are taking your comments very seriously and will be investigating further to ensure there is not a... More 

New Forest, Dorset
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Our group of 5 ladies gathered for afternoon tea for a friends birthday. 3 had the full tea whilst the other 2 had tea and scones. The sandwiches were fresh and came in a variety of breads, all very tasty. Then came the delicious scones (one plain one fruit) which were gorgeously light with that just baked taste - superb!... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
South Coast
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The riverside location is wonderful and was truly enhanced by the sunshine. It has a real classy holiday atmosphere. The sandwich menu is a little pricey but I have paid similar prices elsewhere and been disappointed. This, however, was worth it. The staff are very attentive too. And a big bonus is, dogs are welcome inside the lounge area (not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gatwick, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We've stayed several times at the Captain's Club. Taking a suite means that the head of our household - the dog! - can come with us. What do I love so much about this hotel, with the nautical nod in its architecture? Is it the lovely chic and unfussy styling of the comfortable rooms? Is it the beautiful view from... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful day spent having a full body massage and an hour long facial with lunch in between. Staff very pleasant and professional. Massage lovely and firm but relaxing too Use of the hydro pool and I even managed a snooze in the sun.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

91 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (76)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (19)
Viewed
View from room (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Christchurch
1.6 mi away
Christchurch Harbour Hotel & Spa
3.2 mi away
Lord Bute Hotel
Lord Bute Hotel
#1 of 10 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 225 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Kings Arms
The Kings Arms
#3 of 10 in Christchurch
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Christchurch / Highcliffe
2.4 mi away
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
Fisherman's Haunt Hotel
#6 of 10 in Christchurch
4.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
4.5 mi away
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
Chewton Glen Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in New Milton
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Price Your Stay