We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Romany Rye Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Church Street, Dereham NR19 1DL, England
Hotel amenities
The Romany Rye Hotel
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dereham
Certificate of Excellence
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
andyhols Southampton
Add Photo Write a Review

104 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    12
    4
    5
See reviews for
26
35
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (104)
  • Mar-May only
    (35)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (25)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (24)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (20)
All months
Southampton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed for 2 days whilst in area,staff were great,polite helpful,the cleaners even folded our children's PJ's and put them on the pillow which went down well.Food and drinks was as usual up to Weatherspoons high standard at a great price.Would recommend and would stay there again (The receptionist was great nothing was too much trouble for her..hope they pay her... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

my wife and i stayed here for one night and don't have any complaints,the staff were pleasant and very helpful great value for money and we would stay again next time we visit Dereham,we also enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the restaurant.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
gtr manchester
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Nice hotel overall. Nice food and friendly helpful staff. Quite busy in the pub for food early on on Sunday but guess the local know a good deal when they see one. Rooms are nice and clean. Our view out of window (room 105) was a bit grim looking out onto flat roof with all the air con units humming... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Bangor,
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely and clean; rooms decorated nice. Bed really comfy. Value for money. Nothing was too much trouble; Location was ok; parking not so good; Food was good value for money Only down side; no lift for the disabled.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Cheryl W for your kind review, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again at The Romany Rye More 

A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great value, great service & spacious, clean room. Food was good, as all other Wetherspoons provide. Only concern was no disabled access to the accommodation, would have liked a lift or stairlift. Other than that, staff & service were really good, & prices are always so reasonable.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you visit us again. Thank you for your comments regarding disabled access, we will pass this onto Head office to be logged. More 

spalding
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A superb stay, Idealy situated near the town centre. Clean large comfortable rooms and a very comprehensive economical menu in the well appointed attached restaurant. A very good and peaceful nights rest.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments tomcatdarren. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us so much. We hope to welcome you back again soon here at The Romany Rye. More 

Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Do not book this hotel if you dislike the smell of hospitals and would like to sleep before 3.a.m. Very noisy externally. No staff to book in, have to go to bar. Reception staff did not want to know about any problems relating to room. TV was faulty. Not what I would expect from a Wetherspoon that we drink and... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith, Thank you for your comments, we have your reservation details and will be in contact with you via royal mail. More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

to be fair this hotel is not bad at all good price ,clean and great value restaurant with good food .. its pub grub but the food is very good and although breakfast is not included for £2.99 you really cant complain.. the room was clean and comfortable with tv coffee ensuite etc my only down side was the noise... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you wrx374 for your recent review, were glad you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Romany Rye. Im very sorry about the noise you had during your stay but unfortunately this is out of our control. We really hope you will choose to stay with us again. More 

Brigg, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2015

My first observations about this Hotel are not directly in their control, being due to the awful mess which the local authority has made of the roads in the Town Centre. This is not helped, for me, due to mobility issues, to the fact that the Hotel has only 4 spaces in their car park, one of which is for... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

hank you for your review Ray S and for your comments regarding our staff, our staff pride themselves on their service so it is great that you rate them so highly. We are pleased you found your stay overall, a pleasant one although we are sorry that you found some aspects of the hotel disappointing. If you choose to stay... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2015

No problem with the food quality, although quite a long delay for all six of us to be served on Good Friday when we visited. The venue itself was full with children, good to see, but several of them were out of control,We appreciate that Wethersoons cannot control their customers children but how about a child free zone for those... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Romany R, Manager at The Romany Rye Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fudge186342, thank you for your recent review, im glad to hear you enjoyed your food hear at the Romay Rye. Good Friday was a very busy day for us so I can only apologise about the longer than usual wait. We do hope you will come and see us again soon! More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (5)
Viewed
Room/suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay