We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

4.0 of 5 Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Hotel website
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Professional photos View all
Browse nearby
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Write a Review

1,538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    505
    272
    121
    58
See reviews for
161
567
56
396
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (412)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1538)
  • Mar-May only
    (357)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (401)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (425)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (355)
All months
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars NEW

My wife and I have stayed here many times and are always impressed with the friendly and helpful staff. On this occasion I will concentrate on the front of house and Executive Lounge staff. As always you are made to feel so welcome at the reception desk, with a cheery north east welcome. While I appreciate not ever visitor will... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
NI
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in the Hilton hotel last weekend. This hotel is really well located for a city break within Newcastle. The views are spectacular and from the outset you know you will have a great experience. The staff were efficient and very friendly and the check in process was very smooth. All of the team throughout the weekend were lovely and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 2 nights on our first ever visit to Newcastle on a standard room basis, but paid the £8.00 extra per person for breakfast. We booked 2 rooms as our friends stayed too and this appeared to make the check-in process very complicated for the hotel staff member. Her interpersonal skills left a lot to be desired and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Booked one standard room including breakfast for £220.00 for a one night stay. Found out afterwards that parking isn't included in the price when I believe it should be! Parking cost £12 extra! Internet wasn't included and again another cost for the customers to pay for! When we checked in was told we had only booked a room and breakfast... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Rebecca L Fisher Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. We were obviously disappointed to read your comments regarding charges... More 

Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I selected this hotel as I was going to the Sage for a concert. On arrival there was an underground carpark which was handy but very expensive. The welcome was friendly and the room was very clean. The bed however was too firm and the matress felt cheap. As we were heading out early we took advantage of the early... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Neil M Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel and were welcomed by the team members you encountered. However we were obviously disappointed that certain aspects marred your stay with us and that... More 

Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here 1 day with my family it was great, there is a gym and swimming area. The gym equipments were too old so we just used the steam room which was brilliant. After that we went to the cafeteria and had some snacks and drinks which also was great. Will be back for swimming.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear hondas2k Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Lindsey Executive Office More 

South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

A friend recently got engaged and we decided to celebrate with afternoon tea. Two of our friends had allergies, wheat gluten and potato starch. I asked the restaurant manager in advance if they could accommodate these requirements but still provide an 'afternoon tea', to which they confirmed they could. Upon arrival we were made very welcome and had a fantastic... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Sarah G Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are delighted to hear that you and your guests enjoyed your Afternoon Tea and will certainly share your comments with our Restaurant team and our Chefs. We do hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome... More 

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I stayed here while visiting the UK. Nice clean hotel. Good breakfast selection. Although a great location on the Tyne the design of the hotel is a little sterile. No real atmosphere in the bar. Staff were excellent and no complaints about my stay. Worth paying extra to stay here rather than other city centre hotels. Disappointingly no free internet.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Kbdale25 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Lindsey Executive Office More 

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Visited hotel before,love the location. Hotel is now overpriced,service average and the breakfast is cold and poor quality. Staff don't seem bothered about complaints.Found their attitude somewhat frosty.Certainly not the usual level of service and quality one expects and receives in other Hilton Hotels.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear janet n Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. Please accept our sincere apologies and be assured that we view... More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

While the location was good, the bed was uncomfortable - cheap mattress. And the floors were dirty. In general, the furnishings were dated and it wasn't as clean as I would've liked. Not a great hotel. I would rather have stayed elsewhere.

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Lindsey R, Executive Office at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear tmb45 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. We were obviously disappointed to learn that certain aspects did not live up to your expectations, please accept our sincere apologies for this and we have shared your feedback with our Housekeeping team. We do hope that this... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

Address: Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Gateshead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Newcastle Gateshead 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Newcastle Gateshead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead Hotel Gateshead
Hilton International Gateshead
Hilton Gateshead
Gateshead Hilton
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Gateshead
#3 Romantic Hotel in Gateshead
#4 Luxury Hotel in Gateshead
#6 Family Hotel in Gateshead

291 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (272)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (42)
Viewed
Room/suite (93)
Viewed
View from room (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (57)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay