We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hilton Newcastle Gateshead

4.0 of 5
Hotel website
Bottle Bank, Gateshead NE8 2AR, England
Special Offer
Summer Sale - Save 30%
Hilton Newcastle Gateshead
Best prices for: 1 room 1 guest
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Gateshead
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
Debbie R
Add Photo Write a Review

1,719 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
    653
    563
    305
    135
    63
See reviews for
185
642
60
443
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (1719)
  • Mar-May only
    (497)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (440)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (424)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (358)
All months
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Yet another amazing stay at our favourite UK Hilton. Made even more enjoyable by the lovely Kath in the executive lounge. The best breakfast ever, rooms always clean and bright especially the king exec overlooking the river. Looking forward to our next stay. Debbie and Ged :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Debbie R Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you and Ged enjoyed your time at the hotel and were looked after by Kath in our Lounge. I do hope to have the opportunity of being able to personally welcome... More 

2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

A range of things surfaced from this visit. Firstly, there are some amazing staff, Kath in particular, who couldn't have been more accommodating. Katy's service is a real shining delight of the hotel. This is a real conflict to other staff and procedures. For example, upon checking out, I left my luggage which was abandoned in the reception area. At... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Amf31 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. The hotel is ten years old and unfortunately some of our rooms... More 

Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our stay didn't start well. Receptionists unwelcoming, unhelpful and abrupt. Customer service refresher training is required. Fridge in room broken and loo started continually flushing on 2nd day. In-room breakfast delivered with uncooked toast and tepid pot of tea. There was also issues with car parking as receptionist gave us incorrect information on arrival. Bar staff were friendly and helpful... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Carol M Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls in service which... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was staying at the hotel for two nights attending a conference. The room, the amenities, all were as you would expect from an international chain. I was slightly concerned that when I stored my bags after check out they were left in the foyer, and when I later when back for something, no one challenged me rummaging about in... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear raina p Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was obviously very disappointed that you felt you had to post this review, especially as my team have already been in contact with you, following on from your email to myself at 11.30pm on Sunday night.... More 

Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I've just returned from 3 nights at the Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, and could not have had a better stay! We were a large group with an exhibition, multiple rooms for workshop sessions, plenty of food and drink opportunities, and an issue with keeping ourselves to time, but the staff and facilities were excellent. Special praise must go to the excellent... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Alis0n_Mark Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel whilst attending a conference and were looked after by my team, especially Kath, I will certainly share your kind comments with her. I do hope... More 

York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Super hotel, great location adjacent the tyne bridge. Could Perhaps make more of the outside area over looking the bridge. Romans good size , well maintained. Nice buffet breakfast. Would Defo use again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear walkers1990 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Martin Robinson General... More 

Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This was a business trip so location was important. The hotel was at the top end of my budget, but had parking which in city centre hotels is a really good to have for me. Hotel looks impressive, interior is modern and stylish. From reception there is a great view of bridges over the Tyne. Check in was efficient and... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear ferguson99 Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel, and hope to have the opportunity of being able to welcome you back again in the not too distant future. Kind regards Martin Robinson General... More 

Staindrop, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent 2 nights here whilst attending a congress held at the Hotel. On check in my CC was requested and the room rate pre authorised and a receipt for the same given The stay at the hotel is unmemorable and, apart from great service from the C&E representative, totally average on all counts. I was not happy this AM... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear judidurham2013, Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay here with us at Hilton Newcastle, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. We were obviously disappointed to learn that you found the... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

1 night stay with breakfast. Clean hotel and rooms ,comfortable beds and quality linen . There is parking under the hotel charged at £12.00per day. Breakfast was fine nothing special, I have stayed here before and remembered it being better. Leisure facilities are tired and there was swimming lessons for lots of young screaming kids when we went which is... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear Murcia23w, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at the hotel,... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from a lovely nights stay at the hilton newcastle. When we booked the room we had mentioned that it was our anniversary and at check in we were greeted with a glass of champagne each which was a lovely touch! However the champagne was very warm! We had booked an executive balcony room... More 

Was this review helpful? Yes
Martin R, General Manager at Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, responded to this review

Dear MrsSarahPeacock, Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your visit to Hilton Newcastle Gateshead, even when it is not the kind of review we would like to have as feedback from our guests enable us to continually improve and exceed our standards. Please let me take this opportunity to wish you a Happy Anniversary. I... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

370 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (318)
Viewed
View from room (54)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/suite (103)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (49)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (2)
Viewed
Other (68)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (52)
Viewed
Room/suite (22)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (15)
Viewed
Business center/function rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check In Check Out Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay