We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
A recent review
3 of 5 stars reviewed 4 days ago
HayleyB74 Lincoln, United Kingdom
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    592
    512
    284
    122
    59
See reviews for
166
579
56
403
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1569)
  • Mar-May only
    (388)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (401)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (425)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (355)
All months
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for one night to finish off a short break in Northumberland. Allocated a 5th floor executive room on arrival which was huge and comfortable with a great bathroom that had a walk in shower and a bath. However there was a wet patch on the carpet by the bed and the bathroom floor was also wet.... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Hayley874, Many Thanks for your recent review I am glad you enjoyed the location of the hotel and most aspects of your stay , But I do apologise for the issues which you experienced and I sincerely hope this does not stop you returning to the Hilton Newcastle Gateshead in the Future . Kind Regards Martin . More 

Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Theorist and staff were fantastic but the place itself let the whole thing down. Booking wasn't easy as the girl on the phone was 'how can I put it' thick! Got there in the end though! The room I had my treatment was a room off the main gym so not relaxing at all as for the first 20 minutes... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Lucy22, Many thanks for your recent review I very much appreciate your positive comments about your treatments at the ocean rooms and the therapist who performed your treatment , I would also like to thank you for the feedback about the location of the treatment room which you obviously did not find relaxing this feedback will help us improve... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Enjoyed a weekend stay at this hotel, had a very nice comfy room,free wi-FI for us,.Breakfast excellent as usual. Problem with reception, our booking was in two parts,so in the week previous ,phoned to ensur that we could stay in the same room.Gentleman said that he had sorted it. On arrival ,found that it had not been sorted,young lady on... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Peter L Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was obviously a little disappointed that we had not managed to combine your room bookings prior to your check-in, but pleased that Eva was able to assist you with this. I do appreciate your frustration with... More 

Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

My partner and I stayed one night whilst attending an awards ceremony in the City. Booking was a nightmare; I rang the reservations number and got through to an apparent call centre which I dont believe was located in the UK. The guy was friendly and pleasant, however, I had to spell almost everything phonetically as he struggled with everything... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear 3036dave Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed the majority of your time at the hotel, however slightly disappointed that certain aspects marred your stay. I will certainly share your comments regarding breakfast with my Head Chef and... More 

Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel last minute for me and the hubby to get away for the night, we choose this hotel because it was central, and we where wanting a night out, this hotel is 5 minutes away from the night life, close but not too close, 1st impressions of the room wasn't very good, considering we paid £185 for it,... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Lolwal Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority your time at the hotel, however disappointed to learn certain aspects marred your stay. I do hope that this will not deter you from visiting us or another... More 

London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel grounds are fine but very decieving. I stayed in an executive room on the 5th floor which I presume must be better than a standard room. Step in the room and it's on the brink of being classed as unacceptable. It's clearly tiring and has all the tell tell signs like the chrome fixtures and fittings in the... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Ozy78 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. Please accept my personal apologies and be assured that I do view... More 

Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Hilton in Newcastle was fine. It wasnt bad, just was not somewhere that you would go "yeah lets go there again" The hotel did not shout out that it was special. The location was good and so was the views from the bedroom. Just did not have the wow factor for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear SharonDEdinburgh Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, however disappointed that we did not get to wow you on this visit, I know my team will be disappointed. However, I do hope that... More 

Cremona, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

room clean, bathroom ok, fully no smoking, breakfast good with several food selections. restaurant with few choice but good quality. fast check in/out and great location with river view. I do not like don't have the possibility to open the window in the room to refresh the air. Air cooling/heater didn't work properly and with a strong noise. good pubs... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear christianCR2014 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Martin Robinson General... More 

Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Everything about this hotel is fine (but in that not good but not bad way). Check-in was OK, room was clean, shower wasn't great, tiles on the bathroom floor were cracked so moved when you walked on them. Bar staff were fine, breakfast staff were pleasant.... I wouldn't rush back although the location is quite good - it's just not... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear nahill17 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed the majority your time at the hotel, however disappointed that some areas marred your stay. To this end I have instructed both my Housekeeping and Facilities team to double check... More 

Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a lovely romantic weekend and used the Hilton as a base for Newcastle shops and bars. The Newcastle Hilton is a great base and a great location on the Tyne ! Restaurant is lovely and we had a lovely hearty breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Mr&Mrs W Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, especially breakfast (!) and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

299 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (281)
Viewed
Bathroom (20)
Viewed
Room/suite (94)
Viewed
View from room (44)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (43)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay

Amenities

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question