We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 3 Coleford hotels

Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lords Hill, Coleford GL16 8BE, England
Hotel amenities
Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club to your Saves list
65%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Coleford
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 weeks ago
Dan T Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    25
    22
    12
    1
See reviews for
20
16
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (100)
  • Mar-May only
    (22)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (33)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (29)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (16)
All months
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just came back from a golf weekend at the Bells hotel. I have read many reviews on this hotel and golf course before I left some good, some OK and some not so good. The one thing I noticed was the comments back from the Hotel management with regards to negative comments from the paying public. They went down the... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in last weekend with a group of friends for a golfing weekend. The golf course was in very good condition although you may want to avoid the thick rough (which says more about my ability than the standard of the course). The hotel staff were all friendly and the room sizes very good and comfortable. I stayed in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dorset
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I visited here with a colleague and we were given two rooms on the ground floor. The rooms were ridiculously hot for a start, goodness knows how they would be in the height of summer. The windows only opened about an inch, which presumably is a health & safety issue on the ground floor - but there should be some... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014

Spent a week with our bowls tour. First the good...food good selection and lots of it, staff very helpful and friendly. Nice size room. We were given a family room although there only two of us. Poor housekeeping. Our bathroom was not very clean with dirt around sink and mould growth on tiles. Doors close with a loud bang and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Gloucestershire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014 via mobile

We went to bells last night for the wine club we had a brilliant evening with great food. The evening included a five course dinner with a large glass of wine served with each course which was very good value for money. The wine was well priced if you decided to purchase a couple of bottles. The evening was finished... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. It is good to hear that you had such a good time while you were here. It is also nice to hear that the service was great. I am sure that we will see you again in the future. More

Sussex, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014 via mobile

Good points: Friendly staff Good location for visiting Forest of Dean Big rooms Very Good breakfast Bad points: Very noisy if your neighbors are a bunch of drunk middle aged men Plastic under sheet on the beds!!!!!!! Old tired mattress Thick duvet with no alternative. Creaky floors

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed your breakfast. I must apologise for the noisy guests next door, a quick call to our Night-Porter would have rectified this. I hope that this will not deter you from visiting us again in the... More

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014 via mobile

Visited bells hotel clubhouse for wine evening. Excellent five course meal superbly paired with wine. Could not fault the quality, service or setting. Wonderful menu very well presented and fantastic value . Highly recommend .

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments. Our Wine and Dine evenings are proving very popular. We will hope to see you at the next event. More

Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

We stayed here for one night sadly for a family funeral. Very welcoming reception and nice location. Room looked really good, nice and big. However, bed was pushed nearly to one wall and we had to move a bit (with difficulty) as I needed to get in and out of bed - this could have been positioned more appropriately in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We are constantly refurbishing and improving the site to improve our guest experience. It was nice to hear that to found are staff to be friendly. Should the need arise to stay once again in the beautiful Forest of Dean, I hope that you will choose... More

London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
81 hotel reviews
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

First staff excellent. Hotel generally clean. Bathroom needs a lot of attention, no shelf to put things on. Wardrobe full of previous guests hangers. Beds? One of the cheapest beds I have ever slept on. Do not expect to watch tv form your bed as it's too small. No sound insulation. Breakfast only ok, small portions. Having said all that... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Firstly it is great to hear that you found our staff to be excellent. I am sorry that your room did not reach your expectations. This winter we are refurbishing the rooms with older bathrooms and also replacing the smaller televisions with larger models. I do hope that you... More

harrow
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

15 of us had a mini golf break. this is the third year we have been coming here and as usual we all had a great time. the management and staff are first class nothing to much trouble. room very clean and breakfast and dinner all good.its not the savoy but for the price they charge its excellent value for... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
BellsHotelManagement, General Manager at Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club, responded to this review

It was great to have you guys back again this year. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us once again. We have further improvements planned for this winter so hopefully you will have an even better golf break in 2015, see you then! More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club

Address: Lords Hill, Coleford GL16 8BE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Coleford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bells Hotel and the Forest of Dean Golf & Bowls Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bells Hotel And The Forest Of Dean Golf & Bowls Club Gloucestershire - Coleford

19 photos of this hotel

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (11)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay