We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 8 Coleford B&Bs / inns

Forest House

4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Cinder Hill, Coleford GL16 8HQ, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Forest House to your Saves list
Forest House
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
98%
Ranked #4 of 8 Coleford B&B and Inns
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 6 days ago
Clairehannaha Teddington, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (69)
  • Photos (4)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (12)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

69 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    8
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
36
Solo
0
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have just returned from a weekend's stay in Coleford for a wedding, and couldn't have asked for a warmer welcome or friendlier service from all the staff here. Fresh milk for tea and coffee when we arrived was a lovely touch, and something we have never been offered at a hotel before. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Strood UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for 2 nights in August. Hotel was comfortable and clean. The welcome was friendly and were offered a pot of tea on arrival. Most welcome. Breakfast was very good. The local butcher supplied bacon and sausages were excellent. The only downside was the bathroom that was too small and in need of some refurbishment. The shower was good... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lichfield
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

What a lovely place to come back to after a day on the river!! Owners were most friendly and very welcoming, even organised our taxi for the evening to go into Symonds Yat! Room was lovely, clean and very cosy. Breakfast was yummy too!! A very nice stay at a good price :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here as a group of two couples after a day canoeing at Symonds Yat which is a 10minute drive away (or £14 return in a taxi). The owners are a lovely couple and could not have been more friendly or welcoming. The staff are very nice too. It is a quaint b+b which I think borders on a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a shame we couldn't have stayed longer! A friendly welcome, lovely corner room, immaculate shower room, one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in and breakfast was spot on! Nothing was too much trouble and how nice to be offered fresh milk to go with tea and coffee in our room. We would definitely recommend this hotel... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
portsmouth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

After reading the previous reviews I was expecting something wonderful, how disappointed was I. Nice room, couldn't shut the window, shower was old and full of mildew and towels were frayed. Breakfast was average, nothing amazing. I've had better and more imaginative at a Novotel. The owner was nice enough, room on the large side and clean apart from shower.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Susan S, Owner at Forest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Forest House. We are sorry you were so disappointed. We take all comments on board and try to rectify any issues raised. We apologise if our house-keeping was not up to scratch. As far as your dog is concerned, we were not trying to be unfriendly.... More

Millville, New Jersey
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stayed here 2 nights, and ate at the restaurant one. The room was spotless, comfortable, quiet and classy. Breakfast was amazing - by far more creative than other B and B's. The food was exceptional, and Sue, the innkeeper was extremely helpful and kind. The price was reasonable, and the location was perfect for exploring the Welsh castles -... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We (family of 4, 2 toddlers) stayed here for one night. It was a very comfortable stay in the top room. Plenty of space and very comfortable bathroom. The kids were very relaxed there and we found the style and design of the room easy with them. The staff were very welcoming and helpful and responsive to any of our... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We stayed here for one night in early May. Our room was good, not enormous but not pokey. It was clean with real quality linen. The bathroom was a tad tired but very clean with a fine view of the cadet hall, the fire station and the ambulances. Coleford is not noisy place and we had a quiet night. The... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welshpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed in other B and B's in the area and this is my favourite. Sue is amazingly helpful and the breakfast was excellent. We have relatives in the area so we didn't use the restaurant but my sister had heard very positive things about it as well. Lovely old house with features such as sash windows and window... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Forest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Forest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forest House

Address: Cinder Hill, Coleford GL16 8HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Forest House 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Forest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Forest House Forest Of Dean, Gloucestershire - Coleford

4 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (1)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Coleford with
any amenities

Amenities

Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family run guest house and restaurant, the accommodation is both spacious and comfortable. We have eight rooms all with en-suite facilities, a mixture of double, twin, king-size and family rooms. Excellent food prepared on the premises by award-winning chef and served in our fully licensed, candlelit Bluebell Restaurant. The Bluebell Restaurant is open from Monday to Saturday evenings.Forest House is an ideal base for both business travellers and tourists, situated in the historic market town of Coleford in the Royal Forest of Dean close to the Wye Valley, both areas of outstanding natural beauty. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
8

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Forest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer