We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Coleford hotels

Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lords Hill, Coleford GL16 8BE, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club to your Saves list
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
68%
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Coleford
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
garyc2106 Walsall UK
  • Reviews (85)
  • Photos (19)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (22)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    23
    18
    8
    1
See reviews for
19
13
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walsall UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just some thoughts on the Bells hotel I have been on a golf break to the Bells hotel, we have been before therefore I really should know what to expect. Firstly the golf course, testing and has some really nice looking holes, it's in reasonable condition but the pace of play is dictated by two things, 1,too many players on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Biggleswade
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: - Comfortable beds - Lots of TV channels - Comfortable seating - Large rooms - Glass door shower - Large bathroom - Friendly staff Cons: - Paper thin walls meaning you can hear people in the adjacent room(s), as well as those in the hallway - Shower kept switching between warm and cold every couple of minutes

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Boston, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A pleasant setting in a quiet area, first impressions from the outside did not reflect the quality inside. The ground floor rooms were noisy due to creaking floors and constant opening of doors by people through traffic. Staff were very good and helpful. The dining room and bars were across a car park from the Hotel rooms and a gauntlet... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Unassuming from the outside, this is a little gem. Lovely room, good location in the Forest of Dean, friendly, helpful staff. Booked online for £55 for a double (Non-refundable), initially allocated a twin, but this was rectified within minutes. Good room, comfortable, well stocked with tea, coffee etc. Overlooking the golf course, good view, birds singing, had a lovely night.... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

Stayed here for a watercolour course with a friend. Had the use of a double room at the back of hotel which was well equipped and comfortable All the usual facilities you expect these days, ensuite shower; tv, drinks tray(although, irritatingly, the kettle had a short lead which meant unplugging everytime you boiled it for a cuppa); wifi,etc. My friend... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
57 hotel reviews
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

This is a small hotel which is part of the golf course in Coleford. The room rates are very reasonable - and the rooms are clean and comfortable. Beware however of the fact that the walls and doors are quite thin - so if you are a light sleeper, the noise of others walking up the corridor and listening to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Me and my husband stayed her as we were attending a function. The room we stayed in had a lovely view of the golf course and the sun set. The check-in was pleasant and efficient with friendly staff. The bar and restaurant area was very nice and obviously recently revamped, with a old English golf club feel with a modern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

I am grateful that you have taken the time to leave a few comments on your recent experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed both your stay in the Hotel and your function with us. We have a lot of experience with catering for large groups of people at one time and so we often receive... More

Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We were in Coleford for gym comp and booked Sunday Carvery for 5 adults and 3 children. Most of the adults had 3 courses and the children 2. Great value for money no complaints from us and lovely staff especially the dark haired barman who was great fun and very good at his job!

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review of your experience in our restaurant. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and the entertainment! We hope to see you again in the near future. More

Worksop, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed with you on Easter Sunday, we thought the hotel staff and pro shop were excellent people to deal with but unfortunately we didn't feel the same way about bar and catering staff. Our lunch was not what we ordered and when commented was not dealt with in a proper manner I.e as if we were making a complaint... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for leaving a review of your stay with us. I am pleased that you found the Hotel and Shop staff so helpful but I was disappointed to read about your experience in our bar/restaurant. This is not typical of Bells Hotel and we will be investigating how this was allowed to happen. We are often complimented on how... More

Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

I have just returned from a 1 night/2 rounds of golf stay at the Bells hotel and overall my party and I were happy with the stay. Firstly the value is incredible. Everything from the rooms, to the golf course, to the restaurant/club house is better than you would expect. The course is in good condition. The clubhouse/restaurant was really... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased that you recognised the great value that we offer here. I am also happy to hear that the restaurant and golf course were to your liking. I am sorry that you were disappointed that we do not allow clubs to be stored in bedrooms. This is due... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

Address: Lords Hill, Coleford GL16 8BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells Hotel And The Forest Of Dean Golf & Bowls Club Gloucestershire - Coleford

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (2)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nestled in the Forest of Dean in the historic market town of Coleford, this exceptional hotel and leisure complex offers an 18-hole parkland golf course, clubhouse, superb restaurant and bowling green.With spectacular views of the surrounding countryside as well as the rolling parkland, lakes and woodland of the golf course the Bell Hotel is the perfect place to relax and unwind. With friendly yet professional service, guests can expect their stay to be both enjoyable and delightfully memorable. The Hotel has a traditional, historic feel coupled with a great range of modern facilities. Each of the 53 en-suite rooms are clean, comfortable and well appointed and they all include free Wi-Fi, flat-screen TV, biscuits and tea & coffee making facilities. Many also boast beautiful views over the golf course and bowling green. There are accommodation options to cater to all types of traveller, from Single, Double, Twin and Family rooms to spacious Suites and 2 rooms that are suitable for wheelchair users. Their staff are available 24 hours a day, ensuring a warm welcome whatever time guests arrive.The Clubhouse bar is open all day every day and serves drinks and bar snacks throughout. Guests are free to relax and have a game of pool, watch Sky Sports or keep an eye on the afternoon’s play in the conservatory and terrace suite which has views over the bowling green. For some truly superb cuisine, Potter’s Restaurant offers a fantastic selection homemade dishes all of which are made from fresh locally sourced produce wherever possible.Founded in 1973, the Forest of Dean Golf Club at Bells offers a 69 par eighteen-hole golf course that is both a challenge and a joy to play regardless of ability. It also incorporates a large practice ground, putting green and a well-stocked golf shop.The Hotel also boasts a county standard bowling green, with has its own patio seating area and is overlooked by a south facing balcony.With such a spectacular location and excellent facilities, it is no surprise to learn that the Hotel makes for a wonderful venue for weddings and other special occasions. It is also ideal for corporate events and conferences with several different meeting rooms available in a range of different sizes.The Hotel is situated in the Forest of Dean in the town of Coleford just a 35 minute drive from Gloucester and 12 minutes from the A40, what’s more it offers plenty of free on-site parking. The city of Gloucester offers excellent transport links and there is also a local station at Lydney, just a 13 minute taxi ride from the Hotel. For those flying in, it’s just under a 90 minute drive from Birmingham International Airport.Situated in the unspoilt beauty of the Royal Forest of Dean, an area of outstanding natural beauty, visitors to the Hotel will never be short of things to do. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
53

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer