We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Romany Rye Hotel

Church Street, Dereham NR19 1DL, England
Hotel amenities
The Romany Rye Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #5 of 9 Dereham B&B and Inns
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 1 week ago
Higs05 England
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    40
    11
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
33
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (92)
  • Mar-May only
    (23)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good value for money for the size of room. Nice to have a bath for our young children. Would stay here again. Didn't give 5 stars as strangely every light switch in the room operated every light at the same time. So you either had every light on or were im complete darkness. Don't know if this was just our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The choice of accommodation in Dereham is very limited and we almost booked here out of desperation! However, we were not disappointed. The room was good, clean with tea/coffee making facilities, nice biscuits and two bottles of water, all complimentary. The bathroom was clean and well kept and the shower was good. Despite being part of a pub open til... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you MalMasters for your kind review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The Romany Rye and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights 24th feb-1st mar with our children joining us for 1 night in 2 seperate rooms. We were very pleased with our room which was a good sized and clean.However, we were jealous when we saw the childrens rooms, they were huge!!! We appreciated the good quality biscuits supplied each day along with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and rated the foodso highly, please let us know if you wish to visit again and we can see if the family room is available for you! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Standard weatherspoons pub. Cheap and cheerful. They where quite busy but we still managed to get a table for 8 food came out nice and quick. Tables where cleared quickly and even tho they where busy we didn't feel forced out of our seats once we where done. Definitely recommend to a friend for a cheap eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Charlotte H for your review and recommendation, we are very glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again really soon! More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
15 hotel reviews
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Stayed at this Wetherspoon conversion for Valentine weekend. Can't decide if it's a blessing or a curse to be above such a value establishment as Tim's chain of pubs. This used to be the Phoenix, and it's nice to see that it has risen from the ashes so to speak. Room was a good size, bed comfy, good size bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review,we are very pleased to hear you thought so highly of your room and also enjoyed your valentines meal while staying with us. We hope to see you again soon More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

On Many occasions me or my partner have gone to the bar, to order food. Had no acknowledgement from any off the bar staff!! People have come to the bar after us and got served! On May occasions I have had to say we was first. One Sunday morning we came in as a family, wanting breakfast got there just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we do value all feedback and its only through customer comments such as yours that we can strive to improve standards going forward. More 

Essex
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2015

What a great invention, a hotel above a Wetherspoons pub. Situated in the centre of Dereham this is must place to stay. Check in was quick and easy, issued with two key cards and the offer of help with luggage. Parking is limited but a very nearby car park is free and well lit. Staff will advise. Room ( 107... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you EssexGrumpy34 for your wonderful review and recommendation. we are pleased you enjoyed your weekend break with us and we hope to see you again very soon. More 

A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

Lovely modern clean and tidy room, we had a problem with our toilet not flushing and it was sorted out immediatly .staff friendly and helpfull .we would definatly stay again .car park very small only space for 4 cars .parking only 5 minute walk away .

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy you liked the room and had an enjoyable stay with us we look forward to seeing you again soon! More 

Northampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2015

Booked via Late Rooms the day before I had to go there on a business trip. Was unsure about it when I first got there but the quality and the service provided by the staff quickly put me at ease. The room was large and clean and the bathroom was massive! I wish I had a double bed instead of... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review Tony Y. I am very pleased to read that you had a lovely stay here at the The Romany Rye Hotel and that you liked your room. Our staff pride themselves on their service so it is great that you rate them so highly. We hope to see you again soon. More 

norfolk
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2015

Went here for tea with family. Very busy. Polite staff. Good beer, good food delivered to the table without a long wait, presented nicely. Value for your money. Clean toilets which always a bonus. Will certainly return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thankyou for your review myxkr. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to The Romany Rye. Our staff pride themselves on their service so it is lovely that you found them polite & efficient. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question