We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 10 Grantown-on-Spey hotels

Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Crerar Craiglynne Hotel to your Saves list
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
You must enter dates to see the best prices.
65%
Ranked #6 of 10 hotels in Grantown-on-Spey
A recent review
4 of 5 stars reviewed 2 days ago
alistair b Dundee, United Kingdom
  • Overview
  • Reviews (379)
  • Photos (68)
  • Amenities
  • Room tips (91)
  • Location
  • More
Write a Review

379 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    114
    121
    69
    31
    44
See reviews for
53
206
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We found our room quite dirty particularly the bathroom floor. The hand basin was badly cracked and I felt it could be a source of germs. The staff in the dining room were in some cases very rude. I had quite an argument with one young Scottish boy, Donny I think could have been his name. They seem incapable of... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Grantown-on-Spey, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I've never felt the need or wanted to write a review before but felt compelled too by my experience here. This is the noisiest and most uncomfortable hotel I've ever stayed in, the floorboards creak that bad that you think people above are going to come through the ceiling, plumbing is so noisy that the walls virtually shake every time... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
16 hotel reviews
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

2 nights dinner b and b in the height of summer for £69! Although our room was a bit small and the shower very poor, this is a nice hotel in a good area for touring. For dinner and breakfast we were asked for a dining time but each time we had to wait more than a few minutes to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed for a 2 night break here last week as part of a touring holiday In all honesty I can not fault the hotel in anyway.Our room was clean ,spacious and well decorated .We did dinner bed and breakfast.The food was excellent .The dining room ran like clockwork,the staff were first class helpful,courteous and all seemed to have a happy... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Mintlaw, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked this hotel as a late deal on a DB&B basis. From the outside this hotel looked as if it had seen better days, being from the Victorian era. The bedroom had high ceilings and was in a reasonable condition, the ensuite was quite big but the shower unit had black mould round the edge of the tray. The room... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. Please accept my apologies that your room wasn’t up to our normal standards, I have checked back our complaints/feedback log and I have noticed that Room 53 was reported at the time in regards to the black mould around the shower, I am shocked and... More

Forfar, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

All staff without exception were polite, friendly, helpful and courteous. Food was plentiful and excellent. Service in dining room was friendly, efficient and attentive. Lounge areas were bright, spacious, airy and had a very calm and relaxing ambience.Hotel room was lovely,bright and spacious. There is a nice walk round a nature reserve right across the road from the hotel and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We were delighted to read your positive comments about our hotel and I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks and we hope we... More

1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was an anniversary treat and it turned out to be very disappointing. Having requested a room with not too many stairs due to my mobility problems we were given a room on the ground floor . However people looked in all the time when a net or voile would have solved the problem. It was like living in a... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor, we are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their reviews, for it is vital to our business to take the feedback and work on it to improve and monitor our standards and service. Firstly, please accept my apologies that your room wasn’t... More

UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in an ideal location for a touring holiday, looks great from the outside and the public areas are fine. Our bedroom was on the second floor front, quite compact, small bathroom- no bath! I feel the hotel is understaffed- the bar is not open until 5 pm. The staff are very friendly/ helpful, but obviously have to... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are appreciative of the time our guests take to leave their comments. Please accept my sincerest apologies that you had to search for a member of staff to serve on the bar, this shouldn’t be an issue what so ever at all,... More

Panaji, India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We Stayed here 2 nights in late 2013. From the outside it looked fabulous, and the reception area and lobby were fine.We had booked a superior double room but were given a small room which i from no angle can rate as a $150 a night room. For starters the shower had no hot water. and it was chilling cold... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us last year ,however as you had stayed with us in 2013 I can’t comment on any of the issues raised in your review. Once again many thanks for your feedback and I am only... More

Pitlochry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We arrived early and the room was not quite ready, but we were offered coffee or a drink and the receptionist saw we were disabled and changed our room to the McCallum (room 1), only five steps to climb, Excellent room , king size bed, bay window looking out over the gardens. The staff were very helpful. Dinner was very... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Craiglynne, General Manager at Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor. We are extremely grateful for the time our guests take to leave their feedback. We are delighted to read your kind comments about our hotel and our staff and I am extremely pleased you enjoyed your stay with us! Once again many thanks... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Crerar Craiglynne Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Crerar Craiglynne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crerar Craiglynne Hotel

Address: Woodlands Terrace, Grantown-on-Spey PH26 3JX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Aviemore and the Cairngorms > Grantown-on-Spey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Crerar Craiglynne Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Crerar Craiglynne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Crerar Craiglynne
Crerar Craiglynne Hotel Grantown-On-Spey, Scotland

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (58)
Viewed
Room/suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from room (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (3)

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old world charm at the newly restored Craiglynne Hotel. Our Victorian granite hotel, situated under the majestic Cairngorms, has just been restored and refurbished to the highest standards. With 82 stylish rooms and superb grounds, relaxing here during your stay is irresistible; however we also highly recommend visiting the beautiful villages, mountains, rivers and forests nearby. After a day exploring, there's nothing better than sinking into an armchair by one of our roaring log fires to share stories of Lochness, Inverness and the hugely popular whisky trail. When you are looking for hotels in Grantown-on-Spey, near Aviemore, stay with us and be one of the first to enjoy our restored hotel. ... more   less 
Number of rooms
82

See which rooms travelers prefer