We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
All 11 Halifax hotels

The White Swan Hotel

3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Hotel amenities
Save Saved
You added The White Swan Hotel to your Saves list
The White Swan Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
90%
Ranked #4 of 11 hotels in Halifax
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A recent review
5 of 5 stars reviewed 3 days ago
jay m lancashire
  • Overview
  • Reviews (184)
  • Photos (53)
  • Similar Hotels
  • Amenities
  • Q&A
  • Room tips (52)
  • Location
  • More
true
Write a Review

184 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    69
    12
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
87
11
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

I visited this hotel with a group of friends. We booked 4 twin and 4 double rooms. To be honest I just though it was going to be some where to get our head down and was not expecting much.... On check in the staff were very friendly and helpful. We arrived 12 dinner time, but they still had all... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay at The White Swan with your friends, I'm glad you found us good value for money. It's lovely to hear you appreciated the effort from the staff and found them to be friendly and helpful. It's good to hear you benefited from the earlier check in and garage facility. I will pass... More

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

An older hotel in the centre of Halifax, bit of a rabbit warren as owners try to keep up to date with an ageing building. The lift in particular has its character. HOWEVER the staff are so friendly from reception to those serving breakfast you could not ask for more. As lower cost accommodation central to good eating places in... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your review. It is lovely to hear that you had a nice stay and that the staff excelled expectations. It would be lovely to see you again. More

Cambridge
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a room on the 2nd floor at the back of the building. We mainly used the lift going up to our room as there were quite a few stairs. We were very happy with the room, well stocked tea & coffee etc which was replaced each day. The bathroom was modern... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review from recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on all your comments to all the staff. I would like to take the time to congratulate you on your pregnancy and we wish you well for the future. More

Coventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We visited Halifax for a family wedding, the majority of us stayed at the White Swan hotel in Halifax town centre. We had a great weekend and were very well looked after. The staff were helpful and friendly. The hotel is full of character and well looked after for a building of its age. The hotel and rooms were clean... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent visit to The White Swan Hotel. I am delighted to hear you found the Hotel to be full of character and staff to be friendly and helpful. I will pass on your lovely comments to the housekeeping and the breakfast team. More

Swansea County, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

What a well run hotel situated in the center of Halifax our stay formed part of a three night break that included two other properties the room was first class as was the service the food and the staff

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your 5 star review. I will pass on your lovely thoughts to the team. We hope you choose The White Swan Hotel if you are in Halifax again. It would be lovely to see you again. More

Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here on business a couple of times recently, tbh when I can't get in the premier inn. Old school hotel with a certain charm, friendly staff and restaurant ok, particularly the italian downstairs. Does the job pretty well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your recent 4* rating of The White Swan Hotel. I'm glad you chose us for your recent visits to Halifax. I will pass on your comments to the staff. We hope to see you again, if you are in Halifax on business in the future. More

Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

On arrival staff , were so welcoming they really could not have done more to help with our first visit to halifax and parked our car in garage which was a massive bonus thanks guys ! Reception staff booked us reservation at the Italian restaurant and we were not disappointed ! Central location for shops and bars clubs etc rally... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing The White Swan Hotel for your recent visit to Halifax. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and the restaurant. I'm glad you found our garage to be beneficial and the location of the hotel. We hope you had a safe journey home and look forward to seeing you or your family... More

Rushden, Northants
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

This is an old building and it did show inside. Because it is right in the City centre there was very limited parking and the on site restaurant is Italian food, so if you don't like that, it's hard luck on you. he rooms were basic and a bit mismatched, but the bathroom was a let down. - cold and... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The White Swan Hotel. We take all feedback into account and we are sorry that on this occasion there were certain aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. More

London, England
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed for one night on a recent trip to visit family in the area. The hotel itself is a little outdated, but the room we stayed in was quite pleasant, and had recently been refurbished. There is only room for parking 9 cars at the hotel, and so we had to use a multi-story nearby as the hotel carpark... More

Was this review helpful? Yes
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest. Thank you for choosing The White Swan for you recent stay in Halifax. I'm glad you found the room to be pleasant. I'm sorry you found the parking a negative aspect, there is a loading bay outside the hotel, if you had wanted to drop your bags off before moving the car to the multi storey. Also the... More

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for 1 night on a Saturday whilst we were at Le Tour Beautiful old building... Staff were very helpful and had a map to where we could park due to their car park being full - £7 for 24 hours. Big double room on the front with separate bathroom oposite MacDonalds but not noisy from the street as... More

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
Colin L, General Manager at The White Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to write your review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and the Tour De France weekend. More

Owners: What's your side of the story?
If you own or manage The White Swan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.
Manage your listing

Been to The White Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Swan Hotel

Address: Princess Street, Halifax HX1 1TS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Halifax
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The White Swan Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your The White Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel

53 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/suite (6)
Viewed
Other (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (19)
Viewed
Room/suite (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Hotels you might also like...
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
Select tags to find the hotel that's right for you.
All
hotels in Halifax with
any amenities

Amenities

Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style
#3 Romantic Hotel in Halifax #4 Family Hotel in Halifax #5 Business Hotel in Halifax
Hotel Class
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The White Swan Hotel is situated in the heart of Halifax. We offer free Wi-Fi, free limited parking, a fitness suite and we are 5 minutes walk from the Lloyds office, and less than a 10 minute walk from the railway station. All bedrooms are bright and airy. They are individually decorated, and each has ensuite facilities, tea/coffee making facilities, a hairdryer and flat screen televisions with satellite channels and Freeview. The Superior and Executive rooms also have modern bathrooms. Guests can enjoy a traditional Full English breakfast each morning, with lighter options also available. There is an authentic Italian restaurant. It offers fresh pastas, pizzas and steaks, and there is also a cosy lounge bar. The White Swan is within a 20 minute drive of the Calderdale Pennines and Bradford is just 10 miles away ... more   less 
Number of rooms
40

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The White Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer