We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 17 Great Yarmouth hotels

Fawlty Towers

60/61 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added Fawlty Towers to your Saves list
Fawlty Towers
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
35%
Ranked #17 of 17 hotels in Great Yarmouth
  • Overview
  • Reviews (89)
  • Photos (48)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (25)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

89 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    18
    6
    7
    45
See reviews for
26
27
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was not worth the £50 per night we paid. We arrived and couldn't find anyone around, despite it being right on check-in time. after a few minutes a man appeared and asked if we were there to check in. He couldn't find our booking at first, and then finally located it. The conversation went like this: Him: "did... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

i am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us here at Fawlty Towers. I am sorry there is a door bell at the front door which most guests manage to ring for attention. I have been a little unwell this past year and have muddled the bookings on several occasions which I can only apologize for but... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night during bank holiday, to be fair the only place vacant with the two rooms we required. It provided everything we needed and more including green dirty shelving for tea & coffee prep, broken furniture, screws sticking point out from cupboards, brown toilet stains and bedding with stained sheets. The covers were dark so you only saw... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

I'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us but rooms are cleaned after every guest. We do not have any green shelving for making tea on in the building all our units are wood and made especially to fir our tea facilities, kettles fridges and microwaves. Breakfast is extra £4.95 per person during high season but you... More

2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

When we arrived the hotel had messed up our booking and only had a single room put by when we had booked a twin! They then put a camp bed into the room to accommodate us, by doing this they rearranged the room so that one of the beds was no longer facing the TV, not ideal. We were on... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

sorry about your booking already apologized to other person who booked with you in above complaint. We only serve breakfast for hour as we have lots of other things to do most b&b have limited meal times. There is free wifi available although sometimes guests do have problems getting it on top floor. Each safe you can set your own... More

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for one night. We had paid in advance but did not stay for more than a few minutes. It is the dirtiest, smelliest. most disgusting place I have ever seen, Some authority should close them dow n.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

so sorry that you did not stay. If you had made us aware of your problem at the time of your stay we would have done our best to sort it it to both of our satisfaction More

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you would like to get an air/water borne disease, and you like freezing, dark, and dirty rooms, then this is the hotel for you! Myself, my sister and my mum stayed in Basil's room. I got a cold during my three-night stay. To be fair, the owner did help us with our luggage, and was generally helpful, and gave... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

I's sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We don't have any diseases air/water borne available at the moment. Our heating is on for at least four hours daily as my husband as heart problems. I'm sorry that you got a cold during your stay but this was not down to us. The parking permits cost us... More

Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

this hotel is not what it seems from the outside a tad unreal but inside it is all you want and more from the friendly owner to the rooms that have everything you will need kettle microwave iron fridge en suite i even had a sofa and tv the breakfast was excellent value full english a mound of toast cereal... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon More

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

LIar .no smell of smoking in the hotel.Liar breakfasts were superb.We only had a small meal while out during the day because we were full up.In fact i commented to my wife that the sausages were no cheapos. The beds were clean and comfortable. It really is about time that TRIPADVISOR verified that these reviewers were genuine.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon More

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We booked this hotel because it was cheap and we needed 2 rooms. We were eventually met by the proprieter after waiting for half an hour, and a random person went to find him. A bell to make our presence aware would have been more useful. We were shown to our rooms by said proprieter who had a severe 'body... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

we have a doorbell on the front door as well as a sign by bell. Also is message on dining room room asking guests to ring door bell. Fridges have been cleaned after every guest and are all in good working order. There is no smell throughout the hotel. All laundery is externally cleaned. We are sorry that you found... More

northants
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have just returned from this Bed & Breakfast & after reading the reviews was abit worried Especially with the name Fawlty Towers I thought thered be Zany people about immatating the characters but there was none of that the only thing that resembled the programme was the Bedrooms they were all named after the characters & things to do... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I think the photos and reviews are well and truly out of date, the decor was not only tired but dirty, ceilings falling down, rooms smelt of smoke, wallpaper peeling, floors sticky with dirt, showers mouldy, the smell of stale fried food everywhere, all surfaces greasy including highchair, breakfast obviously the cheapest bacon and sausages. Staff looked scruffy, no welcome,... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
Patsyinfawltytowers, Owner at Fawlty Towers, responded to this review

No ceilings in here they are all suspended ceilings. All rooms display a no smoking sign but we cannot sleep with every guest to make sure that these are upheld. There is no wallpaper peeling in here have looked everywhere but cannot find. All carpets have been replaced with Wilton carpets this year which has cost thousands. Our sausages are... More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage Fawlty Towers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to Fawlty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fawlty Towers

Address: 60/61 Apsley Road, Great Yarmouth NR30 2HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Fawlty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fawlty Towers Hotel Great Yarmouth
Fawlty Towers Great Yarmouth, Norfolk

48 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (21)
Viewed
Pool/beach area (1)
Viewed
Other (21)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Great Yarmouth with
any amenities

Amenities

Free Parking Wheelchair access
Number of rooms
10

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Fawlty Towers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer