We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Romany Rye Hotel

Church Street, Dereham NR19 1DL, England
Hotel amenities
The Romany Rye Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dereham
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 5 days ago
Ray S Brigg, United Kingdom
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    41
    12
    3
    5
See reviews for
23
33
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (96)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My first observations about this Hotel are not directly in their control, being due to the awful mess which the local authority has made of the roads in the Town Centre. This is not helped, for me, due to mobility issues, to the fact that the Hotel has only 4 spaces in their car park, one of which is for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

hank you for your review Ray S and for your comments regarding our staff, our staff pride themselves on their service so it is great that you rate them so highly. We are pleased you found your stay overall, a pleasant one although we are sorry that you found some aspects of the hotel disappointing. If you choose to stay... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

No problem with the food quality, although quite a long delay for all six of us to be served on Good Friday when we visited. The venue itself was full with children, good to see, but several of them were out of control,We appreciate that Wethersoons cannot control their customers children but how about a child free zone for those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fudge186342, thank you for your recent review, im glad to hear you enjoyed your food hear at the Romay Rye. Good Friday was a very busy day for us so I can only apologise about the longer than usual wait. We do hope you will come and see us again soon! More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Ordered a "gourmet" chicken burger. It was lovely - except it was 100% beef. If you can't get the basics right, then it worries me what else is wrong behind the scenes. Mind you, I did get all of the mandatory 15 chips. Do you seriously employ a "chip counter" ?

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Dear HeadAcheOnASunday,I am sorry you didn’t enjoy your experience at the Romany Rye, we do strive to ensure all of our customers have a positive experience, however occasionally we do not get it right. Your feedback has been passed onto the management and kitchen teams, and I would like to thank you for taking the time and trouble to place... More 

Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Popped in for a spot of lunch and the food was tasty and piping hot. Very good service and helpful staff who explained how to save money purchasing certain drinks. Lovely spacious pub/restaurant with a good atmosphere. Very reasonably priced too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Blondeplanet for your kind review, im very happy to hear you enjoyed your lunch along with good atmosphere at the Romany Rye and that you found staff helpful. Please come back and visit us again soon! More 

England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Good value for money for the size of room. Nice to have a bath for our young children. Would stay here again. Didn't give 5 stars as strangely every light switch in the room operated every light at the same time. So you either had every light on or were im complete darkness. Don't know if this was just our... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Higs05, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The main light switches operate all the lights, however there are bedside lamps on either side of the bed that can be switched on separately. Sorry that you found your room was inconveniently located for you, if you wish to stay with us again please... More 

Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

The choice of accommodation in Dereham is very limited and we almost booked here out of desperation! However, we were not disappointed. The room was good, clean with tea/coffee making facilities, nice biscuits and two bottles of water, all complimentary. The bathroom was clean and well kept and the shower was good. Despite being part of a pub open til... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you MalMasters for your kind review, we are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay here at The Romany Rye and we hope to see you again soon! More 

Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2015

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights 24th feb-1st mar with our children joining us for 1 night in 2 seperate rooms. We were very pleased with our room which was a good sized and clean.However, we were jealous when we saw the childrens rooms, they were huge!!! We appreciated the good quality biscuits supplied each day along with... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, we are very happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and rated the foodso highly, please let us know if you wish to visit again and we can see if the family room is available for you! More 

Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2015

Standard weatherspoons pub. Cheap and cheerful. They where quite busy but we still managed to get a table for 8 food came out nice and quick. Tables where cleared quickly and even tho they where busy we didn't feel forced out of our seats once we where done. Definitely recommend to a friend for a cheap eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Charlotte H for your review and recommendation, we are very glad you enjoyed your meal and we hope to see you again really soon! More 

London, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
16 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2015

Stayed at this Wetherspoon conversion for Valentine weekend. Can't decide if it's a blessing or a curse to be above such a value establishment as Tim's chain of pubs. This used to be the Phoenix, and it's nice to see that it has risen from the ashes so to speak. Room was a good size, bed comfy, good size bathroom.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review,we are very pleased to hear you thought so highly of your room and also enjoyed your valentines meal while staying with us. We hope to see you again soon More 

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2015

On Many occasions me or my partner have gone to the bar, to order food. Had no acknowledgement from any off the bar staff!! People have come to the bar after us and got served! On May occasions I have had to say we was first. One Sunday morning we came in as a family, wanting breakfast got there just... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments, we do value all feedback and its only through customer comments such as yours that we can strive to improve standards going forward. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question