We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Coleford hotels

The Speech House Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Coleford Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Hotel amenities
The Speech House Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Speech House Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
lilypettit Bristol, United Kingdom
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    126
    45
    13
    13
See reviews for
79
180
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (366)
  • Mar-May only
    (97)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (109)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (95)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (65)
All months
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Each year I have to choose a venue for a family annual pre Christmas lunch. We have people coming from many locations and the venue has to be good for us to make a return booking. In December 2013 we lunched on the pre Christmas menu at The Speech House (see my previous review headed "Just what we wanted. Good... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lilypettit, Thanks for leaving us feedback on your recent visit to the Speech House. I was disappointed to learn that we had failed to reach our usual high standard as last year and have investigated why you did not have any festive crackers etc. Firstly I can only apologise for the poor Yorkshire Pudding and sincerely wish that you... More 

mims florida
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
69 hotel reviews
458 helpful votes 458 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

They were very busy so we found a corner to have our cream teas, which were very good scones, and cream and jam, but it took some coaxing to obtain enough water to enjoy 2 cups of tea from our pot for 4. Interesting place with the Forresters meeting hall .

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mims Florida, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent visit to the Speech House. We always give a small amount of hot water for topping up the tea pot. However as the jug loses heat we always encourage our guests to ask for fresh hot water. I can only apologise that due to the Orangery being so busy... More 

2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked into Speech House as was a convenient location. Staff very courteous, but the family room we booked was pokey and cluttered, with ill arranged furnishings and lots of street and carpark noise. There was no bath ( for a family room?) and the tiny shower cubicle was either freezing cold or dangerously scalding hot, so useless for the kids.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AGV& Y, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House. I am disappointed to read that you were unhappy with your stay with us. I note all of your negative comments which I will take to my next Heads of Department meeting for discussion and further investigation. Whilst the buck stops with... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We have just had a very nice reasonable lunch time meal.The staff were very friendly and most efficient.There was a lovely warm atmosphere and although busy never to rushed. We will certainly go again, and thoroughly recommend it to anyone.

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Phillip R, Thank you for leaving such a positive review. I am delighted that you and your party had a great lunch and that you were well looked after by my team. We always endeavour to offer value for money whilst maintaining a relaxed atmosphere and it's good to know it is appreciated.. I have passed on your very... More 

Wotton-under-Edge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What an excellent hotel. Our room in the main hotel was out of this world with a beautiful antique four poster bed, everything about the room was superb . The staff were brilliant, the attention was just right. The evening meal was delicious, everything cooked perfectly especially the fillet steak, melted in the mouth. Breakfast was excellent as well. I... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Linda R, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent stay with us at the Speech House. I was delighted to meet you both shortly before your departure and to share some of the history regarding the Verderers Court. I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in one of our antique four poster beds, which date... More 

Kettering, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely 4 poster bed room and very large clean bathroom. Food excellent and service faultless. Good walks around the forest of Dean. Breakfast fresh and varied was superb. Would thoroughly recommend to anyone fancying a quiet break..

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DunkieB, Thank you so much for leaving such a positive review on your recent stay with us at The Speech House. I am so glad you enjoyed your room and food as well as the walks. I am only sorry the weather was not so brilliant. Some things we cannot have any control of. I have passed on your... More 

Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Often come in here for Sunday lunch. The atmosphere is very relaxed, the staff attentive and good service. Lunch though can be a bit hit and miss. One weekend perfect the next a bit stingy with the meat portion. Last weekend the portion was generous but the beef was tough. However the vegetables are always lovely and those Yorkshire puddings... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carmel D, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent visit to The Speech House. I am glad that you find our atmosphere relaxing and our team very attentive and customer focused. Yes the Yorkshire's are a bit special and certainly huge. I like them too but my waistband is a little less forgiving! The weekend you refer to... More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an anniversary treat arranged for us by our family. We stayed in a courtyard room away from the main part of the hotel. We found it very clean and comfortable, it was listed as a luxury four poster courtyard room. The main hotel I can see suites this style of decoration however I feel that the courtyard rooms... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Hi JanenRog, Thanks for taking time to leave a review on your recent stay with us. The Courtyard 4 poster rooms are more modern than the main house 4 posters. They do have very modern bathrooms and furnishings where as the main house is more traditional. I am so glad you enjoyed your food during your stay and that my... More 

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for a birthday celebration and had a courtyard room with four poster bed - spotlessly clean with a very modern stylish bathroom. We spent the evening sat in the garden which is lovely before dining in the Verdere's Court restaurant - what AMAZING food !!!! one of the best meals we have ever had - service excellent.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kim-06 Thanks for leaving us such a positive review. I have passed on your very kind comments to all of our team. So glad you enjoyed your food and your four poster room. Come and see us again soon. Best wishes Peter Hands Director/Proprietor More 

London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

The Speech House is set in a beautiful location in the Forest of Dean. The food is excellent and the staff are very friendly. The best part is the impressive history of the building and antiques inside. Well worth a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
The_Speech_House, Owner at The Speech House Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Aptwo1, Thanks for leaving a review on your recent experience at the Speech House, my apologies for the delay in responding. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit and that you enjoyed your meals. Thanks also for your very kind comments regarding the staff, I have passed on your feedback to all of my team. Indeed... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to The Speech House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Speech House Hotel

Address: Coleford Road | Speech House, Coleford GL16 7EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Speech House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Speech House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Speech Hotel Coleford
The Speech House Hotel Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

39 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay