We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The George Hotel

Certificate of Excellence
Swaffham Road, Dereham NR19 2AZ, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work directly with Cancelon to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The George Hotel
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
The George Hotel
Add Photo

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Your overall rating of this property
Roll over, then click to rate
  Click to rate
Traveler rating
    58
    34
    16
    7
    6
See reviews for
30
41
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (121)
  • Mar-May only
    (27)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (36)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (33)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (25)
All months
Leicestershire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Although we didn't stay here at The George we visited twice, Sat in the garden as we had our dog with us, just wanted to say how friendly and helpful all the staff were and had the best meal all week, would highly recommend. Food excellent, awesome.

Was this review helpful? Yes
FLORIDA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely room and fantastic food cooked to order. Staff very friendly and helpful. The beds are comfortable. Nightlife is great. Had our family there to eat a meal with us which was fantastic. Surrounding shopping area was nice with banks within walking distance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location. Great breakfast. Clean and well appointed rooms. Nothing too much trouble. Staff really friendly. Great selection on the evening menu and good quality in terms of presentation and flavour. Would recommend and we will be staying again - as this time we have seen some improvement tweaks from our last visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes
West Yorks
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In the last 12 months I have stayed at this hotel over 40 times. I have always been wonderfully well looked after by Gareth and Rebecca for whom nothing is ever too much trouble. I've stayed in all rooms in the hotel and each is equally comfortable and spacious. The food is gastropub quality but without the price tag! The... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2015 via mobile

Ate here in September and made a point of coming back this weekend for sure bday dinner. Fantastic service, friendly staff and pleasant ambience. The whitebait starter was enough for a main, belly pork perfectly done. Partner had soup and steak. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2015

Just got back from a weeks hols in Sheringham and on our journey home arranged to meet up with some friends that live in the area around Dereham. As we had spent a night at the George Hotel in Dereham last year and had an excellent time we suggested meeting there for lunch. Again The George was excellent first class... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Burnham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015

This pub/hotel, is a breath of fresh air in East Dereham. Attentive staff, owners/chefs whose professional skills and customer care (and customer tolerance..) are second to none. Lovely people. Good food and good beer. Intelligent free trade at it's best, and skilled owners who have to deal with the full spectrum of clientele, locals and visitors alike. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2015

Very disappointed with the service and meal, and table setting, Hotel was under staffed, ran out of meat to serve us, the meat that was served, we could not eat. Had to wait for 45min to be served with the starters. Waitress could not speak english. three hours to be served three course meal. NOT happy with this, and would... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
Rebecca W, Owner at The George Hotel, responded to this review

Good evening, I am sorry that you were not happy after your meal with us. Here at the George it is our aim for our customers to enjoy a nice meal and leave satisfied. It is great shame that you did not ask to speak to anyone on the day and we would have gone out of our way to... More 

Cromer, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

Went with my other half and her parents for a birthday meal. Staff were very friendly,helpful and efficient from the start. My partner needs a gluten and dairy free diet and the waitress went to speak to the chef about what options would be suitable. She quickly returned and said that almost all the starters and main courses could be... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2015

My daughter works for a hotel herself so my family decided to treat me to dinner after her shift. Had a wonderful welcome... Friendly and from the off they couldn't do enough for us. My son is 25 and has downs syndrome and at no point did they make us or him feel uncomfortable. He went and ordered his own... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

18 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (4)
Viewed
View from room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay