We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 20 Gateshead hotels

Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Hotel website
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Sale - From £123
Save Saved
You added Hilton Newcastle Gateshead to your Saves list
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
72%
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Gateshead
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed yesterday
MarcusHurley Bristol, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (1,275)
  • Photos (255)
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (333)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

1,275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    480
    421
    232
    93
    49
See reviews for
134
481
51
331
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
61 hotel reviews
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a riverside view here which was just lovely! We could look straight out over the river and bridges to the castle keep. It was particularly nice at night when it was all lit up. The hotel itself has a good car park, lovely lounge areas with an outside balcony and a nice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Newcastle upon Tyne
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for one night. It was not bad but there was nothing impressive about it. The basic requirements that you expect in any average hotel, were here as well and nothing more. The only complaint that I have is about dripping of some sort of liquid from upstairs into the middle of the carpet which made it impossible... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Mandy B Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We were obviously disappointed to learn that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations and sincerely apologise for your disturbed nights' sleep. Your comments have been forwarded to our Facilities Team for their action. We... More

Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Enjoyed our stay with views over the Tyne. Very good breakfast and all staff were attentive - well done. Comfortable and spacious room that was cool during sleeping time - makes a change. Would definitely use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear dem02 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and look forward to being able to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards Lindsey Executive Office More

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I booked Hilton Gateshead for a suprise for our anniversary. At time of booking i requested a river view room due to it being a special occasion.Further to this when i received an email offering us an upgrade to a delux room with river view if i paid a supplement i ordered this.when we arrived we were told r room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear deb14_11 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and look forward to being able to hopefully welcome you back in the not too distant future. Wishing you a happy anniversary. Kind regards Lindsey... More

Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was our first visit to Newcastle (Gateshead) but one of many to a Hilton hotel. As always we found everything excellent from reception to dining to accommodation! Even though the whole of the Aussie athletics team fen-route to the Commonwealth Games arrived here at the same time as us we had no problems checking in! Our room (133) overlooked... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Julie W Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent first stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members, especially Hannah. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not... More

Darlington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a weekend in Newcastle, the hotel was smart and clean and the staff were helpful, I just expected more! When you here the Hilton name you expect something a bit special, and this wasn't , there was no wow factor. We had to pay extra for parking and extra for breakfast, I have stayed it better hotels... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear aubunangel Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We were obviously disappointed to learn that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations and apologise if you were not made aware that depending on the rate booked, breakfast is chargeable. However, your comments will be... More

arbroath, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed 1 night before joining cruise to Norway. The hotel was more than adequate for our needs and very comfortable. The breakfast was very good but should be included in price. That was my only complaint that the cost of the hotel is high enough and should be breakfast inclusive

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Carol S Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, however do note your comments regarding breakfast. We do have a range of rates available which are designed to hopefully, suit all budgets and... More

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Having an executive suite for £275 per night with a view of the Tyne and the City proved to be the best stay in any hotel in the UK I have experienced. Unfortunately we never had a chance to try breakfast or the spa and fitness centre but the staff were all great and made the stay really special. Highly... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Bhanudhir Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you were well looked after by our team members. We do hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back... More

Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We paid £168 for two seats at a black tie evening awards ceremony and still had to pay £6 to park the car for 5 hours. If we had stayed overnight, the parking charge would have been £12. Disgraceful. We are both vegetarians so our starter was a few leaves and a piece of tomato, the main course was ravioli... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Philip N Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, whilst attending an event. We were obviously disappointed to learn that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations. Unfortunately we do not own the car park and therefore the prices are not dictated by the hotel, but... More

Gateshead
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We weren't staying in the hotel but went for afternoon tea . We had a table overlooking the bridges and river . There was only one other table occupied . There is a choice of tea and gluten free, healthy , champagne or traditional afternoon tea . Children's tea is also served . We all chose traditional afternoon tea .... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Pixie056 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea at the hotel and will certainly share your kind comments with our Chefs. We do hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back in the... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton

255 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (235)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (34)
Viewed
View from room (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (77)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (21)
Viewed
Room/suite (11)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead #3 Business Hotel in Gateshead #4 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead #7 Family Hotel in Gateshead
Hotel Class
Number of rooms
254

Questions & Answers

Enter your question for this accommodation's staff to answer. Other travelers may answer as well.
    Posting guidelines

    See which rooms travelers prefer