We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crerar Craiglynne Hotel to your Saves list
63%
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
helen w Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    126
    77
    37
    47
See reviews for
58
222
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
  • All months
    (407)
  • Mar-May only
    (119)
  • Jun-Aug only
    (127)
  • Sep-Nov only
    (134)
  • Dec-Feb only
    (27)
All months
Glenfinnan, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

we stayed in the hotel for a short visit. the food was excellent, the service prompt. the room was suitable for me as i am disabled, easy to get to dining room and to/from my car. when i had a difficulty - caused by being disabled - the member of staff my daughter asked for assistance from not only helped... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed here for one night. The door was not closing properly. Our shower was broken so that we could only get hot, nearly boiling, water. The reception was closed. There was only one guy at the bar who tried to help us but was not able to. He also could not get us a second blanket because we had... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Firstly please accept my apologies that you had some issues with... More

Perth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After being at this hotel for many years,and we have been very happy with it before so we thought we would have another break. BAD IDEA! We booked this break at the beginning of Sept. and when we arrived on Mon 13th we wondered what on earth we had done wrong when we saw the room that was allocated to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. Please accept my sincerest apologies you were unhappy with room 101. I have discussed the issues raised such as the window/frame and the shower with our maintenance and housekeeping team to ensure that this is rectified immediately. Unfortunately not all our rooms have a garden... More

Saratoga
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We booked two of the luxury rooms and were very disappointed with them. Old plumbing, light bulbs needing replaced - generally "tired" and much in need of a remodel. We had breakfast each morning and only ate one dinner which was included in the rate. The restaurant was heavily understaffed and we were not impressed by the manager. Of course,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you did not enjoy your... More

Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
43 hotel reviews
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we drove up to this hotel, we thought we had entered a world of bygone eras and elegance. The lobby also was well done. Unfortunately, the rooms are still sitting in the past. They were worn around the edges, albeit clean. My bed had springs sticking into my back. Dinner was good but breakfast was average. The free wifi... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We were pleased to read you enjoyed your short stay with us. Once again many thanks for your review and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Craiglynne Hotel in the not too distant future. Warmest Regards Carrie MacDonald Front Office... More

west sussex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for 3 nights, 4th, 5th and 6th October 2014. A wonderful looking building from the outside and a very nice reception hall. Staff were very friendly, helpful, polite and informative. I booked a standard double room but because it was a special break for my wife's 50th we were put in a superior, but it didn't have a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on trip advisor. I am disappointed that you were unhappy with the complimentary upgraded room we had provided for you and your wife. I have checked back our complaints/feedback log and I can confirm that nothing was reported at the time in regards to your shower. I have... More

Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed here last night, what a bad mistake, I read the bad reviews on tripadvisor but then read the crerar website about recently restored to highest standard, that was either a lie or money needs to be reclaimed from the "restorer", on arrival it looked shabby inside, going up to room, corridors with dirty floors and stained ceilings, got in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve and monitor our standards and service. Firstly, please accept my apologies that your room wasn’t... More

Dornoch, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Great looking hotel from the outside but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. Reported broken electrics with exposed wiring in bathroom and had obviously been like this for some time and no pillowcases on bed. Went out for the day and came back to the electrics repaired with sellotape and still no pillowcases, would have been noticed if... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Craiglynne, Public Relations Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies in regards to the towel rail in your bathroom. I was shocked and extremely embarrassed to read your comments and your photographs. This was not dealt with... More

West Lothian
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having stayed here previously we felt that the hotel had somehow let its standards go down. We had lovely large ground floor room however the shower/toilet was tiny, standing over door touching toilet wall one hand,half of you was in and one half out the toilet! Wash basin was in the bedroom. Room was clean & comfortable as were main... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank your for your review on Trip Advisor. Firstly please let me state that the door at the far end of the building is a fire escape and should not be used to access the hotel, only via the main front entrance and also the entrance with the disabled ramp attached. This entrance is cleared twice daily but... More

Perthshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here last week as part of a walking group for 3 nights. The Craiglynne has great presence on the roadside as you come into Grantown on Spey. Unfortunately, once inside the decor and fittings beyond the reception/lounge, are tired, dated and in need of upgrade. After some issues at our first breakfast with waiting staff and lack of choice,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Craiglynne, Front Office Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve our standards and service. When we have large groups staying with us in the hotel... More

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Owners: What's your side of the story?
Register now for free — and start getting automatic notification of new reviews, responding to traveler feedback, adding new photos to your listing and much more.
Manage your listing

Been to Crerar Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crerar Craiglynne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crerar Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

71 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (61)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay